Shadow Divers

Author: Robert Kurson
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 1588362493
Release Date: 2004-06-29
Genre: History

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships. But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones–all buried under decades of accumulated sediment. No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location. Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors–former enemies of their country. As the men’s marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew. Author Robert Kurson’s account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean’s underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Robert Kurson's Pirate Hunters.

Das Gift der Gewissheit

Author: Scott Turow
Publisher: Karl Blessing Verlag
ISBN: 9783641148607
Release Date: 2014-05-29
Genre: Fiction

Für gewöhnlich tragen Arthur Ravens Mandanten feinen Zwirn und sitzen hinter Mahagonischreibtischen. Romeo Gandolph jedoch trägt Handschellen und sitzt hinter Gittern im Trakt für zum Tode verurteilte Straftäter in Rudyard. Man hat ihn für schuldig befunden, am 4. Juli 1991 zwei Männer und eine Frau in einem Imbissrestaurant beraubt und erschossen zu haben. Obwohl er die Tat bereits mehrfach gestanden hat, schwört er nun, dass er nicht der Mörder ist. Das Bundesberufungsgericht von Kindle County ernennt Raven zum Pflichtverteidiger in diesem scheinbar aussichtslosen Verfahren, das doch nur dazu dienen soll, längst gesichert geglaubte Fakten ein weiteres Mal abzuhaken. Der Anwalt macht sich missmutig an die Arbeit, entdeckt aber schon bald Hinweise darauf, dass sein Mandant möglicherweise unschuldig ist. Er ist dankbar für die Unterstützung, die Gillian Sullivan anbietet, doch er kann nicht ahnen, dass ihm die ehemalige Richterin, die Gandolph in erster Instanz zum Tode verurteil hatte, ihre dunkle Vergangenheit verschweigt. Der spektakuläre Auftritt eines Zeugen lässt die Ereignisse schließlich in einem ganz anderen Licht erscheinen und führt Anklage und Verteidigung vor Augen, wie sich die Wahrheit zu immer neuen Trugbildern verzerrt. Turows mitreißende Inszenierung dieses Prozesses vermittelt jenseits von Hollywood-Heroismus und Schwarz-Weiß-Malerei, wie morsch das Justizsystem ist, das über Leben und Tod von Menschen entscheidet, und wie schwierig es für alle Beteiligten ist, sich mit ihren Emotionen auseinander zu setzen. Selbstzweifel, Reue und Verbitterung sind seinen Figuren ebenso eigen wie guter Glaube, Ehrgeiz und Hoffnung. Ein spannendes Courtroom-Drama, das schließlich nur die eine Gewissheit postuliert: Der Weg zur Hölle ist gepflastert mit guten Absichten.

Ice Man

Author: Philip Carlo
Publisher: Piper Spannungsvoll
ISBN: 9783492983389
Release Date: 2017-03-13
Genre: True Crime

Er führte ein schockierendes Doppelleben: Hinter dem liebevollen Familienvater Richard Kuklinski verbirgt sich einer der grausamsten Auftragsmörder der USA. In über vierzig Jahren ermordet er mehr als 200 Menschen im Auftrag der Mafia. Seine eiskalten und sadistischen Taten verleihen ihm den Namen »Ice Man«. Und das Unglaubliche: Seine Familie ahnt nichts ... Bestsellerautor Philip Carlo erzählt seine Lebensgeschichte: spannend, packend, rasant.

The Western European and Mediterranean Theaters in World War II

Author: Donal Sexton
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781135906870
Release Date: 2011-10-06
Genre: History

The Western European and Mediterranean Theaters in World War II is a concise, comprehensive guide for students, teachers, and history buffs of the Second World War. With an emphasis on the American forces in these theaters, each entry is accompanied by a brief annotation that will allow researchers to navigate through the vast amount of literature on the campaigns fought in these regions with ease. Focusing on all aspects surrounding the U.S. involvement in the Western European and Mediterranean theaters, including politics, religion, biography, strategy, intelligence, and operations, this bibliography will be a welcome addition to the collection of any academic or research library. Routledge Research Guides to American Military Studies provide concise, annotated bibliographies to the major areas and events in American military history. With the inclusion of brief critical annotations after each entry, the student and researcher can easily assess the utility of each bibliographic source and evaluate the abundance of resources available with ease and efficiency. Comprehensive, concise, and current—Routledge Research Guides to American Military Studies are an essential research tool for any historian.

Read On Audiobooks Reading Lists for Every Taste

Author: Joyce G. Saricks
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 9781591588078
Release Date: 2011-03-21
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

With more than 300 original annotations in some 60 thematic lists, this one-of-a kind compilation opens the world of audiobooks to listeners and librarians alike. • More than 300 original annotations that speak to why listeners might enjoy the selected audiobooks • Over 60 thematic lists that will entice audiobook fans, as well as those unfamiliar with the format • Indexes by author, title, narrator, and genre

A History of Submarine Warfare along the Jersey Shore

Author: Joseph G. Bilby
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
ISBN: 9781625857972
Release Date: 2016-08-22
Genre: History

The ingenious people of the Garden State were instrumental in the early development of the submarine. The first American submarine sank off Fort Lee in 1776, and the first successful one adopted by the U.S. Navy was invented by Paterson’s John Holland at the end of the nineteenth century. Those early vessels were tested in the Passaic River and on the Jersey City waterfront. Today, the only surviving Union Civil War submarine, built in Newark, sits in the National Guard Militia Museum in Sea Girt. In 1918, the technology pioneered there was turned against the Jersey Shore when U-151 went on a one-day ship-sinking rampage. A World War II U-boat offensive torpedoed numerous ships off the coast, leaving oil-soaked beaches strewn with wreckage. Authors Joseph G. Bilby and Harry Ziegler reveal the remarkable history of submarines off the New Jersey coastline.

More Book Lust

Author: Nancy Pearl
Publisher: Sasquatch Books
ISBN: 9781570616556
Release Date: 2009-09-29
Genre: Literary Criticism

The response to Nancy Pearl’s surprise bestseller Book Lust was astounding: the Seattle librarian even became the model for the now-famous Librarian Action Figure. Readers everywhere welcomed Pearl’s encyclopedic but discerning filter on books worth reading, and her Rule of 50 (give a book 50 pages before deciding whether to continue; but readers over 50 must read the same number of pages as their age) became a standard MO.

Die eisernen S rge

Author: Herbert A. Werner
Publisher:
ISBN: 3893500839
Release Date: 1990
Genre: World War, 1939-1945


Treasure Hunters

Author: Corona Brezina
Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
ISBN: 1404217886
Release Date: 2008-08-15
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes treasure hunting as a profession, including the history of searching for buried and sunken treasure, the equipment and training required, and the dangers associated with the field.

Deep Sea

Author: James Nestor
Publisher: Piper ebooks
ISBN: 9783492967358
Release Date: 2014-10-06
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Ein Besuch der Apnoe-Weltmeisterschaft wird für James Nestor zum Beginn eines persönlichen Abenteuers: Fasziniert von der Kompromisslosigkeit dieses Sports, erlernt er selbst das Freitauchen. Und fortan zieht es ihn immer tiefer in die verborgene Welt der Ozeane hinab: Er besucht eine Forschungsstation 20 Meter unter der Meeresoberfläche, trifft renommierten Meeresbiologen bei ihrer Arbeit, schwimmt mit Walen und geht im U-Boot auf Tauchstation. Dabei entdeckt er einen unfassbar reichen Lebensraum, mit telepathischen Korallen, leuchtenden Fischen und rätselhaften Riesenkraken. Bis er schließlich den tiefsten Punkt der Erde erreicht – die absolute Grenze für Mensch und Technik. Eine grandiose Entdeckungsreise, die zugleich unseren Wurzeln nachspürt.

Glamorama

Author: Bret Easton Ellis
Publisher: Kiepenheuer & Witsch
ISBN: 9783462318951
Release Date: 2018-09-07
Genre: Fiction

Stars und Models, hippe Charaktere, grenzenlose Gewalt und anarchischer Sex, Designerdrogen und hämmernde Musik – alles, was seine Fans (und Kritiker) erwartet haben, steckt in Bret Easton Ellis’ spektakulärem Roman »Glamorama«. Ein Horrortrip durch das glamouröse New York, durch die obszön glitzernde Welt von London und Paris.Victor Ward, Model und Nightlife-Profi, lebt in der modebesessenen und prominenzgeilen Welt Manhattans. Er eröffnet einen eigenen Szene-Club. Er hat ein Supermodel als Freundin und betrügt sie. Wie alle im Schatten der Stars kämpft er um Geld, Macht und Ruhm. Und zunehmend gerät er in den Sog der düsteren Seite dieser Hochglanz-Welt, die eng vernetzt ist mit Verbrechen und Gewalt. Ein mysteriöser Auftrag führt ihn nach London und Paris, wo er Kontakt zu einer terroristischen Vereinigung aufnimmt, die – angeführt von einem Model – Hotels in die Luft jagt und Flugzeuge sprengt. Ob in Manhattan oder in Europa, Victor weiß, dass er in der Falle sitzt, und Fluchtwege gibt es nicht.