The Lady in the Lake

Author: Raymond Chandler
Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard
ISBN: 9781400030187
Release Date: 2002-06-11
Genre: Fiction

Crime fiction master Raymond Chandler's fourth novel featuring Philip Marlowe, the "quintessential urban private eye" (Los Angeles Times). In The Lady in the Lake, hardboiled crime fiction master Raymond Chandler brings us the story of a couple of missing wives—one a rich man's and one a poor man's—who have become the objects of Philip Marlowe's investigation. One of them may have gotten a Mexican divorce and married a gigolo and the other may be dead. Marlowe's not sure he cares about either one, but he's not paid to care.

The Lady in the Lake and Other Novels

Author: Raymond Chandler
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780141190761
Release Date: 2001-06-07
Genre: Fiction

An omnibus comprising Raymond Chandler's three Philip Marlowe novels, THE LADY IN THE LAKE, THE HIGH WINDOW and THE LITTLE SISTER.

The Lady in the Lake

Author: Raymond Chandler
Publisher:
ISBN: 0140810366
Release Date: 1991
Genre: Los Angeles (Calif.)

A private detective Philip Marlowe murder story. Suitable for adult literacy and learners of English as a second language.

PENGUIN READERS 2 LADY IN THE LAKE BOOK AND MP3 PACK

Author: Raymond Chandler
Publisher:
ISBN: 140828507X
Release Date: 2011-08-02
Genre: English language

Detective Philip Marlowe is looking for Derace Kingsley's wife, Crystal. Did she go to El Paso with her lover or is she dead? Is she the lady in the lake?

Lady in the Lake

Author: Laura Lippman
Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571339464
Release Date: 2019-07-23
Genre: Fiction

'Haunting... extraordinary.' STEPHEN KING A stunning, multi-voiced, period piece - tackling race, gender politics, and the volatility of mid '60s America - from the author of SUNBURN Cleo Sherwood disappeared eight months ago. Aside from her parents and the two sons she left behind, no one seems to have noticed. It isn't hard to understand why: it's 1964 and neither the police, the public nor the papers care much when Negro women go missing. Maddie Schwartz - recently separated from her husband, working her first job as an assistant at the Baltimore Sun- wants one thing: a byline. When she hears about an unidentified body that's been pulled out of the fountain in Druid Hill Park, Maddie thinks she is about to uncover a story that will finally get her name in print. What she can't imagine is how much trouble she will cause by chasing a story that no-one wants her to tell.

The Woman in the Lake

Author: Nicola Cornick
Publisher: Harlequin
ISBN: 9781488096778
Release Date: 2019-02-26
Genre: Fiction

From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge—part history, part mystery—for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine London, 1765 Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her new golden gown and destroy it, its shimmering beauty tainted by the actions of her brutal husband the night before. Three months later, Lord Gerard stands at the shoreline of the lake, looking down at a woman wearing the golden gown. As the body slowly rolls over to reveal her face, it’s clear this was not his intended victim… 250 Years Later… When a gown she stole from a historic home as a child is mysteriously returned to Fenella Brightwell, it begins to possess her in exactly the same way that it did as a girl. Soon the fragile new life Fen has created for herself away from her abusive ex-husband is threatened at its foundations by the gown’s power over her until she can't tell what is real and what is imaginary. As Fen uncovers more about the gown and Isabella’s story, she begins to see the parallels with her own life. When each piece of history is revealed, the gown—and its past—seems to possess her more and more, culminating in a dramatic revelation set to destroy her sanity.

Shadow Lake

Author: La Belle
Publisher:
ISBN: 197318205X
Release Date: 2017-10-30
Genre:

The residents of Swan Mirror Tower live in the lap of luxury. Along with fortune and fame, the residents have their fair share of affairs, lies, and deceit. The fifteen story luxury apartment complex is complete with staff and a remarkable view. A view that has a story. The haunted lake behind the tower is legendary but often times underestimated. The Legend of the Lake has often been dismissed as a story to frighten children but older people know better. They remember the devastation. The lives of the residents in the tower are forever changed when a woman is found floating in the mysterious Shadow Lake behind the tower. This suspenseful thriller chronicles The Tragedy at Shadow Lake and the woman known as The Lady in the Lake.

Voices in the Dark

Author: J. P. Telotte
Publisher: University of Illinois Press
ISBN: 0252060563
Release Date: 1989
Genre: Performing Arts

The American film noir, the genre that focused on urban crime and corruption in the 1940's and 1950's, exhibits the greatest amount of narrative experimentation in the modern American cinema. Spurred by postwar disillusionment, cold war anxieties, and changing social circumstances, these films revealed the dark side of American life and created unique narrative structures to speak of that darkness.

Something More Than Night

Author: Peter Wolfe
Publisher: Popular Press
ISBN: 0879722940
Release Date: 1985-01-01
Genre: Literary Criticism

Raymond Chandler’s eminence as a mystery writer is unchallenged. Somerset Maugham and George Grella both rate him above Dashiell Hammett; Eric Partridge deems him “a serious artist and a very considerable novelist,” while praising him as “one of the finest novelists of his time.” Peter Wolfe examines the many sides of Chandler and his work—his apparent will to self-destruct, his obsession with beautiful women, and his apparent brush with homosexuality—and casts much new and needed light on this major American author.

The Lady in the Lake

Author: Raymond Raymond Chandler
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 198196407X
Release Date: 2017-12-28
Genre:

Derace Kingsley's wife ran away to Mexico to get a quickie divorce and marry a Casanova-wannabe named Chris Lavery. Or so the note she left her husband insisted. Trouble is, when Philip Marlowe asks Lavery about it he denies everything and sends the private investigator packing with a flea lodged firmly in his ear. But when Marlowe next encounters Lavery, he's denying nothing on account of the two bullet holes in his heart. Now Marlowe's on the trail of a killer, who leads him out of smoggy LA all the way to a murky mountain lake.