The Maltese Falcon

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: Everyman's Library
ISBN: 9780375411250
Release Date: 1972
Genre: Fiction

Three novels involving private detectives and shady characters tackle homicide, treachery, and corruption.

The Maltese Falcon

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781471917684
Release Date: 2014-08-14
Genre: Fiction

One of the greatest crime novels of the 20th century. Sam Spade is hired by the fragrant Miss Wonderley to track down her sister, who has eloped with a louse called Floyd Thursby. But Miss Wonderley is in fact the beautiful and treacherous Brigid O'Shaughnessy, and when Spade's partner Miles Archer is shot while on Thursby's trail, Spade finds himself both hunter and hunted: can he track down the jewel-encrusted bird, a treasure worth killing for, before the Fat Man finds him?

The Maltese Falcon

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher:
ISBN: 0307291987
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Private investigators

After the death of his partner, private eye Sam Spade is dragged into a quest for a priceless statuette.

The Maltese Falcon

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard
ISBN: 9780307767516
Release Date: 2010-12-29
Genre: Fiction

A treasure worth killing for. Sam Spade, a slightly shopworn private eye with his own solitary code of ethics. A perfumed grafter named Joel Cairo, a fat man name Gutman, and Brigid O’Shaughnessy, a beautiful and treacherous woman whose loyalties shift at the drop of a dime. These are the ingredients of Dashiell Hammett’s coolly glittering gem of detective fiction, a novel that has haunted three generations of readers.

Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

Author: Richard Layman
Publisher: Vince Emery Productions
ISBN: UOM:39015066087084
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Literary Criticism

"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film versions of the novel, stage adaptations, Sam Spade short stories, radio presentations, and even comics. Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions. Contributors include Dashiell Hammett himself, plus Jo Hammett, Richard Layman, Mary Astor, Joseph Shaw, Dorothy Parker, John Huston, Hal Wallis, Darryl F. Zanuck, Joe Gores, William F. Nolan, and more than fifty additional writers. It is illustrated with more than 200 photos, illustrations, and facsimiles. The book is a joy for fans of Hammett, Sam Spade, detective fiction, film noir, and the history of literature and cinema." -- from publisher's website.

Spade Archer

Author: Joe Gores
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 030727148X
Release Date: 2009-02-10
Genre: Fiction

A wonderfully dark, pitch-perfect noir prequel to The Maltese Falcon, featuring Dashiell Hammett’s beloved detective, Sam Spade. It’s 1921—seven years before Sam Spade will solve the famous case of the Maltese Falcon. He’s just set up his own agency in San Francisco and he gets off to a quick start, working cases (he doesn’t do domestic) and hiring a bright young secretary named Effie Perrine. When he’s hired by a prominent San Francisco banker to find his missing son, Spade gets the break he’s been looking for. He spends the next few years dealing with booze runners, waterfront thugs, banking swindlers, gold smugglers, and bumbling cops. He brings in Miles Archer as a partner to help bolster the agency, though it was Archer who stole his girl while he was fighting in World War I. All along, Spade will tangle with an enigmatic villain who holds a long-standing grudge against Spade. And, of course, he’ll fall in love—though it won’t turn out for the best. It never does with dames. From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Maltese Falcon Dashiell Hammett illustrated Literary Thoughts Edition

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: epubli
ISBN: 9783741879555
Release Date: 2016-12-27
Genre: Fiction

Literary Thoughts edition presents The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett ------ "The Maltese Falcon" is a 1930 published detective novel by Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961), telling the story of San Francisco based private detective Samuel "Sam" Spade, who gets hired by a beautiful young woman, "Miss Wonderly", to follow a guy named Floyd Thursby. Sam Spade and his partner Miles Archer take the job, but later that night, Archer is found shot to death. A few hours later, Thursby is also killed and Spade is a suspect. Sam Spade finds out, that it is all about the title object, a foot-high black statuette of unknown but substantial value. All books of the Literary Thoughts edition have been transscribed from original prints and edited for better reading experience. Please visit our homepage www.literarythoughts.com to see our other publications.

In Search of the Maltese Falcon

Author: Mario Fenech
Publisher: FriesenPress
ISBN: 9781460206621
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

While scuba diving off the coast of Spain, Cyrus and Samantha make a startling discovery. A trunk containing a map to the mysterious island of Melita, and the treasure hidden there. Suddenly, Cyrus and Samantha find themselves embarking on a treacherous adventure that will forever alter their lives, and the lives of their crew.

The Maltese Falcon to Body of Lies

Author: Robert von Hallberg
Publisher: UNM Press
ISBN: 9780826351623
Release Date: 2015-11-15
Genre: Performing Arts

Film noir is by definition dark, but not, this book argues, desperate. Examining twenty-eight great noir films from the earliest examples of the genre, including The Maltese Falcon, The Big Sleep, and Out of the Past, to such twenty-first-century spy films as The Good Shepherd, Syriana, and The Bourne Ultimatum, this study explores the representations of trust and commitment that noir and spy films propose. Through thorough examination, von Hallberg provides insights into the cultural history of film and our cinematic experience with the concept of trust.

Dashiell Hammett s The Maltese Falcon

Author: Richard Layman
Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning
ISBN: STANFORD:36105026594783
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Provides researchers basic materials useful in studying The Maltese Falcon: background readings related to Hammett's life; composition of the novel; reception of the novel, including reviews and critical response; and the various media adaptations of this classic complex story.

The Falcon s Malteser

Author: Anthony Horowitz
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101176658
Release Date: 2004-07-08
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When the vertically-challenged Johnny Naples entrusts Tim Diamond with a package worth over three million pounds, he’s making a big mistake. Tim Diamond is the worst detective in the world. Next day, Johnny’s dead, Tim feels the heat, and his smart younger brother, Nick, gets the package—and every crook in town on his back!

The Maltese Falcon and Other Sam Spade Stories

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9781443417174
Release Date: 2012-09-18
Genre: Fiction

Meet Sam Spade, the quintessential private eye known for his cold detachment, keen perception, and unending determination. This ultimate collection of Sam Spade stories includes The Maltese Falcon, in which Sam dodges bullets, searches for exotic items, and plays on both sides of the law when he is hired by an alluring woman to follow a man. This collection also includes the three Sam Spade short stories A Man Called Spade, Too Many Have Lived, and They Can Only Hang You Once. Dashiell Hammett is widely recognized as the founder of the hard-boiled school of detective fiction. The Maltese Falcon has been adapted for radio, stage, and film, including the 1941 Academy Award-nominated movie starring Humphrey Bogart. HarperPerennial Classics brings great works of literature to life in digital format, upholding the highest standards in ebook production and celebrating reading in all its forms. Look for more titles in the HarperPerennial Classics collection to build your digital library.

The Maltese Falcon

Author: Dashiell Hamett
Publisher: Dream Letters
ISBN: 6155421447
Release Date: 2013-11-13
Genre: Fiction

Sam Spade, Dashiell Hammett's archetypally tough San Francisco detective, is more noir than L.A. Confidential and more vulnerable than Raymond Chandler's Marlowe. In The Maltese Falcon, the best known of Hammett's Sam Spade novels (including The Dain Curse and The Glass Key), Spade is tough enough to bluff the toughest thugs and hold off the police, risking his reputation when a beautiful woman begs for his help, while knowing that betrayal may deal him a new hand in the next moment. Spade's partner is murdered on a stakeout; the cops blame him for the killing; a beautiful redhead with a heartbreaking story appears and disappears; grotesque villains demand a payoff he can't provide; and everyone wants a fabulously valuable gold statuette of a falcon, created as tribute for the Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV. Who has it? And what will it take to get it back? Spade's solution is as complicated as the motives of the seekers assembled in his hotel room, but the truth can be a cold comfort indeed. Quotes: “He looked rather pleasantly, like a blonde satan.” “Joel Cairo: You always have a very smooth explanation ready. Sam Spade: What do you want me to do, learn to stutter?” “I couldn't be fonder of you if you were my own son. But, well, if you lose a son, its possible to get another. There's only one Maltese Falcon. (Kasper Gutman)”