The Crown of Venice 7

Author: Steve Stevenson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698193079
Release Date: 2014-11-13
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Agatha heads to Italy in this exciting new mystery! Agatha and her cousin Dash are hot on the trail of the missing crown of Venice. The ancient relic, worn by the Doges—or Dukes—of Venice, was stolen during the city’s famous carnival, and it seems like everyone is a suspect.

The Last King of Scotland

Author: Giles Foden
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 9780307808547
Release Date: 2011-11-02
Genre: Fiction

Nicholas Garrigan has fled his native Scotland, and his parents' expectations, to take a position as a doctor in a remote rural outpost of Central Africa. Shortly after his arrival in Uganda, he is called to the scene of a bizarre car accident: Idi Amin, manically driving his red Maserati down the dirt tracks of Garrigan's small village, has run over a cow. Garrigan binds Amin's sprained wrist and puts the incident behind him, until a letter arrives from the Minister of Health informing him that Amin--in his obsession with all things Scottish--has ap-pointed Garrigan his personal physician. Garrigan is instructed to settle into State House, on the grounds of Amin's residence, immediately. Later, Garrigan will reflect that had he known what awaited him, had he foreseen the terrifying concatenation of events this decision would set in motion, he would have boarded the first plane back to Scotland. He will wonder why it never occurred to him to simply say no. But--flattered, disarmed, and intrigued, if uneasily, by the pros-pect of entering Amin's inner circle--he steps into the role of caring for the man who will turn out to be one of the most brutal dictators of all time. So begins Nick Garrigan's journey into a Con-radian heart of darkness, as his own moral center battles weakly against, and then succumbs to, the dark and irresistible seductions of Idi Amin Dada, whose cruelty and cunning are masked by brilliant rhetoric, hilarious wit, and electrifying personal magnetism. When at last Nick awakens to the horrors of Amin's regime, he must awaken also to his own complicity in it--he cared for Amin, as a doctor and as a friend--and to the knowledge that he is both a traitor to his own country and a prisoner in his new one. By turns comic and chilling, Giles Foden's The Last King of Scotland is a masterful debut from a remarkable talent--a riveting history of "blood, misery and foolishness" that lingers in the mind long after the last page is turned, and a profound meditation on conscience, charisma, and the slow corruption of the human heart.

A Siege of Bitterns

Author: Steve Burrows
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781780748443
Release Date: 2016-02-22
Genre: Fiction

Newly appointed police inspector Domenic Jejeune doesn’t mind ruffling a few feathers. Indeed his success has elevated him into a poster boy for the police. The problem is Jejeune doesn’t really want to be a detective at all; he much prefers watching birds. Recently reassigned to the small Norfolk town of Saltmarsh, located in the heart of Britain’s premier birding country, Jejeune’s two worlds collide with the grisly murder of a prominent ecological activist. His ambitious police superintendent foresees a blaze of welcome publicity, although doubts soon emerge when Jejeune’s best theory involves a feud over birdwatching lists. A second murder does little to bolster confidence. Jejeune must call on all his birding knowhow to solve the mystery and deal with unwelcome public acclaim, the mistrust of colleagues and his own insecurities. For, in the case of the Saltmarsh birder murders, the victims may not be the only casualties…

Cat Among the Pigeons Poirot

Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007422210
Release Date: 2010-10-14
Genre: Fiction

Unpleasant things are going on in an exclusive school for girls – things like murder...

Elephants Can Remember

Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780061741524
Release Date: 2006-10-03
Genre: Fiction

A classic Hercule Poirot investigation, Agatha Christie’s Elephants Can Remember has the expert detective delving into an unsolved crime from the past involving the strange death of a husband and wife. Hercule Poirot stood on the clifftop. Here, many years earlier, there had been a fatal accident followed by the grisly discovery of two bodies—a husband and wife who had been shot dead. But who had killed whom? Was it a suicide pact? A crime of passion? Or cold-blooded murder? Poirot delves into the past and discovers that “old sins leave long shadows.”

Parker Pyne Investigates

Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062006714
Release Date: 2010-02-10
Genre: Fiction

Agatha Christie once again demonstrates her mastery of the short form mystery with Parker Pyne Investigates—short stories of crime and detection featuring Parker Pyne, certainly one of the most unconventional private investigators ever to pursue a hot lead. Mrs. Packington felt alone, helpless and utterly forlorn. But her life changed when she stumbled upon an advertisement in the Times that read: "Are you happy? If not, consult Mr. Parker Pyne." Equally adept at putting together the fragments of a murder mystery or the pieces of a broken marriage, Mr. Parker Pyne is possibly the world's most unconventional private investigator. Armed with just his intuitive knowledge of human nature, he is an Englishman abroad, traveling the globe to solve and undo crime and misdemeanor.

AN Instance of the Fingerpost

Author: Iain Pears
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101640111
Release Date: 1999-03-01
Genre: Fiction

In 1663 Oxford, a servant girl confesses to a murder. But four witnesses--a medical student, the son of a traitor, a cryptographer, and an archivist--each finger a different culprit...

The Hollywood Intrigue 9

Author: Steve Stevenson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399541148
Release Date: 2015-10-13
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A producer and his cast are in Hollywood filming a new movie, Fatal Error, when suspicious things start happening on set. The producer is convinced that someone is trying to prevent the film being made, so Agatha Mistery and her cousin Dash are enlisted to find the saboteur. Together with their stuntman uncle, they must find the culprit before things go too far.

The Crime on the Norwegian Sea 10

Author: Steve Stevenson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399542770
Release Date: 2016-02-09
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Agatha always saves the day in style! It's finally vacation time, and the Mistery cousins are enjoying a cruise on a luxurious transatlantic ship called the King Arthur. Unfortunately, crime never takes a rest! Agatha and her friends get caught up in a spy conspiracy, in which they must retrieve a top-secret document and capture an unstoppable killer. And they have to pull it off without Uncle Sam, Larry's nosy father, catching on!

Scherzo

Author: Jim Williams
Publisher:
ISBN: 1908943319
Release Date: 2013-11
Genre:

MEET two unusual detectives. Ludovico - a young man who has had his testicles cut off for the sake of opera. And Monsieur Arouet - a fraudster, or just possibly the philosopher Voltaire. VISIT the setting. Carnival time in mid-18th century Venice, a city of winter mists, and the season of masquerade and decadence. ENCOUNTER a Venetian underworld of pimps, harlots, gamblers, forgers and charlatans. BEWARE of a mysterious coterie of aristocrats, Jesuits, Freemasons and magicians. DISCOVER a murder: that of the nobleman, Sgr Alessandro Molin, found swinging from a bridge with his innards hanging out and a message in code from his killer. Scherzo is a murder mystery of sparkling vivacity and an historical novel of stunning originality told with a wit and style highly praised by critics and nominated for the Booker Prize.

Snakeroot

Author: Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101638620
Release Date: 2013-12-10
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

The next thrilling novel in the internationally-bestselling Nightshade series! Fans asked for it, and now they've got it! Andrea Cremer is continuing the story she began in in her internationally bestselling trilogy: Nightshade, Wolfsbane and Bloodrose. In this new installment, Bosque Mar haunts the dreams of both Adne and Logan, trying to escape for the Nether, where Calla, Shay and the other Guardians trapped him in the final battle in the War of All Against All. Will he turn Adne to the dark side? Will Logan reclaim his birthright? And will darkness take over our world? In a novel filled with magic, romance and breakneck action, master storyteller Andrea Cremer's newest installment will not disappoint! This series is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate, Holly Black, Cassandra Clare, Ally Condie, and Richelle Mead. What people are saying about the first three Nightshade novels: "A book for well-read hopeless romantics who like their heroines conflicted, their love interests smoldering, and thier passions triangulated and torrrid." --The Los Angeles Times "Sexy and intoxicating, filled with action, suspense and definitely romance." --Romantic Times Book Reviews "Will keep you reading intently." --Entertainment Weekly "Intensely romantic." --Justine Magazine

Have His Carcase

Author: Dorothy L. Sayers
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781453258910
Release Date: 2012-07-31
Genre: Fiction

When Harriet Vane finds a dead body on the beach, she and Lord Peter Wimsey must solve a murder when all the evidence has washed out to sea. Harriet Vane has gone on vacation to forget her recent murder trial and, more importantly, to forget the man who cleared her name—the dapper, handsome, and maddening Lord Peter Wimsey. She is alone on a beach when she spies a man lying on a rock, surf lapping at his ankles. She tries to wake him, but he doesn’t budge. His throat has been cut, and his blood has drained out onto the sand. As the tide inches forward, Harriet makes what observations she can and photographs the scene. Finally, she goes for the police, but by the time they return the body has gone. Only one person can help her discover how the poor man died at the beach: Lord Peter, the amateur sleuth who won her freedom and her heart in one fell swoop. Have His Carcase is the 8th book in the Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, but you may enjoy the series by reading the books in any order. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Dorothy L. Sayers including rare images from the Marion E. Wade Center at Wheaton College.

On the Blue Train

Author: Kristel Thornell
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781952535017
Release Date: 2016-09-28
Genre: Fiction

From the winner of the Dobbie Literary Award, the Barbara Ramsden Award and the Andrew Eiseman Award. Yes, she said, finally. Breaks are important. There are times when it's wiser to get away. From it all. It was the work of a moment: On 4 December 1926, Agatha Christie became Teresa Neele, resident of the spa hotel, the Harrogate Hydro. With her wedding ring left behind, and her minimal belongings unpacked, the lost days begin. Lying to her fellow guests about the death of a husband and child, Teresa settles in to the anonymity she so fiercely desires. Until Harry McKenna, bruised from the end of his own marriage, asks her to dance. In this entrancing novel of creativity and grief, Kristel Thornell combines fact and fantasy to reconstruct Agatha Christie's retreat from a life that had become too difficult. With verve and sensitivity, Thornell imagines what Christie could not write.