The Oath

Author: Frank E. Peretti
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: 9781418509262
Release Date: 2011-10-08
Genre: Fiction

An ancient sin. A long forgotten oath. A town with a deadly secret. Something evil is at work in Hyde River, an isolated mining town in the mountains of the Pacific Northwest. Under the cover of darkness, a predator strikes without warningùtaking life in the most chilling and savage fashion. The community of Hyde River watches in terror as residents suddenly vanish. Yet, the more locals are pressed for information, the more they close ranks, sworn to secrecy by their forefathersÆ hidden sins. Only when Hyde RiverÆs secrets are exposed is the true extent of the danger fully revealed. What the town discovers is something far more deadly than anything theyÆd imagined. Something that doesnÆt just stalk its victims, but has the power to turn hearts black with decay as it slowly fills their souls with darkness.

The Oath

Author: E. Gaylon McCollough
Publisher: a-argus books
ISBN: 9780984514250
Release Date: 2010-09-01
Genre: Fiction

Rather than face charges of treason, Kennan Ahmad Padgett, resigns his post as President and Commander-in-Chief of the United States of America. Within days, a dozenof the President's co-conspirators follow his lead. A nervous nation waits with other governments and power brokers around the globe for the twelth person in the U.S. Presidential line of succession to take the oath of office. This is not only that person's story, Dr. Mason Edwards embodies a resolute spirit that resides within freedom-loving people everywhere. The crusade for human rights and self-determination that he and his OPERATION ANNUIT COEPTIS colleagues champion is precisely what America's archenemy, THE ORDER OF THE ILLUMINATI, is sworn to wipe from the face of the earth. And, although mainstream media moguls know about the globalist's plans to topple America and her allies, the press shilds the self-appointed gods of the New World Order from the lights of Publicity.

The Oath

Author: LG McKenna
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781483602936
Release Date: 2013-03-05
Genre: Fiction

The Oath Summary Retired Major Robert Churchill thought that his life had reached its plateau, he was a devout bachelor, and he lived in an upscale condo in Washington D.C. and had a very good job with the Defense Department. He had money in the Bank, some good friends, and was able to take very good vacations where and when he wanted. He was bored, but that changed one sunny morning going to work. He woke up to a life of challenge and to him excitement. He woke up in a world far different from the one he had lived in all his life, a world he had only read about in history books, and seen in the movies. But this was no movie. And why did a sword feel so natural in his hand.

The Oath

Author: Elie Wiesel
Publisher: Schocken
ISBN: 9780307833792
Release Date: 2013-02-13
Genre: Fiction

When a Christian boy disappears in a fictional Eastern European town in the 1920s, the local Jews are quickly accused of ritual murder. There is tension in the air and a pogrom threatens to erupt. Suddenly, an extraordinary man—Moshe the dreamer, a madman and mystic—steps forward and confesses to a crime he did not commit, in a vain attempt to save his people from certain death. The community gathers to hear his last words—a plea for silence—and everyone present takes an oath: whoever survives the impending tragedy must never speak of the town’s last days and nights of terror. For fifty years the sole survivor keeps his oath—until he meets a man whose life depends on hearing the story, and one man’s loyalty to the dead confronts head-on another’s reason to go on living. One of Wiesel’s strongest early novels, this timeless parable about the Jews and their enemies, about hate, family, friendship, and silence, is as powerful, haunting, and significant as it was when first published in 1973.

The Oath

Author: Michael Jecks
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781847379016
Release Date: 2010-07-08
Genre: Fiction

1326. In an England riven with conflict, knight and peasant alike find their lives turned upside downby the warring factions of Edward II, with his hated favourite, Hugh le Despenser, and Edward's estranged queen Isabella and her lover, Sir Roger Mortimer. Yet even in such times the brutal slaughter of an entire family, right down to a babe in arms, still has the power to shock. Three further murders follow, and bailiff Simon Puttock is drawn into a web of intrigue, vengeance, power and greed as Roger Mortimer charges him to investigate the killings. Michael Jecks brilliantly evokes the turmoil of fourteenth-century England, as his well-loved characters Simon Puttock and Sir Baldwin de Furnshill strive to maintain the principles of loyalty and truth.

The Oath Dismas Hardy series book 8

Author: John Lescroart
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755393435
Release Date: 2012-06-21
Genre: Fiction

The death of his boss sparks a worried Dr Eric Kensing to enlist the help of lawyer Dismas Hardy. He is right to be worried... Hardy defends yet another questionable client in The Oath, the eighth fantastic crime thriller in John Lescroart's Dismas Hardy series. Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Lee Child. 'Gripping, timely and extremely satisfying... a stellar novel that has broad appeal' - Booklist Doctor Eric Kensing is living in fear that he is about to be indicted for the death of a patient. That patient was his boss, Tim Markham. But Kensing and Markham aren't just connected by work - Kensing's wife is one of Markham's many lovers. It's not looking good for Kensing, so he enlists the help of lawyer Dismas Hardy. Some say Kensing is not worth saving, although others say that Kensing is a special doctor, prepared to do anything to save a patient's life, even defying proper medical procedure. Despite all the damning evidence, Hardy becomes increasingly sure that Kensing is innocent. Against mounting pressure for an arrest, Hardy knows that the only way to save Kensing is to find the real murderer. And like Kensing, he seems to be working within a system that is set up to thwart him and any attempt at real justice... What readers are saying about The Oath: 'Lescroart keeps the reader guessing until the last page' 'I don't like to put it down and can't wait to pick it up and read at night' 'The Oath stands far ahead of the rest for its twisting plot, fleshed out characters, lightning fast pace and surprises along the way'

Names of Persons Who Took the Oath of Allegiance to the State of Pennsylvania 1776 1794

Author: John Blair Linn
Publisher: Heritage Books
ISBN: 9781585493067
Release Date: 2009-05-01
Genre: History

This list was taken from The Pennsylvania Archives, Volume 3. Occupation, residence or country of origin is sometimes given. The dates of this book overlap those of Pennsylvania Oaths of Allegiance, by Thompson Westcott, however, they are mutually exclusive, taken from different sources.

THE OATH AND THE COVENANT

Author: Isabelle MacLean
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595841127
Release Date: 2006-06-09
Genre: Fiction

The latter part of the 1600's in Scotland has become known in the annals of time as the 'Killing times'. The Oath and The Covenant is a story based on the lives of these brave Scottish Presbyterian Covenanters, their object being to release their beloved Scotland from the strangling grasp of an English king, who claimed he had a 'Divine Right' to rule both church and state. The Covenanters never relinquished their determination to gain what they viewed as a God given right to worship freely. They endured inhumane treatment leveled upon them by King Charles II's armies in his attempt to subjugate them. John Whitelaw, the Martyr of Monkland, was one of many who was torn from the bosom of his family and finally gave his life to gain religious freedom. The story continues based upon the many accounts of those who were banished to the Americas. It was in America that they found friends among the Abeniki tribe of Indians, who taught the Scots needed skills to survive in this new land and drew them into their culture. They also found precious religious freedom to worship according to the dictates of their hearts-and not that of a king.

The Oath of the Necromancer

Author: Christopher J. Farmer
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595742028
Release Date: 2002-11-18
Genre: Fiction

In The Oath of the Necromancer, the tide of war rises against the good races of Neoluzia by the marauding armies of the Orcs from the north. The Orcs are led by Arkan Spiritstrike, a powerful Orc wizard who drives his forces to fulfill an Orc destiny designed over one thousand years ago. After the Veiled Institution restores Darius, David Parr is given the opportunity to return home to Earth, a place the Veiled Institution has declared a "forbidden world." Before he leaves, Parr is taken from his elven hosts by a disciple of the Veiled Institution so that he can be shown the true security danger in Neoluzia. Armed with this new information, Parr reluctantly decides to remain in Neoluzia so that he can find the great necromancer Termaplix, the last remaining hope for the salvation of the land. With his dark elven companions and a feisty dwarven paladin, David seeks to deliver this message tasked by Darius to the Salon of Enlightenment. Unknown to Parr however, the Orcs have planned to prevent his valiant party from leaving the elven forest of Frontentia alive and the stranger from Earth finds that he cannot escape The Second Neoluzian War.