Tales of a Clear Dark Night

Author: H.F. Jansen Estrup
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781462836390
Release Date: 2001-05-30
Genre: Literary Criticism

Humanity, we are taught, has always looked to the heavens for inspiration, solace, even salvation. Why? What did our ancestors see there? How was it understood? And how will we, in this enlightened, high-tech age, benefit by discovering the motives and miscalculations of ancient teachings? Jansen Estrups Tales of a Clear, Dark Night is a stunning inquiry into the essence of archaeological, mythic and cosmological lore, and their relationship to the pandemic of violence at large in todays societies. Working the night watch with unusual savvy, he balances toughness with compassion while deftly illustrating the murderous intrigues which are uncovered. An original and controversial thinker, Estrup concludes that all oppression is rooted in nothing less than the stories we tell each other and our children. Asking questions until he has answers, the author masterfully weaves together the threads of past and present into a griping read.

Between Heaven and Hell

Author: W. Bruce Lincoln
Publisher: Viking Press
ISBN: UOM:39015047081545
Release Date: 1998
Genre: Art

Explores the social and political aspects of Russian art in a saga that spans Byzantine Christianity, the czarist splendor, the return of brutalized exiles to their homelands, and the artists who captured these moments

Heaven s Prisoners

Author: James Lee Burke
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409124016
Release Date: 2010-06-10
Genre: Fiction

The second Dave Robicheaux novel from the award-winning crime writer. Dave Robicheaux is trying to put a life of violence and crime behind him, leaving homicide to run a boat-rental business in Louisiana's bayou country. But one day while fishing in the Gulf with his wife Annie, he witnesses an event that will change his life forever. A small two-engine plane suddenly crashes into the sea and Robicheaux dives down to the wreckage to find four bodies and one survivor; a little girl miraculously trapped in a pocket of air. When the authorities insist only three bodies were recovered from the plane, Robicheaux decides to investigate the mystery of the missing man. Praise for one of the great American crime writers, James Lee Burke: 'James Lee Burke is the heavyweight champ, a great American novelist whose work, taken individually or as a whole, is unsurpassed.' Michael Connelly 'A gorgeous prose stylist.' Stephen King 'Richly deserves to be described now as one of the finest crime writers America has ever produced.' Daily Mail Fans of Dennis Lehane, Michael Connelly and Don Winslow will love James Lee Burke: Dave Robicheaux Series 1. The Neon Rain 2. Heaven's Prisoners 3. Black Cherry Blues 4. A Morning for Flamingos 5. A Stained White Radiance 6. In the Electric Mist with Confederate Dead 7. Dixie City Jam 8. Burning Angel 9. Cadillac Jukebox 10. Sunset Limited 11. Purple Cane Road 12. Jolie Blon's Bounce 13. Last Car to Elysian Fields 14. Crusader's Cross 15. Pegasus Descending 16. The Tin Roof Blowdown 17. Swan Peak 18. The Glass Rainbow 19. Creole Belle 20. Light of the World 21. Robicheaux Hackberry Holland Series 1. Lay Down My Sword and Shield 2. Rain Gods 3. Feast Day of Fools 4. House of the Rising Sun Billy Bob Holland Series 1. Cimarron Rose 2. Heartwood 3. Bitterroot 4. In The Moon of Red Ponies * Each James Lee Burke novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Island Girls

Author: Nancy Thayer
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472216076
Release Date: 2014-04-10
Genre: Fiction

New York Times bestseller Nancy Thayer returns to her beloved Nantucket in this moving, entertaining tale of three sisters reunited. Perfect for readers of Santa Montefiore and Barbara Delinsky. When charming ladies' man Rory Randall dies, he leaves one last trick behind. If his three daughters - from three marriages - hope to inherit their Nantucket family home, they must spend a summer living in it...together. But can the sisters put years of tension and misunderstanding behind them? TV presenter Arden hasn't returned to the Island since she was a teenager; college professor Meg just wants to get on with her writing; and secretive Jenny is grappling with questions about her identity. As the three women discover newfound sisterhood, there are challenges still to come. And when a visitor drops by to deliver shocking news, the past comes back with a vengeance. Can the Randall sisters finally learn to forgive, and move on once and for all?

Ehe

Author: Timothy J. Keller
Publisher:
ISBN: 3765513059
Release Date: 2013-03
Genre:


90 Minuten im Himmel

Author: Don Piper
Publisher: Gerth Medien
ISBN: 9783961221622
Release Date: 2012-12-15
Genre: Fiction

"Im Himmel war ich zu Hause; dort gehörte ich hin. An diesem Ort wollte ich sein, mehr als ich jemals irgendwo auf der Erde hatte sein wollen. Die Zeit war nicht mehr, und ich lebte einfach in der Gegenwart. Alle Sorgen, Ängste und Bedenken waren verschwunden. Ich war völlig bedürfnislos und fühlte mich vollkommen glücklich." Don Piper Bei einem schweren Verkehrsunfall wurde Don Pipers Auto von einem LKW völlig zerquetscht. Die Sanitäter konnten nur noch Pipers Tod feststellen. Sein lebloser Körper lag in dem Autowrack, doch seine Seele erlebte bereits die unbeschreibliche Schönheit des Himmels. 90 Minuten nach dem Unfall kehrte Don Piper wie durch ein Wunder ins Leben zurück. In den folgenden Monaten durchlebte er eine schmerzhafte Zeit der Rekonvaleszenz. Doch was ihn in dieser Zeit tröstete, waren die wunderbaren Erlebnisse im Himmel. Lange konnte und wollte Don Piper nicht über seine Nahtod-Erfahrungen reden, denn sie erschienen ihm zu heilig und zu persönlich. Doch nun lässt er seine Leser an diesem einzigartigen Erlebnis teilhaben. Erfahren Sie, wie sich sein Leben nach diesem Unfall grundlegend änderte. Und lassen auch Sie sich davon verändern! Mit über 4 Millionen verkauften Exemplaren ermutigte und tröstete dieser Bestseller bereits zahlreiche Menschen. Im Jahr 2006 wurde das Buch mit dem renommierten Platin-Award der Vereinigung evangelikaler Verleger (Evangelical Christian Publishers Association) ausgezeichnet. Es wurde inzwischen in 36 Sprachen übersetzt.

Rain Taxi

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105113359884
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Books