Der Geschmacksthesaurus

Author: Niki Segnit
Publisher: ebook Berlin Verlag
ISBN: 9783827074836
Release Date: 2013-02-12
Genre: Cooking

Schokolade mit Kardamom, Austern mit Wassermelone oder doch lieber Avocado mit Kaffee? Niki Segnits Geschmacksthesaurus ist das perfekte Handbuch für das unkonventionelle Kombinieren von Aromen.

The Flavor Thesaurus

Author: Niki Segnit
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 9781608198740
Release Date: 2012-04-24
Genre: Cooking

A career flavor scientist who has worked with such companies as Lindt, Coca-Cola and Cadbury organizes food flavors into 160 basic ingredients, explaining how to combine flavors for countless results, in a reference that also shares practical tips and whimsical observations.

The Flavour Thesaurus

Author: Niki Segnit
Publisher: Bloomsbury UK
ISBN: 0747599777
Release Date: 2010-01-01
Genre: Cookbooks

Ever wondered why one flavour works with another? Or lacked inspiration for what to do with a bundle of beetroot? The Flavour Thesaurusis the first book to examine what goes with what, pair by pair. The book is divided into flavour themes including Meaty, Cheesy, Woodland and Floral Fruity. Within these sections it follows the form of Roget's Thesaurus, listing 99 popular ingredients alphabetically, and for each one suggesting flavour matchings that range from the classic to the bizarre. You can expect to find traditional pairings such as pork & apple, lamb & apricot, and cucumber & dill; contemporary favourites like chocolate & chilli, and goat's cheese & beetroot; and interesting but unlikely-sounding couples including black pudding & chocolate, lemon & beef, blueberry & mushroom, and watermelon & oyster. There are nearly a thousand entries in all, with 200 recipes and suggestions embedded in the text. Beautifully packaged, The Flavour Thesaurusis not only a highly useful, and covetable, reference book for cooking - it might keep you up at night reading.

Warum d nische Kinder gl cklicher und ausgeglichener sind

Author: Jessica Joelle Alexander
Publisher: Mosaik Verlag
ISBN: 9783641209032
Release Date: 2017-10-16
Genre: Family & Relationships

Was macht Dänemark zum glücklichsten Land der Welt, und wie erziehen die Dänen glückliche, selbstbewusste und erfolgreiche Kinder? Jessica Joelle Alexander und Iben Dissing Sandahl verraten das Geheimnis der glücklichsten Familien. Mit aufschlussreichen Beispielen und leicht umzusetzenden Ratschlägen erläutern sie die sechs Grundsätze der dänischen Erziehung (G-L-U-E-C-K): Gutes Spiel, Lernorientierung, Umdeuten, Empathie, Coolbleiben und Kuscheliges Zusammensein. Für entspannte, starke und glückliche Kinder!

Die Kunst des klugen Handelns

Author: Rolf Dobelli
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446433038
Release Date: 2012-08-27
Genre: Political Science

Unzählige Leser begeistern sich für Rolf Dobellis gescheite Texte über unsere häufigsten Denkfehler. Doch wer Dobellis Ratschläge zum klaren Denken beherzigt, ist noch lange nicht aus dem Schneider, denn auf dem Weg vom Denken zum Handeln lauern weitere Fallstricke. Glücklicherweise kann man die umgehen - wenn man weiß, wie. Genau das verrät "Die Kunst des klugen Handelns": In 52 Kapiteln zeigt Dobelli, warum es sich lohnt, Türen zu schließen und auf Optionen zu verzichten, warum Informationsüberfluss zu unklugem Handeln anstiftet, warum Geld stets in emotionale Kleider gehüllt ist und wir es darum oft unbedacht ausgeben. Rolf Dobelli gibt Ihnen das nötige Rüstzeug: Schlagen Sie nicht jeden Irrweg ein, nur weil andere ihn gehen. Lernen Sie aus den Fehlern, die andere freundlicherweise für Sie machen. Denken Sie klar und handeln Sie klug!

Nigel Slater

Author: Nigel Slater
Publisher:
ISBN: 3832199128
Release Date: 2016-10-18
Genre:


Der Josa mit der Zauberfiedel

Author: Janosch
Publisher: Janosch film &medien AG
ISBN: 9783981592535
Release Date: 2013-12-14
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Josa, der Sohn des Köhlers Jeromir, ist zu schwach und klein, um den Beruf seines Vaters auszuüben. Eines Tages schenkt ihm ein Vogel eine Vogelgeige, eine Zauberfiedel. Der Vogel lehrt Josa ein Zauberlied, mit dem er Dinge und Menschen größer und stärker werden lassen kann, oder auch kleiner und schwächer, wenn der das Lied rückwärts spielt. Da Josa seinen Vater glücklich machen möchte, bittet er ihn fortgehen zu dürfen bis ans Ende der Welt, wo er den Mond mit seinem Lied verzaubern möchte. Auf seiner Reise verhilft Josa mit seiner Zauberfiedel vielen Menschen und Tieren zu einem besseren Leben.

Salt Fat Acid Heat

Author: Samin Nosrat
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781476753850
Release Date: 2017-04-25
Genre: Cooking

Now a Netflix series! New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more. A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters. In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need. With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

Eat Drink Read

Author: Phoenix Public Library Staff
Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc
ISBN: 9781312553873
Release Date: 2014-09-26
Genre: Cooking

This cookbook is the Phoenix Public Library Staff contribution to the 2014 City of Phoenix Employee Community Services Fund Drive effort to raise $1M for residents in need. Inside you will find recipes from Library staff who like to cook and eat nearly as much as we like to read. Not only that but we’ve added some great cookbook recommendations as well as other food-related titles for reading and watching . . . all of which are available from the Phoenix Public Library collection.

Homebrew All Stars

Author: Drew Beechum
Publisher: Voyageur Press (MN)
ISBN: 9780760349618
Release Date: 2016-05-01
Genre: Cooking

Shake up your homebrewing routine with the masters. From the mad scientists who brought you Experimental Homebrewing comes an all-new type of brewing book. For the first time, drop by the garage - err, we mean brewery - of 25 of today's most talented homebrewers. Pick their brains about ingredients and equipment, learn their techniques, and of course, try their recipes. Among the brewers in this book, you'll find traditionalists and rule-breakers, gear nerds and the science-obsessed. Start a solera with Mike Tonsmeire, talk temperature control with John Palmer, or tweak your pH with Martin Brungard. Featured brewers also include: Fred Bonjour, Amanda Burkemper, Chris Colby, Kent Fletcher, Joe Formanek, Lars Marius Garshol, Jeff Gladish, Gary Glass, Janis Gross, Mary Izett, Annie Johnson, Brandon Jones, Mike Karnowski, Mike "Tasty" McDole, Marshall Schott, Nathan Smith, Curt Stock, Gordon Strong, Roxanne Westendorf, Keith Yager, and two guys named Denny and Drew. Brewers cover their favorite malts, hops, and yeasts, and recipes include a wide variety of styles, from IPAs and stouts to saisons and lagers. Whether you're looking to become the best brewer ever or simply looking for a new recipe to try this weekend, this book is a home run.

Wein f r Dummies

Author: Ed McCarthy
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 9783527801466
Release Date: 2016-07-27
Genre: Cooking

Riesling, Mï¿1⁄2ller-Thurgau, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Dornfelder - Wie unterscheiden sich die Weine eigentlich? Und was macht ihren geschmacklichen Charakter aus? Ed McCarthy und Mary Ewing-Mulligan nehmen die Leser in "Wein fï¿1⁄2r Dummies" mit auf die Reise durch die Welt des Weines. Sie erlï¿1⁄2utern, welche Rebsorten es gibt, wie sie sich voneinander unterscheiden und wie Wein hergestellt wird. Sie stellen die verschiedenen Weinanbauregionen der Welt vor und erklï¿1⁄2ren, worauf man bei einer Weinprobe achten muss. Auï¿1⁄2erdem beantworten die Autoren viele Fragen rund um den Wein: Wie wird Wein gelagert und serviert? Darf man einen Bordeaux zum Fisch oder einen Riesling zum Schweinebraten trinken? Worauf muss man beim Weinkauf achten und wie beschreibt man das Bukett eines Weines?