The Phantom Tollbooth

Author: Susan Nanus
Publisher: Samuel French, Inc.
ISBN: 0573650969
Release Date: 1977
Genre: Drama

Fantasy Characters:15 male and female Simple set. Here are Milo's adventures in the Land of Wisdom where he's forced to think about many new things. Milo learns of the argument between King Azaz and his brother, the Mathemagician whose disagreement over words and numbers has led to the banishment of Princesses Sweet Rhyme and Pure Reason. Milo is dispatched to rescue the Princesses from the Land of Ignorance. The knowledge and skills Milo picks up on his journey help him to save the Princesses. When he must return home, Milo's sorry to leave his friends-- but enriched by his experience, he realizes his attitude towards learning will never be the same.

The Annotated Phantom Tollbooth

Author: Norton Juster
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780375857157
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A sumptuously annotated edition of a classic work by the author of the Caldecott Medal-winning Goodbye Window incorporates interviews with the author and illustrator, excerpts from Juster's drafts, and cultural and literary commentary.

Neville

Author: Norton Juster
Publisher: Random House Digital, Inc.
ISBN: 9780375867651
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When a boy and his family move to a new house, he devises an ingenious way to meet people in the neighborhood.

The Odious Ogre

Author: Norton Juster
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
ISBN: 9780545162029
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Presents the story of an enormous, insatiable, and short-tempered Ogre, who terrorizes the countryside and dines on hapless townspeople before encountering a friendly young lady who uses innovative methods to stop him.

Leapholes

Author: James Grippando
Publisher: American Bar Association
ISBN: 1590316665
Release Date: 2006-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When young Ryan Coolidge finds himself in trouble with the law, he teams up with a magical old lawyer named Hezekiah who helps Ryan time travel into the law books and find precedents and people who can help defend Ryan in court. Children's BOMC.

Little Britches

Author: Ralph Moody
Publisher: U of Nebraska Press
ISBN: 0803281781
Release Date: 1991
Genre: Fiction

Ralph Moody was eight years old in 1906 when his family moved from New Hampshire to a Colorado ranch. Through his eyes we experience the pleasures and perils of ranching there early in the twentieth century. Auctions and roundups, family picnics, irrigation wars, tornadoes and wind storms give authentic color to Little Britches. So do adventures, wonderfully told, that equip Ralph to take his father's place when it becomes necessary. Little Britches was the literary debut of Ralph Moody, who wrote about the adventures of his family in eight glorious books, all available as Bison Books.

Snow Rose

Author: Emily Winfield Martin
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780553538205
Release Date: 2017-10-10
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Give the gift of this stunningly illustrated fairy-tale reimagining from the New York Times bestselling author-illustrator of The Wonderful Things You Will Be this holiday season—sure to be a modern classic! Snow and Rose didn’t know they were in a fairy tale. People never do. . . . Once, they lived in a big house with spectacular gardens and an army of servants. Once, they had a father and mother who loved them more than the sun and moon. But that was before their father disappeared into the woods and their mother disappeared into sorrow. This is the story of two sisters and the enchanted woods that have been waiting for them to break a set of terrible spells. In Snow & Rose, bestselling author-illustrator Emily Winfield Martin retells the traditional but little-known fairy tale “Snow White and Rose Red.” The beautiful full-color illustrations throughout and unusual yet relatable characters will bring readers back to this book again and again. “The deeper meanings of the [story] do emerge, but the pleasure . . . is paramount.” —The New York Times

The Book with No Pictures

Author: B. J. Novak
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698176751
Release Date: 2014-09-30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A #1 New York Times bestseller, this innovative and wildly funny read-aloud by award-winning humorist/actor B.J. Novak will turn any reader into a comedian. You might think a book with no pictures seems boring and serious. Except . . . here’s how books work. Everything written on the page has to be said by the person reading it aloud. Even if the words say . . . BLORK. Or BLUURF. Even if the words are a preposterous song about eating ants for breakfast, or just a list of astonishingly goofy sounds like BLAGGITY BLAGGITY and GLIBBITY GLOBBITY. Cleverly irreverent and irresistibly silly, The Book with No Pictures is one that kids will beg to hear again and again. (And parents will be happy to oblige.)

Lauren Ipsum

Author: Carlos Bueno
Publisher: No Starch Press
ISBN: 9781593275747
Release Date: 2014-12-14
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Lauren Ipsum is a whimsical journey through a land where logic and computer science come to life. Meet Lauren, an adventurer lost in Userland who needs to find her way home by solving a series of puzzles. As she visits places like the Push & Pop Café and makes friends with people like Hugh Rustic and the Wandering Salesman, Lauren learns about computer science without even realizing it—and so do you! Read Lauren Ipsum yourself or with someone littler than you, then flip to the notes at the back of the book to learn more about logic and computer science in the real world. Suggested for ages 10 and up

The Secret of the Mansion

Author: Julie Campbell
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
ISBN: 9780375824128
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Thirteen-year-old Trixie Belden and her friends search for hidden treasure in a mysterious mansion owned by an old miser.

Time Traveling with a Hamster

Author: Ross Welford
Publisher: Schwartz & Wade
ISBN: 9780399551512
Release Date: 2016-10-04
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Back to the Future meets The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time in this original, poignant, race-against-time story about a boy who travels back to 1984 to save his father’s life. My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty-nine and again four years later, when he was twelve. On his twelfth birthday, Al Chaudhury receives a letter from his dead father. It directs him to the bunker of their old house, where Al finds a time machine (an ancient computer and a tin bucket). The letter also outlines a mission: travel back to 1984 and prevent the go-kart accident that will eventually take his father’s life. But as Al soon discovers, whizzing back thirty years requires not only imagination and courage, but also lying to your mom, stealing a moped, and setting your school on fire—oh, and keeping your pet hamster safe. With a literary edge and tons of commerical appeal, this incredible debut has it all: heart, humor, vividly imagined characters, and a pitch-perfect voice. From the Hardcover edition.

Doomwyte

Author: Brian Jacques
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101157992
Release Date: 2008-10-16
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

The 20th novel of Redwall-now in paperback. The young mouse Bisky persuades his friends at Redwall Abbey to seek a fabled treasure-the jeweled eyes of the Great Doomwyte Idol-only to lead them into the realm of the fearsome Korvus Skurr, the black- feathered raven.

The Best Man

Author: Richard Peck
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698189737
Release Date: 2016-09-20
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Zorgamazoo

Author: Robert Paul Weston
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1595141995
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Offers a sophisticated rhyming adventure featuring a courageous girl named Katrina Katrell and her intriguing quest to uncover the secrets of the mysterious Zorgamazoo. 30,000 first printing.