The New York Times Guide to the Best 1 000 Movies Ever Made

Author: Peter M. Nichols
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 0312326114
Release Date: 2004-02-21
Genre: Performing Arts

Compiling a collection of original reviews by the critics of The New York Times, a collection of what they consider the finest films ever made encompasses movies of every conceivable genre, including musicals, dramas, comedies, foreign films, and animated features, as well as a "10 Best" list for every year from 1931 to the present. Original

RadioTimes Guide to Films 2018

Author: "Radio Times" Film Unit
Publisher:
ISBN: 0992936446
Release Date: 2017-09
Genre: Motion pictures

Contains information on 24, 000 films: cast, character, writer and director credits, essential family viewing advice, along with BBFC classifications. Also includes an in-depth awards section detailing Oscar and Bafta nominees and winners in key categories since 1927, plus historic winners at the Golden Globes and Cannes & Berlin festivals.

Radio Times Guide to Films 2006

Author: Radio Times Staff
Publisher:
ISBN: 0563493232
Release Date: 2005-10-01
Genre: Motion pictures

The 'Radio Times Guide to Films' reviews over 21,000 films and features 600 new entires. Following on from an introduction by Barry Norman, there are cast, character, writer and director credits, plus family viewing advice and BBFC classification, as well as video and DVD availability for all titles.

Time Out Film Guide

Author: John Pym
Publisher: Time Out Guides
ISBN: 9781846702082
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Performing Arts

Over 18,500 films reviewed over the last 40 years by Time Out critics

Have You Seen

Author: David Thomson
Publisher: Knopf
ISBN: 9780307270528
Release Date: 2008-10-14
Genre: Performing Arts

In 1975, David Thomson published his Biographical Dictionary of Film, and few film books have enjoyed better press or such steady sales. Now, thirty-three years later, we have the companion volume, a second book of more than 1,000 pages in one voice—that of our most provocative contemporary film critic and historian. Juxtaposing the fanciful and the fabulous, the old favorites and the forgotten, this sweeping collection presents the films that Thomson offers in response to the question he gets asked most often—“What should I see?” This new book is a generous history of film and an enticing critical appraisal written with as much humor and passion as historical knowledge. Not content to choose his own top films (though they are here), Thomson has created a list that will surprise and delight you—and send you to your best movie rental service. But he also probes the question: after one hundred years of film, which ones are the best, and why? “Have You Seen . . . ?” suggests a true canon of cinema and one that’s almost completely accessible now, thanks to DVDs. This book is a must for anyone who loves the silver screen: the perfect confection to dip into at any point for a taste of controversy, little-known facts, and ideas about what to see. This is a volume you’ll want to return to again and again, like a dear but argumentative friend in the dark at the movies. From the Hardcover edition.

Ratburger

Author: David Walliams
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
ISBN: 000745354X
Release Date: 2014-02-03
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

The fifth screamingly funny novel from David Walliams, number one bestseller and fastest growing children's author in the country.Hot on the heels of bestselling Gangsta Granny comes another hilarious, action-packed and touching novel - the story of a little girl called Zoe. Things are not looking good for Zoe. Her stepmother Sheila is so lazy she gets Zoe to pick her nose for her. The school bully Tina Trotts makes her life a misery - mainly by flobbing on her head. And now the evil Burt from Burt's Burgers is after her pet rat! And guess what he wants to do with it? The clue is in the title... From the author that is being called 'a new Roald Dahl', Ratburger is not to be missed!

Whographica

Author: Steve O'Brien
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781785940620
Release Date: 2016-09-22
Genre: Doctor Who (Television program : 1963-1989)

"JUST HOW TALL IS THE MASTER? WHO WAS KILLED BY PSYCHIC SPIDER ELECTRICITY? WHAT CAN'T A SONIC SCREWDRIVER DO? More colourful than Tom Baker's scarf, and more clever than Osgood, Whographica explores the rich and peculiar history of Doctor Who through infographics, charts, maps - and more! Follow the tangled threads of the Doctor's family tree. Discover the secrets of Dalek evolution. Learn what the Doctor so desperately wants to know himself- where and when to find his home planet. Captivating, intriguing, beautiful and strange, Whographica will show you so much more than the average eye is allowed to see. Because, if you look hard, there are more wonders in this universe than you could have ever dreamed of."

Grandpa s Great Escape

Author: David Walliams
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062560919
Release Date: 2017-02-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

David Walliams, hailed as “the heir to Roald Dahl” by The Spectator, burst onto the American scene with the New York Times bestseller Demon Dentist. Now the UK’s #1 bestselling children’s author is back with this high-flying adventure about a boy and his grandfather, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney and Rachel Renee Russell. Grandpa is Jack’s favorite person in the world. It doesn’t matter that he wears his slippers to the supermarket, serves Spam a la Custard for dinner, and often doesn’t remember Jack’s name. But then Grandpa starts to believe he’s back in World War II, when he was a Spitfire fighter pilot, and he’s sent to live in an old folk’s home run by the sinister Matron Swine. Now it’s up to Jack to help Grandpa plot a daring escape!

Inside The Writers Room

Author: Christina Kallas
Publisher: Macmillan International Higher Education
ISBN: 9781137338129
Release Date: 2013-12-13
Genre: Social Science

US television drama has gained recognition for its sophisticated narrative form, and the role of the writer has been central to this. Here television writers share their experiences and practices of writing for highly successful shows such as The Sopranos, Seinfeld, Cheers, Sex and the City, The Wire, Mad Men, The Big C and Boardwalk Empire.

Notes on the Cinematograph

Author: Robert Bresson
Publisher: New York Review of Books
ISBN: 9781681370248
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Cinematography

A key influence on the French New Wave and the director of such iconic works as Pickpocket and A Man Escaped, Robert Bresson is one of the central figures of French cinema. Notes on the Cinematograph is not only his definitive treatise on film-its inherent peculiarity and potential-but an ascetic meditation on how art transcends, and is transformed by, the senses. a Bresson upends inherited truths with empirical ones, calling for film to divest itself of the trappings of theater in order to come into its own as an art form. While theater is capable of simulation, film can capture immanent being. Therefore, he argues, the two forms are innately at odds- oNo marriage of theater and cinematography without both being exterminated.o a To this end, Bresson rechristens his actors omodelso and conducts them through grueling shoots where they repeat their lines and movements until he deems them vacant of actorly intention and charged, instead, with inscrutability- oA model. Enclosed in his mysterious appearance. He has brought home to him all of him that was outside. He is there, behind that forehead, those cheeks.o

The Remains of the Day

Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 0307576183
Release Date: 2010-07-15
Genre: Fiction

The universally acclaimed novel—winner of the Booker Prize and the basis for an award-winning film. Here is Kazuo Ishiguro's profoundly compelling portrait of Stevens, the perfect butler, and of his fading, insular world in post-World War II England. Stevens, at the end of three decades of service at Darlington Hall, spending a day on a country drive, embarks as well on a journey through the past in an effort to reassure himself that he has served humanity by serving the "great gentleman," Lord Darlington. But lurking in his memory are doubts about the true nature of Lord Darlington's "greatness," and much graver doubts about the nature of his own life.

Entertainment Industry Economics

Author: Harold L. Vogel
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781316062074
Release Date: 2014-12-31
Genre: Business & Economics

The entertainment and media industries, already important sectors of the US economy, continue to grow rapidly in other countries around the world. This ninth edition of Entertainment Industry Economics continues to be the definitive source on the economics of film, music, television, advertising, broadcasting, cable, casino and online wagering, publishing, performing arts and culture, toys and games, sports, and theme parks. It synthesizes a vast amount of data to provide a clear, comprehensive, and up-to-date reference guide on the economics, financing, accounting, production, and marketing of entertainment in the United States and overseas. Completely updated, it includes new sections on price effects, art markets, and Asian gaming. Financial analysts and investors, economists, industry executives, accountants, lawyers, regulators and legislators, and journalists, as well as students preparing to join these professionals, will benefit from this invaluable guide on how the entertainment and media industries operate.

Radio Times Guide to TV Comedy

Author: Mark Lewisohn
Publisher:
ISBN: 0563488468
Release Date: 2004-06
Genre:

This volume features details of every comedy show broadcast on British television, from the first shows inception in 1936 to the present day. Full broadcast details, cast information, credits, synopsis and critique are included.