The Rest Is Noise

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 1429932880
Release Date: 2007-10-16
Genre: History

The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music can be felt everywhere. Avant-garde sounds populate the soundtracks of Hollywood thrillers. Minimalist music has had a huge effect on rock, pop, and dance music from the Velvet Underground onward. Alex Ross, the brilliant music critic for The New Yorker, shines a bright light on this secret world, and shows how it has pervaded every corner of twentieth century life. The Rest Is Noise takes the reader inside the labyrinth of modern sound. It tells of maverick personalities who have resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with the purest beauty or battered them with the purest noise, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art. Ross, in this sweeping and dramatic narrative, takes us from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties, from Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies. We follow the rise of mass culture and mass politics, of dramatic new technologies, of hot and cold wars, of experiments, revolutions, riots, and friendships forged and broken. In the tradition of Simon Schama's The Embarrassment of Riches and Louis Menand's The Metaphysical Club, the end result is not so much a history of twentieth-century music as a history of the twentieth century through its music.

The Rest Is Noise

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9780374249397
Release Date: 2007-10-16
Genre: History

The scandal over modern music has not died--while paintings by Picasso and Pollock sell for millions of dollars, works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. Yet the influence of modern music can be felt ev

The Rest is Noise Listening to the Twentieth Century

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007380862
Release Date: 2011-08-25
Genre: Music

Alex Ross’s sweeping history of twentieth-century classical music, winner of the Guardian First Book Award, is a gripping account of a musical revolution.

Listen to This

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 1429977612
Release Date: 2010-09-28
Genre: Music

One of The Telegraph's Best Music Books 2011 Alex Ross's award-winning international bestseller, The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century, has become a contemporary classic, establishing Ross as one of our most popular and acclaimed cultural historians. Listen to This, which takes its title from a beloved 2004 essay in which Ross describes his late-blooming discovery of pop music, showcases the best of his writing from more than a decade at The New Yorker. These pieces, dedicated to classical and popular artists alike, are at once erudite and lively. In a previously unpublished essay, Ross brilliantly retells hundreds of years of music history—from Renaissance dances to Led Zeppelin—through a few iconic bass lines of celebration and lament. He vibrantly sketches canonical composers such as Schubert, Verdi, and Brahms; gives us in-depth interviews with modern pop masters such as Björk and Radiohead; and introduces us to music students at a Newark high school and indie-rock hipsters in Beijing. Whether his subject is Mozart or Bob Dylan, Ross shows how music expresses the full complexity of the human condition. Witty, passionate, and brimming with insight, Listen to This teaches us how to listen more closely.

What to Listen For in Music

Author: Aaron Copland
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101513149
Release Date: 2011-02-01
Genre: Music

Now in trade paperback: ?The definitive guide to musical enjoyment? (Forum). In this fascinating analysis of how to listen to both contemporary and classical music analytically, eminent American composer Aaron Copland offers provocative suggestions that will bring readers a deeper appreciation of the most viscerally rewarding of all art forms.

American Music in the Twentieth Century

Author: Kyle Gann
Publisher: Wadsworth Publishing Company
ISBN: 0495146358
Release Date: 2005-10
Genre: Music

Kyle Gann examines the characteristic sounds of the diverse movements in American art music from Charles Ives to the present day. He sketches the changing social and cultural contexts of American concert music through the study of representative works of music and key individuals.

The Rest Is Noise Series Doctor Faust Schoenberg Debussy and Atonality

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007519569
Release Date: 2013-01-17
Genre: Music

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The Vintage Guide to Classical Music

Author: Jan Swafford
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 9780679728054
Release Date: 1992
Genre: Music

Surveys the history of Western classical music, offers brief profiles of influential composers from Vivaldi to John Cage, and discusses important compositions and periods

The Danger of Music and Other Anti Utopian Essays

Author: Richard Taruskin
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 9780520268050
Release Date: 2010-11-11
Genre: Music

"Taruskin's work is a major contribution to thinking about music in the broadest sense. The book is lucid, powerful, varied, self-aware, and courageous. It is the very best work being done today, not just in musicology, but in any discipline."—Michael Beckerman, author of New Worlds of Dvorák

The Rest Is Noise Series Sunken Cathedrals Music at Century s End

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007522194
Release Date: 2013-10-10
Genre: Music

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The History of Jazz

Author: Ted Gioia
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780195399707
Release Date: 2011-05-09
Genre: History

A panoramic history of the genre brings to life the diverse places in which jazz evolved, traces the origins of its various styles, and offers commentary on the music itself.

Modern Music and After

Author: Paul Griffiths
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0199792283
Release Date: 2011-02-16
Genre: Music

Over three decades, Paul Griffiths's survey has remained the definitive study of music since the Second World War; this fully revised and updated edition re-establishes Modern Music and After as the preeminent introduction to the music of our time. The disruptions of the war, and the struggles of the ensuing peace, were reflected in the music of the time: in Pierre Boulez's radical reformation of compositional technique and in John Cage's development of zen music; in Milton Babbitt's settling of the serial system and in Dmitry Shostakovich's unsettling symphonies; in Karlheinz Stockhausen's development of electronic music and in Luigi Nono's pursuit of the universally human, in Iannis Xenakis's view of music as sounding mathematics and in Luciano Berio's consideration of it as language. The initiatives of these composers and their contemporaries opened prospects that haven't yet stopped unfolding. This constant expansion of musical thinking since 1945 has left us with no singular history of music; Griffiths's study accordingly follows several different paths, showing how and why they converge and diverge. This new edition of Modern Music and After discusses not only the music of the fifteen years that have passed since the previous edition, but also the recent explosion of scholarly interest in the latter half of the twentieth century. In particular, the book has been expanded to incorporate the variety of responses to the modernist impasse experienced by composers of the 1980s and 1990s. Griffiths then moves the book into the twenty-first century as he examines such highly influential composers as Helmut Lachenmann and Salvatore Sciarrino. For its breadth, wealth of detail, and characteristic wit and clarity, the third edition of Modern Music and After is required reading for the student and the enquiring listener.

Anthology for Music in the Twentieth and Twenty first Centuries

Author: Joseph Auner
Publisher: W. W. Norton
ISBN: 0393920216
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Music

A concise anthology including a wide range of music from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Anthology for Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries, part of the Western Music in Context series, is the ideal companion to Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries. Twenty-six carefully chosen works--including music by Claude Debussy, Kurt Weill, William Grant Still, Pauline Oliveros, and Chen Yi--offer representative examples of genres and composers of the period. Commentaries following each score present a careful analysis of the music, and online links to purchase and download recordings make listening easier than ever.

Words Without Music A Memoir

Author: Philip Glass
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9781631490811
Release Date: 2015-04-06
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

New York Times Bestseller "Reads the way Mr. Glass's compositions sound at their best: propulsive, with a surreptitious emotional undertow." —Corinna da Fonseca-Wollheim, New York Times Philip Glass has, almost single-handedly, crafted the dominant sound of late-twentieth-century classical music. Yet in Words Without Music, his critically acclaimed memoir, he creates an entirely new and unexpected voice, that of a born storyteller and an acutely insightful chronicler, whose behind-the-scenes recollections allow readers to experience those moments of creative fusion when life so magically merged with art. From his childhood in Baltimore to his student days in Chicago and at Juilliard, to his first journey to Paris and a life-changing trip to India, Glass movingly recalls his early mentors, while reconstructing the places that helped shape his creative consciousness. Whether describing working as an unlicensed plumber in gritty 1970s New York or composing Satyagraha, Glass breaks across genres and re-creates, here in words, the thrill that results from artistic creation. Words Without Music ultimately affirms the power of music to change the world.