Resilience

Author: Eric Greitens
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544323988
Release Date: 2015-03-10
Genre: Psychology

The Navy SEAL, humanitarian and best-selling author of The Heart and the Fist draws on ancient wisdom and personal experience to counsel readers on how to promote personal resilience and overcome obstacles through positive action. 100,000 first printing.

Resilience

Author: Eric Greitens
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544323995
Release Date: 2015-03-10
Genre: Self-Help

New York Times bestseller Author of The Heart and the Fist “Eric Greitens provides a brilliant and brave course of action to help navigate life’s roughest waters.” — Admiral Mike Mullen, seventeenth chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff In 2012, Eric Greitens unexpectedly heard from a former SEAL comrade, a brother-in-arms he hadn’t seen in a decade. Zach Walker had been one of the toughest of the tough. But ever since he returned home from war to his young family in a small logging town, he’d been struggling. Without a sense of purpose, plagued by PTSD, and masking his pain with heavy drinking, he needed help. Zach and Eric started writing and talking nearly every day, as Eric set down his thoughts on what it takes to build resilience in our lives. ​Eric’s letters—drawing on both his own experience and wisdom from ancient and modern thinkers—are now gathered and edited into this timeless guidebook. Greitens shows how we can build purpose, confront pain, practice compassion, develop a vocation, find a mentor, create happiness, and much more. Resilience is an inspiring meditation for the warrior in each of us. “This book is a gift not only to Greitens’s comrades-in-arms, but to readers everywhere.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Resilience

Author: Eric Greitens
Publisher: Mariner Books
ISBN: 0544705262
Release Date: 2016-05-03
Genre:

A masterpiece of warrior wisdom: how to be resilient, how to overcome obstacles not by "positive thinking" or self-esteem, but by positive action. The best-selling author, Navy SEAL, and humanitarian Eric Greitens offers a self-help book unlike any other."

The Heart and the Fist

Author: Eric Greitens
Publisher: Turtleback
ISBN: 0606239804
Release Date: 2012-04
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A humanitarian-turned-Navy SEAL describes how he drew on his humanitarian training to battle injustice.

The Warrior s Heart

Author: Eric Greitens
Publisher:
ISBN: 060635333X
Release Date: 2015-02-03
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Shares the author's adventures as a young man that led him to a life of service as both a humanitarian and a Navy SEAL.

Resilience

Author: Steven Southwick
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781108441667
Release Date: 2018-05-03
Genre: Medical

This inspiring book presents ten factors to help anyone become stronger and more resilient to life's challenges.

Resilience

Author: Andrew Zolli
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781451683813
Release Date: 2013-07-09
Genre: Business & Economics

Tracing some of the economic highs and lows that impacted the world in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, an introduction to the emerging field of resilience research explains how to approach disruptions in ecosystems, businesses and governments to better reinforce interdependent world systems. 40,000 first printing.

Strength Compassion

Author: Eric Greitens
Publisher:
ISBN: 0971007802
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Photography

A collection of photographer Eric Greiten's award-winning international humanitarian photography.

The Way of the SEAL

Author: Mark Divine
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781621451105
Release Date: 2013-12-26
Genre: Business & Economics

In the Way of the SEAL, ex-Navy Commander Mark Divine reveals exercises, meditations and focusing techniques to train your mind for mental toughness, emotional resilience and uncanny intuition. Along the way you’ll reaffirm your ultimate purpose, define your most important goals, and take concrete steps to make them happen. A practical guide for businesspeople or anyone who wants to be an elite operator in life, this book will teach you how to: · Lead from the front, so that others will want to work for you · Practice front-sight focus, the radical ability to focus on one thing until victory is achieved · Think offense, all the time, to eradicate fear and indecisiveness · Smash the box and be an unconventional thinker so you’re never thrown off-guard by chaotic conditions · Access your intuition so you can make “hard right” decisions · Achieve twenty times more than you think you can · and much more Blending the tactics he learned from America’s elite forces with lessons from the Spartans, samurai, Apache scouts, and other great warrior traditions, Divine has distilled the fundamentals of success into eight powerful principles that will transform you into the leader you always knew you could be. Learn to think like a SEAL, and take charge of your destiny at work, home and in life.

Surviving Survival The Art and Science of Resilience

Author: Laurence Gonzales
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393083187
Release Date: 2012-09-10
Genre: Psychology

Highlights the survivors of various traumas and describes their lives both before and after and offers a detailed discussion of the fear, courage and the flexibility of the spirit that drives people onward after a life-threatening experience.

Resilience

Author: Lisa Lisson
Publisher: ECW Press
ISBN: 9781773050980
Release Date: 2017-10-17
Genre: Business & Economics

An inspiring book for readers of Sheryl Sandberg and Arlene Dickinson Lisa LissonÕs life seemed perfect: she had married her high school sweetheart, applied her marketing degree to a position at FedEx Express Canada, and risen to become a vice president (and would ultimately become president) of the company. One night, after putting their four children to bed, her husband, Patrick, marvelled that their lives seemed perfectly happy. Just a few hours later, everything changed. One moment Lisa was sleeping beside Patrick, and the next, she was kneeling on the floor beside his unconscious body frantically administering CPR. Patrick had had a massive heart attack and was in a coma, and the doctors were blunt: there was no hope. But for the next two years, Lisa stood by his side and awaited a miracle, while continuing to balance life as a high-powered executive and mother of four. Part leadership guide, part memoir of loss, and part personal empowerment primer on how to achieve your goals no matter what the universe throws at you, Resilience is an inspirational story about how to rise to the top in a manÕs world, triumph over adversity, lead a fulfilling life, and live each day with purpose and gratitude.

Resilient

Author: Rick Hanson, Ph.D.
Publisher: Harmony
ISBN: 9780451498854
Release Date: 2018-03-27
Genre: Self-Help

These days it’s hard to count on the world outside. So it’s vital to grow strengths inside like grit, gratitude, and compassion—the key to resilience, and to lasting well-being in a changing world. True resilience is much more than enduring terrible conditions. We need resilience every day to raise a family, work at a job, cope with stress, deal with health problems, navigate issues with others, heal from old pain, and simply keep on going. With his trademark blend of neuroscience, mindfulness, and positive psychology, New York Times bestselling author Dr. Rick Hanson shows you how to develop twelve vital inner strengths hardwired into your own nervous system. Then no matter what life throws at you, you’ll be able to feel less stressed, pursue opportunities with confidence, and stay calm and centered in the face of adversity. This practical guide is full of concrete suggestions, experiential practices, personal examples, and insights into the brain. It includes effective ways to interact with others and to repair and deepen important relationships. Warm, encouraging, and down-to-earth, Dr. Hanson’s step-by-step approach is grounded in the science of positive neuroplasticity. He explains how to overcome the brain’s negativity bias, release painful thoughts and feelings, and replace them with self-compassion, self-worth, joy, and inner peace.

Stronger

Author: George Everly Jr.
Publisher: AMACOM
ISBN: 9780814436059
Release Date: 2015-08-05
Genre: Business & Economics

Professional athletes, surgeons, first responders-all perform remarkable feats in the face of intense stress. Why do they thrive under pressure, while others succumb? What separates the two is attitude. Resilient people meet adversity head-on and bounce back from setbacks. They seem to naturally exude an inner strength-but studies show that resilience is something that anyone can build. Analyzing the heroic exploits of U.S. Navy SEALs and others who succeed against all odds, Stronger identifies five factors that combine to unlock deep reserves of personal power: Active optimism-believe that you can change things for the better * Decisive action-you can't succeed if you don't take the leap * Moral compass-face any challenge with clear guiding principles * Relentless tenacity-try, try again * Interpersonal support-gain strength from those around you Drawing on the unique perspective of a standout team of authors (a stress management expert, a skilled entrepreneur, and a Navy SEAL), Stronger explores the science behind resilience and explains how you can develop this vital trait for yourself. Whatever your profession, today's demanding world calls for a special kind of strength. This revealing book holds the key.

Bouncing Back

Author: Linda Graham, MFT
Publisher: New World Library
ISBN: 9781608681297
Release Date: 2013-03-15
Genre: Psychology

"Advice, exercises, and examples to help readers increase their clarity, connection, competence, calm, and courage, from a clinical therapist, mindfulness teacher, and expert on the neuroscience of relationships. Applicable to relationships, jobs, and everyday life"--Provided by publisher.

The Resilience Breakthrough

Author: Christian Moore
Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group
ISBN: 9781626340947
Release Date: 2014-07-22
Genre: Self-Help

A Guide to Resilience: The Second-Greatest Principle in the World Christian Moore is convinced that each of us has a power hidden within, something that can get us through any kind of adversity. That power is resilience. In The Resilience Breakthrough, Moore delivers a practical primer on how you can become more resilient in a world of instability and narrowing opportunity, whether you’re facing financial troubles, health setbacks, challenges on the job, or any other problem. We can all have our own resilience breakthrough, Moore argues, and can each learn how to use adverse circumstances as potent fuel for overcoming life’s hardships. As he shares engaging real-life stories and brutally honest analysis of his own experiences, Moore equips you with twenty-seven resilience-building tools that you can start using today—in your personal life or in your organization.