The Dress Thief

Author: Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781848665903
Release Date: 2014-05-29
Genre: Design

'Wonderful! I didn't want to put this book down' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things, Island of Secrets and Amy Snow. Alix Gower may be poor but she's also ambitious, and she'd do anything to secure her dream job in one of Paris' premier fashion houses. But Alix also has a secret: she supports her family by stealing from the very houses she so adores. Then Alix is unexpectedly given a break - a way to support her elderly grandmother and a future she can believe in . . . but it comes at a terrible price. Will Alix risk her reputation, her relationships and even her personal safety for a dream? And is the handsome English reporter she keeps bumping into really to be trusted? The Dress Thief is an award-winning, atmospheric novel about love, dreams and betrayal.

Das Geheimnis der Hutmacherin

Author: Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 9783641194659
Release Date: 2016-11-14
Genre: Fiction

1940: Cora Masson, die Tochter eines cholerischen Hutverkäufers, arbeitet schlecht bezahlt in einer Hutmacherei in London. Als sie den Kunsthändler Dietrich kennenlernt, sieht sie ihre Chance gekommen und geht mit ihm nach Paris, in die Stadt ihrer Träume. Fortan macht sie sich als Coralie de Lirac unter falscher adeliger Identität einen Namen in der Modewelt. Doch als die Nazis in Frankreich einfallen, scheint ihr Geschäft ruiniert.

Solariad

Author: Surazeus Astarius
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9781387297337
Release Date: 2017-10-15
Genre: Poetry

Solariad of Surazeus - Guidance of Solaria presents 114,920 lines of verse in 1,660 poems, lyrics, ballads, sonnets, dramatic monologues, eulogies, hymns, and epigrams written by Surazeus 2006 to 2011.

The New World

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: IND:32000000709537
Release Date: 1843
Genre: New York (N.Y.)


Round Table

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: PRNC:32101074880756
Release Date: 1865
Genre: New York (N.Y.)


New World

Author: Park Benjamin
Publisher:
ISBN: CHI:74714151
Release Date: 1843
Genre:


Companions Without Vows

Author: Betty Rizzo
Publisher: University of Georgia Press
ISBN: 9780820332185
Release Date: 2008-09-01
Genre: History

Companions Without Vows is the first detailed study of the companionate relationship among women in eighteenth-century England--a type of relationship so prevalent that it was nearly institutionalized. Drawing extensively upon primary documents and fictional narratives, Betty Rizzo describes the socioeconomic conditions that forced women to take on or to become companions and examines a number of actual companionate relationships. Several factors fostered such relationships. Husbands and wives of the period lived largely separate social lives, yet decorum prohibited genteel women from attending engagements unaccompanied. Also, women of position insisted on having social consultants and confidantes. Filling this need were the many well-born young women without sufficient funds to live independently. Because family money and property were concentrated in the hands of eldest sons, these women frequently had to seek the protection of female benefactors for whom they performed unpaid, nonmenial tasks, such as providing a hand at cards or simply offering pleasant company. The companionate relationship between women could assume many forms, Rizzo notes. It was often analogous to marriage, with one partner dominant and the other subservient, while some women experimented in establishing partnerships that were truly egalitarian. Rizzo explores these various types of relationships both in real life and in fiction, noting that much of the period's discourse about women's relationships can be seen as a tacit commentary on marriage. Provocative and engagingly written, this authoritative work casts new light on women's attempts to deal with a patriarchal power structure and offers new insight into eighteenth-century social history.

Truth

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: NYPL:33433095211136
Release Date: 1880
Genre:


Die B cherdiebin

Author: Markus Zusak
Publisher: cbj Verlag
ISBN: 9783894804275
Release Date: 2008-12-04
Genre: Fiction

Selbst der Tod hat ein Herz ... Molching bei München. Hans und Rosa Hubermann nehmen die kleine Liesel Meminger bei sich auf – für eine bescheidene Beihilfe, die ihnen die ersten Kriegsjahre kaum erträglicher macht. Für Liesel jedoch bricht eine Zeit voller Hoffnung, voll schieren Glücks an – in dem Augenblick, als sie zu stehlen beginnt. Anfangs ist es nur ein Buch, das im Schnee liegen geblieben ist. Dann eines, das sie aus dem Feuer rettet. Dann Äpfel, Kartoffeln und Zwiebeln. Das Herz von Rudi. Die Herzen von Hans und Rosa Hubermann. Das Herz von Max. Und das des Todes. Denn selbst der Tod hat ein Herz. „Die Bücherdiebin“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte, eine Hommage an Bücher und Worte und eine Erinnerung an die Macht der Sprache, die im Roman von Markus Zusak viele Facetten zeigt: den lakonisch-distanzierten Ton des Erzählers, Poesie und Zuversicht – und die reduzierte Sprache der Nazipropaganda.

Die Kleiderdiebin

Author: Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 9783641161828
Release Date: 2015-05-11
Genre: Fiction

Eine Hommage an die Haute Couture und an die Liebe Paris in den 30er-Jahren: Die junge Telefonistin Alix Gower träumt davon, die glamouröse Welt der Haute Couture zu erobern. Der charmante und gut aussehende Paul verschafft ihr die Chance ihres Lebens – eine Anstellung in einem der berühmtesten Modehäuser der Stadt, allerdings mit dem Auftrag, die Frühjahrskollektion zu kopieren. Alix stimmt zu, ein doppeltes Spiel zu spielen. Dabei setzt sie nicht nur ihre Zukunft, sondern auch ihr Herz aufs Spiel ...