The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Author: Nick Burd
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0803733402
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

The summer after graduating from an Iowa high school, eighteen-year-old Dade Hamilton watches his parents' marriage disintegrate, ends his long-term, secret relationship, comes out of the closet, and savors first love.

The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Author: Nick Burd
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101050804
Release Date: 2009-05-14
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

It's Dade's last summer at home, and things are pretty hopeless. He has a crappy job, a "boyfriend" who treats him like dirt, and his parents' marriage is falling apart. So when he meets and falls in love with the mysterious Alex Kincaid, Dade feels like he's finally experiencing true happiness. But when a tragedy shatters the final days of summer, he realizes he must face his future and learn how to move forward from his past.

The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Author: Nick Burd
Publisher: Puffin
ISBN: 014241820X
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

The summer after graduating from an Iowa high school, eighteen-year-old Dade Hamilton watches his parents' marriage disintegrate, ends his long-term, secret relationship, comes out of the closet, and savors first love.

Muchacho

Author: LouAnne Johnson
Publisher: Ember
ISBN: 9780375859038
Release Date: 2011-05
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Living in a neighborhood of drug dealers and gangs in New Mexico, high school junior Eddie Corazon, a juvenile delinquent-in-training, falls in love with a girl who inspires him to rethink his life and his choices.

Fat Angie

Author: e. E Charlton-Trujillo
Publisher: Candlewick Press
ISBN: 9780763661199
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Angie overeats to cope with the taunts of the ultra-mean girls, her attempted suicide in front of a packed gym, and the status of her captured war-hero sister, until KC Romance comes to town and sees Angie for who she really is.

Rikers High

Author: Paul Volponi
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101185124
Release Date: 2010-02-04
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

It started out as an innocent day for Martin, but it quickly turned into his worst nightmare-arrested for something he didn't even mean to do. And five months later, he is still locked up in jail on Rikers Island. Just when things couldn't get worse, Martin gets caught in a fight between two prisoners, and his face is slashed. He's scarred forever, but one good thing comes from the attack-Martin is transferred to a part of Rikers where inmates must attend high school. When he meets his caring and understanding teacher, will Martin open up and learn from his situation? Or will he be consumed by prison and getting revenge on his attackers?

Slated

Author: Teri Terry
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101591635
Release Date: 2013-01-24
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

The gripping first installment of the Slated trilogy, perfect for fans of Divergent and Legend Kyla’s memory has been erased, her personality wiped blank, her memories lost forever. She’s been slated. The government claims that she was a terrorist and they are giving her a second chance—if she plays by their rules. But scenes from the past haunt her as she tries to adjust to a new life, family, and school, leaving her unsettled. Who is she really? And if only criminals are meant to be slated, why are so many other teens disappearing? As she and her friend Ben seek answers, Kyla is torn between the need to know more and her instinct for self-preservation. "Excellent. . . . Kyla's erased memory works wonderfully as a storytelling device." —io9 "A perverse sense of claustrophobic dread grows throughout the novel. . . . Will have readers waiting eagerly for a sequel.” —Booklist From the Trade Paperback edition.

Gated

Author: Amy Christine Parker
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780449815991
Release Date: 2013-08-06
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

A fast-paced, nerve-fraying contemporary thriller that questions loyalties and twists truths. Appearances can be deceiving. Lyla Hamilton is a loyal member of the Community. Her family was happy to be chosen by Pioneer to join such an lovely gated neighborhood. Here, life seems perfect. But after meeting Cody, an outsider boy, Lyla starts questioning Pioneer, her friends, her family--everything. And if there's one thing not allowed in the Community, it's doubt. As Pioneer cleverly manipulates his flock toward disaster, the real question is: Will Lyla follow her heart or follow Pioneer over the edge? From the outside looking in, it's hard to understand why anyone would join a cult. But Gated tells the story from the inside looking out, and from behind the gates things are not quite so simple. Amy Christine Parker's beautiful writing creates a chilling, utterly unique YA story. Perfect for fans of creepy thrillers and contemporary fiction alike. "A tense psychological thriller that will leave you gasping for breath as you race to the very last page." --Gretchen McNeil, author of Ten HelloGiggles.com, August 3, 2013: "When I found out that there was a YA book about cults, of course I had to read it. As it turns out, Amy Christine Parker’s Gated is an awesome, creepy book that reminds me of my favorite cult films while still being surprising." Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews, June 15, 2013: "Parker doesn’t pull punches, indicating a level of brutality that will appropriately disturb even as it successfully conveys Lyla’s complete entrapment in the Community. Compelling and not that distant from real-world cults that have ended in tragedy." Publishers Weekly, June 10, 2013: "Parker skillfully explores the mindset and inner workings of an apocalyptic cult, steadily building toward the inevitable moment of truth...As for the apocalypse itself, Parker keeps things suitably ambiguous, resulting in a complex, intriguing tale rooted in real-world events." School Library Journal, October 2013: "This well-plotted tale will allow readers a glimpse into the possible world of a doomsday cult...The language is accessible, making it a good choice for reluctant readers. After the last page is turned, the question will linger: 'Could I ever be deceived like this?'" Examiner.com "A well-rounded and thorough look into cults while still remaining entertaining throughout. I look forward to reading more of Parker's works in the future." From the Hardcover edition.

What They Always Tell Us

Author: Martin Wilson
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0375848924
Release Date: 2008-08-12
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

JAMES AND ALEX have barely anything in common anymore—least of all their experiences in high school, where James is a popular senior and Alex is suddenly an outcast. But at home, there is Henry, the precocious 10-year-old across the street, who eagerly befriends them both. And when Alex takes up running, there is James’s friend Nathen, who unites the brothers in moving and unexpected ways. From the Hardcover edition.

The Mariposa Club

Author: Rigoberto González
Publisher: Lethe Press
ISBN: 9781590213506
Release Date: 2010-10-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Incoming seniors, Maui, Trini, Isaac, and Liberace, known as the Fierce Foursome, decide to create a gay/straight alliance at Caliente Valley High School.

A Hero Ain t Nothin But a Sandwich

Author: Alice Childress
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101075753
Release Date: 2000-02-01
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Benjie can stop using heroin anytime he wants to. He just doesn't want to yet. Why would he want to give up something that makes him feel so good, so relaxed, so tuned-out? As Benjie sees it, there's nothing much to tune in for. School is a waste of time, and home life isn't much better. All Benjie wants is for someone to believe in him, for someone to believe that he's more than a thirteen-year-old junkie. Told from the perspectives of the people in his life-including his mother, stepfather, teachers, drug dealer, and best friend-this powerful story will draw you into Benjie's troubled world and force you to confront the uncertainty of his future.

Pretty Little Devils

Author: Nancy Holder
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101217740
Release Date: 2007-01-11
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Hazel Stone wants nothing more than to be a part of the hottest clique in school, the Pretty Little Devils, but she’s stuck at a lunch table full of high school C-listers. Hazel has resigned herself to life as a nobody—when suddenly everything changes. The PLDs invite Hazel to one of the group’s famous parties, held at the site of one of their babysitting jobs. Before Hazel knows it, she’s in with the in crowd—and she couldn’t be more thrilled! But nothing turns out the way she expects. Especially when one her classmates becomes jealous of her newfound status—deadly jealous. Author Nancy Holder weaves a wicked tale about the price of popularity, and having the kind of friends some girls would just die for.

Boys Girls and Other Hazardous Materials

Author: Rosalind Wiseman
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101171547
Release Date: 2010-01-12
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

A debut novel from the bestselling author of Queen Bees and Wannabes! Charlie Healy just wants a drama-free year, but it doesn't seem like she's going to get it. After surviving a middle school packed with mean girls, Charlie is ready to leave all that behind in high school. But then, on her very first day, she runs into her former best friend, Will, who moved away years ago. Now he's back, he's HOT, and he's popular. And he takes Charlie back into the danger zone of the popular crowd. But when a hazing prank goes wrong, Charlie has to decide where her loyalties lie.

The Lover s Dictionary

Author: David Levithan
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 9781429994309
Release Date: 2011-01-21
Genre: Fiction

basis, n. There has to be a moment at the beginning when you wonder whether you're in love with the person or in love with the feeling of love itself. If the moment doesn't pass, that's it—you're done. And if the moment does pass, it never goes that far. It stands in the distance, ready for whenever you want it back. Sometimes it's even there when you thought you were searching for something else, like an escape route, or your lover's face. How does one talk about love? Do we even have the right words to describe something that can be both utterly mundane and completely transcendent, pulling us out of our everyday lives and making us feel a part of something greater than ourselves? Taking a unique approach to this problem, the nameless narrator of David Levithan's The Lover's Dictionary has constructed the story of his relationship as a dictionary. Through these short entries, he provides an intimate window into the great events and quotidian trifles of being within a couple, giving us an indelible and deeply moving portrait of love in our time.

Ten Mile River

Author: Paul Griffin
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0803732848
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Having escaped from juvenile detention centers and foster care, two teenaged boys live on their own in an abandoned shack in a New York City park, making their way by stealing, occasionally working, and trying to keep from being arrested.