The People of Paper

Author: Salvador Plascencia
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing UK
ISBN: 0747587329
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Experimental fiction

Part memoir, part lies, this is a dazzling novel of love and loss.

The People of Paper

Author: Salvador Plascencia
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0156032112
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Fiction

Devastated by the abandonment of his wife, Federico de la Fe moves with his young daughter from Mexico to California, where he is unable to break free of feelings of oppression, encounters an unusual woman, and meets another heartbroken man. A first novel. Reprint.

Queering Disability in Salvador Plascencia s The People of Paper

Author: Rachel Charity Mazique
Publisher:
ISBN: OCLC:806100482
Release Date: 2010
Genre:

This report is an analysis of Salvador Plascencia's first novel, The People of Paper, with relationships to current understandings of lesbian genres from queer theory, the body from disability theory, and race in relation to the characters' migrations/transgressions across physical and figurative boundaries from Mexico to the United States. Key thinkers who have influenced my reading of the novel include Gloria Anzaldúa whose text, Borderlands/La Frontera, portrays the intersections of a multiplicity of identities across gender, sexuality, ability, nationhood, race, and ethnicity. The thinking of Chicana lesbian scholar, Catrióna Rueda Esquibel; queer scholar, Alexander Doty; and disability scholars, Rosemarie Garland Thomson and Tobin Siebers, are also integral to the report as I explore the intersections of sexuality, disability, and diaspora of key figures like the "retarded" prophet, Baby Nostradamus, and the women of paper, Merced de Papel and Liz. These figures are explored in relation to each other as well as to the readers, critic, and author as the novel is a metafictional one that lends itself to the blurring of genre boundaries. Further, as I analyze these corporeal intersections, I focus on the lesbian trope of forked tongues as a trope of queer disability as it relates to the markedly "Other" body of Merced de Papel and the lesbian triangle she forms with Little Merced and Merced as well as to the formation of a queer disability community.

Paper Towns

Author: John Green
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781408848180
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Bildungsromans

Special edition slipcase edition of John Green's Paper Towns, with pop-up paper town. From the bestselling author of The Fault in our Stars. Quentin Jacobsen has always loved Margo Roth Spiegelman, for Margo (and her adventures) are the stuff of legend at their high school. So when she one day climbs through his window and summons him on an all-night road trip of revenge he cannot help but follow. But the next day Margo doesn't come to school and a week later she is still missing. Q soon learns that there are clues in her disappearance . . . and they are for him. But as he gets deeper into the mystery - culminating in another awesome road trip across America - he becomes less sure of who and what he is looking for. Masterfully written by John Green, this is a thoughtful, insightful and hilarious coming-of-age story.

Music of the Mill

Author: Luis J. Rodriguez
Publisher: Harper Perennial
ISBN: 0060560770
Release Date: 2006-02-28
Genre: Fiction

In a stunning literary achievement -- with a power and scope reminiscent of John Steinbeck -- Luis J. Rodriguez captures the soul of a community in this epic novel about love, family, workers' rights, industrial strife, and cultural dislocation As the World War II cultural and industrial boom birthed a new California, a mighty steel industry rose with the potential to make modest dreams real for the workers willing to risk their lives in the mill's ferocious heat. For the Salcidos, the Nazareth mill became an engine for survival. Luis J. Rodriguez chronicles the simultaneous evolutions of this American family and the enormous enterprise that drove them -- from optimistic and cohesive units questing for stability and prosperity to disintegrating entities whose dreams have long since lost their luster. Spanning six decades, the novel conveys the drama, resilience, and humor of working-class life during a little-known era in American history.

A People s History of the United States

Author: Howard Zinn
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781317325307
Release Date: 2015-08-12
Genre: History

This is a new edition of the radical social history of America from Columbus to the present. This powerful and controversial study turns orthodox American history upside down to portray the social turmoil behind the "march of progress". Known for its lively, clear prose as well as its scholarly research, A People's History is the only volume to tell America's story from the point of view of - and in the words of - America's women, factory workers, African-Americans, Native Americans, the working poor, and immigrant laborers. As historian Howard Zinn shows, many of America's greatest battles - the fights for fair wage, an eight-hour workday, child-labor laws, health and safety standards, universal suffrage, women's rights, racial equality - were carried out at the grassroots level, against bloody resistance. Covering Christopher Columbus's arrival through the Clinton years A People's History of the United States, which was nominated for the American Book Award in 1981, is an insightful analysis of the most important events in US history.

An Enemy of the People

Author: Henrik Ibsen
Publisher: Ivan R. Dee
ISBN: 9781615780303
Release Date: 2007-06-14
Genre: Drama

Nicholas Rudall, whose acclaimed translations of Ibsen and the Greek classic playwrights have brought a fresh perspective to the American theater, turns his talents to one of the Norwegian dramatist's most provocative plays. In a rebuke to the Victorian notion of community as well as to the blessings of democracy, Ibsen creates a situation in which one man must stand alone to face the forces allied against him. In a coastal town, a community-minded physician has promoted the development of public baths in order to attract tourists. When he discovers that the water supply for the baths is contaminated and attempts to publicize the failing and correct it, he and his family are all but driven out of the town he was trying to save.

Fahrenheit 451

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781451673319
Release Date: 2012-01-10
Genre: Fiction

A totalitarian regime has ordered all books to be destroyed, but one of the book burners, Guy Montag, suddenly realizes their merit.

Blonde Roots

Author: Bernardine Evaristo
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1440697604
Release Date: 2009-01-22
Genre: Fiction

The most provocative debut novel of the year, "a dizzying satire" (The New Yorker) that "boldly turns history on its head" (Elle). What if the history of the transatlantic slave trade had been reversed and Africans had enslaved Europeans? How would that have changed the ways that people justified their inhuman behavior? How would it inform our cultural attitudes and the insidious racism that still lingers today? We see this tragicomic world turned upside down through the eyes of Doris, an Englishwoman enslaved and taken to the New World, movingly recounting experiences of tremendous hardship and the dreams of the people she has left behind, all while journeying toward an escape into freedom. A poignant and dramatic story grounded in provocative ideas, Blonde Roots is a genuinely original, profoundly imaginative novel.

The Lottery

Author: Shirley Jackson
Publisher: The Creative Company
ISBN: 158341584X
Release Date: 2008-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

A seemingly ordinary village participates in a yearly lottery to determine a sacrificial victim.

Paper Butterflies

Author: Lisa Heathfield
Publisher: Egmont UK
ISBN: 9781780316758
Release Date: 2016-06-30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Stand By Me meets We Were Liars - a heartbreaking and stunning breakout novel for teenagers from the award-nominated author of Seed. June's life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one - and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She's trapped like a butterfly in a jar. But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away. But freedom comes at a price . . . Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson's The Art of Being Normal, Sarah Crossan's Moonrise, Jandy Nelson, Jennifer Niven and Louise O'Neill. 'It broke my heart over and over. Destined to be one of THE most important books this year.' - Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater's Daughter. 'A gripping and harrowing tale . . . best YA proof I've read this year.' - Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller. Lisa Heathfield launched her writing career with Seed, her stunning YA debut about a cult, which was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize. Before becoming a mum to her three sons, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read. Paper Butterflies is her beautiful and heart-breaking second novel. Lisa lives in Brighton.

Frances and Bernard

Author: Carlene Bauer
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780547858258
Release Date: 2013-02-05
Genre: Fiction

Frances and Bernard meet in the summer of 1957. Afterward, he writes her a letter. Soon they are immersed in the kind of fast, deep friendship that can change the course of our lives. They find their way to New York and, for a few whirling years, each other. The city is a wonderland for young people with dreams: cramped West Village kitchens, parties stocked with the sharp-witted and glamorous, taxis that can take you anywhere at all, long talks along the Hudson as the lights of the Empire State Building blink on above. Inspired by the lives of Flannery O’Connor and Robert Lowell, Frances and Bernard imagines, through new characters with charms entirely their own, what else might have happened. In the grandness of the fall, can we love another person so completely that we lose our dreams? In witness to all the wonder of kindred spirits and bittersweet romance, Frances and Bernard is a tribute to the power of friendship and the people who help us discover who we are.

The People of Sparks

Author: Jeanne DuPrau
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781407049885
Release Date: 2009-07-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When the people of the underground city of Ember follow Lina and Doon to the surface, little prepares them for what they will encounter. Leaving behind the darkness that has been their home for generations, they discover a world of colour, warmth and light. The people of the small village of Sparks seem willing to help them . . . at first . . . but life on the surface has it's dark side too. Before long the villagers of Sparks become more reluctant to share their precious resources with the strange, new underground people. Lina and Doon watch in horror as the differences between the two groups grow into resentment, anger and hate. Somehow they must help overcome the distrust and bring the people of Ember and Sparks together.