The Mad Monk Of Gidleigh Knights Templar Mysteries 14

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline
ISBN: 9781472219756
Release Date: 2013-02-27
Genre: Fiction

After a young woman tragically dies, it is up to Sir Baldwin and Simon Puttock to unravel the mystery surrounding her suspicious death... Michael Jecks brings medieval England to life in the fourteenth mystery of his Knights Templar series, featuring the ever-popular Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Susanna Gregory. 'The most wickedly plotted medieval mystery novels' - The Times As the winter of 1323 descends upon a windswept chapel on the edge of Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from Mary, the miller's daughter? But when Mary, and her unborn child, are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. Could one of Mary's many admirers have murdered her in a fit of jealousy? Or might it be someone even closer to home? By the time their search is over, life for Baldwin and Simon, and their families, will never be quite the same again. What readers are saying about The Mad Monk of Gidleigh: 'There is excellent attention to period detail and a very strong sense of time and place. All the characters are fully dimensional and well-drawn' 'The story is very well plotted. Just when I thought I knew where it was going, it turned' 'Yet another fantastic book from Michael Jecks. The stories are really well crafted'

The Mad Monk of Gidleigh

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline Book Pub Limited
ISBN: 0755301684
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Fiction

As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, life has never seemed so bleak to the young priest in his isolated, windswept chapel. It is a far cry from the cathedral cities of Europe of which he dreamed as a novice. So who could blame him for accepting some longed-for human contact and companionship when it is offered by the local miller's daughter, Mary? But when Mary and the unborn child she carried are found brutally murdered, it is obvious where the villagers will point the finger of blame. However, investigators Baldwin Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. It becomes clear that Mary was far from the simple village girl she seemed. What exactly was her relationship with the Squire of Gidleigh, Sir Ralph, who is uncharacteristically grief-stricken at her death? Whatever it was, could it be that he himself was responsible for her death? Or perhaps Osbert, the mill-hand whose love she rejected time and again, could withstand his torment no longer? In their search for the truth, Baldwin and Simon unwittingly put themselves in the greatest danger they have ever faced, and by the time the investigation is over, life for themselves and their families will never be the same again...

The Knights Templar Collection

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline
ISBN: 9781472228017
Release Date: 2015-02-12
Genre: Fiction

THE KNIGHTS TEMPLAR COLLECTION brings together three engrossing novels in the widely acclaimed and much loved Knights Templar series. Escape into the evocative medieval world of Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, as you join them on the suspenseful trail of three murder mysteries. THE MAD MONK OF GIDLEIGH: As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from the miller's daughter, Mary? But when Mary and her unborn child are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. And by the time their search is over, life will never be quite the same again. THE TEMPLAR'S PENANCE: It is the summer of 1323, and Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock have been granted leave to go on pilgrimage. When a beautiful girl is found murdered on a hillside en route to Santiago de Compostela, the friends are among the first on the scene. As Baldwin and Simon lend their skills to the inquiry, the unexpected appearance of a face from Baldwin's past could threaten the investigation, as well as the future of Baldwin himself... THE OUTLAWS OF ENNOR: On return from pilgrimage, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock's ship is attacked by pirates, and Simon sees Baldwin washed overboard. On the island of Ennor, Simon must investigate the murder of the island's hated tax collector while, unbeknownst to his friend, Baldwin begins to unpick the same murder on the other side of the island. Can the pair uncover the truth in time to prevent certain massacre?

The Michael Jecks Compendium A Free Sampler

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline
ISBN: 9781472228024
Release Date: 2015-02-12
Genre: Fiction

The definitive digital guide to Michael Jecks's widely-praised Knights Templar series. Whether you're a long-standing fan of the medieval Knights Templar adventures, or yet to try this captivating historical series, this is the definitive guide you need. Meet Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, keeper of the kings peace, and his friend Simon Puttock, and discover this dazzling introduction to fifteen titles in the series. *Also contains an exclusive foreword from the author*

The Tolls of Death

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline
ISBN: 9781472219787
Release Date: 2014-02-27
Genre: Fiction

Summer 1323: in the Cornish village of Cardinham, a penniless young woman is found hanged alongside the dead bodies of her children. Passing through the village on the final leg of their long journey home, friends Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock are detained and tasked with leading the investigation. Simon and Baldwin quickly discover the young woman's death is not an isolated incident. And as the escape of a traitor threatens to embroil the country in a new civil war, they must look beyond friendships and family loyalties to find an evil killer - and secure the safety of Cardinham, and all who dwell there.

The Outlaws of Ennor

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline
ISBN: 9781472219770
Release Date: 2014-02-27
Genre: Fiction

On the return from their pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela, in the summer of 1323, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock's ship is attacked by pirates. They fight their attackers off, but then there are too few shipmen when a terrible storm strikes. As the ship breaks up, Simon sees Baldwin washed overboard. Distraught, Simon makes his way to shore. But on the island of Ennor, he must put aside his fears and investigate the murder of Robert, the island's hated tax collector, at the behest of master of the castle, Ranulph de Blancminster. Meanwhile, washed up on the other side of the island, Baldwin begins his own investigation of the same murder. As the friends dig deeper, they become embroiled in a bitter rivalry between the two island communities. Can they uncover the truth in time to prevent certain massacre?

Templar s Acre

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9780857205209
Release Date: 2013-06-06
Genre: Fiction

The Holy Land, 1291.A war has been raging across these lands for decades. The forces of the Crusaders have been pushed back again and again by the Muslims and now just one city remains in Crusader control. That one city stands between the past and the future. One city which must be defended at all costs. That city is Acre. And into this battle where men will fight to the death to defend their city comes a young boy. Green and scared, he has never seen battle before. But he is on the run from a dark past and he has no choice but to stay. And to stay means to fight. That boy is Baldwin de Furnshill. This is the story of the siege of Acre, and of the moment Baldwin first charged into battle. This is just the beginning. The rest is history.

A Friar s Bloodfeud

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline
ISBN: 9781472219817
Release Date: 2014-02-27
Genre: Fiction

March 1323: in the rural idyll of Iddesleigh, a gang of men break into the home of Bailiff Simon Puttock's servant and attack his family. When word reaches Simon, he and Sir Baldwin de Funshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, hurry to the home, finding it burned to the ground and the bodies from within already buried. Could this be the result of a tragic accident, or is a darker force at work? As Baldwin and Simon attempt to uncover the truth, it quickly becomes clear that a terrible evil lurks in the land, and that the pain and bloodshed are far from over.

What Do I Read Next

Author: Neil Barron
Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning
ISBN: 0787661821
Release Date: 2003-10
Genre: Fiction genres

Provides synopses for over 1,500 titles of current popular fiction and recommends other books by such criteria as authors, characters portrayed, time period, geographical setting, or genre

Murder in Retrospect

Author: Michael Burgess
Publisher: Libraries Unltd Incorporated
ISBN: 1591580870
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Reference

Build your fiction collection, advise readers, and find answers to questions about one of today's most dynamic genres with this important work, the first guide to historical mysteries.

The King of Thieves

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
ISBN: 075534975X
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Assassination

Baldwin and Simon uncover a deadly assassination plot in this fantastic novel in Michael Jecks' hugely popular medieval crime series. 1325: Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Simon Puttock are in France guarding King Edward's son on his perilous journey to meet the French king, Charles IV. But they are unaware that King Edward's wife Isabella is so disaffected that she has begun to plot her revenge. What at first appeared a simple diplomatic mission is in danger of becoming lethally dangerous...

Malice in Miniature

Author: Jeanne M. Dams
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781448300754
Release Date: 2013-02-01
Genre: Fiction

When Dorothy Martin gets a call from her friend Ada Finch, whose gardener son has been arrested for the attempted theft of an antique dolls’ tea set from the Miniatures Museum at the imposing Brocklesby Hall, she doesn’t hesitate to offer her services to clear his name. But when theft leads to murder, Dorothy discovers there are big secrets hidden in the rooms filled with miniatures.

Contemporary Authors

Author: Gale Group
Publisher: Gale Cengage
ISBN: 0787645958
Release Date: 2002-07-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Your students and users will find biographical information on approximately 300 modern writers in this volume of Contemporary Authors(r) .

Dispensation of Death

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline Book Pub Limited
ISBN: 0755332792
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Fiction

Baldwin and Simon must risk their own lives to protect the Queen of England, in this cleverly plotted medieval mystery. 1325: England is a hotbed of paranoia under the reign of the increasingly unpredictable Edward II and his lover, Sir Hugh le Despenser. When the Queen's lady-in-waiting is slaughtered and a man's body, hideously mutilated, is discovered behind the throne, the King demands to be avenged. Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, an experienced investigator of murders, is appointed to track down the killer, aided by his friend, Simon Puttock. In an age of corruption, when the king's friends can use torture, blackmail and murder to promote their ends, a rural knight and bailiff must fight to stay alive.