The Blood Sugar Solution

Author: Mark Hyman
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444760576
Release Date: 2012-05-24
Genre: Health & Fitness

The No.1 New York Times bestselling programme to fight diabetes, lose weight, and stay healthy. By 2025 there will be more than 4 million people in Britain with diabetes. Every day, 400 new cases are diagnosed. In The Blood Sugar Solution, Dr Mark Hyman reveals that the secret solution to losing weight and preventing diabetes - as well as heart disease, stroke, dementia, and cancer - is balanced insulin levels. The Blood Sugar Solution, Dr. Hyman gives us the tools to achieve this with his revolutionary six-week healthy-living programme and the seven keys to achieving wellness - nutrition, hormones, inflammation, digestion, detoxification, energy metabolism, and a calm mind. With advice on diet, exercise, supplements and medication, and options to personalise the plan for optimal results, The Blood Sugar Solution teaches readers how to maintain lifelong health. Groundbreaking and timely, The Blood Sugar Solution is the fastest way to lose weight, prevent disease, and feel better than ever.

Macbeth York Notes for GCSE 9 1

Author: James Sale
Publisher:
ISBN: 1447982207
Release Date: 2015-08-04
Genre:

This updated edition is designed to support students in study and revision for the new GCSE (9-1) English Literature exams.

Health Services Research

Author: Eli Ginzberg
Publisher: Harvard University Press
ISBN: 0674385764
Release Date: 1991
Genre: Medical

Looks at the theory and practice of privatization internationally through case studies of the US, Canada, New Zealand, Great Britain, West Germany, France, Sweden and Chile. Among the sectors of health care examined are public and private hospitals, mental health care, prepaid health plans. and the multinational pharmaceutical industry. A report from the Foundation for Health Services Research. Commissioned essays by leading scholars provide an account of what health services research aims to do, what the breadth of the effort has been, and what the research has accomplished. Volume editor Ginzberg (director, Conservation of Human Resources, Columbia U.) introduces the subject with an overview of health services research and its relation to health policy and concludes with thoughts on future research needs. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Shakespeare and Spenser

Author: Walter Barker Critz Watkins
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 9781400878949
Release Date: 2015-12-08
Genre: Literary Criticism

In eight closely interwoven essays, the author explores the techniques and themes which themes masters had in common. Originally published in 1950. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.

Second International Handbook of Educational Change

Author: Andy Hargreaves
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9048126606
Release Date: 2010-08-13
Genre: Education

The two volumes of the second edition of the International Handbook of Educational Change comprise a totally new, and updated collection of the most critical and cutting-edge ideas in educational change. Written by the most influential thinkers in the field, these volumes cover educational change at both the theoretical and practical levels. The updated handbook remains connected to the classical concerns of the field, such as educational innovation, reform, and change management, and also offers new insights into educational change that have been brought about by social change and shifting contexts of educational reform. Like the first best selling Handbook, this one will also undoubtedly become an essential resource for people involved in all spheres of education, from classroom teachers, teacher leaders and administrators to educational researchers, curriculum developers, and university professors. No other work provides such a wide-ranging and comprehensive examination of the field of educational change.

NEAB GCSE English

Author: Imelda Pilgrim
Publisher: Heinemann
ISBN: 043510232X
Release Date: 1999-02-04
Genre: English language

This text helps students to prepare for the NEAB GCSE English exams. Students can practice essential reading and writing skills, while materials match NEAB exam papers and help to generate lively classroom lessons. There is also guidance on exam questions and how to answer them.

Charles James

Author: Richard Harrison Martin
Publisher: Universe Pub
ISBN: UVA:X004375736
Release Date: 1999-01
Genre: Design

Traces the life of the American fashion designer, and shows and describes his major designs for evening gowns and coats

Applied Principles of Horticultural Science

Author: Laurie Brown
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781136444135
Release Date: 2008-09-10
Genre: Science

Applied Principles of Horticultural Science is that critical thing for all students of horticulture - a book that teaches the theory of horticultural science through the practice of horticulture itelf. The book is divided into three sections - Plant science, Soil science, Pest and disease. Each section contains a number of chapters relating to a major principle of applied horticulture. Each chapter starts with a key point summary and introduces the underpinning knowledge which is then reinforced by exercises. The book contains over 70 practical exercises, presented in a way that makes students think for themselves. Answers to the exercises are given at the end of chapters. Clear step-by-step instructions make practical work accessible to students of all abilities. This new third edition provides an even wider sweep of case studies to make this book an essential practical workbook for horticulture students and gardners alike. Updated material fits with the latest RHS, City and Guilds and Edexcel syllabus. It is particularly suitable for the RHS Certificate, Advanced Certificate and Edexcel Diplomas as well as for those undertaking NPTC National, Advanced National courses and Horticulture NVQs at levels 2 and 3, together with the new Diploma in Environmental and Land-based studies. Laurie Brown is a horticultural scientist and educator. He is Director of Academex, a consultancy company aspiring to excellence in teaching and learning. Laurie previously worked with the Standards Unit on the design of exemplary teaching resources in the land-based sector.

A break with charity

Author: Ann Rinaldi
Publisher:
ISBN: 0439872189
Release Date: 2005-01-01
Genre: Trials (Witchcraft)

While waiting for a church meeting in 1706, Susanna English, daughter of a wealthy Salem merchant, recalls the malice, fear, and accusations of witchcraft that tore her village apart in 1692.

In Paris with You

Author: Clémentine Beauvais
Publisher: Wednesday Books
ISBN: 9781250299178
Release Date: 2019-01-08
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

"A pure delight." -- #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicola Yoon For fans of Eleanor & Park and Emergency Contact comes a sweeping romance about the love that got away. Eugene and Tatiana could have fallen in love, if things had gone differently. If they had tried to really know each other, if it had just been them, and not the others. But that was years ago and time has found them far apart, leading separate lives. Until they meet again in Paris. What really happened back then? And now? Could they ever be together again after everything?

The truth of war

Author: Desmond Graham
Publisher: Carcanet Pr
ISBN: UOM:39015009053227
Release Date: 1984
Genre: History

Analyzes how three English authors in poems portrayed their experiences of the horrors of World War I

I Walk in Dread

Author: Lisa Rowe Fraustino
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
ISBN: 9780545311656
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Twelve-year-old Deliverance Trembley writes in her diary about the fears and doubts that arise during the 1691 witch hunt and trials in Salem Village, Massachusetts, especially when her pious friend, Goody Corey, is condemned as a witch.

Earthquakes in London

Author: Mike Bartlett
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781408135648
Release Date: 2014-03-10
Genre: Drama

It's Cabaret, we've got our heads down and we're dancing and drinking as fast as we can. The enemy is on its way, but this time it doesn't have guns and gas it has storms and earthquakes, fire and brimstone.... You were the glimmer. At the end of the tunnel. And you went out. An all-pervasive fear of the future and a guilty pleasure in the excesses of the present drive Mike Bartlett's epic rollercoaster of a play from 1968 to 2525 and back again. Earthquakes in London includes burlesque strip shows, bad dreams, social breakdown, population explosion, worldwide paranoia. It is a fast and furious metropolitan crash of people, scenes and decades, as three sisters attempt to navigate their dislocated lives and loves, while their dysfunctional father, a brilliant scientist, predicts global catastrophe. Mike Bartlett's contemporary and directed dialogue combines a strong sense of humanity with epic ambition, as well as finely-aimed shafts of political comment embedded effortlessly into every scene.