Shadow Divers

Author: Robert Kurson
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 1588362493
Release Date: 2004-06-29
Genre: History

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships. But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones–all buried under decades of accumulated sediment. No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location. Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors–former enemies of their country. As the men’s marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew. Author Robert Kurson’s account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean’s underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Robert Kurson's Pirate Hunters.

Das Gift der Gewissheit

Author: Scott Turow
Publisher: Karl Blessing Verlag
ISBN: 9783641148607
Release Date: 2014-05-29
Genre: Fiction

Für gewöhnlich tragen Arthur Ravens Mandanten feinen Zwirn und sitzen hinter Mahagonischreibtischen. Romeo Gandolph jedoch trägt Handschellen und sitzt hinter Gittern im Trakt für zum Tode verurteilte Straftäter in Rudyard. Man hat ihn für schuldig befunden, am 4. Juli 1991 zwei Männer und eine Frau in einem Imbissrestaurant beraubt und erschossen zu haben. Obwohl er die Tat bereits mehrfach gestanden hat, schwört er nun, dass er nicht der Mörder ist. Das Bundesberufungsgericht von Kindle County ernennt Raven zum Pflichtverteidiger in diesem scheinbar aussichtslosen Verfahren, das doch nur dazu dienen soll, längst gesichert geglaubte Fakten ein weiteres Mal abzuhaken. Der Anwalt macht sich missmutig an die Arbeit, entdeckt aber schon bald Hinweise darauf, dass sein Mandant möglicherweise unschuldig ist. Er ist dankbar für die Unterstützung, die Gillian Sullivan anbietet, doch er kann nicht ahnen, dass ihm die ehemalige Richterin, die Gandolph in erster Instanz zum Tode verurteil hatte, ihre dunkle Vergangenheit verschweigt. Der spektakuläre Auftritt eines Zeugen lässt die Ereignisse schließlich in einem ganz anderen Licht erscheinen und führt Anklage und Verteidigung vor Augen, wie sich die Wahrheit zu immer neuen Trugbildern verzerrt. Turows mitreißende Inszenierung dieses Prozesses vermittelt jenseits von Hollywood-Heroismus und Schwarz-Weiß-Malerei, wie morsch das Justizsystem ist, das über Leben und Tod von Menschen entscheidet, und wie schwierig es für alle Beteiligten ist, sich mit ihren Emotionen auseinander zu setzen. Selbstzweifel, Reue und Verbitterung sind seinen Figuren ebenso eigen wie guter Glaube, Ehrgeiz und Hoffnung. Ein spannendes Courtroom-Drama, das schließlich nur die eine Gewissheit postuliert: Der Weg zur Hölle ist gepflastert mit guten Absichten.

The Western European and Mediterranean Theaters in World War II

Author: Donal Sexton
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781135906870
Release Date: 2011-10-06
Genre: History

The Western European and Mediterranean Theaters in World War II is a concise, comprehensive guide for students, teachers, and history buffs of the Second World War. With an emphasis on the American forces in these theaters, each entry is accompanied by a brief annotation that will allow researchers to navigate through the vast amount of literature on the campaigns fought in these regions with ease. Focusing on all aspects surrounding the U.S. involvement in the Western European and Mediterranean theaters, including politics, religion, biography, strategy, intelligence, and operations, this bibliography will be a welcome addition to the collection of any academic or research library. Routledge Research Guides to American Military Studies provide concise, annotated bibliographies to the major areas and events in American military history. With the inclusion of brief critical annotations after each entry, the student and researcher can easily assess the utility of each bibliographic source and evaluate the abundance of resources available with ease and efficiency. Comprehensive, concise, and current—Routledge Research Guides to American Military Studies are an essential research tool for any historian.

Read On Audiobooks Reading Lists for Every Taste

Author: Joyce G. Saricks
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 9781591588078
Release Date: 2011-03-21
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

With more than 300 original annotations in some 60 thematic lists, this one-of-a kind compilation opens the world of audiobooks to listeners and librarians alike. • More than 300 original annotations that speak to why listeners might enjoy the selected audiobooks • Over 60 thematic lists that will entice audiobook fans, as well as those unfamiliar with the format • Indexes by author, title, narrator, and genre

A History of Submarine Warfare along the Jersey Shore

Author: Joseph G. Bilby
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
ISBN: 9781625857972
Release Date: 2016-08-22
Genre: History

The ingenious people of the Garden State were instrumental in the early development of the submarine. The first American submarine sank off Fort Lee in 1776, and the first successful one adopted by the U.S. Navy was invented by Paterson’s John Holland at the end of the nineteenth century. Those early vessels were tested in the Passaic River and on the Jersey City waterfront. Today, the only surviving Union Civil War submarine, built in Newark, sits in the National Guard Militia Museum in Sea Girt. In 1918, the technology pioneered there was turned against the Jersey Shore when U-151 went on a one-day ship-sinking rampage. A World War II U-boat offensive torpedoed numerous ships off the coast, leaving oil-soaked beaches strewn with wreckage. Authors Joseph G. Bilby and Harry Ziegler reveal the remarkable history of submarines off the New Jersey coastline.

There s More to New Jersey than the Sopranos

Author: Marc Mappen
Publisher: Rutgers University Press
ISBN: 0813548446
Release Date: 2009-08-06
Genre: History

An American tourist in Europe stopped at a restaurant in Gdansk, Poland, and struck up a conversation with a local. "Where do you come from?" he asked. "New Jersey," she said. He smiled and replied, "Ah, Sopranos!" Even fans of that popular show, one that held viewers captive, may be a bit disheartened to discover that the first thing that pops into minds around the world about New Jersey is a dysfunctional crime family, just an exit or two off the infamous N.J. Turnpike. But there's no need to live in fear that the only culture and history that the state is known for is, well, let's say, a bit of bada bing. Actually, the echo of the Big Bangùthe cosmic event that marked the birth of our universe some 13.7 billion years agoùwas first identified by scientists from Bell Labs in Murray Hill, New Jersey. In this lively romp through history from the primitive past to the present day, Marc Mappen's message resonatesùThere's More to New Jersey than the Sopranos. Real tales, wise tales, tall tales abound throughout the pages of Mappen's collection, filled with zest, humor, scandal, and occasionally tragedy. Annie Oakley. Ulysses S. Grant. Benedict Arnold. Ezra Pound. Shoeless Joe Jackson. These luminaries and many others share a common bond with the state that witnessed prehistoric elephants roaming its pastures, the explosion on the USS Princeton, a Martian invasion, famous firsts like the phonograph, electric light, and movies, and, well, step aside Tony Soprano: mobster Al Capone strolling along the Atlantic City boardwalk. Providing a lens into American history through lively prose and more than twenty-five illustrations, There's More to New Jersey than the Sopranos is as much fun as a trip to the Jersey Shore and definitely more rewarding than a night home watching televisionù simply stated, this book is one you can't refuse to read.

Treasure Hunters

Author: Corona Brezina
Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
ISBN: 1404217886
Release Date: 2008-08-15
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes treasure hunting as a profession, including the history of searching for buried and sunken treasure, the equipment and training required, and the dangers associated with the field.

Unbroken deutsch

Author: Laura Hillenbrand
Publisher: Klett-Cotta
ISBN: 9783608102390
Release Date: 2011-10-01
Genre: Fiction

Louis Zamperini, Sohn italienischer Einwanderer, wird vom jugendlichen Schlitzohr zum Mittelstreckenläufer von Weltrang. Nach seinem fulminanten Schlussspurt beim Finale der Olympischen Spiele in Berlin 1936 beginnt seine Odyssee während des Zweiten Weltkriegs im Pazifik. Er gerät mitten ins Inferno der Gefangenschaft, wo er Folter und Hunger erträgt und überlebt. Laura Hillenbrand, die zurzeit erfolgreichste Sachbuchautorin der USA, erzählt mitreißend und erzeugt eine atemlose Spannung: den Flugzeugabsturz, die 47-tägige Irrfahrt im Schlauchboot durch den Pazifik, den Kampf gegen Haie, die Kriegsgefangenschaft unter einem der grausamsten Verbrecher des Zweiten Weltkriegs.

Die eisernen S rge

Author: Herbert A. Werner
Publisher:
ISBN: 3893500839
Release Date: 1990
Genre: World War, 1939-1945


Media Review Digest

Author: C. Edward Wall
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105026457783
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Audio-visual materials


Senior High Core Collection

Author: Raymond W. Barber
Publisher: Hw Wilson Co
ISBN: 0824210867
Release Date: 2007-10-31
Genre: Best books

- More than 6,500 books in the initial clothbound volume, plus more than 2,400 new titles in four annual supplements. - New coverage of biographies, art, sports, Islam and the Middle East, and cultural diversity. - Special focus on graphic novels, primary source materials, nonbook materials, and periodicals. - Analytic entries for items in collections and anthologies.

Talking Book Topics

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015064846408
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Talking books

Includes audio versions, and annual title-author index.

The Real Story

Author: Sarah Statz Cords
Publisher: Libraries Unltd Incorporated
ISBN: 1591582830
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Explores the genres and sub-genres of nonfiction and provides an annotated bibliography of more than five hundred popular nonfiction titles, organized according to genre with a focus on titles published in the last decade.