Ties That Bind

Author: Marie Bostwick
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.
ISBN: 9780758279828
Release Date: 2012-05-01
Genre: Fiction

"A touching story..." – Bestselling author Patricia Gaffney In her compelling, beautifully crafted novel, New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick celebrates friendships old and new--and the unlikely threads that sometimes lead us exactly where we need to be. . . Christmas is fast approaching, and New Bern, Connecticut, is about to receive the gift of a new pastor, hired sight unseen to fill in while Reverend Tucker is on sabbatical. Meanwhile, Margot Matthews' friend, Abigail, is trying to match-make even though Margot has all but given up on romance. She loves her job at the Cobbled Court Quilt Shop and the life and friendships she's made in New Bern; she just never thought she'd still be single on her fortieth birthday. It's a shock to the entire town when Phillip A. Clarkson turns out to be Philippa. Truth be told, not everyone is happy about having a female pastor. Yet despite a rocky start, Philippa begins to settle in--finding ways to ease the townspeople's burdens, joining the quilting circle, and forging a fast friendship with Margot. When tragedy threatens to tear Margot's family apart, that bond--and the help of her quilting sisterhood--will prove a saving grace. And as she untangles her feelings for another new arrival in town, Margot begins to realize that it is the surprising detours woven into life's fabric that provide its richest hues and deepest meaning. . . "This is one very talented writer...watch her star rise!" --Debbie Macomber

Between Heaven and Texas

Author: Marie Bostwick
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.
ISBN: 9780758292650
Release Date: 2013-05-01
Genre: Fiction

In this luminous prequel to her beloved Cobbled Court Quilts series, New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick takes readers into the heart of a small Texas town and the soul of a woman who discovers her destiny there. . . Welcome to Too Much--where the women are strong-willed and the men are handsome yet shiftless. Ever since Mary Dell Templeton and her twin sister Lydia Dale were children, their Aunt Velvet has warned them away from local boys. But it's well known that the females in Mary Dell's family have two traits in common--superior sewing skills and a fatal weakness for men. While Lydia Dale grows up petite and pretty, Mary Dell just keeps growing. Tall, smart, and sassy, she is determined to one day turn her love of sewing into a business. Meanwhile, she'll settle for raising babies with her new husband, Donny. But that dream proves elusive too, until finally, Mary Dell gets the son she always wanted--a child as different as he is wonderful. And as Mary Dell is forced to reconsider what truly matters in her family and her marriage, she begins to piece together a life that, like the colorful quilts she creates, will prove vibrant, rich, and absolutely unforgettable. . . Advance Praise For Marie Bostwick's Between Heaven And Texas "Brilliant. . .the characters thunder with life right off the page and into your heart in this quintessential story of family, forgiveness, and nobility. I just adored every single page!" --Dorothea Benton Frank, New York Times bestselling author "This book wrapped around my heart with all the love, warmth, and beauty of a favorite family quilt. I can't stop thinking about it! I'm in love with Mary Dell Templeton, and I'm in love with Too Much, Texas." --Robyn Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author "A book that brims with laughter and laser-sharp insight." --Kristan Higgins, New York Times bestselling author "With Texas-sized helpings of humor, charm, and sass, this tale will put you in a Lone Star state-of-mind!" --Lauren Lipton, author of Mating Rituals of the North American WASP

Just in Time

Author: Marie Bostwick
Publisher: Kensington Books
ISBN: 9781496709240
Release Date: 2018-04-01
Genre: Fiction

In her most powerful novel yet, New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick weaves the uplifting story of three grief support group dropouts—women united in loss and rescued through friendship. Fifteen years ago, Grace Saunders vowed to take her beloved husband for better or worse. Now she’s coming to terms with difficult choices as she crafts a memory quilt from scraps of their life together—a life torn to shreds by an accident that has left him in a coma. Enduring months of limbo, Grace is at least not alone. Nan has been widowed for twenty years, but now, with her children grown, her home feels painfully empty. Even the company of her golden retriever, Blixen, and a series of other rescue dogs, can't fill the void. Then there’s Monica, a feisty woman with a biting wit who’s reeling following her husband’s death—and the revelation of his infidelity. As for Grace, a chance evening with a man she barely knows brings a glimmer of joy she hasn’t felt since the tragedy—along with feelings of turmoil and guilt. But her struggle to cope will force all three women to face their fears, share their deepest secrets—and lean on one another as they move from grief and isolation to hope, and a second chance at happiness . . . Praise for Marie Bostwick and Her Novels “Marie Bostwick is my go-to author . . . always powerful, inspiring, and uplifting.” —Robyn Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author “The Promise Girls is a beautiful story about the ties that bind . . . Marie Bostwick exquisitely tells the tale.” —Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue “Beautiful, thought-provoking, tragic and redeeming, The Second Sister is a feel-good goldmine.” —USAToday.com A MaryJanesFarm Book Club Pick

Hope on the Inside

Author: Marie Bostwick
Publisher: Kensington Books
ISBN: 9781496709264
Release Date: 2019-04-01
Genre: Fiction

In this compelling, heartwarming novel from New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick, one woman finds new purpose in a new phase of life . . . “Whatever comes your way, find the happiness in it.” Hope Carpenter received that advice from her mother decades ago. Now, with their four children grown, Hope and her husband, Rick, are suddenly facing an uncertain future, after a forced retirement strains both their savings and their marriage. Seeking inspiration and a financial boost, Hope gets a job teaching crafts to inmates at a local women’s prison. At first, Hope feels foolish and irrelevant, struggling to relate to women whose choices seem so different from her own. But with time, and the encouragement of the prison chaplain, she begins to discover common ground with the inmates, in their worries about their children and families, their fear of having failed those who need them. Just like her, they want to make something of themselves, but believe it might be impossible. Embarking on an ambitious quilting project, Hope and her students begin to bond. Together, piece by piece, they learn to defy expectations—their own and others’—and to see that it’s never too late to stitch together a life that, even in its imperfections, is both surprising and beautiful. Praise for Marie Bostwick and Her Novels “Reading Marie Bostwick is like wrapping yourself up in a warm, hand-crafted quilt.” —Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author “It takes great skill to write a heartwarming story about grief, and Bostwick proves she is up to the task. . . . A great addition to any women’s-fiction collection.” —Booklist “Beautiful, thought-provoking, tragic and redeeming, The Second Sister is a feel-good goldmine.” —USAToday.com

The Promise Girls

Author: Marie Bostwick
Publisher: Kensington Books
ISBN: 9781496709226
Release Date: 2017-04-01
Genre: Fiction

In an emotionally rich and captivating new novel, New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick reunites three sisters whose deep bond is rooted in an unconventional past. Every child prodigy grows up eventually. For the Promise sisters, escaping their mother’s narcissism and the notoriety that came with her bestselling book hasn’t been easy. Minerva Promise claimed that her three “test tube” daughters—gifted pianist Joanie, artistic Meg, and storyteller Avery—were engineered and molded to be geniuses. In adulthood, their modest lives fall far short of her grand ambitions. But now, twenty years after the book’s release, she hopes to redeem herself by taking part in a new documentary. Meg, who hasn’t picked up a paintbrush in years, adamantly refuses to participate, until a car accident leaves her with crushing medical bills. While she recuperates in Seattle, the three sisters reluctantly meet with filmmaker Hal Seeger, another former prodigy. Like them, he’s familiar with the weight of failed potential. But as he digs deeper, he uncovers secrets they’ve hidden from each other—and a revelation that will challenge their beliefs, even as it spurs them to forge their own extraordinary lives at last. “Reading Marie Boswick is like wrapping yourself up in a warm, hand-crafted quilt. Her books, rich in character and plot, are stitched together by a skilled wordsmith.” —Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author “THE PROMISE GIRLS is a beautiful story about the ties that bind—love, laughter, memories, even secrets kept so long they become a part of the fabric of a family. Marie Bostwick exquisitely tells the tale of the three Promise girls, former child prodigies who learn to heal the scars of a bitter past so that they can love—and forgive—again.” —Melanie Benjamin, New York Times Best Selling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue

The Second Sister

Author: Marie Bostwick
Publisher: Kensington Books
ISBN: 9781617736568
Release Date: 2015-04-01
Genre: Fiction

THE INSPIRATION FOR THE HALLMARK HALL OF FAME FILM CHRISTMAS EVERLASTING! From New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick comes an emotionally rich, inspiring novel about family, second chances—and the connections that bring women together in hope and healing... Years of long workdays and little sleep as a political campaigner are about to pay off now that Lucy Toomey’s boss is entering the White House. But when her estranged older sister, Alice, unexpectedly dies, Lucy is drawn back to Nilson’s Bay, her small, close-knit Wisconsin hometown. An accident in her teens left Alice mentally impaired, and she was content to stay in Nilson’s Bay. Lucy, meanwhile, got out and never looked back. But now, to meet the terms of Alice’s eccentric will, Lucy has taken up temporary residence in her sister’s cottage—and begins to see the town, and Alice’s life, anew. Alice’s diverse group of friends appears to have little in common besides an interest in quilting. Yet deep affection for Alice united them and soon Lucy, too, is brought into the fold as they share problems and stories. And as she finds warmth and support in this new circle, Lucy begins to understand this will be her sister’s enduring gift—a chance to move beyond her difficult past, and find what she has long been missing... “Beautiful, thought-provoking, tragic and redeeming, The Second Sister is a feel-good goldmine.” —USAToday “Fans of Debbie Macomber and Robyn Carr will enjoy this warm, witty novel of rediscovery and personal growth.” —Booklist

New York

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: NWU:35556026774737
Release Date: 1995-10
Genre: New York (N.Y.)