The Comet The Tornado

Author: Donald Marinelli
Publisher: Sterling
ISBN: PSU:000068294762
Release Date: 2010-04-06
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Marinelli offers an intimate look at his friend and colleague Randy Pausch--author of the blockbuster "The Last Lecture."

Introduction to Tornado

Author: Michael Dory
Publisher: "O'Reilly Media, Inc."
ISBN: 9781449333973
Release Date: 2012-03-19
Genre: Computers

Walk through the basics of Tornado, the high-performance web server known for its speed, simplicity, and scalability on projects large and small. With this hands-on guide, you’ll learn how to use Tornado’s acclaimed features by working with several example applications. You also get best practices for using Tornado in the real world. Are you interested in creating a scalable social application, real-time analytics engine, or RESTful API—all with the power and simplicity of Python? This book shows you why Tornado is fantastic choice for writing powerful applications that are simple to create, extend, and deploy. Learn how to use Tornado’s lightweight and flexible templating language Extend templates to repurpose headers, footers, layout grids, and other content Use persistent storage like MongoDB to store, serve, and edit dynamic content Explore Tornado’s ability to make asynchronous web requests Secure your application against cookie and request vulnerabilities Authenticate with external services, using Tornado’s auth module Adopt deployment strategies that help harden your application and increase request throughput

Joe Camp s Benji and the tornado

Author: Gina Ingoglia
Publisher:
ISBN: 0307118711
Release Date: 1981
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A dog visits a ranch and is instrumental in getting the animals to safety before a tornado hits.

Comet in Moominland

Author: Tove Jansson
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN: 9781466871571
Release Date: 2014-09-02
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When Moomintroll learns that a comet will be passing by, he and his friend Sniff travel to the Observatory on the Lonely Mountains to consult the Professors. Along the way, they have many adventures, but the greatest adventure of all awaits them when they learn that the comet is headed straight for their beloved Moominvalley.

The Flash The Tornado Twins The Flash Book 3

Author: Barry Lyga
Publisher: Abrams
ISBN: 9781683353904
Release Date: 2018-10-02
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Catch up with the super adventures of Barry Allen, also known as the Flash, in the third book of this middle-grade series. Featuring adventures not seen on TV, Barry continues his mission to protect Central City from sinister plots. The book builds upon the world of the popular TV show in a new medium by author Barry Lyga. Fans won’t want to miss the exciting conclusion to the series!

What Stands in a Storm

Author: Kim Cross
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781476763071
Release Date: 2016-03
Genre: Nature

Immersive reporting and dramatic storytelling set you right in the middle of the horrific superstorm of April 2011, a weather event that killed 348 people.

Life as We Knew it

Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780152061548
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Through journal entries, sixteen-year-old Miranda describes her family's struggle to survive after a meteor hits the moon, causing worldwide tsunamis, earthquakes, and volcanic eruptions.

Building the Realtime User Experience

Author: Ted Roden
Publisher: "O'Reilly Media, Inc."
ISBN: 1449395945
Release Date: 2010-06-23
Genre: Computers

The Web is increasingly happening in realtime. With websites such as Facebook and Twitter leading the way, users are coming to expect that all sites should serve content as it occurs—on smartphones as well as computers. This book shows you how to build realtime user experiences by adding chat, streaming content, and including more features on your site one piece at a time, without making big changes to the existing infrastructure. You'll also learn how to serve realtime content beyond the browser. Throughout the book are many practical JavaScript and Python examples for advanced web developers that you can use on your site now. And in the final chapter, you'll build a location-aware game that combines all of the technologies discussed. Use the latest realtime syndication technology, including PubSubHubbub Build dynamic widgets on your homepage to show realtime updates from several sources Learn how to use long polling to "push" content from your server to browsers Create an application using the Tornado web server that makes sense of massive amounts of streaming content Understand the unique requirements for setting up a basic chat service Use IM and SMS to enable users to interact with your site outside of a web browser Implement custom analytics to measure engagement in realtime

How to Make a Tornado

Author: New Scientist,
Publisher: John Murray
ISBN: 9781473651197
Release Date: 2016-09-01
Genre: Social Science

Science tells us grand things about the universe: how fast light travels, and why stones fall to earth. But scientific endeavour goes far beyond these obvious foundations. There are some fields we don't often hear about because they are so specialised, or turn out to be dead ends. Yet researchers have given hallucinogenic drugs to blind people (seriously), tried to weigh the soul as it departs the body and planned to blast a new Panama Canal with atomic weapons. Real scientific breakthroughs sometimes come out of the most surprising and unpromising work. How to Make a Tornado is about the margins of science - not the research down tried-and-tested routes, but some of its zanier and more brilliant by-ways. Investigating everything from what it's like to die, to exploding trousers and recycled urine, this book is a reminder that science is intensely creative and often very amusing - and when their minds run free, scientists can fire the imagination like nobody else.

Tornado Alley

Author: Howard B. Bluestein
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN: 0195307119
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Nature

Details the history of the study of tornadoes and the thunderstorms that spawn them, and documents encounters with tornadoes

Runaway Twin

Author: Peg Kehret
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101564608
Release Date: 2009-10-15
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Thirteen-year-old Sunny runs away from her current foster parent in search of her twin sister, from whom she was separated ten years earlier. On the way, she'll face a tornado, bullies, and a stray dog- and the fact that her sister may not be who Sunny hoped she would be.

The Tornado

Author: T. P. Grazulis
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
ISBN: 0806135387
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Nature

A guide to tornado formation and lifecycle also covers such topics as forecasting, wind speeds, tornado myths, tornado safety, risks, and records, along with accounts of the deadliest tornadoes in the United States.

The Comet

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015004706415
Release Date: 1869
Genre: Creation


Let the Tornado Come

Author: Rita Zoey Chin
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781476734880
Release Date: 2014-06-24
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Hailed as a “clear-eyed book written with poetry and compassion” by The Boston Globe, Let the Tornado Come is the “lyrical debut memoir” (Kirkus Reviews) of a runaway child, the woman she became, and the horse that set her free. When Rita Zoey Chin was eleven years old, she began running away from home. Her parents’ violence and neglect drove her onto the streets in search of a better life, but what she found instead was a dangerous world of drugs and predatory men—as well as the occasional kindness of strangers. As she hits bottom and then learns to forge a new life for herself, all of her dreams of freedom and beauty pivot on a single, precious memory: a herd of horses running along a roadside fence. A few years later, Rita—now a prizewinning poet and wife of a successful neurosurgeon—appears to have triumphed over her harrowing childhood, until she is struck with a series of debilitating panic attacks that threaten her comfortable new life. Ultimately, it is the memory of those hoofbeats, and the chance arrival of a spirited, endearing horse named Claret who has a difficult history himself, that will finally save her. “A near euphoric ode to the human spirit” (Huffington Post), Let the Tornado Come is about pulling yourself up out of the dark and discovering that the greatest escape lies not in running from, but turning towards, those things that frighten you the most; it is “luminous…A haunting yet hopeful saga that shows how trauma and fear can transform themselves into enduring strength” (Publishers Weekly).

Everything Matters

Author: Ron Currie
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101050926
Release Date: 2009-06-25
Genre: Fiction

"Startlingly talented . . . he survives the inevitable, apt comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut and writes in a tenderly mordant voice all his own." -Janet Maslin, The New York Times Look for Ron Currie's new novel, The One-Eyed Man, coming in March 2017 In this novel rich in character, Junior Thibodeau grows up in rural Maine in a time of Atari, baseball cards, pop Catholicism, and cocaine. He also knows something no one else knows-neither his exalted parents, nor his baseball-savant brother, nor the love of his life (she doesn't believe him anyway): The world will end when he is thirty-six. While Junior searches for meaning in a doomed world, his loved ones tell an all-American family saga of fathers and sons, blinding romance, lost love, and reconciliation-culminating in one final triumph that reconfigures the universe. A tour de force of storytelling, Everything Matters! is a genre-bending potpourri of alternative history, sci-fi, and the great American tale in the tradition of John Irving and Margaret Atwood. From the Trade Paperback edition.