Vocabulary Workshop 2005

Author: Jerome Shostak
Publisher: William H Sadlier
ISBN: 0821571079
Release Date: 2005-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Provides exercises designed to stimulate vocabulary growth, offers specially designed sections to build skills required for standarized tests, and introduces three hundred new words.

Vocabulary Workshop

Author: Jerome Shostak
Publisher: William H Sadlier
ISBN: 0821571095
Release Date: 2005-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Provides exercises designed to stimulate vocabulary growth, offers specially designed sections to build skills required for standarized tests, and introduces three hundred new words.

Vocabulary Works

Author: Marjorie Merwin King
Publisher:
ISBN: 0813617227
Release Date: 1995-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Vocabulary Works is a research-based program, authored by Dr. Alvin Granowsky, for students in Grade 1-6. It is intended to build reading comprehension through vocabulary acquisition, used in conjunction with a core basal reading program. High-interest readings and activities motivate students and enhance vocabulary skills.

Vocabulary Workshop

Author: Jerome Shostak
Publisher: William H Sadlier
ISBN: 0821571109
Release Date: 2005-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Provides exercises designed to stimulate vocabulary growth, offers specially designed sections to build skills required for standarized tests, and introduces three hundred new words.

Vocabulary Workshop

Author: Jerome Shostak
Publisher: William H Sadlier
ISBN: 0821571117
Release Date: 2005-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Provides exercises designed to stimulate vocabulary growth, offers specially designed sections to build skills required for standarized tests, and introduces three hundred new words.

Lily and Dunkin

Author: Donna Gephart
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780553536768
Release Date: 2016-05-03
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." --VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. A JLG Selection! An Indie Next Pick! Amazon Best Book of the Month! CBC's May Hot Off the Press! An NAIBA Seasonal Pick! A New York Public Library Best book for Kids, 2016! Another Indie Favorite Title! Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus "A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred “Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW "This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA "Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Tuesdays with Morrie

Author: Mitch Albom
Publisher: Broadway Books
ISBN: 0307414094
Release Date: 2007-06-29
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A special 20th anniversary edition of the beloved international bestseller that changed millions of lives Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher, or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, helped you see the world as a more profound place, gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago. Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of this mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded, and the world seemed colder. Wouldn't you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you, receive wisdom for your busy life today the way you once did when you were younger? Mitch Albom had that second chance. He reconnected with Morrie in the last months of the older man's life. Knowing he was dying, Morrie visited with Mitch in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final "class:" lessons in how to live. Tuesdays with Morrie is a magical chronicle of their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie's lasting gift with the world.

Who Was Dr Seuss

Author: Janet Pascal
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101535431
Release Date: 2011-07-07
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Ted Geisel loved to doodle from the time he was a kid. He had an offbeat, fun-loving personality. He often threw dinner parties where guests wore outrageous hats! And he donned quirky hats when thinking up ideas for books-?like his classic The Cat in the Hat. This biography, with black-and-white illustrations throughout, brings an amazingly gifted author/illustrator to life. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Flashback Four 2 The Titanic Mission

Author: Dan Gutman
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062236371
Release Date: 2017-04-04
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In New York Times bestselling author Dan Gutman’s all-new series, which blends fascinating real history with an action-packed adventure, four very different kids are picked by a mysterious billionaire to travel through time and photograph some of history's most important events. This time, Luke, Julia, David, and Isabel are headed to the deck of the doomed Titanic. Their mission? Capture a shot of the sinking ship, then come right back. The only problem is, once they arrive aboard the ship, the four friends can’t agree on what to do next. Should they try to save the passengers? Or maybe bring back a priceless book before it sinks with the ship? With real historical photographs to put young readers right in the action, plus back matter that separates fact from fiction, The Titanic Mission tells the story of the ship’s fateful last voyage like you’ve never seen it before.