The Roundabout Man

Author: Clare Morrall
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781848942233
Release Date: 2012-02-02
Genre: Fiction

Who is the Roundabout Man? He doesn't look like a tramp, yet he lives on a roundabout in a caravan and survives on the leftovers from a nearby motorway service station. He calls himself Quinn, the name of a boy in a world-famous series of children's books, but he's nearer retirement than childhood. What he hopes no one will discover is that he's the real Quinn, immortalised as a child by his mother in her entrancing tales about a little boy's adventures with his triplet sisters. It is this inheritance he has successfully run away from - until now. When Quinn's reclusive existence is invaded, he has to turn and face his past, and all the uncomfortable truths it contains about himself, his sisters and, most of all, his mother.

Chinese Roundabout

Author: Jonathan D. Spence
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393309940
Release Date: 1993
Genre: History

Jonathan Spence has the art, as he amply demonstrates once again in Chinese Roundabout, the collection of essays that the Chicago Tribune praised as 'surprising, entertaining, and inspired.'

Roundabout

Author: Gerri Hill
Publisher: Bella Books
ISBN: 9781594936630
Release Date: 2016-01-12
Genre: Fiction

Megan Phenix—bar and grill owner in gay-friendly Eureka Springs—is labeled as “playing hard to get” and finds herself the object of much unwanted attention. If only she were seeing someone…maybe the women would leave her in peace. Leah Rollins thinks fifty is too young to retire, so instead, she opens a store in the touristy shopping district of Eureka Springs next to the popular Phenix Grill. She soon learns that Megan Phenix is a bit on the grumpy side as they spar over parking spaces and anything else they can find to argue about. When Leah catches the attention of the multitude of single lesbians in town, she searches for a way out. Could the grumpy grill owner next door be the answer to her problems? Megan and Leah strike an unlikely alliance and conspire to rid themselves of the unwanted attention by fake dating. Can they pull it off? As they pretend to date and convince everyone in town that they really are a couple, the pretense becomes harder to hold on to. But there’s just one problem…they don’t really like each other. Or do they?

Red Clocks

Author: Leni Zumas
Publisher: Little, Brown
ISBN: 9780316434805
Release Date: 2018-01-16
Genre: Fiction

A National Bestseller A New York Times Editor's Choice An Amazon Best Book of the Month An Indie Next Pick One of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This Winter An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018 An Elle Best Book of Winter A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall A Nylon Best Book of the Month One of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017 Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt. RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.

A roundabout turn

Author: Robert Henry Charles
Publisher: Warne
ISBN: STANFORD:36105049238566
Release Date: 1930-01-01
Genre: Toads

A toad who lives on a flat heath decides to find out for himself if the world is really round--and in a "roundabout" way, he does..

The Roundabout

Author: J.B. Priestley
Publisher: Oberon Books
ISBN: 9781786820181
Release Date: 2016-08-24
Genre: Drama

‘Communism’s all right for a gentleman like yourself, but you’ll get over it.’ The Kettlewells are a dysfunctional family. Richard is an old Etonian whose business ventures are failing. Over one crowded weekend, his daughter Pamela, whom he hardly knows, returns from Russia, a passionate communist; his ex-wife and mistress both turn up; and his butler has a big win at the races. The Roundabout is a funny, touching, highly perceptive look at England in the 1930s, when it looked, just possibly, as if the social order might be changing.

The Roundabout

Author: Halak Nanavaty
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781453556795
Release Date: 2010-08-09
Genre: Fiction

Lata is a business tycoon. She has an unfulfilled dream. She wants to build a township in a small village near Vijayawada. Meera is a Punjabi girl from a rich family, but her heart lies in serving and nursing the poor and ill. Jay completes his sentence in a jail. All the three of them gather to achieve their dreams and make it one. A tragedy strikes all the three and compels them to separate and return to their original lives. The path of their life comes across a roundabout which they overcome and leads to the destination they started with for the betterment of everyone.

The Roundabout Boy

Author: Frances King
Publisher: WestBow Press
ISBN: 9781477280591
Release Date: 2012-10-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Ruffin is an eight year old boy, a third grader. He is the "man of the house", and a great deal of responsibility falls on his shoulders. He often is late returning home from school because he takes the time to help his teacher, a classmate, or a neighbor. Because of this habit, his mother has nicknamed him "Roundabout Boy". She is proud of her son, but like all good parents, she worries when he is late coming home from school. Will Ruffin's devotion to his teacher, his kindness to his classmates, and his helpfulness to older folks in the community be recognized and rewarded? Read ahead to find the answer.

The Other Side of the Roundabout

Author: Mike Hanmer-Walker
Publisher: AuthorHouse
ISBN: 9781546290308
Release Date: 2018-05-16
Genre: Poetry

This book is a compilation of poems that will surely make you laugh and wonder about how things go about.

Sir Cumference and the Roundabout Battle

Author: Cindy Neuschwander
Publisher: Triangle Interactive, Inc.
ISBN: 9781684446445
Release Date: 2018-03-29
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

When Steward Edmund Rounds and Sir Cumference notice that there are strangers camped nearby, Rounds II decides to investigate despite being involved with the task of learning how to make accurate counts of the castle's stores of food, supplies, and weaponry. When he reports back that an enemy is lying in wait, everyone moves quickly to defend the castle. But wait! Will Rounds II be able to figure out how many bows and arrows they have to create an appropriate battle plan? Using rounding techniques to figure out the totals more quickly, Rounds II is just in time to help stave off a potentially disastrous attack. From the Hardcover edition.

If I Forget

Author: Steven Levenson
Publisher: Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
ISBN: 9780822237303
Release Date: 2018-02-07
Genre: Performing Arts

In the final months before 9/11, liberal Jewish studies professor Michael Fischer has reunited with his two sisters to celebrate their father’s seventy-fifth birthday. Each deeply invested in their own version of family history, the siblings clash over everything from Michael’s controversial scholarly work to the mounting pressures of caring for an ailing parent. As destructive secrets and long-held resentments bubble to the surface, the three negotiate—with biting humor and razor-sharp insight—how much of the past they’re willing to sacrifice for a chance at a new beginning. IF I FORGET tells a powerful tale of a family and a culture at odds with itself.

Roundabout Papers

Author: William Makepeace Thackeray
Publisher: Seltzer Books via PublishDrive
ISBN: 9781455357260
Release Date: 2018-03-01
Genre: Fiction

Classic novel. According to Wikipedia: "Thackeray is most often compared to one other great novelist of Victorian literature, Charles Dickens. During the Victorian era, he was ranked second only to Dickens, but he is now much less read and is known almost exclusively for Vanity Fair. In that novel he was able to satirize whole swaths of humanity while retaining a light touch. It also features his most memorable character, the engagingly roguish Becky Sharp. As a result, unlike Thackeray's other novels, it remains popular with the general reading public; it is a standard fixture in university courses and has been repeatedly adapted for movies and television. In Thackeray's own day, some commentators, such as Anthony Trollope, ranked his History of Henry Esmond as his greatest work, perhaps because it expressed Victorian values of duty and earnestness, as did some of his other later novels. It is perhaps for this reason that they have not survived as well as Vanity Fair, which satirizes those values."

Wildfire

Author: Heather Hansen
Publisher: Mountaineers Books
ISBN: 9781680510720
Release Date: 2018-02-07
Genre: Nature

The author was embedded with one of the busiest wildfire crews in the United States Reveals wildfires through the experiences of the people who go face-to-face with them Focuses on challenges faced in Western states. Every year wildfires ravage forests, destroy communities, and devastate human lives, with only the bravery of dedicated firefighters creating a barrier against even greater destruction. Throughout the 2016 wildfire season, journalist Heather Hansen witnessed firsthand the heroics of the Station 8 crew in Boulder, Colorado. She tells that story here, layered with the added context of the history, science, landscape, and human behavior that, year-by-year, increases the severity, frequency, and costs of conflagrations in the West. She examines the changes in both mindset and activity around wildfires and tracks the movement from wildfire as something useful, to something feared, to something necessary but roundly dreaded. Wildfire shares the drama, hardships, and experiences of the firefighters who try, sometimes in vain, to prevent destruction when a spark flares out of control. Hansen tells the rich and frightening stories of the firefighters themselves and the challenges they face: a safety system struggling to keep up with fire seasons that are lengthening, fires that are becoming more extreme, and agencies that are struggling to cover the bills.