The Crown of Venice 7

Author: Steve Stevenson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698193079
Release Date: 2014-11-13
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Agatha heads to Italy in this exciting new mystery! Agatha and her cousin Dash are hot on the trail of the missing crown of Venice. The ancient relic, worn by the Doges—or Dukes—of Venice, was stolen during the city’s famous carnival, and it seems like everyone is a suspect.

The Curse of the Pharaoh 1

Author: Steve Stevenson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698143876
Release Date: 2013-02-07
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Agatha: Girl of Mystery is a fanciful and fabulous new mystery series about a headstrong girl detective who jets off on exotic and international adventures with the help of her hulking bodyguard and loyal cat named, aptly, Watson. The first mystery in this series sees young detective Agatha Mistery traveling to Egypt. Rumors of a mysterious tablet unearthed in the Valley of the Kings may be just the clue that Agatha needs to unlock the secret curse of an ancient Pharaoh.

The King of Scotland s Sword 3

Author: Steve Stevenson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698159440
Release Date: 2013-07-11
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Rumors of ancient curses and mischievous ghosts surround the disappearance of a priceless sword said to belong to the legendary Scottish King, Robert the Bruce. Determined to solve the case of this missing relic, Agatha packs her kit and heads to the Highlands!

A Siege of Bitterns

Author: Steve Burrows
Publisher: Dundurn
ISBN: 9781459708457
Release Date: 2014-03-31
Genre: Fiction

Domenic Jejeune is a reluctant police hero but an enthusiastic birdwatcher. After he's promoted to a post in the heart of Britain's birding country, his first case involves the murder of an environmentalist. Torn between loyalties to his job and his hobby, Jejeune faces mistrust from his colleagues and self-doubt as he works to solve the case.

The Last King of Scotland

Author: Giles Foden
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 9780307808547
Release Date: 2011-11-02
Genre: Fiction

Nicholas Garrigan has fled his native Scotland, and his parents' expectations, to take a position as a doctor in a remote rural outpost of Central Africa. Shortly after his arrival in Uganda, he is called to the scene of a bizarre car accident: Idi Amin, manically driving his red Maserati down the dirt tracks of Garrigan's small village, has run over a cow. Garrigan binds Amin's sprained wrist and puts the incident behind him, until a letter arrives from the Minister of Health informing him that Amin--in his obsession with all things Scottish--has ap-pointed Garrigan his personal physician. Garrigan is instructed to settle into State House, on the grounds of Amin's residence, immediately. Later, Garrigan will reflect that had he known what awaited him, had he foreseen the terrifying concatenation of events this decision would set in motion, he would have boarded the first plane back to Scotland. He will wonder why it never occurred to him to simply say no. But--flattered, disarmed, and intrigued, if uneasily, by the pros-pect of entering Amin's inner circle--he steps into the role of caring for the man who will turn out to be one of the most brutal dictators of all time. So begins Nick Garrigan's journey into a Con-radian heart of darkness, as his own moral center battles weakly against, and then succumbs to, the dark and irresistible seductions of Idi Amin Dada, whose cruelty and cunning are masked by brilliant rhetoric, hilarious wit, and electrifying personal magnetism. When at last Nick awakens to the horrors of Amin's regime, he must awaken also to his own complicity in it--he cared for Amin, as a doctor and as a friend--and to the knowledge that he is both a traitor to his own country and a prisoner in his new one. By turns comic and chilling, Giles Foden's The Last King of Scotland is a masterful debut from a remarkable talent--a riveting history of "blood, misery and foolishness" that lingers in the mind long after the last page is turned, and a profound meditation on conscience, charisma, and the slow corruption of the human heart.

Cat Among the Pigeons Poirot

Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007422210
Release Date: 2010-10-14
Genre: Fiction

Unpleasant things are going on in an exclusive school for girls – things like murder...

The Duchess of Malfi

Author: John Webster
Publisher: John Webster
ISBN: 9786050430554
Release Date: 2016-05-04
Genre: Drama

Of John Webster's life almost nothing is known. The dates 1580-1625 given for his birth and death are conjectural inferences, about which the best that can be said is that no known facts contradict them. The first notice of Webster so far discovered shows that he was collaborating in the production of plays for the theatrical manager, Henslowe, in 1602, and of such collaboration he seems to have done a considerable amount. Four plays exist which he wrote alone, "The White Devil," "The Duchess of Malfi," "The Devil's Law-Case," and "Appius and Virginia." "The Duchess of Malfi" was published in 1623, but the date of writing may have been as early as 1611. It is based on a story in Painter's "Palace of Pleasure," translated from the Italian novelist, Bandello; and it is entirely possible that it has a foundation in fact. In any case, it portrays with a terrible vividness one side of the court life of the Italian Renaissance; and its picture of the fierce quest of pleasure, the recklessness of crime, and the worldliness of the great princes of the Church finds only too ready corroboration in the annals of the time.

Three Act Tragedy Poirot

Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007422883
Release Date: 2010-10-14
Genre: Fiction

At an apparently respectable dinner party, a vicar is the first to die...

Parker Pyne Investigates

Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007422661
Release Date: 2010-10-14
Genre: Fiction

A collection of short stories featuring the ‘heart specialist’, Parker Pyne.

Out of Abaton Book 1 The Wooden Prince

Author: John Claude Bemis
Publisher: Disney Electronic Content
ISBN: 9781484707371
Release Date: 2016-03-15
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

The automa Pinocchio has always been duty-bound to serve in the floating palace of Venice's emperor. So when Pinocchio finds himself locked in a trunk and delivered to a new master—a wanted criminal and alchemist named Geppetto—he is curious about everything around him. But most curious is the way Pinocchio seems to be changing from a wooden servant into a living, human boy. Before Geppetto and Pinocchio can uncover the mystery surrounding the automa's transformation, Pinocchio is stolen away. Determined to find Geppetto again, Pinocchio begins a harrowing journey across the Empire, where danger in the form of half-beast outlaws and winged airmen abounds for a lost automa. Meanwhile, Princess Lazuli, the daughter of the ruler of a magical kingdom called Abaton, is also on a quest through the emperor's territory. Her father, Prester John, has been captured by the Venetian Empire, and Lazuli is desperate to rescue him. With the emperor's airmen closing in fast, Lazuli learns the only hope for saving her father—and her beloved home—lies in Pinocchio and Geppetto. In a masterful reimagining of Pinocchio, John Claude Bemis weaves an enchanting, thrilling adventure for middle-grade readers in the first installment in the Out of Abaton duology.

Have His Carcase

Author: Dorothy L Sayers
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781848943742
Release Date: 2009-10-15
Genre: Fiction

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers. A young woman falls asleep on a deserted beach and wakes to discover the body of a man whose throat has been slashed from ear to ear . . . The young woman is the celebrated detective novelist Harriet Vane, once again drawn against her will into a murder investigation in which she herself could be a suspect. Lord Peter Wimsey is only too eager to help her clear her name.

L A Requiem

Author: Robert Crais
Publisher: Random House Digital, Inc.
ISBN: 9780345434470
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Fiction

When P.I. Elvis Cole discovers that his partner, Joe Pike, was once the lover of a murdered woman, he finds himself going beyond normal investigative procedures and starts to pry into the very private realm of the LAPD's elite Robbery-Homicide Division

Thrones Dominations

Author: Dorothy L. Sayers
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
ISBN: 9781429913737
Release Date: 1999-03-15
Genre: Fiction

Deemed "one of the greatest mystery writers of this century" by the Los Angeles Times, Dorothy L. Sayers first captivated readers nearly seventy years ago with her beloved sleuths Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane in the novel Stong Poison. In Busmans's Honeymoon, her last completed Wimsey/Vane novel, Lord Peter and Harriet culminated their partnership with marriage. Now Thrones, Dominations, Sayers' uncompleted last novel, satisfies the vast readership hungry to know what happened after the honeymoon. Here award-winning author Jill Paton Walsh picks up where Sayers left off, bringing Wimsey and Vane brilliantly to life in Sayers' unmistakable voice. Readers and reviewers are rejoicing at the return of this delightful sleuthing couple--as adept at solving a baffling murder mystery as they are a balancing the delicate demands of their loving union.

Pageant Play

Author: Matthew Wilkas
Publisher: Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
ISBN: 0822223538
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Drama

THE STORY: Welcome to the hilarious, terrifying and surreal world of child beauty pageants. Pinky Corningfield will do anything to make sure her little angel wins the ultimate title, Supreme Queen. When Marge, a newcomer to the pageant circuit, sho