The Girl with No Name

Author: Marina Chapman
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781453298572
Release Date: 2013-04-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The unbelievable true story of a young girl who is abandoned in the Colombian jungle and finds asylum in the most unlikely of places—with a troop of capuchin monkeys​ In 1954, in a remote mountain village in South America, a little girl was abducted. She was four years old. Marina Chapman was stolen from her housing estate and then abandoned deep in the Colombian jungle. That she survived is a miracle. Two days later, half-drugged, terrified, and starving, she came upon a troop of capuchin monkeys. Acting entirely on instinct, she tried to do what they did: she ate what they ate and copied their actions, and little by little, learned to fend for herself. So begins the story of her five years among the monkeys, during which time she gradually became feral; she lost the ability to speak, lost all inhibition, lost any real sense of being human, replacing the structure of human society with the social mores of her new simian family. But society was eventually to reclaim her. At age ten, she was discovered by a pair of hunters who took her to the lawless Colombian city of Cucuta where, in exchange for a parrot, they sold her to a brothel. When she learned that she was to be groomed for prostitution, she made her plans to escape. But her adventure wasn’t over yet . . . In the vein of Slumdog Millionaire and City of God, this rousing story of a lost child who overcomes the dangers of the wild and the brutality of the streets to finally reclaim her life will astonish readers everywhere.

The Girl With No Name

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781784970048
Release Date: 2016-03-01
Genre: Fiction

A heart-wrenching story from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. Thirteen-year-old Lisa has escaped from Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport. She arrives in London unable to speak a word of English, her few belongings crammed into a small suitcase. Among them is one precious photograph of the family she has left behind. Lonely and homesick, Lisa is adopted by a childless couple. But when the Blitz blows her new home apart, she wakes up in hospital with no memory of who she is or where she came from. The authorities give her a new name and despatch her to a children's home. With the war raging around her, what will become of Lisa now? Can't wait for the sequel? The Married Girls is out now! Search for 9781784976118.

The Girl With No Name

Author: Pat Lowe
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780857969842
Release Date: 1994-08-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Set in the dramatic beauty of the Kimberley region, this is the poignant story of Matthew and his unusual friendship with an Aboriginal girl.

The Girl with the Wrong Name

Author: Barnabas Miller
Publisher: Soho Press
ISBN: 9781616951948
Release Date: 2015
Genre: JUVENILE FICTION

17-year-old Theo Lane has been hiding half of her face from the public ever since the night that left her with a long, disfiguring scar, an unquiet mind and no memory of what happened. An aspiring documentary maker, she uses her camera to keep the world at a safe distance. But when Andy Reese, a forlorn and mysterious 'Lost Boy,' wanders into her frame, he becomes the unknowing star of her latest project. Her unhealthy obsession with him tears her from that sheltered life behind the camera, pulling her into a perilous, mind-bending journey through Andy's world.

The Married Girls

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd
ISBN: 9781784976118
Release Date: 2017-02-17
Genre: Fiction

The gripping new novel from the bestselling author of The Sisters of St Croix and The Girl With No Name. The war is over, but trouble is brewing... Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married and now feels settled in her adopted home after arriving from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war. Meanwhile, the squire's fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming... and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne's past, but she has worked hard to conceal one that could unravel her carefully built life. For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry's return disrupts the village quiet and it's not long before gossip spreads. The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. What readers are saying about The Married Girls: 'Thoroughly enjoyed this book' 'Three words: wonderful, captivating and enthralling' 'I am so pleased I found this author/b' /pp'bDiney Costeloe at her best/b'

The Girl With No Name

Author: Marina Chapman
Publisher: Greystone Books
ISBN: 9781771001182
Release Date: 2013-03-18
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The riveting account of a girl who was abandoned in the jungle and lived among monkeys. In the early 1950s, in a remote mountain village in South America, a small girl was abducted then abandoned deep in the Colombian jungle. For approximately the next five years she lived with a troop of capuchin monkeys and gradually became feral. Taken from the jungle by a pair of hunters, she was sold as a slave to a couple who beat and tortured her, and then spent several years as a street child before being taken in by a family of criminals. Finally, a sympathetic neighbour arranged for her to go live with her daughter in safety in Bogota. This is a unique and inspiring story of abandonment, despair, and eventual happiness.

The Girl Without a Name

Author: Sandra Block
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781455583782
Release Date: 2015-09-08
Genre: Fiction

In what passes for an ordinary day in a psych ward, Dr. Zoe Goldman is stumped when a highly unusual case arrives. A young African American girl, found wandering the streets of Buffalo in a catatonic state, is brought in by police. No one has come forward to claim her, and all leads have been exhausted, so Zoe's treatment is the last hope to discover the girl's identity. When drugs prove ineffective and medical science seems to be failing, Zoe takes matters into her own hands to track down Jane Doe's family and piece together their checkered history. As she unearths their secrets, she finds that monsters hide where they are least expected. And now she must solve the mystery before it is too late. Because someone wants to make sure this young girl never remembers. The Girl Without a Name is a powerful novel of memory and forgetting, of unexpected friendship and understanding...and of the secrets we protect no matter the consequences.

The Girl with No Name

Author: José Luis García Sánchez
Publisher: Methuen Publishing
ISBN: 0416300715
Release Date: 1979
Genre: Identity (Philosophical concept)

A little girl, found at sea, is taken to a strange country where no one knows her name, her language, or her people.

The Feminine Mystique 50th Anniversary Edition

Author: Betty Friedan
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393239188
Release Date: 2013-02-11
Genre: Social Science

“If you’ve never read it, read it now.”—Arianna Huffington, O, The Oprah Magazine Landmark, groundbreaking, classic—these adjectives barely do justice to the pioneering vision and lasting impact of The Feminine Mystique. Published in 1963, it gave a pitch-perfect description of “the problem that has no name”: the insidious beliefs and institutions that undermined women’s confidence in their intellectual capabilities and kept them in the home. Writing in a time when the average woman first married in her teens and 60 percent of women students dropped out of college to marry, Betty Friedan captured the frustrations and thwarted ambitions of a generation and showed women how they could reclaim their lives. Part social chronicle, part manifesto, The Feminine Mystique is filled with fascinating anecdotes and interviews as well as insights that continue to inspire. This 50th–anniversary edition features an afterword by best-selling author Anna Quindlen as well as a new introduction by Gail Collins.

Little Bee

Author: Chris Cleave
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416589648
Release Date: 2010-02-16
Genre: Fiction

Presents a tale of a precarious friendship between an illegal Nigerian refugee and a recent widow from suburban London, a story told from the alternating and disparate perspectives of both women.

The Girl with No Home

Author: Sheila Newberry
Publisher:
ISBN: 178576456X
Release Date: 2018-03
Genre: Abandoned children

"London, 1888. Abandoned by her mother at the age of seven, Jerusha Carey is no stranger to being left behind. And later when she marries Dan Applebee, an older, reliable farmer from Kent, she believes she has finally found her place in the world. Then disaster strikes. After the sudden death of her husband, Jerusha finds herself alone again. But the arrival of the mysterious Joe Finch - a traveller seeking work on her farm and a home for his daughter - sets Jerusha's life on a whole new path. Could this be the happy ending she has been waiting for?"--Provided by publisher.

The House with No Name

Author: Pippa Goodhart
Publisher: Capstone
ISBN: 1598891030
Release Date: 2006-08-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When his family moves to a remote house in the woods that has stood empty for years, Jamie feels there is something very strange about the place, but soon makes friends with Colin who has lived nearby for years and years.

The Throwaway Children

Author: Diney Costeloe
Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781784970000
Release Date: 2015-04-10
Genre: Fiction

Gritty, heartrending and unputdownable – the story of two sisters sent first to an English, then an Australian orphanage in the aftermath of World War 2. Rita and Rosie Stevens are only nine and five years old when their widowed mother marries a violent bully called Jimmy Randall and has a baby boy by him. Under pressure from her new husband, she is persuaded to send the girls to an orphanage – not knowing that the papers she has signed will entitle them to do what they like with the children. And it is not long before the powers that be decide to send a consignment of orphans to their sister institution in Australia. Among them – without their family's consent or knowledge – are Rita and Rosie, the throwaway children. * * * * * Enjoyed this book? The Lost Soldier by Diney Costeloe is out 1st July 2015. Search: 9781784972561

The Hidden Twin

Author: Adi Rule
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9781250036322
Release Date: 2016-03-22
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When you've lived your whole life in secret because of a dark myth, what happens when the myth starts to come to life?