Prisoner of X

Author: Allan MacDonell
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com
ISBN: 9781459620001
Release Date: 2011-05-01
Genre:

The true-life and deeply satiric odyssey of a punk-rock dropout turned porn empire overlord....

Love in the Prison of Psychosis

Author: N. Clark
Publisher: Chipmunkapublishing ltd
ISBN: 9781847474346
Release Date: 2008-02
Genre: Family & Relationships

Description In this marvellous book Nick Clark enlightens us with many an insightful thought. 'Love in the Prison of Psychosis' is an incredibly detailed account on what it's like to live with schizophrenia; Nick leads us through the corridors of his sophisticated mind with a richness of language that's hard to ignore and a pleasure to read. This is a strongly written and cathartic book, one that surprises and informs at every juncture. Interesting, enjoyable and eloquent, it is a pleasure to add this book to Chipmunka's expanding roster.

Survivors Club

Author: Michael Bornstein
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN: 9780374305727
Release Date: 2017-03-07
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

A New York Times bestseller “Both moving and memorable, combining the emotional resolve of a memoir with the rhythm of a novel.” —New York Times Book Review In 1945, in a now-famous piece of World War II archival footage, four-year-old Michael Bornstein was filmed by Soviet soldiers as he was carried out of Auschwitz in his grandmother’s arms. Survivors Club tells the unforgettable story of how a father’s courageous wit, a mother’s fierce love, and one perfectly timed illness saved his life, and how others in his family from Zarki, Poland, dodged death at the hands of the Nazis time and again with incredible deftness. Working from his own recollections as well as extensive interviews with relatives and survivors who knew the family, Michael relates his inspirational Holocaust survival story with the help of his daughter, Debbie Bornstein Holinstat. Shocking, heartbreaking, and ultimately uplifting, this narrative nonfiction offers an indelible depiction of what happened to one Polish village in the wake of the German invasion in 1939. This thoroughly-researched and documented book can be worked into multiple aspects of the common core curriculum.

Prisoner of Night and Fog

Author: Anne Blankman
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472207838
Release Date: 2014-04-22
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

An explosive, fast-paced thriller set in Nazi Germany, perfect for readers who enjoyed THE BOOK THIEF.'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY. Gretchen Muller has, as best she can, dealt with the horrors of her family's past. Her father, a senior Nazi officer, died to save the life of their leader, Adolf Hitler. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more. Swept up in the excitement and passion of life in Munich in 1931, seventeen-year-old Gretchen has embraced the life laid out for her by that leader, her 'Uncle Dolf'. But the secrets of the past cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen receives a letter from an anonymous sender claiming to have more information about her father's death, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, it is a race that will risk everything she has and change her life forever...

Prisoner of War

Author: Michael P. Spradlin
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
ISBN: 9780545861519
Release Date: 2017-06-27
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Survive the war. Outlast the enemy. Stay alive. That's what Henry Forrest has to do. When he lies about his age to join the Marines, Henry never imagines he'll face anything worse than his own father's cruelty. But his unit is shipped off to the Philippines, where the heat is unbearable, the conditions are brutal, and Henry's dreams of careless adventuring are completely dashed. Then the Japanese invade the islands, and US forces there surrender. As a prisoner of war, Henry faces one horror after another. Yet among his fellow captives, he finds kindness, respect, even brotherhood. A glimmer of light in the darkness. And he'll need to hold tight to the hope they offer if he wants to win the fight for his country, his freedom . . . and his life. Michael P. Spradlin's latest novel tenderly explores the harsh realities of the Bataan Death March and captivity on the Pacific front during World War II.

Prisoner of Tehran

Author: Marina Nemat
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781848541290
Release Date: 2008-05-15
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Brought up as a Christian, Marina Nemat's peaceful childhood in Tehran was shattered when the Iranian Revolution of 1979 ushered in a new era of Islamic rule. After complaining to her teachers about her Maths lessons being replaced by Koran study, Marina was arrested late one evening. She was taken to the notorious prison, Evin, where interrogation and torture were part of the daily routine. Aged sixteen, she was sentenced to death. Her prison guard snatched her from the firing squad bullets but exacted a shocking price in return: marriage to him and conversion to Islam. Marina lived out her prison days as his secret bride, spending nights with him in a separate cell. Marina struggled to reconcile her hatred towards Ali and her feelings of physical repulsion with the fact that he had saved her life. When Ali was murdered by his enemies from Evin, and saved Marina's life for a second time, her feelings were complicated even further. At last she was able to return home, to her family and her past life, but silence surrounded her time as a political prisoner and the regime kept her under constant surveillance. Marina's world had been changed forever and she questions whether she will ever escape Iran and its regime or be free of her memories of Evin.

A Prisoner of Hope

Author: Rick Conner
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595159871
Release Date: 2001-01-01
Genre: Fiction

What makes Darron Shipe so violent and hateful that he thrives on a weak society for survival? His entire youth is spent in juvenile facilities, and his life unfolds like a nightmare as soon as he gets his first gun. The streets are his income, and now society must pay the price for his vengeance. A four-year prison term in maximum security results in numerous assaults and stabbings. Eight years later his counselor writes in her final report, "Mr. Shipe is a detriment to society, because of his violent nature and problems with anger." As soon as he is released, he returns to the one person who is responsible for all his problems--his father. Darron lays his sawed-off shotgun to his father's head and pulls the trigger! A year later, he is captured in a high-speed chase, and is held in a county jail for extradition back to Maryland. A visitation by an unknown old man with a message from God begins a series of miraculous events, which will change his life forever. The man of hate, destruction, anger, and despair becomes "A Prisoner of Hope".

Doctor Who Prisoner of the Daleks

Author: Trevor Baxendale
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781409070191
Release Date: 2009-04-02
Genre: Fiction

The Daleks are advancing, their empire constantly expanding. The battles rage on across countless solar systems – and the Doctor finds himself stranded on board a starship near the frontline with a group of ruthless bounty hunters. Earth Command will pay these hunters for every Dalek they kill, every eyestalk they bring back as proof. With the Doctor's help, the bounty hunters achieve the ultimate prize: a Dalek prisoner – intact, powerless, and ready for interrogation. But with the Daleks, nothing is what it seems, and no one is safe. Before long the tables will be turned, and how will the Doctor survive when he becomes a prisoner of the Daleks? An adventure featuring the Tenth Doctor, as played by David Tennant

Prisoner of the Vatican

Author: David I. Kertzer
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0618619194
Release Date: 2006-02
Genre: History

Draws on previously unknown documents from the Vatican archives to detail a late-nineteenth-century plot on the part of Pope Pius IX and his successor, Leo XIII, to block the unification of Italy and to seize control of Rome and the Papal States, in a colorful history marked by such key individuals as the two pontiffs, Italy's national hero Garibaldi, King Victor Emmanuel, and France's Napoleon III. Reprint.

Prisoner of Ice and Snow

Author: Ruth Lauren
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN: 9781408886748
Release Date: 2017-09-07
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice. But that's exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside. No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison ... An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

Enemy Aliens Prisoners of War

Author: Bohdan S. Kordan
Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP
ISBN: 0773523502
Release Date: 2002-11-27
Genre: History

In Enemy Aliens, Prisoners of War Bohdan Kordan assesses the policy and practice of civilian internment in Canada during the Great War and provides a clear but critical analysis of the complex nature of this experience. Period photographs and first person accounts augment the text, helping to communicate the human drama of the story. A comprehensive roster identifying those interned in the frontier camps of the Rocky Mountains is included.