The Maltese Falcon

Author: William Luhr
Publisher: Rutgers University Press
ISBN: 0813522374
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Performing Arts

.

Spade Archer

Author: Joe Gores
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 030727148X
Release Date: 2009-02-10
Genre: Fiction

A wonderfully dark, pitch-perfect noir prequel to The Maltese Falcon, featuring Dashiell Hammett’s beloved detective, Sam Spade. It’s 1921—seven years before Sam Spade will solve the famous case of the Maltese Falcon. He’s just set up his own agency in San Francisco and he gets off to a quick start, working cases (he doesn’t do domestic) and hiring a bright young secretary named Effie Perrine. When he’s hired by a prominent San Francisco banker to find his missing son, Spade gets the break he’s been looking for. He spends the next few years dealing with booze runners, waterfront thugs, banking swindlers, gold smugglers, and bumbling cops. He brings in Miles Archer as a partner to help bolster the agency, though it was Archer who stole his girl while he was fighting in World War I. All along, Spade will tangle with an enigmatic villain who holds a long-standing grudge against Spade. And, of course, he’ll fall in love—though it won’t turn out for the best. It never does with dames. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

Author: Richard Layman
Publisher: Vince Emery Productions
ISBN: UOM:39015066087084
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Literary Criticism

"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film versions of the novel, stage adaptations, Sam Spade short stories, radio presentations, and even comics. Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions. Contributors include Dashiell Hammett himself, plus Jo Hammett, Richard Layman, Mary Astor, Joseph Shaw, Dorothy Parker, John Huston, Hal Wallis, Darryl F. Zanuck, Joe Gores, William F. Nolan, and more than fifty additional writers. It is illustrated with more than 200 photos, illustrations, and facsimiles. The book is a joy for fans of Hammett, Sam Spade, detective fiction, film noir, and the history of literature and cinema." -- from publisher's website.

The Maltese Falcon

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard
ISBN: 9780307767516
Release Date: 2010-12-29
Genre: Fiction

A coolly glittering gem of detective fiction that has haunted three generations of readers, from one of the greatest mystery writers of all time. A treasure worth killing for. Sam Spade, a slightly shopworn private eye with his own solitary code of ethics. A perfumed grafter named Joel Cairo, a fat man name Gutman, and Brigid O’Shaughnessy, a beautiful and treacherous woman whose loyalties shift at the drop of a dime. These are the ingredients of Dashiell Hammett's iconic, influential, and beloved The Maltese Falcon.

In Search of the Maltese Falcon

Author: Mario F
Publisher: FriesenPress
ISBN: 9781460206607
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

While scuba diving off the coast of Spain, Cyrus and Samantha make a startling discovery. A trunk containing a map to the mysterious island of Melita, and the treasure hidden there. Suddenly, Cyrus and Samantha find themselves embarking on a treacherous adventure that will forever alter their lives, and the lives of their crew.

The Maltese falcon

Author: Marie Cahill
Publisher: Gallery Books
ISBN: 083174572X
Release Date: 1991-08
Genre: Performing Arts


Dashiell Hammett s The Maltese Falcon

Author: Richard Layman
Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning
ISBN: STANFORD:36105026594783
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Provides researchers basic materials useful in studying The Maltese Falcon: background readings related to Hammett's life; composition of the novel; reception of the novel, including reviews and critical response; and the various media adaptations of this classic complex story.

Social Criticism in Dashiell Hammett s Red Harvest and the Maltese Falcon

Author: Ole Wagner
Publisher: GRIN Verlag
ISBN: 9783638927277
Release Date: 2008-04
Genre:

Seminar paper from the year 2007 in the subject English Language and Literature Studies - Literature, grade: 1,7, University of Heidelberg (Anglistisches Seminar ), course: Twentieth Century Crime Fiction, 12 entries in the bibliography, language: English, abstract: This essay will explore how social criticism is performed in two novels of Dashiell Hammett. Red Harvest is often described as "the first hard-boiled novel," giving it the status of a literary landmark. Here the author gives us a clear impression of his characteristic world and his social vision of it. Therefore, the novel appears to be an interesting subject to look how this kind of literature employs social criticism. The other book that will be examined here is The Maltese Falcon, one of the most popular and best known hard-boiled crime novels ever, that has served as a model for many authors. As Robert Shulman argues, Hammet gives his "social vision its fullest expression" in this novel, showing "his concern with American individualism." Thus, as this examination is limited to two works, it seems most sensible to use The Maltese Falcon along with Red Harvest for this purpose to produce a good insight into the social criticism in Hammett's books. Before beginning with the study, it is necessary to make clear what 'social criticism' is here, as the term itself has a wide meaning. 'Social' will be discussed in the sense, as the Merriam-Webster dictionary puts it, "of or relating to human society, the interaction of the individual and the group, or the welfare of human beings as members of society." This means that in a smaller sense, the term 'social' concerns the way the individuals, the characters of the novels, deal with each other, and, in a larger sense, how the society is organized and how its institutions treat the individual and the group, which also brings economic and political components into the scope of the study. The Maltese Falcon and Red Harvest are particularly well suited for suc

The Falcon s Malteser

Author: Anthony Horowitz
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101176658
Release Date: 2004-07-08
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When the vertically-challenged Johnny Naples entrusts Tim Diamond with a package worth over three million pounds, he’s making a big mistake. Tim Diamond is the worst detective in the world. Next day, Johnny’s dead, Tim feels the heat, and his smart younger brother, Nick, gets the package—and every crook in town on his back!

The Maltese Falcon Dashiell Hammett illustrated Literary Thoughts Edition

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: epubli
ISBN: 9783741879555
Release Date: 2016-12-27
Genre: Fiction

Literary Thoughts edition presents The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett ------ "The Maltese Falcon" is a 1930 published detective novel by Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961), telling the story of San Francisco based private detective Samuel "Sam" Spade, who gets hired by a beautiful young woman, "Miss Wonderly", to follow a guy named Floyd Thursby. Sam Spade and his partner Miles Archer take the job, but later that night, Archer is found shot to death. A few hours later, Thursby is also killed and Spade is a suspect. Sam Spade finds out, that it is all about the title object, a foot-high black statuette of unknown but substantial value. All books of the Literary Thoughts edition have been transscribed from original prints and edited for better reading experience. Please visit our homepage www.literarythoughts.com to see our other publications.

True Grit A Novel

Author: Charles Portis
Publisher: The Overlook Press
ISBN: 9781590206508
Release Date: 2010-11-05
Genre: Fiction

Charles Portis has long been acclaimed as one of America's foremost comic writers. True Grit is his most famous novel--first published in 1968, and the basis for the movie of the same name starring John Wayne. It tells the story of Mattie Ross, who is just fourteen years of age when a coward going by the name of Tom Chaney shoots her father down in Fort Smith, Arkansas, and robs him of his life, his horse, and $150 in cash money. Mattie leaves home to avenge her father's blood. With the one-eyed Rooster Cogburn, the meanest available U.S. Marshal, by her side, Mattie pursues the homicide into Indian Territory. True Grit is eccentric, cool, straight, and unflinching, like Mattie herself. From a writer of true cult status, this is an American classic through and through. This new edition, with a smart new package and an afterword by acclaimed author Donna Tartt, will bring this masterpiece to an even broader audience.

The Glass Key

Author: Dashiell Hammett
Publisher: New Canadian Library
ISBN: 9781551999654
Release Date: 2016-04-19
Genre: Fiction

Unlike most of Hammett’s works, the protagonist of The Glass Key isn’t a private detective; Ned Beaumont is a gambler, and the friend of a criminal boss. The action starts when he discovers the body of a senator’s son, and his friend wants him to help cover it up as a means of gaining the senator’s favour. This draws Beaumont into a brewing gang war, and he has to solve the mystery if he wants to get out alive. It has been adapted for film twice. Penguin Random House Canada is proud to bring you classic works of literature in e-book form, with the highest quality production values. Find more today and rediscover books you never knew you loved.

The Big Sleep

Author: Raymond Chandler
Publisher: Everyman's Library
ISBN: 9780375415012
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Fiction

Three early mystery novels--The Big Sleep, Farewell, My Lovely, and The High Window--introduce the world of harboiled 1930s private detective Philip Marlow, in an omnibus edition. 15,000 first printing.

The Maltese Falcon to Body of Lies

Author: Robert von Hallberg
Publisher: UNM Press
ISBN: 9780826351623
Release Date: 2015-11-15
Genre: Performing Arts

Film noir is by definition dark, but not, this book argues, desperate. Examining twenty-eight great noir films from the earliest examples of the genre, including The Maltese Falcon, The Big Sleep, and Out of the Past, to such twenty-first-century spy films as The Good Shepherd, Syriana, and The Bourne Ultimatum, this study explores the representations of trust and commitment that noir and spy films propose. Through thorough examination, von Hallberg provides insights into the cultural history of film and our cinematic experience with the concept of trust.