Patient H M

Author: Luke Dittrich
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9780679643807
Release Date: 2016-08-09
Genre: Science

“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge. Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • New York Post • NPR • The Economist • New York • Wired • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage In 1953, a twenty-seven-year-old factory worker named Henry Molaison—who suffered from severe epilepsy—received a radical new version of the then-common lobotomy, targeting the most mysterious structures in the brain. The operation failed to eliminate Henry’s seizures, but it did have an unintended effect: Henry was left profoundly amnesic, unable to create long-term memories. Over the next sixty years, Patient H.M., as Henry was known, became the most studied individual in the history of neuroscience, a human guinea pig who would teach us much of what we know about memory today. Patient H.M. is, at times, a deeply personal journey. Dittrich’s grandfather was the brilliant, morally complex surgeon who operated on Molaison—and thousands of other patients. The author’s investigation into the dark roots of modern memory science ultimately forces him to confront unsettling secrets in his own family history, and to reveal the tragedy that fueled his grandfather’s relentless experimentation—experimentation that would revolutionize our understanding of ourselves. Dittrich uses the case of Patient H.M. as a starting point for a kaleidoscopic journey, one that moves from the first recorded brain surgeries in ancient Egypt to the cutting-edge laboratories of MIT. He takes readers inside the old asylums and operating theaters where psychosurgeons, as they called themselves, conducted their human experiments, and behind the scenes of a bitter custody battle over the ownership of the most important brain in the world. Patient H.M. combines the best of biography, memoir, and science journalism to create a haunting, endlessly fascinating story, one that reveals the wondrous and devastating things that can happen when hubris, ambition, and human imperfection collide. Praise for Patient H.M. “An exciting, artful blend of family and medical history.”—The New York Times “In prose both elegant and intimate, and often thrilling, Patient H.M. is an important book about the wages not of sin but of science.”—The Washington Post “Spellbinding . . . The fact that Dittrich looks critically at the actual process of scientific investigation is just one of the things to admire about Patient H.M.”—The New York Times Book Review “Patient H.M. tells one of the most fascinating and disturbing stories in the annals of medicine, weaving in ethics, philosophy, a personal saga, the history of neurosurgery, the mysteries of human memory, and an exploration of human ego.”—Sheri Fink, M.D., Pulitzer Prize winner and author of Five Days at Memorial “This is classic reporting and myth-making at the same time.”—Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World Spin *Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Summary and Analysis of Patient H M A Story of Memory Madness and Family Secrets

Author: Worth Books
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781504046466
Release Date: 2017-05-16
Genre: Medical

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of Patient H.M. tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Luke Dittrich’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This short summary and analysis of Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter overviews Profiles of the main characters Detailed timeline of key events Important quotes Fascinating trivia Glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About Patient H.M. by Luke Dittrich: Patient H.M. tells the extraordinary true story of Henry Molaison, a young man who underwent a lobotomy in 1953 in hopes of curing his epilepsy. Instead, he suffered extensive memory loss and would became the most studied patient in the history of neuroscience. Luke Dittrich, whose grandfather performed the surgery, artfully combines family history, medical science, and investigative journalism to create a suspenseful and unsettling narrative on the search to understand the most elusive of scientific research topics: the human memory. The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of nonfiction.

The History of Neuroscience

Author: Anne Rooney
Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
ISBN: 9781508177050
Release Date: 2017-12-15
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Neuroscience is the science of the brain and the nervous system. This volume explores the early history of the field, including landmark case studies like that of the railroad worker Phineas Gage's impalement by an iron rod, an accident he survived, though not without personality changes. Also examined are early studies of madness and genius, physical treatments for psychiatric disorders, and the categorization of neurological differences and disorders, such as autism. The emergence of cognitive science in the modern era is also covered, including theories of intelligence, learning, language development, machine intelligence, and consciousness. Loaded with color and archival images and graphics, this volume illuminates one of our greatest and most enduring mysteries, the human mind.

Memory as Life Life as Memory

Author: William E. Marsh
Publisher: AuthorHouse
ISBN: 9781524626402
Release Date: 2016-09-07
Genre: Body, Mind & Spirit

This book is about memory, the power of memory, the weight of memory, the presence of memory. Its about how memory works, and its about how memory moves and shapes us, profoundly and deeply, every moment of every day. Most of all, however, its about how memory points us to some questions that, try as we might, we cannot elude altogether, questions that force us to confront the very nature of existence. Suppose that no one, no one at all, remembered us? Suppose that no one, no one at all, remembered the universe? How can we make sense of a world that one day will be utterly gone and forgotten? Memory makes us speak of things we may not want to accept or understand, thrusts us into things lying beyond what we can picture, imagine, or know. Twisting itself around our heart and burrowing into our soul, memory stretches us. It stretches us to ponder purpose, it stretches us to consider meaning. Memory forces us to think about how unbearably complex we, and this bewildering world, can be if nothing precedes or follows them. Memory opens our heart to God.

Remembering

Author: Donald G. MacKay
Publisher: Prometheus Books
ISBN: 9781633884076
Release Date: 2019
Genre: SCIENCE

This book summarizes the results of a revolution in the scientific understanding of memory, mind, and brain that began in 1953 when a twenty-seven-year-old man underwent brain surgery to remedy life-threatening epilepsy. His name was Henry Moliason, but until recently, the general public knew him only as H.M. Henry's operation inadvertently destroyed his hippocampus, the brain's engine for forming new memories. He suffered catastrophic memory failures for the rest of his life. Henry soon became the most studied amnesiac patient in the history of the world and also the most famous. Dr. MacKay worked with Henry for fifty years. This book focuses primarily on the lessons of the still ongoing revolution that Henry inspired for readers wishing to maintain the everyday functioning of their memory, mind, and brain. The research done with Henry has shown how to keep memory sharp at any age and acquire ways to offset the degradation that aging and infrequent use inflict on memory. It has also given scientists insights into the different types of memory-- for example, memories of events, facts, skills, words, and visual experiences-- and the likelihood of forgetting each type of memory. Finally, it has revealed the profound importance of memory- memory decline impacts even such seemingly unrelated aspects of mind as the ability to plan, to comprehend, to detect and correct errors, to appreciate humor, to perceive the visual world, to imagine hypothetical events, and to create novel ideas.Written in an accessible style, this engaging narrative combines personal vignettes into Henry's life with important new findings about memory and brain functions.

Books in Print

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105025888475
Release Date: 2002
Genre: American literature


Access

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UCSC:32106020396534
Release Date: 2000
Genre: American periodicals


Essentials of understanding psychology

Author: Robert Stephen Feldman
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Companies
ISBN: 0070204578
Release Date: 1989
Genre: Psychology

Students First. Essentials of Understanding Psychology is written around the philosophy that an effective textbook must be oriented to students: informing them, engaging them, exciting them about the field, and expanding their intellectual capabilities because when students understand psychology, they learn psychology. No matter what brings students into the introductory course and regardless of their initial motivation, Essentials of Understanding Psychology, Seventh Edition, draws students into the field and stimulates their thinking. This revision integrates a variety of elements that foster students' understanding of psychology and its impact on their everyday lives. It also provides instructors with a fully integrated supplements package to objectively gauge their students' mastery of psychology's key principles and concepts and to create dynamic lectures.

Fantasy and Horror

Author: Neil Barron
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:49015002915008
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Art

More than 2,300 works of fiction and poetry are discussed, each cross-referenced to other works with similar or contrasting themes. Winners and nominees for major awards are identified. Books that are part of a series are flagged, with a complete list of books in series included in a final chapter, along with a comprehensive list of awards, of translations, and of young adult and children's books.

The letters of Lewis Carroll

Author: Lewis Carroll
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN: UOM:39076000461777
Release Date: 1979-06-07
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines


Esquire

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105012342858
Release Date: 1957
Genre: Art