The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ

Author: Philip Pullman
Publisher: Knopf Canada
ISBN: 9780307399236
Release Date: 2010-04-20
Genre: Fiction

This is a story. In this ingenious and spellbinding retelling of the life of Jesus, Philip Pullman revisits the most influential story ever told. Charged with mystery, compassion and enormous power, The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ throws fresh light on who Jesus was and asks the reader questions that will continue to resonate long after the final page is turned. For, above all, this book is about how stories become stories. From the Hardcover edition.

Good Man Jesus The Scoundrel Christ

Author: Pullman
Publisher: Penguin Books India
ISBN: 9780670084449
Release Date: 2010-04-01
Genre:

In this ingenious and spellbinding retelling of the life of Jesus, Philip Pullman revisits the most influential story ever told. He offers a radical new take on the myths and mysteries of the gospels and of the church that has shaped the course of the last two millennia. Charged with mystery, compassion and enormous power, The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ throws fresh light on who Jesus was and asks the reader questions that will continue to reverberate long after the final page is turned. For above all, this book is about how stories become stories.

The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ

Author: Philip Pullman
Publisher: Canongate U.S.
ISBN: 9780802196989
Release Date: 2011-04-12
Genre: Fiction

Upon its hardcover publication, renowned author Philip PullmanÕs The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ provoked heated debates and stirred a frenzy of controversy throughout the clerical and literary worlds alike with its bold retelling of the life of Jesus Christ. In this remarkable piece of fiction, famously atheistic author Philip Pullman challenges the events of the Gospels and puts forward his own compelling and plausible version of the life of Jesus. Written with unstinting authority, The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ is a pithy, erudite, subtle, and powerful book by a beloved author, a text to be read and reread, studied and unpacked, much like the Good Book itself.

The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ

Author: Philip Pullman
Publisher: Text Publishing
ISBN: 9781921776151
Release Date: 2010-05-03
Genre: Fiction

In this ingenious and spellbinding retelling of the life of Jesus, Philip Pullman reimagines the most influential story ever told. Charged with mystery, compassion and great power, The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ says something new about who Jesus was and asks questions that will resonate long after the book has been read.

Dostoevsky

Author: Rowan Williams
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781847064257
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Religion

Rowan Williams explores the intricacies of speech, fiction, metaphor, and iconography in the works of one of literature's most complex and most misunderstood, authors. Williams' investigation focuses on the four major novels of Dostoevsky's maturity (Crime and Punishment, The Idiot, Devils, and The Brothers Karamazov). He argues that understanding Dostoevsky's style and goals as a writer of fiction is inseparable from understanding his religious commitments. Any reader who enters the rich and insightful world of Williams' Dostoevsky will emerge a more thoughtful and appreciative reader for it.

Lazarus is Dead

Author: Richard Beard
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781609458676
Release Date: 2012-09-25
Genre: Fiction

Like most successful men in their early thirties, Lazarus has plans that don't involve dying. He is busy organizing his sisters, his business, and his women. Life is mostly good until far away in Galilee, without warning, his childhhod best friend Jesus turns water into wine. Immediatley, Lazarus falls ill. And with each subsequent miracle his health deteriorates: a nasty cough develops into an alarming array of afflictions unresponsive to the usual remedies. His sisters think Jesus can help, but the two men haven't spoken for years. Lazarus is willing to try anything to make himself well, anything, that is, except ask Jesus for help. Lazarus dies. Jesus weeps. Lazarus rises. This part we all know. But Lazarus is about to discover that returning from the dead isn't easy at all. An ingeniously funny and moving novel that disguises itself as biography, Lazarus Is Dead recounts the story of a great friendship lost and regained. Richard Beard's brand of storytelling unabashedly turns convention on its head as he draws on biblical sources, historical detail, art and contemporary literature to throw a spell over his readers that remains unbroken until the final pages of this astonishing story about second chances.

Philip Pullman s Jesus

Author: Gerald O'Collins
Publisher: Paulist Press
ISBN: 9780809147304
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Religion

With The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ, Philip Pullman issues a serious challenge to the reader to look again at the Gospels, and ask whether or not it is reasonable to believe what the New Testament and the Church teach about the founder of Christianity. In Philip Pullman's Jesus Gerald O'Collins takes up that challenge with authority, passion and flair.

The Scarecrow and His Servant

Author: Philip Pullman
Publisher: Oberon Books
ISBN: 9781849435345
Release Date: 2012-06-27
Genre: Drama

Outrageously zany and filed with non-stop surprises, Simon Reade’s theatrical adaptation of The Scarecrow and His Servant, renowned author Philip Pullman's fictional children's tale, is an enchanting play for young readers and performers. Delve into the magical world of Scarecrow as you accompany him as Jack, his trusty help-mate, and together you can embark on adventures that will make your head spin. From dodging dangerous bandits and surviving terrifying shipwrecks, to soaring through the skies with wild birds, this play is a roller-coaster ride of never-ending escapades. But when the river-polluting Buffaloni tyrants catch up with you for a final showdown, who will come to your rescue and save the day? A production of The Scarecrow and His Servant ran at the Southwark Playhouse in December 2008-January 2009.

Grimms Tales for Young and Old

Author: Brothers Grimm
Publisher: Anchor
ISBN: 0307788067
Release Date: 2011-04-27
Genre: Fiction

For readers of all ages, two hundred and ten tales of the Brothers Grimm, including "Cinderella," "Sleeping Beauty," "Snow White," and "Hansel and Gretel," translated by Ralph Manheim, the highly acclaimed and prize-winning translator. Manheim has rediscovered in the original German Grimms’ editions of the tales the unadorned, direct rhythm of the oral form in which they were first recorded. He has retained their ageless magic and mythology and restored the extraordinary vitality and wit, the acute perceptions of human strength and facility mirrored in the facets of these small gems. “The best modern translation of the complete Brothers Grimm.”--Choice

Unapologetic

Author: Francis Spufford
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062300485
Release Date: 2013-10-15
Genre: Religion

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience. Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis. Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

The Broken Bridge

Author: Philip Pullman
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9781524765026
Release Date: 2017-03-29
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

At 16, Ginny finds that her love of painting connects her to the artistic Haitian mother she never knew and eases the isolation she feels as the only mixed-race teen in her Welsh village. When she learns she has a half-brother by her father's first marriage, her world is shattered. Ginny embarks on a quest for the truth that will allow her to claim her artistic heritage--and face her father.

The Book of Rachael

Author: Leslie Cannold
Publisher: Text Publishing
ISBN: 9781921758089
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Historical fiction

2000 years ago, while a young Jewish preacher from Nazareth was gathering followers among the people of Galilee, his sister swept floors and dreamed of learning to read. Jesus of Nazareth's story is one of a prophet turned martyr - but we know nothing of his sister. In this story, the women of Nazareth take centre stage. There is the rebellious Rachael, consigned by her sex to a life of drudgery; Bindy, the crone who teaches her the skills of the healer; there is Shona, her sister, victim of a harsh social code, and their mother Miriame, a woman seemingly unable to love.

The Unwanted Sound of Everything We Want

Author: Garret Keizer
Publisher: PublicAffairs
ISBN: 9781586488628
Release Date: 2010-05-04
Genre: Science

Noise is usually defined as unwanted sound: loud music from a neighbor, the honk of a taxicab, the roar of a supersonic jet. But as Garret Keizer illustrates in this probing examination, noise is as much about what we want as about what we seek to avoid. It has been a byproduct of human striving since ancient times even as it has become a significant cause of disease in our own. At heart, noise provides a key for understanding some of our most pressing issues, from social inequality to climate change. In a journey that leads us from the Tanzanian veldt to the streets of New York, Keizer deftly explores the political ramifications of noise, America's central role in a loud world, and the environmental sustainability of a quieter one. The result is a deeply satisfying book—one guaranteed to change how we hear the world, and how we measure our own personal volume within it.

Count Karlstein

Author: Philip Pullman
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9781524764999
Release Date: 2017-03-29
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Can you hear the distant howling of hounds and the thunder of ghostly hooves? It's All Souls' Eve and Zamiel the Demon Huntsman has come to claim his prey! He's headed straight for Castle Karlstein, where the evil count has hatched an evil plan; he'll sacrifice his two young nieces to save himself. Can Lucy and Charlotte outwit their uncle and his oily henchmen to escape their dreadful fate? From the award-winning author of The Golden Compass and The Subtle Knife comes a spooky, funny thriller just right for those middle-grade readers looking for horror--and humor.