The Final Hour

Author: Tom Wood
Publisher: Sphere
ISBN: 0751565679
Release Date: 2018-03-22
Genre: Fiction

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEAD 'Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive' Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan X From bestselling author Tom Wood comes a unique and gasp-inducing Victor thriller that turns all your expectations on their head . . . Agent Antonio Alvarez has been tracking a dangerous murderer for years, a nameless hitman responsible for numerous homicides. The Agency deflected him away from his search, but he didn't give up, piecing together clues and hearsay. Now a promotion has allowed him to pursue this man with a hand-picked team and bring him to justice. Only problem is, the murderer has vanished. Thousands of miles away, the assassin known as Victor has stopped working - recently he began to care; he made mistakes. Now he has a choice: whether to give up the life or return to being a cold-hearted weapon. But there's another killer who needs his help - and she might be harder to refuse . . . All while the good guys are closing in on him. Enter a world of betrayal, tension and twists perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz (Orphan X, The Nowhere Man), James Swallow (Nomad, Exile) and Terry Hayes (I Am Pilgrim, Day of the Locust).

Victor Hugo 7 Books in English Translation

Author: Victor Hugo
Publisher: B&R Samizdat Express
ISBN: 9781455393442
Release Date: 2018-03-01
Genre: Fiction

This file includes: Notre-Dame de Paris (The Hunchback of Notre Dame), The Man Who Laughs, Les Miserables, The History of a Crime, The Memoirs of Victor Hugo, and Poems. According to Wikipedia: "Victor-Marie Hugo (26 February 1802 – 22 May 1885) was a French poet, playwright, novelist, essayist, visual artist, statesman, human rights activist and exponent of the Romantic movement in France. In France, Hugo's literary fame comes first from his poetry but also rests upon his novels and his dramatic achievements. Among many volumes of poetry, Les Contemplations and La Légende des siècles stand particularly high in critical esteem, and Hugo is sometimes identified as the greatest French poet. Outside France, his best-known works are the novels Les Misérables and Notre-Dame de Paris (known in English also as The Hunchback of Notre Dame). Though a committed conservative royalist when he was young, Hugo grew more liberal as the decades passed; he became a passionate supporter of republicanism, and his work touches upon most of the political and social issues and artistic trends of his time. He is buried in the Panthéon."

The Warren Companion

Author: David A. Roach
Publisher: TwoMorrows Publishing
ISBN: 189390508X
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Antiques & Collectibles

The Warren Companion is the ultimate compendium to the great comics of Warren Publishing, examining all the titles including Creepy, Eerie, Vampirella, Blazing Combat, Help!, The Spirit, and many more! Including the most cross-indexed artist and writer listing, this tome also features a new painted cover by Alex Horley, reams of unpublished art, archival photos, examinations of Warren's competition, plus exhaustive details on Warren merchandise, conventions, top strips, most prolific contributors, foreign publications, and many other fascinating oddities! Also featuring new articles on Richard Corben, Frank Frazetta, Steve Ditko and others, and interviews with Bernie Wrightson, Jim Warren, Will Eisner, Neal Adams, Gene Colan and many more.

Culture and Civilization

Author: Irving Louis Horowitz
Publisher: Transaction Publishers
ISBN: 9781412813495
Release Date: 2011-12-31
Genre: Social Science

Intellectual activity in the twentieth century took place largely under the banner of science and society. As the new millennium develops, it is becoming evident that science and society are not words that represent an unmitigated good, nor for that matter, do they exhaust what is new in the human condition. Past writing on the theme of culture has emphasized the growth and expansion of human capabilities. Recent use of the term "civilization" has placed great emphasis on the fall from grace of human beings. The use of both terms is rapidly changing. Culture and Civilization develops critical ideas intended to produce a positive intellectual climate, one that is prepared to confront threats, and alert us to the opportunities of the twenty-first century. It recognizes that the twenty-first century presents people in all fields and of all faiths with shared challenges. Culture and Civilization embraces the work of novelists, journalists, cultural figures, technologists, physical sciences, historians, and policy personnel who range beyond social science areas. What they have in common is a view that civilization is under assault and that it represents a cause worth advancing and defending. This publication does not embrace idiosyncratic visions of the clash of world civilizations or the end of Western civilization. It does attempt to bring together immediate issues of the century that are substantially new and challenging. We see that the essential polarity between democracy and autocracy has now taken on larger, deeper dimensions in a different political, economic, and ecological terrain: the central issue of our day is now civilization versus barbarism. The character of democratic culture is central to the global equation and the systemic challenge. This publication is a sober response to such a challenge.

The Works of Victor Hugo

Author: Victor Hugo
Publisher: BookCaps Study Guides
ISBN: 9781610420037
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Fiction

Victor Hugo is often regarded as one of the greatest French writers of all time. Best known today, for his classic novels "The Hunchback of Notre-Dame" and "Les Misérables," Hugo had several novels and stories regarded equally high, and they are collected here (along with all of his other classics). This collection includes: The History of a Crime The Hunchback of Notre Dame Les Miserables The Man Who Laughs The Memoirs of Victor Hugo Napoleon the Little

The Complete Novels of Victor Hugo

Author: Victor Hugo
Publisher: e-artnow
ISBN: 9788027303748
Release Date: 2019-03-14
Genre: Fiction

This meticulously edited collection is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents: Les Misérables The Hunchback of Notre-Dame Toilers of the Sea The Man Who Laughs Hans of Iceland Bug-Jargal The Last Day of a Condemned Man; or, A Criminal's Last Hours Ninety-Three Claude Gueux (A Crime Story) A Fight with a Cannon

Cue

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105118882252
Release Date: 1970-07
Genre: Amusements


Schwann

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UVA:X002171523
Release Date: 1988
Genre: Music


The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2001

Author:
Publisher: World Almanac Education
ISBN: 0886878624
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Reference

Features information on nations, states, and cities, celebrities, sports, consumerism, the arts, health and nutrition, United States and world history, and numerous other subjects

Forthcoming Books

Author: Rose Arny
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015046794437
Release Date: 2000
Genre: American literature