The Tempest

Author: William Shakespeare
Publisher: Macmillan International Higher Education
ISBN: 9780230217850
Release Date: 2008-09-05
Genre: Drama

The first edition of The Tempest developed by and for the RSC, with unique material including a brand new introduction from Jonathan Bate and interviews with important RSC directors.

Othello

Author: William Shakespeare
Publisher:
ISBN: HARVARD:HN6G37
Release Date: 1905
Genre: Desdemona (Fictitious character)


The RSC Shakespeare Toolkit for Primary Teachers

Author: Bloomsbury Publishing
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781472585196
Release Date: 2014-08-31
Genre: Education

Developed by one of the world's leading theatre companies, this fantastic resource offers teachers a practical, drama-based approach to teaching and appreciating three of Shakespeare's most popular plays: Romeo and Juliet, Macbeth, and A Midsummer Night's Dream. The toolkit brings the plays alive as performance pieces, with Primary pupils undertaking drama-based explorations of the text that take them through much of the play. Teachers' notes and accompanying photocopiable worksheets offer a lesson-by-lesson teaching route through each of the three plays in turn. The schemes of work offer teachers a route through each play that has been designed to be flexible and to bolt on to what they already teach. The schemes comprise a series of lessons that can either be followed in their entirety as a stand-alone scheme of work or which can be dipped into by teachers wanting to augment their existing schemes of work.

A Midsummer Night s Dream

Author: William Shakespeare
Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 9780300106534
Release Date: 2005-03-08
Genre: Drama

Presents the annotated text of Shakespeare's dramatic comedy in which two sets of lovers get lost in the woods and become caught up in a dispute between the fairy king and queen, along with a group of local actors preparing a play for Duke Theseus' wedding.

Rough Magic

Author: Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa
Publisher: Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
ISBN: 0822223325
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Drama

THE STORY: Transplanting characters from The Tempest to present-day New York, ROUGH MAGIC is a Shakespearean action-adventure-fantasy in the tradition of Harry Potter and The X-Men that conjures a mythical, magical meta-universe in which the

Hag Seed

Author: Margaret Atwood
Publisher: Hogarth
ISBN: 9780804141307
Release Date: 2016-10-11
Genre: Fiction

William Shakespeare's The Tempest retold as Hag-Seed Felix is at the top of his game as Artistic Director of the Makeshiweg Theatre Festival. His productions have amazed and confounded. Now he's staging a Tempest like no other: not only will it boost his reputation, it will heal emotional wounds. Or that was the plan. Instead, after an act of unforeseen treachery, Felix is living in exile in a backwoods hovel, haunted by memories of his beloved lost daughter, Miranda. And also brewing revenge. After twelve years, revenge finally arrives in the shape of a theatre course at a nearby prison. Here, Felix and his inmate actors will put on his Tempest and snare the traitors who destroyed him. It's magic! But will it remake Felix as his enemies fall? Margaret Atwood’s novel take on Shakespeare’s play of enchantment, retribution, and second chances leads us on an interactive, illusion-ridden journey filled with new surprises and wonders of its own.

Shakespeare After All

Author: Marjorie Garber
Publisher: Anchor
ISBN: 0307490815
Release Date: 2008-11-19
Genre: Drama

A brilliant and companionable tour through all thirty-eight plays, Shakespeare After All is the perfect introduction to the bard by one of the country’s foremost authorities on his life and work. Drawing on her hugely popular lecture courses at Yale and Harvard over the past thirty years, Marjorie Garber offers passionate and revealing readings of the plays in chronological sequence, from The Two Gentlemen of Verona to The Two Noble Kinsmen. Supremely readable and engaging, and complete with a comprehensive introduction to Shakespeare’s life and times and an extensive bibliography, this magisterial work is an ever-replenishing fount of insight on the most celebrated writer of all time.

The Cambridge Introduction to Shakespeare

Author: Emma Smith
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781139462396
Release Date: 2007-03-08
Genre: Literary Criticism

This lively and innovative introduction to Shakespeare promotes active engagement with the plays, rather than recycling factual information. Covering a range of texts, it is divided into seven subject-based chapters: Character; Performance; Texts; Language; Structure; Sources and History, and it does not assume any prior knowledge. Instead, it develops ways of thinking and provides the reader with resources for independent research through the 'Where next?' sections at the end of each chapter. The book draws on scholarship without being overwhelmed by it, and unlike other introductory guides to Shakespeare it emphasizes that there is space for new and fresh thinking by students and readers, even on the most-studied and familiar plays.

The Hypocrite

Author: Richard Bean
Publisher: Oberon Books
ISBN: 9781786820846
Release Date: 2017-02-28
Genre: Drama

April 1642. Sir John Hotham, Governor of Hull, Member for Beverley and owner of most of East Yorkshire is charged by Parliament to secure the arsenal at Hull and deny entry to King Charles I. If only it were that simple. With a Royalist siege outside the city walls and the rebellion of the mob within, Civil War seems inevitable and losing his head more than probable. And that’s to say nothing of his problems at home – a lovesick daughter, a ghost obsessed with the chinaware, sexually arousing furniture and a wife intent on escape. We join Sir John on the worst day of his life, as he is caught between two choices: Honour or Advantage. The Hypocrite was co-produced by the Royal Shakespeare Company, Hull Truck Theatre and Hull UK City of Culture 2017. It was first performed at Hull Truck Theatre on 24 February 2017. The production transferred to the Swan Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon on 31 March 2017.

Creative Shakespeare

Author: Fiona Banks
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781408156858
Release Date: 2013-12-16
Genre: Drama

This unique book desribes the ways in which educational practitioners at Shakespeare's Globe theatre bring Shakespeare to life for students of all ages.The Globe approach is always active and inclusive - each student finds their own way into Shakespeare - focussing on speaking, moving and performing rather than reading. Drawing on her rich and varied experience as a teacher, Fiona Banks offers a range of examples and practical ideas teachers can take and adapt for their own lessons. The result is a stimulating and inspiring book for teachers of drama and English keen to enliven and enrich their students' experience of Shakespeare.

How to Teach Your Children Shakespeare

Author: Ken Ludwig
Publisher:
ISBN: 9780307951502
Release Date: 2014
Genre: Education

Outlines an engaging way to instill an understanding and appreciation of Shakespeare's classic works in children, presenting a family-friendly method that incorporates the history of Shakespearean theater and society.

Shakespeare Revealed

Author: René Weis
Publisher:
ISBN: UCSC:32106019180204
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Dramatists, English

Intimacies with Marlowe, entanglements in London with the mysterious dark lady, the probable fathering of an illegitimate son - the mysteries of Shakespeare's personal life have proven tantalisingly obscure. In Shakespeare Revealed, acclaimed authority, René Weis, brings the man and his milieu to the fore in a compelling reassessment. Breaking with tradition, he reveals how the works themselves contain a rich seam of clues about Shakespeare's life, from his heretical dalliances with Catholicism to his grief at the death of his son Hamnet. If there is a code in his writing, Shakespeare always intended it to be broken. This striking re-reading is consolidated by scrupulous archival research. Through reconstruction of records of the age, René Weis builds a colourful picture of Shakespeare's daily life: the bustling market town of Stratford, the spellbinding forests of Warwickshire, the pell-mell of London's theatres. Above all he reanimates Shakespeare's social scene: Stratford's family affairs and neighbourly disputes and a dangerous London scene, peopled with shady spies, informers and torturers.