The Age Of Gold

Author: H W Brands
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781407058344
Release Date: 2010-03-30
Genre: History

The discovery of gold in California in 1848 sparked a frenzy that shook the world. People swarmed to the gold fields from as far as China and Australia. They came by ship and overland, braving Tierra del Fuego and the pestilence of Panama, lured by the promise of riches. At the heart of The Age of Gold is the story of Captain John Fremont, the flamboyant adventurer who "liberated" California from Mexico, only to find himself accused of mutiny. Fremont met his match in young Jessie Benton, a headstrong, fiercely intelligent Senator's daughter. Together, John and Jessie Fremont would play a fateful role in the drama unfolding on the gold fields as they lurched, like so many others, from financial ruin to astonishing riches.

The Age of Gold

Author: H.W. Brands
Publisher: Anchor
ISBN: 9780307481221
Release Date: 2008-12-10
Genre: History

The California Gold Rush inspired a new American dream—the “dream of instant wealth, won by audacity and good luck.” The discovery of gold on the American River in 1848 triggered the most astonishing mass movement of peoples since the Crusades. It drew fortune-seekers from the ends of the earth, accelerated America’s imperial expansion, and exacerbated the tensions that exploded in the Civil War. H.W. Brands tells his epic story from multiple perspectives: of adventurers John and Jessie Fremont, entrepreneur Leland Stanford, and the wry observer Samuel Clemens—side by side with prospectors, soldiers, and scoundrels. He imparts a visceral sense of the distances they traveled, the suffering they endured, and the fortunes they made and lost. Impressive in its scholarship and overflowing with life, The Age of Gold is history in the grand traditions of Stephen Ambrose and David McCullough.

The Age of Gold

Author: H. W. Brands
Publisher: Anchor
ISBN: 9780385720885
Release Date: 2003-10-01
Genre: History

A history of the people and commercial imperatives that contributed to the California gold rush discusses the massive influx of hundreds of thousands of people to the area, which became a state in record time, in a volume set against the political climate and national issues of the period. Reprint. 50,000 first printing.

The Age of Gold

Author: H.W. Brands
Publisher: Singapore Books
ISBN:
Release Date: 2008-12-10
Genre:

"I have found it." These words, uttered by the man who first discovered gold on the American River in 1848, triggered the most astonishing mass movement of peoples since the Crusades. California's gold drew fortune-seekers from the ends of the earth. It accelerated America's imperial expansion and exacerbated the tensions that exploded in the Civil War. And, as H. W. Brands makes clear in this spellbinding book, the Gold Rush inspired a new American dream--the "dream of instant wealth, won by audacity and good luck." Brands tells his epic story from multiple perspectives: of adventurers John and Jessie Fremont, entrepreneur Leland Stanford, and the wry observer Samuel Clemens--side by side with prospectors, soldiers, and scoundrels. He imparts a visceral sense of the distances they traveled, the suffering they endured, and the fortunes they made and lost. Impressive in its scholarship and overflowing with life, The Age of Gold is history in the grand traditions of...

The Age of Gold Redux

Author: Sotère Torregian
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780578136035
Release Date: 2015-03-07
Genre: American poetry

Revised edition of Sotere Torregian's seminal book of poetry "The Age of Gold" (1976), retitled "The Age of Gold (Redux)," supplemented by a new section of other poems from that period that either were excluded due to the book's size limitations or now have been added. This edition includes for the first time three short yet relevant essays written by Sotere during this period, including one that was intended to serve as the original preface to the book. Will Alexander has written the introduction for this revised edition."

AGE OF GOLD

Author: John Edward 1853 Kelley
Publisher: Wentworth Press
ISBN: 1360145710
Release Date: 2016-08-24
Genre: History

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

The Dark Ages and the Age of Gold

Author: Russell A. Fraser
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 9781400869046
Release Date: 2015-03-08
Genre: History

In this original and provocative book Russell Fraser has set himself no less a task than the description and interpretation of one of the signal "facts" of Western history—the breaking away of the present from the medieval past. He locates this break in England in the sixteenth century, and on the continent two hundred years earlier. Unafraid to synthesize, he weaves a rich fabric of quotations, allusions, and examples from art, music, philosophy, theology, and physical science to explain the cultural transition to the modern world. Although the author ranges from Plato to the present, his focus is concentrated on the major figures of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, especially Shakespeare, "the last and greatest of medieval artists." His intention is always to draw together and compare medieval. Renaissance, and contemporary attitudes so that the reader can see the past becoming the present, how and when this transformation occurred, and for what reasons. Originally published in 1973. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.

The Age of Gold

Author: Luther Eugene Campbell
Publisher: San Francisco : Press Whitaker and Ray-Wiggin Company
ISBN: UCAL:$B273291
Release Date: 1909
Genre: Klondike River Valley (Yukon)


The Age of Gold

Author: Harry Black
Publisher: Misadventure Press
ISBN: 9780857194695
Release Date: 2014-12-20
Genre: Fiction

In the golden age of detectives, it had to be someone's job to take on the crime scenes without five-star catering In 1929, celebrities with peculiar moustaches or exotic hats get all the glamorous cases - the thefts at country houses, the multiple murders at first-class holiday resorts, the heists closest to the best golf courses. For a traditional private detective, only the really unpleasant or embarrassing ones are left. It's not the most rewarding niche for private investigator James 'Rusty' MacDonald, who has never known any other vocation since a childhood spent in high-crime Victorian London reading 'The Masked Fist' comic books. But then his latest shameful case becomes something else entirely. A crime of incredible daring and ingenuity has just been committed under his nose. A girl's life is on the line. The criminal will stop at nothing. And after the worst possible first day on the case, numerous celebrity detectives begin flocking to the crime scene deep in the south of England. Rusty has a matter of hours to get the better of them, solve the case and strike a blow for ordinary private detectives everywhere. It's just that, when it comes to striking blows, he's not the only one on the prowl in the heart of the English countryside. The crime he's investigating may not yet be over; and Rusty cannot guarantee he won't be one of its victims... Perfect for fans of classic detective fiction by Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle, as well as modern revivals by Anthony Horowitz and Sophie Hannah and mystery novels by writers like M.C. Beaton, M.R.C. Kasasian, L.C. Tyler and Ian Sansom, The Age of Gold is a new must-read detective story that will have you on the edge of your seat into the small hours.

The Gold Standard at the Turn of the Twentieth Century

Author: Steven Bryan
Publisher: Columbia University Press
ISBN: 9780231152525
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Business & Economics

By the end of the nineteenth century, the world was ready to adopt the gold standard out of concerns of national power, prestige, and anti-English competition. Yet although the gold standard allowed countries to enact a virtual single world currency, the years before World War I were not a time of unfettered liberal economics and one-world, one-market harmony. Outside of Europe, the gold standard became a tool for nationalists and protectionists primarily interested in growing domestic industry and imperial expansion. This overlooked trend, provocatively reassessed in Steven Bryan's well-documented history, contradicts our conception of the gold standard as a British-based system infused with English ideas, interests, and institutions. In countries like Japan and Argentina, where nationalist concerns focused on infant-industry protection and the growth of military power, the gold standard enabled the expansion of trade and the goals of the age: industry and empire. Bryan argues that these countries looked less to Britain and more to North America and the rest of Europe for ideological models. Not only does this history challenge our idealistic notions of the prewar period, but it also reorients our understanding of the history that followed. Policymakers of the 1920s latched onto the idea that global prosperity before World War I was the result of a system dominated by English liberalism. Their attempt to reproduce this triumph helped bring about the global downturn, the Great Depression, and the collapse of the interwar world.

The City of Gold and Lead

Author: John Christopher
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781481409124
Release Date: 2013-09-10
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Will and his friends return to the City of the Tripods—and risk their lives—in this second book of a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave and Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Shadow Children series. When Will and his friends arrived at the White Mountains, they thought everything would be okay. They’d found a safe haven where the mechanical monsters called Tripods could not find them. But once there, they wonder about the world around them and how they are faring against the machines. In order to save everyone else, Will and his friends want to take down the Tripods once and for all. That means journeying to the Tripod capital: the City of Gold and Lead. Although the journey will be difficult, the real danger comes once Will is inside the city, where Tripods roam freely and humans are even more enslaved than they are on the outside. Without anyone to help him, Will must learn the secrets of the Tripods—and how to take them down—before they figure out that he’s a spy…and he can only pretend to be brainwashed for so long.