The Girl with No Name

Author: Marina Chapman
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781453298572
Release Date: 2013-04-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The unbelievable true story of a young girl who is abandoned in the Colombian jungle and finds asylum in the most unlikely of places—with a troop of capuchin monkeys​ In 1954, in a remote mountain village in South America, a little girl was abducted. She was four years old. Marina Chapman was stolen from her housing estate and then abandoned deep in the Colombian jungle. That she survived is a miracle. Two days later, half-drugged, terrified, and starving, she came upon a troop of capuchin monkeys. Acting entirely on instinct, she tried to do what they did: she ate what they ate and copied their actions, and little by little, learned to fend for herself. So begins the story of her five years among the monkeys, during which time she gradually became feral; she lost the ability to speak, lost all inhibition, lost any real sense of being human, replacing the structure of human society with the social mores of her new simian family. But society was eventually to reclaim her. At age ten, she was discovered by a pair of hunters who took her to the lawless Colombian city of Cucuta where, in exchange for a parrot, they sold her to a brothel. When she learned that she was to be groomed for prostitution, she made her plans to escape. But her adventure wasn’t over yet . . . In the vein of Slumdog Millionaire and City of God, this rousing story of a lost child who overcomes the dangers of the wild and the brutality of the streets to finally reclaim her life will astonish readers everywhere.

The Girl With No Name

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781784970048
Release Date: 2016-03-01
Genre: Fiction

A heart-wrenching story from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. Thirteen-year-old Lisa has escaped from Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport. She arrives in London unable to speak a word of English, her few belongings crammed into a small suitcase. Among them is one precious photograph of the family she has left behind. Lonely and homesick, Lisa is adopted by a childless couple. But when the Blitz blows her new home apart, she wakes up in hospital with no memory of who she is or where she came from. The authorities give her a new name and despatch her to a children's home. With the war raging around her, what will become of Lisa now? Can't wait for the sequel? The Married Girls is out now! Search for 9781784976118.

The Girl With No Name

Author: Pat Lowe
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780857969842
Release Date: 1994-08-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Set in the dramatic beauty of the Kimberley region, this is the poignant story of Matthew and his unusual friendship with an Aboriginal girl.

The Married Girls

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd
ISBN: 9781784976118
Release Date: 2017-02-17
Genre: Fiction

The gripping new novel from the bestselling author of The Sisters of St Croix and The Girl With No Name. The war is over, but trouble is brewing... Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married and now feels settled in her adopted home after arriving from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war. Meanwhile, the squire's fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming... and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne's past, but she has worked hard to conceal one that could unravel her carefully built life. For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry's return disrupts the village quiet and it's not long before gossip spreads. The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. What readers are saying about The Married Girls: 'Thoroughly enjoyed this book' 'Three words: wonderful, captivating and enthralling' 'I am so pleased I found this author/b' /pp'bDiney Costeloe at her best/b'

The Girl with the Wrong Name

Author: Barnabas Miller
Publisher: Soho Press
ISBN: 9781616951948
Release Date: 2015
Genre: JUVENILE FICTION

17-year-old Theo Lane has been hiding half of her face from the public ever since the night that left her with a long, disfiguring scar, an unquiet mind and no memory of what happened. An aspiring documentary maker, she uses her camera to keep the world at a safe distance. But when Andy Reese, a forlorn and mysterious 'Lost Boy,' wanders into her frame, he becomes the unknowing star of her latest project. Her unhealthy obsession with him tears her from that sheltered life behind the camera, pulling her into a perilous, mind-bending journey through Andy's world.

The Girl with No Name

Author: José Luis García Sánchez
Publisher: Methuen Publishing
ISBN: 0416300715
Release Date: 1979
Genre: Identity (Philosophical concept)

A little girl, found at sea, is taken to a strange country where no one knows her name, her language, or her people.

Little Bee

Author: Chris Cleave
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416589648
Release Date: 2010-02-16
Genre: Fiction

Presents a tale of a precarious friendship between an illegal Nigerian refugee and a recent widow from suburban London, a story told from the alternating and disparate perspectives of both women.

The Feminine Mystique 50th Anniversary Edition

Author: Betty Friedan
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393239188
Release Date: 2013-02-11
Genre: Social Science

“If you’ve never read it, read it now.”—Arianna Huffington, O, The Oprah Magazine Landmark, groundbreaking, classic—these adjectives barely do justice to the pioneering vision and lasting impact of The Feminine Mystique. Published in 1963, it gave a pitch-perfect description of “the problem that has no name”: the insidious beliefs and institutions that undermined women’s confidence in their intellectual capabilities and kept them in the home. Writing in a time when the average woman first married in her teens and 60 percent of women students dropped out of college to marry, Betty Friedan captured the frustrations and thwarted ambitions of a generation and showed women how they could reclaim their lives. Part social chronicle, part manifesto, The Feminine Mystique is filled with fascinating anecdotes and interviews as well as insights that continue to inspire. This 50th–anniversary edition features an afterword by best-selling author Anna Quindlen as well as a new introduction by Gail Collins.

The Hidden Twin

Author: Adi Rule
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 9781250036315
Release Date: 2016-03-22
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

For eighteen years a girl with no name, a Redwing, has been hidden away in a small attic room within a city of hissing pipes and curving temples perched on the side of the great volcano, Mol, while her sister, Jey-identical except for her eyes-has lived her life in public as an only child. Their father had hoped the hidden girl would one day grow up to be a normal human girl and not the wicked creature mythology has promised, so he secretly spared her life as an infant. But when she switches places with her sister, striking up a flirtation with the son of the Empress while working in the royal gardens and gets attacks by two suspicious priests on her journey home, she is forced to call forth fire to protect herself, unleashing her previously dormant powers and letting her secret out. She soon catches the attention of a cult with a thousand year old grudge as well as a group of underground rebels, both seeking her for their own gain. But when her sister goes missing and the Redwing uncovers a great plot to awaken Mol and bring fiery destruction upon them all, she is forced to embrace her powers. In Adi Rule's stunning new novel, The Hidden Twin, the girl with no name, must finally choose a name and a path for herself, drawing a line between myth and history to prove herself more than a monster if she is to save both her sister and her home.

The Girl Without a Name

Author: Sandra Block
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781455583782
Release Date: 2015-09-08
Genre: Fiction

In what passes for an ordinary day in a psych ward, Dr. Zoe Goldman is stumped when a highly unusual case arrives. A young African American girl, found wandering the streets of Buffalo in a catatonic state, is brought in by police. No one has come forward to claim her, and all leads have been exhausted, so Zoe's treatment is the last hope to discover the girl's identity. When drugs prove ineffective and medical science seems to be failing, Zoe takes matters into her own hands to track down Jane Doe's family and piece together their checkered history. As she unearths their secrets, she finds that monsters hide where they are least expected. And now she must solve the mystery before it is too late. Because someone wants to make sure this young girl never remembers. The Girl Without a Name is a powerful novel of memory and forgetting, of unexpected friendship and understanding...and of the secrets we protect no matter the consequences.

The Throwaway Children

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781784970000
Release Date: 2015-04-10
Genre: Fiction

Gritty, heartrending and unputdownable – the story of two sisters sent first to an English, then an Australian orphanage in the aftermath of World War 2. Rita and Rosie Stevens are only nine and five years old when their widowed mother marries a violent bully called Jimmy Randall and has a baby boy by him. Under pressure from her new husband, she is persuaded to send the girls to an orphanage – not knowing that the papers she has signed will entitle them to do what they like with the children. And it is not long before the powers that be decide to send a consignment of orphans to their sister institution in Australia. Among them – without their family's consent or knowledge – are Rita and Rosie, the throwaway children. * * * * * Enjoyed this book? The Lost Soldier by Diney Costeloe is out 1st July 2015. Search: 9781784972561

The House with No Name

Author: Pippa Goodhart
Publisher: Capstone
ISBN: 1598891030
Release Date: 2006-08-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When his family moves to a remote house in the woods that has stood empty for years, Jamie feels there is something very strange about the place, but soon makes friends with Colin who has lived nearby for years and years.

The Girl With All the Gifts

Author: M. R. Carey
Publisher: Orbit
ISBN: 9780316278140
Release Date: 2014-06-10
Genre: Fiction

The USA Today bestseller Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius." Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh. The Girl With All the Gifts is a groundbreaking thriller, emotionally charged and gripping from beginning to end.