The Sooner the Better

Author: Debbie Macomber
Publisher: MIRA
ISBN: 9781460396032
Release Date: 2016-12-01
Genre: Fiction

She's stuck with Jack… Lorraine Dancy has just discovered that everything she believes about her father is a lie—starting with the fact that Thomas supposedly died years ago. Now she's learned that not only is he not dead, he's living in a small town south of the border. In the process of tracking him down, she manages to get framed for theft and pursued by the real thief, the police and a local crime boss. Her father's friend Jack Keller agrees to help her escape, although Lorraine's reluctant to depend on a man like him. And he's stuck with her! Jack's every bit the renegade Lorraine thinks he is—an ex-mercenary and former Deliverance Company operative. He's also the one person who can guide her to safety. But there are stormy waters ahead, including an attraction neither of them wants to feel. An attraction that's as risky as it is intense—for both of them. The sooner he can get Lorraine home, the better!

The Sooner The Better

Author: Lynda Page
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755383047
Release Date: 2010-11-25
Genre: Fiction

When you've been waiting fifteen years for a proposal, what do you do when your intended marries someone else? The Sooner the Better is an unforgettable tale from much-loved saga writer, Lynda Page. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Kate Thompson. Isobel Jenkins has spent the last fifteen years caring for Lawrence Clayton's cantankerous mother, in the knowledge that once the old lady passes away, Lawrence will be free to marry her. However, Izzie is mortified to discover that Lawrence has been deceiving her, and when he flaunts his new bride, she decides enough is enough. But how can she start afresh? Izzie could never have predicted that helping an elderly lady find her way back to her residential home would provide the answer. The owner of the home, Mrs Johnson, instantly recognises Izzie's worth and, in need of an extra pair of hands, offers her a job. Izzie soon attracts the admiration of one of the young doctors - if only she could forget her past experience. But not everyone is what they seem, and there are those in the establishment who are using the atmosphere of openness and trust to their own advantage... What Amazon readers are saying about The Sooner the Better: 'A brilliant story, as always. Very enjoyable... Perfect by the pool!' 'Lovely story as always. Really brings the characters to life - five stars'

The Sooner the Better

Author: Billy Riley-Watkins
Publisher: Booklocker.Com Incorporated
ISBN: 1591135486
Release Date: 2004-07-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Living in early twentieth century Oklahoma, Billy Riley's autobiography delights the reader with charming stories from her youth. Meet her family and discover their courage and humor as they faced the long years of the depression and dust bowl.

Das Kaiserreich am Abgrund

Author: Peter Winzen
Publisher: Franz Steiner Verlag
ISBN: 3515080244
Release Date: 2002
Genre: History

Saloppe Auaerungen, die Kaiser Wilhelm II. im Sommer 1908 in Gesprachen mit einem englischen Offizier (Stuart Wortley) und einem amerikanischen Journalisten (W.B. Hale) ueber brisante Fragen der deutschen Auaen- und Flottenpolitik fallen liea, stuerzten das Kaiserreich im Herbst jenes Jahres in eine tiefe Krise. Die deutsche Offentlichkeit war entsetzt ueber den eigenwilligen proenglischen Kurs des Kaisers und forderte das Ende des apersonlichen Regimentso. Die Kabinette in London, Tokio und Washington zeigten sich bestuerzt ueber die Bereitschaft des Kaisers, den wegen unueberbrueckbarer Differenzen in der maritimen Ruestungspolitik fuer notwendig erachteten Krieg gegen England so bald wie moglich auszufechten. Das Reich, so lautet die zentrale These der auf einer umfangreichen Dokumentation fuaenden Fallstudie, driftete bereits 1908 unaufhaltsam auf den Abgrund zu. "aeine beeindruckende und mustergueltige Edition" H-Soz-u-Kult "aa solid piece of scholarship" German Studies Review "Winzen's meticulous reading of the sources raises this study above all other literature on the topic." German History "Die politikhistorische Bedeutung des Bandes ist groa a Die Edition der insgesamt 133 Dokumente ist umsichtig und sauber." Jahrbuch fuer Kommunikationsgeschichte "Als ausgewiesener Kenner hat Winzen umfassendes Material und seine Interpretation zum Verstandnis eines Krisenjahres der deutschen Innen- und Auaenpolitik vorgelegt." Archiv fuer Sozialgeschichte online "avorbildlich ediert" Das Historisch-Politische Buch "Die Edition Winzens ist fleiaig angelegt und handwerklich mustergueltig." Zeitschrift fuer Geschichtswissenschaft "a Das Kaiserreich am Abgrund is a welcome addition to the field. It provides a wealth of previously unpublished material, including 130 documents and three appendices, all expertly chosen and exhaustively annotated. The excellent decision not to translate the English documents and to organize the volume chronologically offers the reader a profound sense of authenticity and historicity. Winzen's thorough analysis, moreover, is exceptionally well informed, rigorously argued, and based on an exceedingly rich and immediately accessible assembly of primary sources. For these reasons Das Kaiserreich am Abgrund is an indispensable resource for scholars and teachers working on Imperial Germany and the origins of the first World War." H-Net Reviews .

A single currency for Europe is a good thing and the sooner the UK joins the Euro the better Do you agree

Author: Matthias Kammerer
Publisher: GRIN Verlag
ISBN: 9783638899086
Release Date: 2008-01-23
Genre: Business & Economics

Seminar paper from the year 2005 in the subject Economics - Monetary theory and policy, grade: 1,0, University of Northampton, course: European Policy Issues, 15 entries in the bibliography, language: English, abstract: On 1.January 1999 the European single currency, the Euro, was officially introduced. At that point eleven member states wanted to be a part of this significant leap and fulfilled the necessary criteria determined by the Growth & Stability-Pact (GSP) in 1997. Greece as the twelfth member joined in 2001. On 1.January 2002 the Euro was distributed and became the single currency for the partaking countries. This date marked only the final step in a long history of desire for a fixed exchange rate system and a monetary union within Europe – with a single currency as the summit of this ambition. In this essay I want to analyse if a single currency is a good thing for the EU and what the drawbacks are respectively. Later I will deal with the question if the UK should join the Euro soon – if at all. ...

Shock Versus Gradualism in Models of Rational Expectations

Author: Mr. Leonardo Auernheimer
Publisher: International Monetary Fund
ISBN: 9781451899795
Release Date: 1997-09-01
Genre: Business & Economics

This paper provides a new argument for “shock” versus “gradualism” in the implementation of trade policies. In the simple context of a small open economy with rational expectations, we consider the comparative welfare effects of eliminating an import tariff either immediately as an unanticipated shock, or gradually over a preannounced length of time. The gradualist policy introduces a distortion in consumption-accumulation decisions and generates welfare costs. And if the gradual change is extended over “too long” a period, these costs may exceed the long-run benefits of liberalization.

Bay of Secrets

Author: Rosanna Ley
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781780875071
Release Date: 2013-04-25
Genre: Fiction

The #1 Kindle Bestseller returns with a gorgeous summer read about romance, family and the secrets we keep from those we love. 'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat 'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis 'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best ********** Spain, 1939 Following the wishes of her parents to keep her safe during the war, a young girl, Julia, enters a convent in Barcelona. Looking for a way to maintain her links to the outside world, she volunteers to help in a maternity clinic. But worrying adoption practices in the clinic force Sister Julia to decide how far she will go to help those placed in her care. England, 2011 Six months after her parents' shocking death, 34-year-old journalist and jazz enthusiast Ruby Rae has finally found the strength to pack away their possessions and sell the family home. But as she does so, she unearths a devastating secret that her parents, Vivien and Tom, had kept from her all her life. ******** SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY: 'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter 'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer 'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis 'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer 'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife 'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer