PhD stories

Author: Joanne Kilgour Dowdy
Publisher: Hampton Pr
ISBN: UOM:39015082721138
Release Date: 2008-05-30
Genre: Education


The knowledge economy

Author: Tom Giberson
Publisher: Hampton Pr
ISBN: PSU:000067286072
Release Date: 2009-08-10
Genre: Business & Economics

This collection of essays provides a timely analysis of the current state and potential future of higher education and its subsequent impact on society. The multinational and multidisciplinary contributors analyze the variety of professional, intellectual, social and political factors that govern our individual and collective behavior, and how these forces undermine society's traditional goals for higher education: critical and intellectual development and civic engagement.

Educated

Author: Tara Westover
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9781443452502
Release Date: 2018-02-20
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

For readers of North of Normal and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school. Westover’s mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn’t have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school—ever—and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.

Education Migration and Family Relations Between China and the UK

Author: Mengwei Tu
Publisher: Emerald Group Publishing
ISBN: 9781787146730
Release Date: 2018-07-18
Genre: Social Science

This book provides a fresh perspective on the understanding of transnational families by examining the one-child generation of Chinese migrants who came to the UK to study, and their parents, who remain in China.

My Sister s Keeper Movie Tie In

Author: Jodi Picoult
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781439157381
Release Date: 2009-05-19
Genre: Fiction

Conceived to provide a bone marrow match for her leukemia-stricken sister, teenage Kate begins to question her moral obligations in light of countless medical procedures and decides to fight for the right to make decisions about her own body.

Foundations of Social Policy Social Justice in Human Perspective

Author: Amanda Barusch
Publisher: Cengage Learning
ISBN: 9780495507161
Release Date: 2008-07-03
Genre: Social Science

Reflecting an emerging consensus that social justice is a primary mission of the social work profession, this innovative text provides a thorough grounding in policy analysis with extensive coverage of policy practice and a unique emphasis on the broad issues and human dilemmas inherent in the pursuit of social justice. Organized in four parts, the book introduces several philosophical perspectives on what constitutes social justice, and identifies the values and assumptions reflected in contemporary policy debates. Part I provides a framework for policy analysis and policy practice, as well as foundation content related to the structure and role of government in the United States. Part II offers a theoretical framework for determining when personal disadvantage is considered a social problem. It then focuses on social problems that constitute widely shared risks, including poverty, physical illness, mental illness, and disability. Part III introduces theories of discrimination and oppression and explores the challenges faced by vulnerable populations, including people of color, gays and lesbians, children, women, working Americans, and the elderly. Part IV offers a Glance to The Future, examining emerging policy issues such as inequality, incarceration as a means of social control, globalization, and international governance. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

You re Wearing That

Author: Deborah Tannen
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 1588365212
Release Date: 2006-01-24
Genre: Family & Relationships

Deborah Tannen's #1 New York Times bestseller You Just Don’t Understand revolutionized communication between women and men. Now, in her most provocative and engaging book to date, she takes on what is potentially the most fraught and passionate connection of women’s lives: the mother-daughter relationship. It was Tannen who first showed us that men and women speak different languages. Mothers and daughters speak the same language–but still often misunderstand each other, as they struggle to find the right balance between closeness and independence. Both mothers and daughters want to be seen for who they are, but tend to see the other as falling short of who she should be. Each overestimates the other’s power and underestimates her own. Why do daughters complain that their mothers always criticize, while mothers feel hurt that their daughters shut them out? Why do mothers and daughters critique each other on the Big Three–hair, clothes, and weight–while longing for approval and understanding? And why do they scrutinize each other for reflections of themselves? Deborah Tannen answers these and many other questions as she explains why a remark that would be harmless coming from anyone else can cause an explosion when it comes from your mother or your daughter. She examines every aspect of this complex dynamic, from the dark side that can shadow a woman throughout her life, to the new technologies like e-mail and instant messaging that are transforming mother-daughter communication. Most important, she helps mothers and daughters understand each other, the key to improving their relationship. With groundbreaking insights, pitch-perfect dialogues, and deeply moving memories of her own mother, Tannen untangles the knots daughters and mothers can get tied up in. Readers will appreciate Tannen’s humor as they see themselves on every page and come away with real hope for breaking down barriers and opening new lines of communication. Eye-opening and heartfelt, You’re Wearing That? illuminates and enriches one of the most important relationships in our lives. “Tannen analyzes and decodes scores of conversations between moms and daughters. These exchanges are so real they can make you squirm as you relive the last fraught conversation you had with your own mother or daughter. But Tannen doesn't just point out the pitfalls of the mother-daughter relationship, she also provides guidance for changing the conversations (or the way that we feel about the conversations) before they degenerate into what Tannen calls a mutually aggravating spiral, a "self-perpetuating cycle of escalating responses that become provocations." – The San Francisco Chronicle From the Hardcover edition.

Human Development and Performance Throughout the Lifespan

Author: Anne Cronin
Publisher: Cengage Learning
ISBN: 9781305686243
Release Date: 2015-01-01
Genre: Medical

Human Development & Performance Throughout the Lifespan, 2nd Edition is ideal for occupational therapy, physical therapy, and other rehabilitation disciplines. It provides a broad, occupation-based viewpoint of development and performance throughout all life stages with an emphasis on the factors that influence daily participation and optimal performance of desired daily life tasks. The authors use a life course conceptual model as an organizational foundation for clinical reasoning to help readers understand how to implement the activity- and participation-based goals and outcomes for therapy. Written by an occupational therapist and a physical therapist, the book incorporates chapters by leading experts in human development, giving users cutting-edge information and a wide range of perspectives. By integrating information from the International Classification of Function and Disability (ICF) with a developmental life-task perspective, the book gives both newcomers and experienced professionals an essential, contemporary frame of reference. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Educating Everybody s Children

Author: Robert W. Cole
Publisher: ASCD
ISBN: 9781416612490
Release Date: 2008-06-15
Genre: Education

Designed to promote reflection, discussion, and action among the entire learning community, Educating Everybody's Children encapsulates what research has revealed about successfully addressing the needs of students from economically, ethnically, culturally, and linguistically diverse groups and identifies a wide range of effective principles and instructional strategies. Although good teaching works well with all students, educators must develop an extensive repertoire of instructional tools to meet the varying needs of students from diverse backgrounds. Those tools and the knowledge base behind them are the foundation of this expanded and revised second edition of Educating Everybody's Children. Each strategy discussed in the book includes classroom examples and a list of the research studies that support it. The most important thing we have learned as a result of the education reform movement is that student achievement stands or falls on the motivation and skills of teachers. We must ensure that all teachers are capable of delivering a standards?based curriculum that describes what students should know and be able to do, and that these standards are delivered by means of a rich and engaging "pedagogy of plenty." By these two acts we can ensure that all schools will be ready and able to educate everybody's children.