Shakespeare s criminals

Author: Victoria M. Time
Publisher: Praeger Pub Text
ISBN: 0313308705
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Literary Criticism

Challenges criminologists to expand their spheres of inquiry through Shakespeare's use of law and justice themes.

Crime Control and Social Justice

Author: Darnell Felix Hawkins
Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group
ISBN: 0313307903
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Social Science

This collection examines the perennial tension between society's need to protect its citizens from crime, while assuring that the crime control and reduction measures that it enacts do not deny basic rights or exacerbate the socioeconomic inequality that gives rise to disparate rates of offending. Focusing largely on developments in criminal justice policies and practices enacted during the last few decades, the essays in this volume explore the delicate balance between governmental crime control efforts and professed goals of promoting social justice and protecting civil liberties.

Crime and Social Control in a Changing China

Author: Jianhong Liu
Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group
ISBN: 031331652X
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Law

Thirteen contributions from international academics, many of whom were born and grew up in China, discuss recent research in crime and social control in China. They consider some of the reasons for the increase in economic crimes and corruption in recent decades as China's economy has been in transi

BPR

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105111050469
Release Date: 2000-01
Genre: American literature


Fr hneuzeit Info

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105115064581
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Civilization, Modern


Crime Shame and Reintegration

Author: John Braithwaite
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 0521356687
Release Date: 1989-03-23
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

This book, a contribution to general criminological theory, suggests that the key to why some societies have higher crime rates than others lies in the way different cultures go about the social process of shaming wrongdoers. Shaming can be counterproductive, making crime problems worse. But when shaming is done within a cultural context of respect for the offender, it can be extraordinarily powerful, efficient, and just form of social control.

Forthcoming Books

Author: Rose Arny
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015058394381
Release Date: 2001
Genre: American literature


The Invention of International Crime

Author: P. Knepper
Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 9780230251120
Release Date: 2009-10-29
Genre: History

We live in the age of international crime but when did it begin? This book examines the period when crime became an international issue (1881-1914), exploring issues such as 'world-shrinking' changes in transportation, communication and commerce, and concerns about alien criminality, white slave trading and anarchist outrages.

Crime and the Lifecourse

Author: Michael L. Benson
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9780415994927
Release Date: 2012-07-26
Genre: Law

In recent years, the lifecourse perspective has become a popular theoretical orientation toward crime. Yet despite its growing importance in the field of criminology, most textbooks give it only cursory treatment. Crime and the Lifecourse: An Introduction by Michael L. Benson provides a comprehensive overview of contemporary research and theory on the life-course approach to crime. The book emphasizes a conceptual understanding of this approach. A special feature is the integration of qualitative and quantitative research on criminal life histories. This book: provides an overview of the life course approach and describes the major concepts and issues in lifecourse theory as it applies to criminology reviews evidence on biological and genetic influences on crime reviews research on the role of the family in crime and juvenile delinquency provides a detailed discussion of the criminological lifecourse theories of Moffitt, Hagan, Sampson and Laub, and others discusses the connections between youthful crime and adult outcomes in education, occupation, and marriage presents an application of the lifecourse approach to white-collar crime discusses how macro sociological and historical developments have influenced the shape of the lifecourse in American society as it relates to patterns in crime.

The Devil s Daughters

Author: Diana Bretherick
Publisher: Orion
ISBN: 9781409150329
Release Date: 2015-08-27
Genre: Fiction

1888. When young Scottish scientist James Murray receives a letter from Sofia Esposito, a woman he once loved and lost, he cannot refuse her cry for help. Sofia's fifteen-year-old cousin has vanished but, because of her lower-class status, the police are unwilling to investigate. Accompanied by his younger sister Lucy, Murray returns to the city of Turin where he was once apprenticed to the world-famous criminologist, Cesare Lombroso. As he embarks on his search for the missing girl, Murray uncovers a series of mysterious disappearances of young women and rumours of a haunted abbey on the outskirts of the city. When the body of one of the girls turns up bearing evidence of a satanic ritual, Murray begins to slot together the pieces of the puzzle. But as two more bodies are discovered, fear grips the city and a desperate hunt begins to find a truly terrifying killer before he claims his next victim. THE DEVIL'S DAUGHTERS is the gripping new novel from Diana Bretherick, author of CITY OF DEVILS. A must-read tale of murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of CJ Sansom, Antonia Hodgson and Elizabeth Fremantle.

Dynamic Security

Author: Michael Parker
Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers
ISBN: 9781843103851
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Political Science

Dynamic Security describes the theory, practice and management of democratic therapeutic communities (TCs) in prisons using clinical examples and case studies. The contributors explore the complexities of working in TCs and the powerful emotional impact generated in the process of therapy in the forensic setting.