Pride and Joy

Author: Dee Williams
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755383368
Release Date: 2010-11-25
Genre: Fiction

For sixteen-year-old Mary Harris, growing up in Rotherhithe in 1934 has its ups and downs. She has a good job in a biscuit factory and a best friend, Liz, who's fun to be with, but she's worried about her younger brother Eddie. Eddie is a difficult child whose bad behaviour affects the whole family. Although Mary's stepfather Ted denies losing his temper with the boy, Mary's seen the bruises on Eddie's small body. She wishes her parents would take Eddie to a specialist as perhaps then they would find out what's wrong with him. Mary escapes her problems for a while when she meets Liz's handsome brother Billy, who's a sailor. And when a fortune-teller predicts romance is in the air, Mary's sure that Billy is the one for her. But the future holds some surprises for Mary, and there's heartbreak to come before she can find true love.

Down Our Street

Author: Joan Jonker
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755390304
Release Date: 2012-02-02
Genre: Fiction

With a double wedding on the cards, Liverpool's best-loved neighbours plan for an unforgettable day. In Down Our Street, Joan Jonker brings us another instalment of her hugely popular Molly and Nellie series, as the two friends get up to more mischief in their beloved Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Hilarious but touching' - Woman's Realm The Second World War is finally over and best friends Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough are bursting with happiness. Their beloved sons are coming home at last and their eldest children are planning to marry each other. When a double wedding is announced, Molly is determined to give her two beautiful daughters a day to remember for the rest of their lives. Meanwhile Nellie's daughter Lily has a boyfriend whom no one likes. When he brings trouble to their door, Nellie's friends in the street are ready to face it. And there's a handsome young chap just waiting in the wings for Lily... What readers are saying about Down Our Street: 'This book is like a breath of fresh air, never have I laughed so much and also cried at the antics of Molly and Nellie' 'A lovely story that will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear. A story that will touch every emotion. It's so well written that it makes you feel a part of the families'

The Bellamy Saga

Author: John Pearson
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN: 9781448210725
Release Date: 2012-12-10
Genre: Fiction

First published in 1976, this fictional biography is the intimate and detailed portrait of the celebrated Bellamy family of Upstairs, Downstairs. No family in the past century - excepting perhaps the Forsytes - has been so dramatically exposed to public stare as the Bellamys of Eaton Place. Drawing from the diaries of Richard Bellamy, the personal letters of Lady Majorie, the Southwold Papers in the British Museum, as well as his own friendship with James Bellamy and his conversations with Mrs. Elizabeth (Bellamy) Wallace shortly before her recent death in New York City, John Pearson has written a sensitive and finely detailed portrait of this patrician English family. The Bellamys could not have anticipated the extraordinary interest that their lives have generated in Europe and America through the award-winning television series Upstairs, Downstairs. Here, Mr. Pearson chronicles the Bellamys' complex, stormy, and passionate lives during the years between 1884 and 1929, when they reigned at 165 Eaton Place. An exciting and intriguing narrative in its own right, The Bellamy Saga is also a tribute to the surviving relatives and friends who consented - although some of them did so reluctantly - to relinquish much of the privacy they cherish.

Hillbilly Elegie

Author: J. D. Vance
Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage
ISBN: 9783843715775
Release Date: 2017-04-07
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Seine Großeltern versuchten, mit Fleiß und Mobilität der Armut zu entkommen und sich in der Mitte der Gesellschaft zu etablieren. Doch letztlich war alles vergeblich. J. D. Vance erzählt die Geschichte seiner Familie — eine Geschichte vom Scheitern und von der Resignation einer ganzen Bevölkerungsschicht. Armut und Chaos, Hilflosigkeit und Gewalt, Drogen und Alkohol: Genau in diesem Teufelskreis befinden sich viele weiße Arbeiterfamilien in den USA — entfremdet von der politischen Führung, abgehängt vom Rest der Gesellschaft, anfällig für populistische Parolen. Früher konnten sich die »Hillbillys«, die weißen Fabrikarbeiter, erhoffen, sich zu Wohlstand zu schuften. Doch spätestens gegen Ende des 20sten Jahrhunderts zog der Niedergang der alten Industrien ihre Familien in eine Abwärtsspirale, in der sie bis heute stecken. Vance gelingt es wie keinem anderen, diese ausweglose Situation und die Krise einer ganzen Gesellschaft eindrücklich zu schildern. Sein Buch bewegte Millionen von Lesern in den USA und erklärt nicht zuletzt den Wahltriumph eines Donald Trump.

The Girl from the Tyne

Author: Melody Sachs
Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
ISBN: 9781785762864
Release Date: 2017-04-20
Genre: Fiction

YOU CAN'T CHOOSE YOUR FAMILY! - for fans of Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. Melody Sachs brings us her gritty and charming World War II saga. We promise you won't be able to put it down! When ballroom dancer Alice Rooney seduces Jack Wood, he soon finds himself in a volatile marriage. Yet from the moment he meets his baby daughter, he knows he will do anything to make her happy. But at the start of WWII Jack is drafted by the Air Force, and little Lizzie is left with her mother. Damaged and troubled, Alice grows increasingly unstable and Lizzie finds herself the focus of her mother's frustration and anger. It's only when Lizzie arrives at Madame Bella's Academy for the Theatrical Arts that she blossoms. Will she escape her mother's clutches and can her dream of a glittering theatrical future ever come true?

Jenseits aller Vernunft

Author: Sandra Brown
Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag
ISBN: 9783641150785
Release Date: 2014-09-15
Genre: Fiction

Ein Wirbelsturm aus Gefahr und Begierde Auf dem Weg nach Texas quält sich ein Wagentreck durch die staubige Prärie. Auf einem der Wagen reist Lydia mit, eine geheimnisvolle Rothaarige, die vor Kurzem ihr Neugeborenes verloren hat. Auch Ross Coleman betrauert einen schrecklichen Verlust. Seine Frau ist im Kindbett gestorben. Doch der neugeborene Sohn braucht eine Mutter, und so geht er mit Lydia eine Vernunftehe ein. Eine Ehe – aus der Notwendigkeit geboren, zum Scheitern verurteilt? In der glühenden Präriesonne geraten Lydia und Ross in einen Sturm der Gefühle, der die bösen Schatten ihrer Vergangenheit ebenso ans Licht bringt wie ihre bedingungslose Leidenschaft.

Der leuchtend blaue Faden

Author: Anne Tyler
Publisher: Kein & Aber AG
ISBN: 9783036992976
Release Date: 2015-02-27
Genre: Fiction

Wieder einmal sorgt Denny für Aufruhr: ein kurzer Anruf bei den Eltern, »ich bin schwul« in den Hörer murmeln, gleich wieder auflegen und nicht mehr erreichbar sein. Die Eltern sind ratlos – müssen sie seine drei Geschwister informieren? Doch schon bald darauf verkündet Denny, demnächst Vater zu werden und zu heiraten. Anne Tyler zeichnet ihre Figuren mit feinem Witz und sehr berührend – und so nahe am Leben, dass sich jeder im geschilderten Familienleben wiedererkennen kann.

Zur ck ins Leben geliebt

Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag
ISBN: 9783423430951
Release Date: 2016-07-22
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Zurück ins Leben lieben - der neue Geniestreich von Colleen Hoover Als Tate zum Studium nach San Francisco zieht, stolpert sie dort gleich am ersten Abend über Miles Archer: Miles, der Freund ihres Bruders, der niemals lächelt, meistens schweigt und offensichtlich eine schwere Bürde mit sich herumträgt. Miles, der so attraktiv ist, dass Tate bei seinem Anblick Herzflattern und weiche Knie bekommt. Miles, der, wie er selbst zugibt, seit sechs Jahren keine Frau mehr geküsst hat. Miles, von dem Tate sich besser fernhalten sollte, wenn ihr ihr Gefühlsleben lieb ist ...

Pride and Prometheus

Author: John Kessel
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781481481472
Release Date: 2018-02-13
Genre: Fiction

Threatened with destruction unless he fashions a wife for his Creature, Victor Frankenstein travels to England where he meets Mary and Kitty Bennet, the remaining unmarried sisters of the Bennet family from Pride and Prejudice Meanwhile, the awkward Mary hopes that Victor will save her from approaching spinsterhood while wondering what dark secret he is keeping from her. Pride and Prometheus fuses the gothic horror of Mary Shelley with the Regency romance of Jane Austen in an exciting novel that combines two age-old stories in a fresh and startling way.

Tagebuch

Author: Bettina von Arnim
Publisher:
ISBN: HARVARD:32044020045324
Release Date: 1835
Genre:


Vom Menschen

Author: Alexander Pope
Publisher:
ISBN: 9783787326488
Release Date: 1997-01-01
Genre: Philosophy

Das Lehrgedicht über den Menschen von Alexander Pope (1688-1744) gilt als eines der herausragenden literarischen Zeugnisse seiner Zeit. Bald nach seinem Erscheinen 1733/1734 in viele Sprachen übersetzt, spiegelt es den moralphilosophischen Optimismus der frühen Aufklärung wider. Diese Ausgabe enthält den englischen Originaltext samt Angabe von Textvarianten und eine deutsche metrische Übertragung. Durch Register und zahlreiche erläuternde Anmerkungen wird der Zugang zum Text erleichtert.

Das Haus am Sunset Lake

Author: Tasmina Perry
Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag
ISBN: 9783641212735
Release Date: 2018-07-16
Genre: Fiction

Der perfekte Roman für einen entspannten Sommertag ... Savannah 1995: Ein herrlicher Sommer liegt vor Jennifer Wyatt, als sie mit dem Collegeabschluss in der Tasche nach Casa D'Or zurückkehrt – der verwunschenen Südstaatenplantage am Sunset Lake, die seit Generationen im Besitz ihrer Familie ist. Zwanzig Jahre später ist Casa D’Or verlassen, und Jennifer hat die Tür zu ihrer Vergangenheit fest verschlossen. Zu schmerzlich sind die Erinnerungen an jenen letzten Sommer. Doch dann tritt plötzlich Jim wieder in ihr Leben – der Mann, dem sie damals ihr Herz schenkte. Das Wiedersehen wühlt alte Erinnerungen auf und enthüllt die dunklen Geheimnisse, die das Haus seit jenem tragischen Sommer birgt ...

Quill Quire

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: NWU:35556035652460
Release Date: 2004-02
Genre: Book industries and trade


Blues Soul

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UVA:X001370931
Release Date: 1987-06
Genre: Music