Watership Down

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781780747316
Release Date: 2014-06-11
Genre: Fiction

A phenomenal worldwide bestseller for over forty years, Richard Adams’ spellbinding classic Watership Down is one of the best-loved novels of all time. Set in the beautiful English countryside of the Berkshire Downs, a once idyllic rural landscape, this stirring tale of adventure, courage, and survival follows a band of very special rabbits fleeing the destruction of their home by a developer. Led by a stout-hearted pair of brothers, they leave the safety of Sandleford Warren in search of a safe haven and a mysterious promised land, skirting danger at every turn. A book that resonates as vividly today as it did nearly half a century ago, this keepsake Oneworld Classic edition showcases more than twenty sumptuous, evocative paintings from Aldo Galli, an illustrator chosen by Richard Adams himself.

Watership Down

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1439176124
Release Date: 2009-07-14
Genre: Fiction

Watership Down is the compelling tale of a group of wild rabbits struggling to hold onto their place in the world—soon to be a BBC and Netflix animated miniseries starring James McAvoy, Nicholas Hoult, and Oscar and Grammy award-winning Sir Ben Kingsley. A phenomenal worldwide bestseller for more than forty years, Richard Adams's Watership Down is a timeless classic and one of the most beloved novels of all time. Set in England's Downs, a once idyllic rural landscape, this stirring tale of adventure, courage and survival follows a band of very special creatures on their flight from the intrusion of man and the certain destruction of their home. Led by a stouthearted pair of brothers, they journey forth from their native Sandleford Warren through the harrowing trials posed by predators and adversaries, to a mysterious promised land and a more perfect society.

Watership Down

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9780684836058
Release Date: 1996-11-01
Genre: Fiction

An allegorical tale of survival about a band of wild rabbits who leave their ancestral home to build a more humane society chronicles their adventures as they search for a safe place to establish a new warren where they can live in peace.

Tales from Watership Down

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Random House (UK)
ISBN: UCSC:32106018261161
Release Date: 1996
Genre: English fiction

This sequel begins in the Burrow, as younger generations of the rabbits we know seek to find out about the heroic age before they were created.

Shardik

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781780746647
Release Date: 2014-11-11
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

This brilliantly inventive fantasy epic by the award-winning author of Watership Down immerses the reader in a medieval world complete with created languages, detailed maps and elaborate traditions and rituals. Centring on the long-awaited reincarnation of a giant bear among the half-barbaric Orelgan people, Shardik's appearance sets off a violent chain of events as faith in his divinity sweeps the land. Closest to the bear is the hunter Kelderek, a naturally pious, ignorant, well-meaning man who becomes - in his dedication to Shardik - a prophet, victorious soldier, corrupt priest-king and ruler of an empire. A gripping tale of war, adventure, morality and slavery, horror and romance, Shardik is a remarkable exploration of mankind's universal desire for divine incarnation, and the corrosive influence of power. Recently ranked in the top 100 bestsellers over the past 40 years by the Sunday times, Shardik is a book for our age.

The Plague Dogs

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781780747927
Release Date: 2015-10-19
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Two dogs escape from an experimental research lab in the Lake District, where they have been horribly tortured and mistreated in the name if science. As they run for their lives on the hard fells they attempt to survive wild and free. But the hunt in on...

Maia

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Watership Down Enterprises
ISBN: 9781783015566
Release Date: 2014-11-07
Genre: Fiction

Sold into slavery to the dealer Lalloc by her mother when her stepfather seduces her, the beautiful 15-year-old Maia is almost raped by Genshed, one of Lalloc's employees but is saved by Occula, a black slave girl. With no-one but Occula at her side, Maia must summon all her courage, strength and intelligence as she navigates the seedy side of the Beklan empire.

Watership Down

Author: BookCaps
Publisher: BookCaps Study Guides
ISBN: 9781610425759
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Computers

The perfect companion to Richard Adams' "Watership Down," this study guide contains a chapter by chapter analysis of the book, a summary of the plot, and a guide to major characters and themes. BookCap Study Guides do not contain text from the actual book, and are not meant to be purchased as alternatives to reading the book. We all need refreshers every now and then. Whether you are a student trying to cram for that big final, or someone just trying to understand a book more, BookCaps can help. We are a small, but growing company, and are adding titles every month.

Burning Midnight

Author: Will McIntosh
Publisher: Delacorte Press
ISBN: 9780553534115
Release Date: 2016-02-02
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award winner Will McIntosh pits four underprivileged teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime. No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere. Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent. When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here. PRAISE: “Burning Midnight is for (1) adrenaline junkies and gamers, (2) obsessive collectors, and (3) people who can’t get enough of crazy endings. I’m all of these things, and I loved it.” —Margaret Stohl, New York Times bestselling author of Black Widow: Forever Red and coauthor of the internationally bestselling Beautiful Creatures series From the Hardcover edition.

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Author: Richard Adams
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444938425
Release Date: 2017-10-05
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

From the author of Watership Down, Richard Adams, comes an enchanting picture book about the adventures of a mischievous homemade dragon. Illustrated by Alex T. Smith, creator of Claude, the bestselling beret-clad canine hero. Whatever you've lost, Egg Box Dragon will find it. He's retrieved missing footballs, glasses and watches aplenty. He's so expert at cracking mysteries that the Queen herself requests his services. Will Egg Box Dragon find the missing diamond from the Queen's crown? Richard Adams was awarded both the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Award for children's fiction. Watership Down has sold over 50 million copies. A new mini series of Watership Down will premiere Christmas 2017 on BBC1 and launch globally on Netflix Spring 2018, featuring the voices of Olivia Colman and Freddie Fox, amongst others.

The Bees

Author: Laline Paull
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062331168
Release Date: 2014-05-06
Genre: Fiction

The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the queen may breed and deformity means death. Flora 717 is a sanitation worker, a member of the lowest caste in her orchard hive where work and sacrifice are the highest virtues and worship of the beloved Queen the only religion. But Flora is not like other bees. With circumstances threatening the hive’s survival, her curiosity is regarded as a dangerous flaw but her courage and strength are an asset. She is allowed to feed the newborns in the royal nursery and then to become a forager, flying alone and free to collect pollen. She also finds her way into the Queen’s inner sanctum, where she discovers mysteries about the hive that are both profound and ominous. But when Flora breaks the most sacred law of all—daring to challenge the Queen’s fertility—enemies abound, from the fearsome fertility police who enforce the strict social hierarchy to the high priestesses jealously wedded to power. Her deepest instincts to serve and sacrifice are now overshadowed by an even deeper desire, a fierce maternal love that will bring her into conflict with her conscience, her heart, her society—and lead her to unthinkable deeds. Thrilling, suspenseful and spectacularly imaginative, The Bees gives us a dazzling young heroine and will change forever the way you look at the world outside your window.

Watership Down

Author: Kathleen M. Fischer
Publisher: Learning Links
ISBN: 0767503198
Release Date: 1998-01-01
Genre:

Novel-Ties study guides contain reproducible pages in a chapter by chapter format to accompany a work of literature of the same title.