The Rest Is Noise

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 1429932880
Release Date: 2007-10-16
Genre: History

The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music can be felt everywhere. Avant-garde sounds populate the soundtracks of Hollywood thrillers. Minimalist music has had a huge effect on rock, pop, and dance music from the Velvet Underground onward. Alex Ross, the brilliant music critic for The New Yorker, shines a bright light on this secret world, and shows how it has pervaded every corner of twentieth century life. The Rest Is Noise takes the reader inside the labyrinth of modern sound. It tells of maverick personalities who have resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with the purest beauty or battered them with the purest noise, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art. Ross, in this sweeping and dramatic narrative, takes us from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties, from Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies. We follow the rise of mass culture and mass politics, of dramatic new technologies, of hot and cold wars, of experiments, revolutions, riots, and friendships forged and broken. In the tradition of Simon Schama's The Embarrassment of Riches and Louis Menand's The Metaphysical Club, the end result is not so much a history of twentieth-century music as a history of the twentieth century through its music.

The Rest Is Noise Series Dance of the Earth The Rite the Folk le Jazz

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007519576
Release Date: 2013-01-17
Genre: Music

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The Rest Is Noise

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9780312427719
Release Date: 2008-10-14
Genre: History

A history of modern music is set against the backdrop of the events and cultural movements of the twentieth century, chronicling the evolution of mass culture, technological innovation, revolution, and social experiments in terms of the music of the era.

The Rest is Noise

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Piper ebooks
ISBN: 9783492965323
Release Date: 2017-04-03
Genre: Music

Eine glänzende Erzählung lässt uns die Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts über seine Musik neu erleben. Alex Ross, Kritiker des »New Yorker«, bringt uns aus dem Wien und Graz am Vorabend des Ersten Weltkriegs ins Paris und Berlin der Goldenen Zwanzigerjahre, aus Hitler-Deutschland über Russland ins Amerika der Sechziger- und Siebzigerjahre. Er führt uns durch ein labyrinthisches Reich, von Jean Sibelius bis Lou Reed, von Gustav Mahler bis Björk. Und wir folgen dem Aufstieg der Massenkultur wie der Politik der Massen, den dramatischen Veränderungen durch neue Techniken genauso wie den Kriegen, Experimenten, Revolutionen und Aufständen der zurückliegenden 100 Jahre. »Eine unwiderstehliche Einladung, sich mit den großen Themen des 20. Jahrhunderts zu beschäftigen.« Fritz Stern

The Rest is Noise

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher:
ISBN: 3492301894
Release Date: 2013-01-15
Genre: Music

Aufregend erzählte (Hör-)Reise durch die Klangwelten des 20. Jahrhunderts

The Rest Is Noise Series Sunken Cathedrals Music at Century s End

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007522194
Release Date: 2013-10-10
Genre: Music

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The Rest Is Noise Series Doctor Faust Schoenberg Debussy and Atonality

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007519569
Release Date: 2013-01-17
Genre: Music

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The Rest Is Noise Series Beethoven Was Wrong Bop Rock and the Minimalists

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007522156
Release Date: 2013-10-10
Genre: Music

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.