Do Not Open Til Christmas

Author: Sierra Donovan
Publisher: Zebra
ISBN: 9781420141535
Release Date: 2017-09-26
Genre: Fiction

What happens when a Scrooge-like boss and a determined young woman have to work together during the holidays? A Christmas of surprises . . . Bret Radner once dreamed of being a hard-hitting journalist, exposing corruption and writing Pulitzer-winning pieces. But heart-tugging circumstances kept him at the Tall Pine Gazette, where small town life, new neighbors, and human interest stories are the news. In charge for the entire holiday season, Bret is determined to run the newsroom right. Yet with a too-pretty rookie reporter to train, he finds himself challenged on just about everything . . . A waitress at the Pine ‘n’ Dine restaurant, freelance reporter Chloe Davenport finally gets her big chance to work full-time for the Gazette. But proving herself to her handsome boss won’t be easy. He turns down all her holiday-themed stories and, in fact, doesn’t seem to like Christmas at all. Yet the closer Chloe works with Bret, the more she realizes that his tough exterior conceals a hidden hurt . . . and a heart she wants to fill with glad tidings of great joy—for many seasons to come . . . “Sierra Donovan captures the magic of Christmas in this charming and romantic tale. I smiled the entire time I was reading it!” —Shirlee McCoy on We Need a Little Christmas

Blueberry Boys

Author: Vanessa North
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1718956738
Release Date: 2018-05-14
Genre:

Love is coming into season. Connor Graham is a city boy-a celebrated fashion photographer in New York. When his uncle's death drags him back to the family blueberry farm, all he wants to do is sell it as quickly as he can. Until he meets his uncle's tenant farmer. Jed Jones, shy and stammering, devout and dedicated, has always yearned for land of his own and a man to share it with. Kept in the closet by his church, family, and disastrous first love, he longs to be accepted for who he is. But now, with his farm and his future in Connor's careless hands, he stands to lose even the little he has. Neither man expects the connection between them. Jed sees Connor-appreciates his art and passion like no one else in this godforsaken town ever has. Connor hears Jed-looks past his stutter to listen to the man inside. The time they share is idyllic, but with the farm sale pending, even their sanctuary is a source of tension. As work, family, and their town's old-fashioned attitudes pull them apart, they must find a way to reconcile commitments to their careers and to each other.

The Case of the Missing Moonstone The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Book 1

Author: Jordan Stratford
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780385754422
Release Date: 2015-01-06
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket! Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency! Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada’s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency—a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it’s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary. Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy. From the Hardcover edition.

Miss Million s Maid

Author: Bertha Ruck
Publisher: The Floating Press
ISBN: 9781776589890
Release Date: 2015-05-01
Genre: Fiction

When an unexpected inheritance makes humble housemaid Nellie Million wealthy beyond her wildest dreams, the tables are turned. Beatrice Lovelace, Nellie's one-time mistress -- now virtually penniless -- becomes Nellie's lady's maid, helping to guide her through the pitfalls of associating with the upper classes.

The Loom of Youth

Author: Alec Waugh
Publisher: The Floating Press
ISBN: 9781776586912
Release Date: 2014-09-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Hailing from a renowned literary family, the writer Alec Waugh caused a scandal with the publication of his autobiographical novel/memoir, The Loom of Youth. The book treats the subject of homosexual relationships among British schoolboys with a degree of frankness that was unprecedented at the time, and due to its risque nature and keen insights, it went on to be a runaway bestseller.

Lorna Doone

Author: Richard Doddridge Blackmore
Publisher:
ISBN: UCM:5312683063
Release Date: 1869
Genre: Exmoor (England)


Shaking a Leg

Author: Angela Carter
Publisher: Vintage Classic
ISBN: 0099583070
Release Date: 2013
Genre: English essays

WITH A NEW INTRODUCTION BY RACHEL COOKE Reading Shaking a Leg is like spending time with the funniest, wisest friend you've ever had; a person whose breadth of interest ranges from food to feminism to science fiction, and everything in between; a person with an entirely unpredictable train of thought but whose exuberance, knowledge and insight sweeps you along. Bursting with ideas, culturally astute and sparklingly witty, this comprehensive volume of Angela Carter's journalism is the most down-to-earth and entertaining companion to latter twentieth-century thought you'll ever need.

The Cotswolds Cookery Club A Taste of Spain

Author: Alice Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780008244941
Release Date: 2017-08-18
Genre: Fiction

‘One of the best stories I’ve read in a long time...I can’t wait to read the other two!’ Stacey Rebecca (NetGalley reviewer) Life begins at forty...