Wetlands

Author: Charlotte Roche
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada
ISBN: 9781554685929
Release Date: 2010-07-06
Genre: Fiction

An international sensation—with more than 1 million copies sold in Germany, and rights snapped up in 26 countries—Wetlands is the sexually and anatomically explicit novel that is changing the conversation about female identity and sexuality around the world. Helen Memel is an outspoken, contradictory eighteen-year-old, whose childlike stubbornness is offset by a precocious sexual confidence. She begins her story from a hospital bed, where she’s slowly recovering from an operation and lamenting her parents’ divorce. To distract and console herself, Helen ruminates on her past sexual and physical adventures in increasingly uncomfortable detail; what ensues is “a headlong dash through every crevice and byproduct, physical and psychological, of its narrator’s body and mind.” (The New York Times) Fantastically sexual, Helen is constantly blurring the line between celebration, provocation, and dysfunction in her relationship with her body. Punky alienated teenager, young woman reclaiming her body from the tyranny of repressive hygiene (women mustn’t smell, excrete, desire), bratty smartass, vulnerable, lonely daughter, shock merchant and pleasure-seeker—Helen is all of these things and more, and her frequent attempts to assert her maturity ultimately prove just how fragile, confused, and young she truly is. In the tradition of The Sexual Life of Catherine M and Melissa P.’s 100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed, Charlotte Roche exposes the double bind of female sexuality, delivering a compulsively readable and fearlessly intimate manifesto on sex, hygiene, and the repercussions of family trauma.

Wetlands

Author: Charlotte Roche
Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
ISBN: 0802199925
Release Date: 2010-02-09
Genre: Fiction

Wetlands—an international sensation with more than a million copies sold worldwide—has been at the center of a heated debate about feminism and sexuality since its publication last spring. Charlotte Roche’s controversial debut novel is the story of Helen Memel, an outspoken, sexually precocious eighteen-year-old lying in a hospital bed as she recovers from an operation. To distract herself, she ruminates on her past sexual and physical adventures in increasingly uncomfortable detail. The result is a funny, shocking, and fearlessly intimate manifesto on sex, hygiene, and the compulsion to obliterate the covenant that keeps girls clean, quiet, and nice.

Wetlands

Author: Charlotte Roche
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007319947
Release Date: 2009-03-06
Genre: Fiction

With her jaunty dissection of the sex life and the private grooming habits of the novel's 18-year-old narrator, Helen Memel, Charlotte Roche has turned the previously unspeakable into the national conversation in Germany.

Wetlands

Author: William J. Mitsch
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 9781118676820
Release Date: 2015-03-02
Genre: Technology & Engineering

The single most important book on wetlands, newly expanded and updated Wetlands is the definitive guide to this fragile ecosystem, providing the most comprehensive coverage and in-depth information available in print. Recently updated and expanded, this latest edition contains brand new information on Wetland Ecosystem Services and an updated discussion on Wetland, Carbon, and Climate Change and Wetland Creation and Restoration. Due to popular demand, the authors have brought back five streamlined chapters on wetland ecosystems that had been removed from previous editions, and provided more robust ancillary materials including an online color photo gallery, PowerPoint slides, and several video case studies. As nature's kidneys, wetland ecosystems help the environment process toxins and excess fertilizers and maintain the relative health of our aquatic ecosystems. As the understanding of their importance grows, their management and ecology have gained increased attention and have become an area of professional specialization over the past two decades. This book gives readers a solid understanding of wetlands, how they work, what they do, and why the Earth can't live without them. Understand wetlands' role in the ecosystem, from local to global scales Appreciate the fact that wetlands may be the most logical and economical way to sequester carbon from the atmosphere Discover the unique characteristics that make wetlands critically important for improving water quality, reducing storm and flood damage, and providing habitat to support biodiversity Learn how wetlands are being managed or destroyed around the globe but also how we can create and restore them Examine the ways in which climate change is affecting wetland ecosystems and wetland ecosystems affect climate change Wetlands are crucial to the health of the planet, and we've only begun to realize the magnitude of the damage that has already been done as we scramble to save them. A generation of ecologists, ecological engineers, land use planners, and water resource managers worldwide owe their knowledge of the wetlands to this book – for the next generation to follow in their footsteps, Wetlands 5th edition is the quintessential guide to these critical systems.

Wetlands of Tanzania

Author: G. L. Kamukala
Publisher: IUCN
ISBN: 2831701856
Release Date: 1993-01-01
Genre: History

These 16 papers and final recommendations provide up-to-date information and offer guidance on future wetlands development options.

Wetlands

Author: National Research Council
Publisher: National Academies Press
ISBN: 9780309176798
Release Date: 1995-09-06
Genre: Science

"Wetlands" has become a hot word in the current environmental debate. But what does it signify? In 1991, proposed changes in the legal definities of wetlands stirred controversy and focused attention on the scientific and economic aspects of their management. This volume explores how to define wetlands. The committee--whose members were drawn from academia, government, business, and the environmental community--builds a rational, scientific basis for delineating wetlands in the landscape and offers recommendations for further action. Wetlands also discusses the diverse hydrological and ecological functions of wetlands, and makes recommendations concerning so-called controversial areas such as permafrost wetlands, riparian ecosystems, irregularly flooded sites, and agricultural wetlands. It presents criteria for identifying wetlands and explores the problems of applying those criteria when there are seasonal changes in water levels. This comprehensive and practical volume will be of interest to environmental scientists and advocates, hydrologists, policymakers, regulators, faculty, researchers, and students of environmental studies.

Wetlands

Author: Buffy Silverman
Publisher: Raintree
ISBN: 9781406256147
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Wetland animals


Wetlands

Author: Peter D. Moore
Publisher: Infobase Publishing
ISBN: 9781438100692
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Science

Provides coverage of wetlands - including information on the global cycling of water, and on the relationship between the water cycle, rock weathering, and wetland formation. This book examines the diversity of wetlands in the past, present, and future, how they work, and how they can be conserved.

Wetlands

Author: Yvonne Franklin
Publisher: Teacher Created Materials
ISBN: 9781433393013
Release Date: 2009-09-07
Genre: Education

Water, water everywhere! Although wetlands don't necessarily need to be covered in water all year long, most areas are pretty wet. Whether they are freshwater or tidal, they play a key role in the health of the Earth. They provide homes for many different kinds of plants and animals that are well adapted for the soggy conditions. Readers learn about the complex interactions between between plants, animals, and the wetlands.

Lakes and Wetlands

Author: John P. Rafferty
Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781615303205
Release Date: 2011-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Presents an introduction to lakes and wetlands, examines their physical properties, and profiles some of the major lakes in the world, including the Great Lakes, Lake Victoria, and Lake Chad.

Creating Freshwater Wetlands Second Edition

Author: Donald A. Hammer
Publisher: CRC Press
ISBN: 1566700485
Release Date: 1996-10-31
Genre: Technology & Engineering

Creating Freshwater Wetlands, Second Edition clearly demonstrates the step-by-step processes required to restore or create freshwater wetlands. It presents practical advice on choosing sites, getting help, attracting and stocking wildlife, selecting plants, and wetland operation and maintenance. This is an excellent book on one of the most fascinating ecosystems on the planet.

Wetlands

Author: Adele Richardson
Publisher: Bridgestone Books
ISBN: 073680840X
Release Date: 2001-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Discusses the plants, animals, and climate of a wetland ecosystem.