Relics

Author: Mary Anna Evans
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press Inc
ISBN: 9781615952427
Release Date: 2012-03-05
Genre: Fiction

Faye Longchamp, back in school to pursue her dream of becoming an archaeologist, has been asked to run a project for which she is barely qualified, under the direction of a man who doesn’t seem to like her much. Her assignment: to uncover the origins of a mysterious ethnic group. The Sujosa have lived in Alabama’s most remote hills for centuries and have shown impressive immunity to many diseases...including AIDS. Late one night, Faye awakes to find the house in flames. She saves herself and one of her housemates. But her friend Carmen, the project historian, never had a chance. Then within days, an 18-year-old boy jumps from a cell phone tower that, when completed, would connect the outside world to the Sujosa community....

Relics

Author: Tim Lebbon
Publisher: Titan Books
ISBN: 1785656082
Release Date: 2018-02-27
Genre: Fiction

While searching for her missing fiancae, Angela Gough learns that he was involved in the black market trade of fantastic creatures, but her efforts to stop the illegal activities are thwarted when the creatures begin to fight back.

Relics

Author: Joan Carroll Cruz
Publisher: TAN Books
ISBN: 9780895558503
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Religion

Scripture speaks of miracles wrought through relics: a dead man was raised when Elisha’s bones touched him, and the clothing of Jesus and His apostles healed the sick. In the early Church, Masses were celebrated over the bones of the martyrs, and phials of their blood have effected countless miracles. Direct successors of the Apostles themselves speak of venerating relics; Church Fathers encourage it; throughout the ages of Catholic legacy, relics of the saints are always present. The Church takes diligent care in preserving and documenting the authenticity of her relics. Best-selling author Joan Carroll Cruz takes full advantage of these resources. With painstaking research, she exposes the details behind hundreds of the Church’s most famous and beloved relics. She covers 38 second-class relicsof our Lord and Lady, such as the Holy Grail and Our Lady’s Veil, and relics of all sorts from 75 favorite saints, such as St. Mary Magdalene, St. Agnes, St. Charles Borromeo, St. Francis of Assisi, St. Maria Goretti, and many more! Relics is a unique collection of years of dedicated research about the lives of the saints and the mementos they left behind, to remind us of their presence and intercession for us.

Relics

Author: Piotr Naskrecki
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
ISBN: 9780226568706
Release Date: 2011-10-31
Genre: Nature

Combines text with colorful photographs to chronicle the species of animals and plants that are biological relics of a bygone era.

Relics of the Christ

Author: Joe Nickell
Publisher: University Press of Kentucky
ISBN: 9780813172125
Release Date: 2007-03-16
Genre: Religion

Religious relics, defined as “either portions of or objects connected with the body of a saint or other holy person,” are among the most revered items in the world. Christian relics such as the Holy Grail, the True Cross, and the Lance of Longinus are also the source of limitless controversy. Such items have incited people to bloodshed and, some say, have been a source of miracles. Relics inspire fear and hope among the faithful and yet are a perennial target for skeptics, both secular and Christian. To research the authenticity of numerous Christian relics, Joe Nickell takes a scientific approach to a field of study all too often tainted by premature conclusions. In this volume, Nickell investigates such renowned relics as the Shroud of Turin, the multiple heads of John the Baptist, and the supposedly incorruptible corpses of saints, first examining the available evidence and documented history of each item. From accounts of true believers to the testimony of the relics’ alleged fabricators, Nickell then presents all sides of each story, allowing the evidence to speak for itself. For each relic, Nickell evaluates both the corroborating and contradictory bodies of evidence and explores whether the relic and attributed miracles can be reconstructed. In addition to his own experiments, Nickell presents findings from the world’s top scientists and historians regarding these controversial objects of reverence and ire, explaining the circumstances under which each case was examined. Radiocarbon dating and tests to determine the validity of substances such as blood or patina indicate a variety of possible origins. Nickell even reveals some of the techniques used to create archaeological forgeries and explains how investigators have exposed them. Each relic is a mystery to be solved; guided by the maxim, “extraordinary claims require extraordinary proof,” Nickell seeks only the truth.

Roadside Relics

Author: Will Shiers
Publisher: Motorbooks International
ISBN: 9780760339848
Release Date: 2010-11-06
Genre: Transportation

Abandoned junk to some, the rusty old steel shells of vehicles are treasures to others, holding memories of a bygone era, or the promise of a pristinely restored, radically customized automobile. Automotive photographer Will Shiers has captured these dreams on film for over ten years, and this volume collects his images between two covers for the first time. Here are the beautiful husks Shiers has found in the United States fields and barns, shops, and salvage yards across States. Divided into five categories—General Motors, Ford, Chrysler, Independents, and Special Vehicles—these wrecks and relics from 1910 to the 1970s come equipped with all the relevant information: history, model, location. The most comprehensive and beautifully photographed collection of abandoned cars ever published, this volume preserves for all time the exquisite skeletons of American automotive might.

Hitler s Holy Relics

Author: Sidney Kirkpatrick
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781849832083
Release Date: 2011-05-26
Genre: History

From Paris to Stalingrad, the Nazis systematically plundered all manner of art and antiquities. But the first and most valuable treasure they looted were the Crown Jewels of the Holy Roman Empire. This is the true-life Indiana Jones story of a college professor turned Army sleuth who foils a Nazi plot to preserve these cherished symbols of Hitler's Thousand Year Reich. Author Sidney Kirkpatrick draws on recently discovered and previously unpublished documents, including interrogation and intelligence reports, diaries and correspondence, as well as on interviews with all remaining living participants involved with the case, to re-create this thrilling true-life story.

Relics of the Buddha

Author: John S. Strong
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 9780691188119
Release Date: 2018-06-05
Genre: Religion


Holy Bones Holy Dust

Author: Charles Freeman
Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 9780300166590
Release Date: 2011-05-24
Genre: History


Relics

Author: Maer Wilson
Publisher:
ISBN: 1941637035
Release Date: 2014-08-28
Genre:


Relics The Folded Land

Author: Tim Lebbon
Publisher: Titan Books (US, CA)
ISBN: 9781785650345
Release Date: 2018-03-20
Genre: Fiction

"Tim Lebbon's Relics opens a darkly beautiful glimpse into another world, one lurking in the shadows." James Rollins, New York Times bestseller In the dark underbelly of our world, there's a black market in arcane things--living and dead. Angela Gough has been pulled into this world, making her a criminal on the run. In London she encountered the Kin--satyrs and centaurs, Nephilim and wraiths, they are hunted and slaughtered for their body parts. Fleeing back to the United States, Angela discovers that the Kin are everywhere, and they are tired of being prey. When her niece Sammi is struck by lightning, she is drawn toward the mysterious Folded Land, and its powerful and deadly ruler. Helped by her lover Vince, caught in the midst of a Kin uprising, Angela must locate Sammi before the girl is lost forever.

Relics

Author: R.D. Shah
Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781911591672
Release Date: 2017-07-10
Genre: Fiction

To find the truth... one must first uncover the lies When a Catholic priest hangs himself at the Pope’s inauguration in St. Peter’s Square, his friend, Professor Alex Harker, is dragged into a secret war. The suicide sets into motion a timetable of terrifying events that will irrevocably change the world as we know it. With the clock ticking, pursued by a deadly assassin, Harker must track down and decipher pieces of a puzzle laid down by the dead priest. Harker finds himself in an epic battle – one that has been playing out on the fringes of society since the birth of Christ. It threatens to reveal a truth so shocking that it could enslave and transform mankind's destiny forever. A rip-roaring crypto-thriller fuller of twists and action, perfect for readers of Dan Brown, Scott Mariani and Chris Kuzneski.

The Relic Master

Author: Christopher Buckley
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781501125782
Release Date: 2015-12-08
Genre: Fiction

Christopher Buckley’s “hilarious, bawdy, and irreverent frolic of a tale” about a sixteenth-century relic hunter and the artist Albrecht Dürer who conspire to fabricate Christ’s burial shroud reads “like Indiana Jones gone medieval” (USA TODAY). The year is 1517. Dismas is a relic hunter who procures “authentic” religious relics for wealthy and influential clients. His two most important patrons are Frederick the Wise and soon-to-be Cardinal Albrecht of Mainz. While Frederick is drawn to the recent writing of Martin Luther, Albrecht pursues the financial and political benefits of religion and seeks to buy a cardinalship through the selling of indulgences. When Albrecht’s demands for grander relics increase, Dismas and his artist friend Dürer fabricate a shroud to sell to the unsuspecting noble. Unfortunately Dürer’s reckless pride exposes the trickery, so Albrecht puts Dismas and Dürer in the custody of four mercenaries and sends them all to steal Christ’s burial cloth (the Shroud of Chambéry), Europe’s most celebrated artifact. On their journey to Savoy where the Shroud will be displayed, they battle a lustful count and are joined by a beautiful female apothecary. It is only when they reach their destination they realize they are not alone in their intentions to acquire a relic of dubious legitimacy. “A rollicking good time, Christopher Buckley has transported his signature wit and irreverence from the Beltway to sixteenth-century Europe in The Relic Master” (GQ). This epic quest, “as rascally and convivial as any that Mr. Buckley has written” (The Wall Street Journal), is filled with fascinating details about art, religion, politics, and science; Vatican intrigue; and Buckley’s signature wit “holds the reader till the very last page” (The New York Times Book Review).

Furta Sacra

Author: Patrick J. Geary
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 1400820200
Release Date: 2011-06-27
Genre: History

To obtain sacred relics, medieval monks plundered tombs, avaricious merchants raided churches, and relic-mongers scoured the Roman catacombs. In a revised edition of Furta Sacra, Patrick Geary considers the social and cultural context for these acts, asking how the relics were perceived and why the thefts met with the approval of medieval Christians.

Images and Relics

Author: John Dillenberger
Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand
ISBN: 0195121724
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Art

Enth.: "Hans Holbein the Younger: The Cult of the Portrait" (S. 149-156).