The Mad Monk Of Gidleigh Knights Templar Mysteries 14

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472219756
Release Date: 2013-02-27
Genre: Fiction

After a young woman tragically dies, it is up to Sir Baldwin and Simon Puttock to unravel the mystery surrounding her suspicious death... Michael Jecks brings medieval England to life in the fourteenth mystery of his Knights Templar series, featuring the ever-popular Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Susanna Gregory. 'The most wickedly plotted medieval mystery novels' - The Times As the winter of 1323 descends upon a windswept chapel on the edge of Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from Mary, the miller's daughter? But when Mary, and her unborn child, are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. Could one of Mary's many admirers have murdered her in a fit of jealousy? Or might it be someone even closer to home? By the time their search is over, life for Baldwin and Simon, and their families, will never be quite the same again. What readers are saying about The Mad Monk of Gidleigh: 'There is excellent attention to period detail and a very strong sense of time and place. All the characters are fully dimensional and well-drawn' 'The story is very well plotted. Just when I thought I knew where it was going, it turned' 'Yet another fantastic book from Michael Jecks. The stories are really well crafted'

The Mad Monk of Gidleigh

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Headline Book Pub Limited
ISBN: 0755301684
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Fiction

As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, life has never seemed so bleak to the young priest in his isolated, windswept chapel. It is a far cry from the cathedral cities of Europe of which he dreamed as a novice. So who could blame him for accepting some longed-for human contact and companionship when it is offered by the local miller's daughter, Mary? But when Mary and the unborn child she carried are found brutally murdered, it is obvious where the villagers will point the finger of blame. However, investigators Baldwin Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. It becomes clear that Mary was far from the simple village girl she seemed. What exactly was her relationship with the Squire of Gidleigh, Sir Ralph, who is uncharacteristically grief-stricken at her death? Whatever it was, could it be that he himself was responsible for her death? Or perhaps Osbert, the mill-hand whose love she rejected time and again, could withstand his torment no longer? In their search for the truth, Baldwin and Simon unwittingly put themselves in the greatest danger they have ever faced, and by the time the investigation is over, life for themselves and their families will never be the same again...

The Knights Templar Collection Volume 1

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472228017
Release Date: 2015-02-12
Genre: Fiction

Escape into the evocative medieval world of Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, as you join them on the suspenseful trail of three murder mysteries. The Knights Templar Collection brings together three engrossing novels in the widely acclaimed and much-loved Knights Templar series by Michael Jecks. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Bernard Cornwell. The Mad Monk of Gidleigh (Book 14): As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from the miller's daughter, Mary? But when Mary and her unborn child are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. And by the time their search is over, life will never be quite the same again. The Templar's Penance (Book 15): It is the summer of 1323, and Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock have been granted leave to go on pilgrimage. When a beautiful girl is found murdered on a hillside en route to Santiago de Compostela, the friends are among the first on the scene. As Baldwin and Simon lend their skills to the inquiry, the unexpected appearance of a face from Baldwin's past could threaten the investigation, as well as the future of Baldwin himself... The Outlaws of Ennor (Book 16): On return from pilgrimage, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock's ship is attacked by pirates, and Simon sees Baldwin washed overboard. On the island of Ennor, Simon must investigate the murder of the island's hated tax collector while, unbeknownst to his friend, Baldwin begins to unpick the same murder on the other side of the island. Can the pair uncover the truth in time to prevent certain massacre? What readers are saying about The Knights Templar mysteries: 'Michael Jecks is one of the best medieval writers of our times. His two main characters come alive in the imagination when you're reading them' 'The characters are richly drawn and weave in and out of the events of the early 14th century, with Michael Jecks showing great knowledge of the times' 'Good introduction to the series'

The Bishop Must Die Knights Templar Mysteries 28

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472219893
Release Date: 2014-02-27
Genre: Fiction

Working against the clock, can Sir Baldwin and Simon hope to prevent a murder? As the threat of war hangs over England, Sir Baldwin and Bailiff Puttock must work desperately to prevent murder, in Michael Jecks' latest thrilling mystery in his hugely popular Knights Templar series. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Susanna Gregory. 'Each page is densely packed with cuckolding, coarseness, lewdness, lechery, gore galore, but also with nobility. A heady mix!' - North Devon Journal 1326: King Edward II's estranged wife Queen Isabella shames him by refusing to return from France to England. When the king hears she has betrothed their son to the daughter of the French Count of Hainault, all England fears invasion by a Hainault army. The King's knights, including Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, are commanded to London to protect the realm. Meanwhile Bishop Stapledon, the Treasurer of England, is under severe threat - but from whom? He has made many enemies in his long political life, and Sir Baldwin and his friend, Simon Puttock, must do all they can to find the would-be assassin before he can strike... What readers are saying about The Bishop Must Die: 'The characters are richly drawn and weave in and out of the events of the early 14th century, with Michael Jecks showing great knowledge of the times' 'Jecks always brings his chosen era to life' 'Another masterpiece from one of my favourite authors'

Templar s Acre

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9780857205209
Release Date: 2013-06-06
Genre: Fiction

The Holy Land, 1291.A war has been raging across these lands for decades. The forces of the Crusaders have been pushed back again and again by the Muslims and now just one city remains in Crusader control. That one city stands between the past and the future. One city which must be defended at all costs. That city is Acre. And into this battle where men will fight to the death to defend their city comes a young boy. Green and scared, he has never seen battle before. But he is on the run from a dark past and he has no choice but to stay. And to stay means to fight. That boy is Baldwin de Furnshill. This is the story of the siege of Acre, and of the moment Baldwin first charged into battle. This is just the beginning. The rest is history.

What Do I Read Next

Author: Neil Barron
Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning
ISBN: 0787661821
Release Date: 2003-10
Genre: Fiction genres

Provides synopses for over 1,500 titles of current popular fiction and recommends other books by such criteria as authors, characters portrayed, time period, geographical setting, or genre

Murder in Retrospect

Author: Michael Burgess
Publisher: Libraries Unltd Incorporated
ISBN: 1591580870
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Reference

Build your fiction collection, advise readers, and find answers to questions about one of today's most dynamic genres with this important work, the first guide to historical mysteries.

Kaapse Bibliotekaris

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: IND:30000111156802
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Libraries

Issues for Nov. 1957- include section: Accessions. Aanwinste, Sept. 1957-

Contemporary Authors

Author: Gale Group
Publisher: Gale Cengage
ISBN: 0787645958
Release Date: 2002-07-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Your students and users will find biographical information on approximately 300 modern writers in this volume of Contemporary Authors(r) .

Read On Crime Fiction

Author: Barry Trott
Publisher: Libraries Unltd Incorporated
ISBN: 159158373X
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Presents a guide to detective and mystery fiction arranged by such characteristics as mood, character, setting, and language.

Library Journal

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015082964951
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Libraries

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.

Das Foucaultsche Pendel

Author: Umberto Eco
Publisher:
ISBN: NWU:35556028290906
Release Date: 1989
Genre: Foucault's pendulum

Im Mittelpunkt des an verschiedenen Orten und zu völlig unterschiedlichenZeiten, mal in den 70er Jahren unseres Jahrhunderts, mal 1344 spielenden Romans, stehen 3 Mailänder Verlagslektoren. Da ihr Verlag mit Esoterik gutes Geld machen möchte, lesen tagtäglich Manuskripte, die sich mit bizarresten Weltverschwörungstheorien befassen. Aus reiner Spiel- u. Spottlust beschliessen sie, selbst eine grosse Weltverschwörungstheorie zu verfassen. Doch aus der Theorie wird Realität, gefährlicher Ernst, als die 3 ihren eigenen Wahn erliegen, überall Beziehungen zu sehen und/oder zu knüpfen.