Prisoner of X

Author: Allan MacDonell
Publisher: Feral House
ISBN: 9781936239238
Release Date: 2006-05-01
Genre: Social Science

Prisoner of X: 20 Years in the Hole at Hustler Magazine is a savagely funny odyssey through the bizarro world of Larry Flynt’s cracker-rich X-rated empire. During his tenure in the Hustler trenches, punk-rock dropout Allan MacDonell ascends from entry-level comma-catcher to editorial overlord of the unseemly offerings at Larry Flynt Publications. Here’s the inside story of running America’s most influential porn domain. A professional career of evaluating countless skin photos, taking XXX field trips, mastering “fully erect” film criticism and enduring creepy interoffice schemers suddenly launches MacDonell into national politics when Larry Flynt opens his wallet to impact the impeachment proceedings against President William Jefferson Clinton. MacDonell reveals the backside of his prominent role in tricking right-wing Speaker-elect Bob Livingston into resigning from Congress. Prisoner of X is a wildly entertaining memoir about life climbing the bent and fearsome masthead of an infamous magazine, and the bittersweet reward of publicly crossing its hillbilly Caesar. Aside from being the most prolific writer in the history of Larry Flynt Publications, Allan MacDonell contributed to the archetypal punk magazine Slash and the underground anthology Apocalypse Culture. Freelance pieces have appeared in venues as diverse as Gambling Times magazine, MrSkin.com and the L.A. Weekly. Mr. MacDonell lives in California's Hollywood Hills with two dogs, his wife Theresa, and a clear conscience.

Love in the Prison of Psychosis

Author: N. Clark
Publisher: Chipmunkapublishing ltd
ISBN: 9781847474346
Release Date: 2008-02
Genre: Family & Relationships

Description In this marvellous book Nick Clark enlightens us with many an insightful thought. 'Love in the Prison of Psychosis' is an incredibly detailed account on what it's like to live with schizophrenia; Nick leads us through the corridors of his sophisticated mind with a richness of language that's hard to ignore and a pleasure to read. This is a strongly written and cathartic book, one that surprises and informs at every juncture. Interesting, enjoyable and eloquent, it is a pleasure to add this book to Chipmunka's expanding roster.

Gandhi

Author: Judith Margaret Brown
Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 0300051255
Release Date: 1991-01-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A biography of the revered Indian leader explores his early career in South Africa, the forging of his political activism, his influence, triumphs, and failures in India, and the development of his philosophy of nonviolence

Prisoner of Love

Author: Jean Genet
Publisher: New York Review of Books
ISBN: 1590170288
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Follows the late author's experiences and observations as a visitor to an early 1970s Palestinian refugee camp, in a lyrical and philosophical account that offers insight into the Palestinian cause and the Middle Eastern conflict. Original.

Prisoner of Ice and Snow

Author: Ruth Lauren
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN: 9781408886748
Release Date: 2017-09-07
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice. But that's exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside. No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison ... An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

Prisoner of Night and Fog

Author: Anne Blankman
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062278838
Release Date: 2014-04-22
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

A gripping historical thriller set in 1930s Munich, Prisoner of Night and Fog is the evocative story of an ordinary girl faced with an extraordinary choice in Hitler's Germany. Fans of Code Name Verity will love this novel full of romance, danger, and intrigue! Gretchen Müller grew up in the National Socialist Party under the wing of her uncle Dolf—who has kept her family cherished and protected from that side of society ever since her father sacrificed his life for Dolf's years ago. Dolf is none other than Adolf Hitler. And Gretchen follows his every command. When she meets a fearless and handsome young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen, who claims that her father was actually murdered by an unknown comrade, Gretchen doesn't know what to believe. She soon discovers that beyond her sheltered view lies a world full of shadowy secrets and disturbing violence. As Gretchen's investigations lead her to question the motives and loyalties of her dearest friends and her closest family, she must determine her own allegiances—even if her choices could get her and Daniel killed.

A Prisoner of Hope

Author: Rick Conner
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595159871
Release Date: 2001-01-01
Genre: Fiction

What makes Darron Shipe so violent and hateful that he thrives on a weak society for survival? His entire youth is spent in juvenile facilities, and his life unfolds like a nightmare as soon as he gets his first gun. The streets are his income, and now society must pay the price for his vengeance. A four-year prison term in maximum security results in numerous assaults and stabbings. Eight years later his counselor writes in her final report, "Mr. Shipe is a detriment to society, because of his violent nature and problems with anger." As soon as he is released, he returns to the one person who is responsible for all his problems--his father. Darron lays his sawed-off shotgun to his father's head and pulls the trigger! A year later, he is captured in a high-speed chase, and is held in a county jail for extradition back to Maryland. A visitation by an unknown old man with a message from God begins a series of miraculous events, which will change his life forever. The man of hate, destruction, anger, and despair becomes "A Prisoner of Hope".

Doctor Who Prisoner of the Daleks

Author: Trevor Baxendale
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781409070191
Release Date: 2009-04-02
Genre: Fiction

The Daleks are advancing, their empire constantly expanding. The battles rage on across countless solar systems – and the Doctor finds himself stranded on board a starship near the frontline with a group of ruthless bounty hunters. Earth Command will pay these hunters for every Dalek they kill, every eyestalk they bring back as proof. With the Doctor's help, the bounty hunters achieve the ultimate prize: a Dalek prisoner – intact, powerless, and ready for interrogation. But with the Daleks, nothing is what it seems, and no one is safe. Before long the tables will be turned, and how will the Doctor survive when he becomes a prisoner of the Daleks? An adventure featuring the Tenth Doctor, as played by David Tennant

Prisoner of the Vatican

Author: David I. Kertzer
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0618619194
Release Date: 2006-02
Genre: History

Draws on previously unknown documents from the Vatican archives to detail a late-nineteenth-century plot on the part of Pope Pius IX and his successor, Leo XIII, to block the unification of Italy and to seize control of Rome and the Papal States, in a colorful history marked by such key individuals as the two pontiffs, Italy's national hero Garibaldi, King Victor Emmanuel, and France's Napoleon III. Reprint.

The Prisoner of Zenda and Rupert of Hentzau

Author: Anthony Hope
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 014043755X
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Fiction

Best known for his political fairy tale, The Prisoner of Zenda, which saw many screen adaptations, including the acclaimed 1937 film starring Ronald Colman, Anthony Hope captured a wide popular and critical audience throughout his lifetime. Regarded by many critics as the finest adventure story ever written -- and certainly one of the most popular -- The Prisoner of Zenda (1894) tells the story of Rudolf Rassendyl, a dashing English gentleman who bears an uncanny resemblance to the ruler of the fictional kingdom of Ruritania. Rassendyl masquerades as the king in order to save the country from a treacherous plot and secures the release of a wronged prisoner. In the process he wins the heart of the beautiful princess Flavia, but ultimately surrenders the crown and the hand of his beloved princess to the rightful ruler. Rupert of Hentzau, which ends in tragedy not triumph, is the darker sequel to The Prisoner of Zenda. Full of humor and swashbuckling feats of heroism, the tales also contain, within their narrative structures and characterizations, a brilliant satire on late-nineteenth-century European politics.