Uncommon Learning

Author: Henry David Thoreau
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0547345879
Release Date: 1999-05-31
Genre: Education

"It is only when we forget our learning that we begin to know," Thoreau wrote. Ideas about education permeate Thoreau's writing. Uncommon Learning brings those ideas together in a single volume for the first time.

UnCommon Learning

Author: Eric C. Sheninger
Publisher: Corwin Press
ISBN: 9781483365732
Release Date: 2015-10-20
Genre: Education

UnCommon Learning techniques set the stage for mastery and true student engagement Integrate digital media and new applications with purpose and build a culture of learning with pleasure! Let students use real-world tools to do real-world work and develop skills society demands. Be the leader who creates this environment. UnCommon Learning shows you how to transform a learning culture through sustainable and innovative initiatives. It moves straight to the heart of using innovations such as Makerspaces, Blended Learning and Microcredentials. Included in the book: Vignettes to illustrate key ideas Real life examples to show what works Graphs and data to prove initiatives’ impact

Uncommon Education

Author: Samuel Nyal Henrie
Publisher: Wheatmark, Inc.
ISBN: 9781604940213
Release Date: 2009
Genre: History

"Uncommon Education" traces the evolution of Prescott College. In this compelling work, Samuel Henrie and others reveal what led to the inception of this special institution, the philosophy behind it, and a rare curriculum that includes adventure education, social and ecological justice fieldwork, and other hands-on and unique educational opportunities. "Sam Henrie has made an immense contribution to higher education by chronicling this grand, ongoing adventure in learning. Prescott College's hands-on, feet-in-the-field approach not only makes far more sense than the cattle calls that pass for education at most places, but its amazing resilience and resurrection is one of the most hopeful stories for our times-a true tale of how good ideas really can win if we never give up." -Alan Weisman, Laureate Professor of Journalism, University of Arizona, retired Professor of Writing at Prescott College, author of "The World Without Us, Gaviotas: A Village to Reinvent the World," and other works

An Uncommon Education

Author: Elizabeth Percer
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062110985
Release Date: 2012-05-01
Genre: Fiction

For fans of Prep, Dead Poets Society, and Special Topics in Calamity Physics comes an elegant and remarkably insightful coming-of-age debut, in which a young woman’s serendipitous discovery of her college’s underground Shakespeare Society leads to an unforgettable series of transformations. When Naomi finds herself among “the Shakes” at Wellesley, she finally lets herself embrace the passionate inner self she’s always kept locked away. But when a sudden scandal unfolds, she will be forced to learn the limits of the relationships that have sustained her. An intimate and enthralling narrative, Elizabeth Percer’s debut novel An Uncommon Education marks the emergence of a stunning new literary talent.

Bittersweet

Author: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
Publisher: Suhrkamp Verlag
ISBN: 9783458740087
Release Date: 2015-03-07
Genre: Fiction

Ev Winslow ist reich, beliebt und wunderschön. Alles, was ihre College-Zimmergenossin Mabel nicht ist. Umso mehr freut sich Mabel, als Ev sie einlädt, den Sommer mit ihr in Bittersweet zu verbringen, auf dem Landsitz der Winslows in Vermont. Mabel genießt die windzerzausten Segeltörns, das mitternächtliche Schwimmen, die Sommerfeste unterm Sternenhimmel. Und plötzlich hat sie alles, wovon sie je geträumt hat: Freunde, die erste Liebe und das Gefühl, dazuzugehören. Doch auf die ungetrübten, flirrenden Tage fällt ein Schatten, als Mabel eine schreckliche Entdeckung macht und sie entscheiden muss, ob sie aus dem Paradies vertrieben werden will – oder die dunklen Geheimnisse der Familie bewahrt, um endlich eine der Ihren zu werden. Eine strahlende Familie, die das eigene Dunkel in den Abgrund reißen kann: Bittersweet erzählt von einer scheinbar idyllischen, glamourösen Welt und dem Wunsch einer Außenseiterin, Teil dieser Welt zu sein. Um jeden Preis.

Uncommon

Author: Tony Dungy
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
ISBN: 1414363958
Release Date: 2011-03-15
Genre: Religion

The New York Times bestseller is now in softcover with a bonus chapter on how the “Dare to Be Uncommon” movement is reaching schools, teams, and families across the country and an update on Tony’s life since retiring as head coach of the Indianapolis Colts. What does it take to live a life of significance? When Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy took home the trophy in Super Bowl XLI, fans around the world looked to him as the epitome of success. Athletic victory, professional excellence, fame and celebrity, awards and honors—he had it all. But even in that moment, he knew those achievements had little to do with his ultimate significance as a man. Coach Dungy still passionately believes that there is a different path to significance—a path characterized by attitudes, ambitions, and allegiances that are all too rare but uncommonly rewarding. In the New York Times best seller Uncommon, Dungy reveals secrets to achieving significance that he has learned from his remarkable parents, his athletic and coaching career, his mentors, and his walk with God.

Minding American Education

Author: Martin Bickman
Publisher: Teachers College Press
ISBN: 9780807743522
Release Date: 2003-01-01
Genre: Education

This book presents an antidote to the self-destructive war between educational conservatives and progressives, arguing that each has only part of the solution in what should be a productive dialectic between experience and concepts--Outlines the rich tradition of educational thought we have already created in this country, suggesting ways to apply it to our current reform efforts--Provides a new paradigm for re-conceptualizing our educational past, urging us to move in the direction of our best and most characteristic literary and philosophical thinkers--Critiques the usual academic discourse on education and suggests alternatives through his lively and direct style.

Beyond Individual Differences

Author: Charles A. Ahern
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 1461406412
Release Date: 2011-09-15
Genre: Psychology

In an era of intense interest in educational reform, spurred by increasing global competition for jobs and advancement, it is more critical than ever to understand the nature of learning. And although much attention is paid to differences between learners, short shrift is often given to cognitive functions that characterize successful learning for all students. Yet these are the very functions that determine the difference between successful and rewarding learning versus merely “doing” without truly learning. Firmly grounded in the principles of neuropsychology, Beyond Individual Differences analyzes both successful and unproductive learning in terms of the brain’s organizing processes – that is, its unconscious sifting, selecting, and meaning-making that enable students to incorporate and build on what they’ve learned in the past. At the same time, it explores the learning situations that cause organization to break down and offers several preventive strategies. Key areas of coverage include: The complex role of mental organization in learning and education. Specific organizing processes and the links to success or failure in learning. Information/cognitive overload. The student’s experience of learning and its impact on development. Accommodating a range of individual differences in the classroom. Practices for supporting students’ unconscious organizing processes. Beyond Individual Differences is essential reading for a wide range of professionals and policy makers as well as researchers and graduate students in school and clinical child psychology, special and general education, social work and school counseling, speech therapy, and neuropsychology.