Popular Mechanics

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN:
Release Date: 2000-01
Genre:

Popular Mechanics inspires, instructs and influences readers to help them master the modern world. Whether it’s practical DIY home-improvement tips, gadgets and digital technology, information on the newest cars or the latest breakthroughs in science -- PM is the ultimate guide to our high-tech lifestyle.

Record of Indentures of Individuals Bound Out as Apprentices Servants Etc And of German and Other Redemptioners in the Office of the Mayor of the City of Philadelphia

Author: Philadelphia Mayor
Publisher: Forgotten Books
ISBN: 033168473X
Release Date: 2017-11-22
Genre: Reference

Excerpt from Record of Indentures of Individuals Bound Out as Apprentices, Servants, Etc., And of German and Other Redemptioners in the Office of the Mayor of the City of Philadelphia: October 3, 1771, to October 5, 1773 Philadelphia Servant Philadelphia 5 yrs. Northampton twp., Bucks co 6 yrs 21. Northampton twp., Bucks co 7 yrs 20. New London twp., Chester co. 4 yrs each 58 14. Each. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

The Hiester Family Classic Reprint

Author: Henry Melchior Muhlenberg Richards
Publisher:
ISBN: 1332263372
Release Date: 2015-08-05
Genre: Reference

Excerpt from The Hiester Family Escutcheon: Azure, a Sun, or. Crest: Between two horns, surmounting a helmet offronte, a sun as in the Arms. The origin of the Hiester family was the Silesian Knight Premiscloros Husterniz, who flourished about 1329 and held the office of Mayor, or Town Captain, of the city of Swineford. A. D. 1480 the Patrician and Counsellor of Swineford, Adolphus Louis, called "der Hiester," obtained from the Emperor Frederick letters patent, whereby he and his posterity were authorized to use the coat-of-arms he had inherited from his ancestors, to whom it was formerly granted, with the faculty of transmitting the same, as an hereditary right and privilege, to all his descendants. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works."

Sapiens

Author: Yuval Noah Harari
Publisher: Signal
ISBN: 0771038518
Release Date: 2016-05-10
Genre:

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.

The Herrs

Author: Mabel Burkholder
Publisher:
ISBN: 1930353693
Release Date: 2003-01-01
Genre: Fiction


Works of Thomas Jefferson

Author: Thomas Jefferson
Publisher: Seltzer Books via PublishDrive
ISBN: 9781455415588
Release Date: 2018-03-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

This file includes Jefferson's presidential papers from "A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents" edited by James Richardson and all four volumes of "Memoir, Correspondence, and Miscellanies from the Papers of Thomas Jefferson" edited by Thomas Jefferson Randolph. According to Wikipedia: "Thomas Jefferson (April 13, 1743 – July 4, 1826) was the third President of the United States (1801–1809) and the principal author of the Declaration of Independence (1776). An influential Founding Father, Jefferson envisioned America as a great "Empire of Liberty" that would promote republicanism. Jefferson served as the wartime Governor of Virginia (1779–1781), barely escaping capture by the British in 1781. Many people disliked his tenure, and he did not win office again in Virginia. From mid-1784 through late 1789 Jefferson lived outside the United States. He served in Paris initially as a commissioner to help negotiate commercial treaties. In May 1785 he succeeded Benjamin Franklin as the U.S. Minister to France. He was the first United States Secretary of State (1789–1793) under George Washington and advised him against a national bank and the Jay Treaty. He was the second Vice President (1797–1801) under John Adams. Winning on an anti-federalist platform, Jefferson took the oath of office and became President of the United States in 1801. As president he negotiated the Louisiana Purchase (1803), and sent the Lewis and Clark Expedition (1804–1806) to explore the vast new territory and lands further west. Jefferson sponsored embargo laws that escalated tensions with Britain and France, leading to war with Britain in 1812 shortly after he left office. He idealized the independent yeoman farmer as exemplar of republican virtues, distrusted cities and financiers, and favored states' rights and a limited federal government. Jefferson supported the separation of church and state and was the author of the Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom (1779, 1786). Jefferson's revolutionary view on individual religious freedom and protection from government authority have generated much interest with modern scholars. He was the eponym of Jeffersonian democracy and the co-founder and leader of the Democratic-Republican Party, which dominated American politics for 25 years."

British Books

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UIUC:30112109762309
Release Date: 1910
Genre: Bibliography