The Girl with No Name

Author: Marina Chapman
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781453298572
Release Date: 2013-04-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The unbelievable true story of a young girl who is abandoned in the Colombian jungle and finds asylum in the most unlikely of places—with a troop of capuchin monkeys​ In 1954, in a remote mountain village in South America, a little girl was abducted. She was four years old. Marina Chapman was stolen from her housing estate and then abandoned deep in the Colombian jungle. That she survived is a miracle. Two days later, half-drugged, terrified, and starving, she came upon a troop of capuchin monkeys. Acting entirely on instinct, she tried to do what they did: she ate what they ate and copied their actions, and little by little, learned to fend for herself. So begins the story of her five years among the monkeys, during which time she gradually became feral; she lost the ability to speak, lost all inhibition, lost any real sense of being human, replacing the structure of human society with the social mores of her new simian family. But society was eventually to reclaim her. At age ten, she was discovered by a pair of hunters who took her to the lawless Colombian city of Cucuta where, in exchange for a parrot, they sold her to a brothel. When she learned that she was to be groomed for prostitution, she made her plans to escape. But her adventure wasn’t over yet . . . In the vein of Slumdog Millionaire and City of God, this rousing story of a lost child who overcomes the dangers of the wild and the brutality of the streets to finally reclaim her life will astonish readers everywhere.

The Girl With No Name

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781784970048
Release Date: 2016-03-01
Genre: Fiction

A heart-wrenching story from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. Thirteen-year-old Lisa has escaped from Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport. She arrives in London unable to speak a word of English, her few belongings crammed into a small suitcase. Among them is one precious photograph of the family she has left behind. Lonely and homesick, Lisa is adopted by a childless couple. But when the Blitz blows her new home apart, she wakes up in hospital with no memory of who she is or where she came from. The authorities give her a new name and despatch her to a children's home. With the war raging around her, what will become of Lisa now? Can't wait for the sequel? The Married Girls is out now! What readers are saying about The Girl With No Name: 'Diney Costeloe has perfectly captured the traumatic atmosphere of the war years both in London and the countryside ... Highly recommended' 'The characters leap from the pages. The Blitz scenes were palpable, imagining what Londoners endured during WW2. Love all Diney's books' 'The author writes with good pace, and excellent descriptions of place and characters, but her main skill is in conveying the personal dilemmas faced by her characters. I shall definitely seek out more books by this author'.

The Girl With No Name

Author: Pat Lowe
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780857969842
Release Date: 1994-08-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Set in the dramatic beauty of the Kimberley region, this is the poignant story of Matthew and his unusual friendship with an Aboriginal girl.

The Girl with the Wrong Name

Author: Barnabas Miller
Publisher: Soho Press
ISBN: 9781616951948
Release Date: 2015
Genre: JUVENILE FICTION

17-year-old Theo Lane has been hiding half of her face from the public ever since the night that left her with a long, disfiguring scar, an unquiet mind and no memory of what happened. An aspiring documentary maker, she uses her camera to keep the world at a safe distance. But when Andy Reese, a forlorn and mysterious 'Lost Boy,' wanders into her frame, he becomes the unknowing star of her latest project. Her unhealthy obsession with him tears her from that sheltered life behind the camera, pulling her into a perilous, mind-bending journey through Andy's world.

The Married Girls

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd
ISBN: 9781784976118
Release Date: 2017-02-17
Genre: Fiction

An unputdownable drama from the bestselling author of The Girl With No Name. Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married and now feels settled in her adopted home after arriving from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war. Meanwhile, the squire's fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming... and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne's past, but she has worked hard to conceal one that could unravel her carefully built life. For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry's return disrupts the village quiet and it's not long before gossip spreads. The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. What readers are saying about The Married Girls: 'Thoroughly enjoyed this book' 'Three words: wonderful, captivating and enthralling' 'I am so pleased I found this author' 'Diney Costeloe at her best.

The Girl Without a Name

Author: Sandra Block
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781455583782
Release Date: 2015-09-08
Genre: Fiction

In what passes for an ordinary day in a psych ward, Dr. Zoe Goldman is stumped when a highly unusual case arrives. A young African American girl, found wandering the streets of Buffalo in a catatonic state, is brought in by police. No one has come forward to claim her, and all leads have been exhausted, so Zoe's treatment is the last hope to discover the girl's identity. When drugs prove ineffective and medical science seems to be failing, Zoe takes matters into her own hands to track down Jane Doe's family and piece together their checkered history. As she unearths their secrets, she finds that monsters hide where they are least expected. And now she must solve the mystery before it is too late. Because someone wants to make sure this young girl never remembers. The Girl Without a Name is a powerful novel of memory and forgetting, of unexpected friendship and understanding...and of the secrets we protect no matter the consequences.

The House with No Name

Author: Pippa Goodhart
Publisher: Capstone
ISBN: 1598891030
Release Date: 2006-08-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When his family moves to a remote house in the woods that has stood empty for years, Jamie feels there is something very strange about the place, but soon makes friends with Colin who has lived nearby for years and years.

Savage Girls and Wild Boys

Author: Michael Newton
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9781466869004
Release Date: 2014-04-22
Genre: History

Savage Girls and Wild Boys is a fascinating history of extraordinary children---brought up by animals, raised in the wilderness, or locked up for long years in solitary confinement. Wild or feral children have fascinated us through the centuries, and continue to do so today. In a haunting and hugely readable study, Michael Newton deftly investigates a number of infamous cases. He looks at Peter the Wild Boy, who gripped the attention of Swift and Defoe, and at Victor of Aveyron, who roamed wild in the forests of revolutionary France. He tells the story of a savage girl lost on the streets of Paris, of two children brought up by wolves in the jungles of India, and of a Los Angeles girl who emerged from thirteen years locked in a room to international celebrity. He describes, too, a boy brought up among monkeys in Uganda; and in Moscow, the child found living with a pack of wild dogs. Savage Girls and Wild Boys examines the lives of these children and of the adults who "rescued" them, looked after them, educated, or abused them. How can we explain the mixture of disgust and envy that such children can provoke? And what can they teach us about our notions of education, civilization, and man's true nature?

The Girl with No Name

Author: José Luis García Sánchez
Publisher: Methuen Publishing
ISBN: 0416300715
Release Date: 1979
Genre: Identity (Philosophical concept)

A little girl, found at sea, is taken to a strange country where no one knows her name, her language, or her people.

The Girl with Seven Names A North Korean Defector s Story

Author: Hyeonseo Lee
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007554867
Release Date: 2015-07-02
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An extraordinary insight into life under one of the world’s most ruthless and secretive dictatorships – and the story of one woman’s terrifying struggle to avoid capture/repatriation and guide her family to freedom.

Little Bee

Author: Chris Cleave
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416589648
Release Date: 2010-02-16
Genre: Fiction

Presents a tale of a precarious friendship between an illegal Nigerian refugee and a recent widow from suburban London, a story told from the alternating and disparate perspectives of both women.

The Girl on the Train

Author: Paula Hawkins
Publisher: Oberon Books
ISBN: 9781786825131
Release Date: 2018-05-12
Genre: Drama

Adapted from Paula Hawkins' novel - an international phenomenon selling over twenty million copies worldwide - this gripping new play will keep you guessing until the final moment. Rachel Watson longs for a different life. Her only escape is the perfect couple she watches through the train window every day, happy and in love. Or so it appears. When Rachel learns that the woman she's been secretly watching has suddenly disappeared, she finds herself as a witness and even a suspect in a thrilling mystery in which she will face bigger revelations than she could ever have anticipated.

The Throwaway Children

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781784970000
Release Date: 2015-04-10
Genre: Fiction

Gritty, heartrending and unputdownable – the story of two sisters sent first to an English, then an Australian orphanage in the aftermath of World War II. Rita and Rosie Stevens are only nine and five years old when their widowed mother marries a violent bully called Jimmy Randall and has a baby boy by him. Under pressure from her new husband, she is persuaded to send the girls to an orphanage – not knowing that the papers she has signed will entitle them to do what they like with the children. And it is not long before the powers that be decide to send a consignment of orphans to their sister institution in Australia. Among them – without their family's consent or knowledge – are Rita and Rosie, the throwaway children. What readers are saying about THE THROWAWAY CHILDREN: 'I haven't felt so immersed in a book in a very long time and have recommended to just about everyone' 'Heart wrenching' 'A truly powerful book'