The Face of Fear

Author: Dean Koontz
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472202949
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Fiction

A gifted clairvoyant. A shocking vision. A deadly killer. Dean Koontz writes a spine-chilling novel in The Face of Fear - a gripping tale of predator and prey. Perfect for fans of Richard Laymon and Harlan Coben. 'Real suspense... tension upon tension!' - The New York Times Graham Harris is a gifted clairvoyant, and during a television interview, he 'sees' a murder being committed. He knows that the killer is the man the police have named the Butcher - the slayer of nine young women. Learning of the psychic identification, the Butcher begins to stalk this 'witness' to his crime, and traps Harris and his girlfriend at night in a vast forty-two-storey business building, hunting them relentlessly from floor to floor... What readers are saying about The Face of Fear: 'Your breathing will not return to normal once Koontz brings you immediately into the fold and hold of this book' 'Wonderfully told story about undisguised, revelled-in evil' 'This book combines the crime and thriller genres masterfully with a good dose of occult'

Eve of All Hallows A Tale of the Supernatural Book Two The Power of the Christ

Author: Douglas P. Michaud
Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc
ISBN: 9781105843990
Release Date: 2014-03-19
Genre: Religion

Eve of All Hallows, The Power of The Christ is the second of three books forthcoming in a trilogy written by Doug Michaud. Doug has been an educator for 43 years, and the author of seven books. His first book “Echoes of An Ancient Word” is also published and available on The Internet. He is a Christian theologian who has completed doctoral studies, and is well-known throughout many parts of the northeastern and mid-western United States. Mr. Michaud has produced in Hallows an inspirational and faith-building story. Each book of the trilogy will nourish the soul and awaken a sense of God’s Spirit moving among us. Hallows delivers on its promises: to help readers discern God’s Spirit working in their lives despite the eternally conflicting presence of evil.

The Readers Advisory Guide to Horror

Author: Becky Siegel Spratford
Publisher: American Library Association
ISBN: 9780838911129
Release Date: 2012-01
Genre: Education

Vampires, zombies, ghosts, and ghoulies: there are more things going bump in the night than ever. So how do you wend your way through all of them to find the ones that interest a particular reader? RA expert Spratford updates her advisory to include the latest in monsters and the macabre.

The Horror Readers Advisory

Author: Becky Siegel Spratford
Publisher: American Library Association
ISBN: 0838908713
Release Date: 2004-01-01
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

It's a dark and scary world. Pans are tabid. Blood, guts, and gore are the norm. Welcome to the horror genre. Horror classics have been scaring people for years. Nowadays, who doesn't know about Stephen King, Anne Rice, and Dean Koontz? Profiled in a special section, the Big Three have turned horror into best-sellers. For all the horror fans that haunt your library, this is the must-have guide. Readers' advisors and reference librarians will appreciate the key tools provided to expand upon this genre, including listings of top books, authors, and award winners within eleven horror subgenres - like mummies, biomedical, monsters, and splatterpunk. Clear descriptions of characteristics within subgenres are provided throughout. To further help you engage new renders, expert horror mavens Spratford and Clausen draw a savvy connection between film and horror as a potent reminder that the scariest movies have been adapted from novels. Their classic and contemporary recommendations like Rebecca, The Shining, and Rosemary's Baby reinforce activities between readers' advisors and library programming and open up the (cellar) door for further patron involvement. Readers' advisors and referen

Anatomy of Fear

Author: Jonathan Santlofer
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780061868306
Release Date: 2009-10-13
Genre: Fiction

NYPD sketch artist Nate Rodriguez possesses a remarkable gift. From the smallest clues—an off-hand comment, a brief flash of fear in a victim's eyes—he is able to create an uncanny likeness of the assailant. Now Detective Terri Russo needs his help to solve a particularly shocking series of murders, perpetrated by a psychopath who enjoys drawing pictures of his crimes before committing them. Nate is being asked to enter the dark, twisted mind of a monster—to re-create a face that no one has lived to identify. But as a portrait slowly begins taking shape in Nate's mind and on the page, an electrifying game of cat and mouse reaches an unexpected new level—as a brilliant killer uses his own unique talents to turn the investigation in a terrifying new direction... A breathtakingly original novel of suspense, Jonathan Santlofer's Anatomy of Fear mixes prose and pictures to create a story that burns its way into the brain and brilliantly revitalizes the crime fiction genre.

City of Dreadful Night

Author: Lee Siegel
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
ISBN: 0226756890
Release Date: 1995-10-31
Genre: Fiction

Visiting India to do research on Sanskrit horror literature, the narrator encounters Brahm Kathuwala, a storyteller who has had firsthand encounters with horror

The Encyclopedia of the Gothic

Author: William Hughes
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 9781119210412
Release Date: 2015-10-06
Genre: Literary Criticism

The Encylopedia of the Gothic features a series of newly-commissioned essays from experts in Gothic studies that cover all aspects of the Gothic as it is currently taught and researched, along with the development of the genre and its impact on contemporary culture. Comprises over 200 newly commissioned entries written by a stellar cast of over 130 experts in the field Arranged in A-Z format across two fully cross-referenced volumes Represents the definitive reference guide to all aspects of the Gothic Provides comprehensive coverage of relevant authors, national traditions, critical developments, and notable texts that define, shape, and inform the genre Extends beyond a purely literary analysis to explore Gothic elements of film, music, drama, art, and architecture. Explores the development of the genre and its impact on contemporary culture

Ex Machina

Author: Christopher L. Bennett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781471105944
Release Date: 2012-07-17
Genre: Fiction

Following the events of Star Trek: The Motion Picture the captain and crew of the USS Enterprise found themselves haunted by their extraordinary encounter with the vast artificial intelligence of V'Ger, and by the sacrifice and ascension of their friend and shipmate, Willard Decker. As James T. Kirk, Spock and Leonard McCoy attempt to cope with the personal fallout of their ordeal, a chapter from their mutual past is reopened, raising troubling new questions about the relationship of God, man and A.I. On the recently settled world of Daran IV, the former refugees of the Fabrini worldship Yonada are divided by conflicting ideologies, some clinging to their theocratic past while others envision a future governed by reason alone. Years ago the officers of the Enterprise helped overthrow the Oracle, the machine-god that controlled Yonada. Now confronting the consequences of those actions, together with echoes of their strange encounter with V'Ger, Kirk, Spock and McCoy face choices which will decide the fate of a civilization - and which may change them forever.

Haunted Waters

Author: Mary Pope Osborne
Publisher: Candlewick Press
ISBN: 9780763629953
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

After meeting the mysterious sea maid Undine on a bleak promontory and making her his wife, Lord Huldbrand tries to defend her from the faceless demon that haunts her, while he probes her strange ties to the aquatic world. Reissue.

Shutter Man

Author: Richard Montanari
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781405515030
Release Date: 2015-08-13
Genre: Fiction

Face your fears in the latest terrifying novel by the hugely acclaimed, bestselling master of the psychopath thriller. The Farren family has been a plague upon Philadelphia's most dangerous neighbourhood, the Devil's Pocket, for generations. There, row after row of tumbledown houses hide dark secrets - none darker than Billy, the youngest Farren. Afflicted by a syndrome that means he can't recognise faces, Billy must use photographs to identify his family - and his victims. And when your life has bled away, he takes a final, gruesome picture for his wall. But what is the meaning of the horrific ritual Billy enacts with every murder? And is there any connection to a childhood event Detective Kevin Byrne has buried so well it's hidden even from his former partner Jessica Balzano?

James DeVere Tales

Author: JamesDeVere.Com
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781465304636
Release Date: 2011-08-29
Genre: Fiction

You Are Reading... The entertaining and very random tales of Sydney artist, James DeVere. Fly all around the world with him in his dreams, lol at three Aussie Urban myths then gently finish with a few poems about the stuff of the universe and love. So, if you need a light read on the go - go ahead - enter the light fantastic with this singular antipodean wordster `James DeVere. www.jamesdevere.com

The Lyncher in Me

Author: Warren Read
Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society
ISBN: 0873516079
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The powerful true story of one man s shocking family discovery, an exhaustive search for meaning, and a poignant and remarkable path to understanding, balance, and healing."

The Coffin Path

Author: Katherine Clements
Publisher: Headline
ISBN: 9781472204295
Release Date: 2018-02-08
Genre: Fiction

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of Michelle Paver and Helen Dunmore, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'Brooding and full of creeping menace' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil. Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching. When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet.

The Washer of the Dead

Author: Venita Coelho
Publisher: Zubaan
ISBN: 9789383074426
Release Date: 2013-07-22
Genre: Fiction

A woman haunted by the wind. A land where ghosts speak for the voiceless. A washer of the dead who begins to hear them speak... These are the stories of the unquiet. Women whisper through this collection. They voice their loves, lives, fears and yearnings. To label this collection as 'ghost stories' or 'feminist stories' is to miss the nuances and range of female experience. As ghost stories they make you look uneasily over your shoulder, as female narrative they stun you with the power of their keen insight. Whimsical, terrifying and compelling, these powerful and haunting tales about our commonplace fears and tragedies provide a scathing commentary on the lives of women in India and are universal in their appeal. Published by Zubaan.