What I Think Happened

Author: Evany Rosen
Publisher: arsenal pulp press
ISBN: 9781551526966
Release Date: 2017-10-16
Genre: Humor

A book of comedic personal essays about the history of the western world – a “femmoir” in which the author reconfigures famous and infamous historical events and personalities from her perspective as a feminist, a comedian, and a “failed academic.” Sly, self effacing, and wickedly funny, these essays offer a bright new take on learning about history.

What Happened to My Sister

Author: Elizabeth Flock
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345524447
Release Date: 2012-08-07
Genre: Fiction

From the author of Me & Emma comes a dazzling novel of two unforgettable families bound together by their deepest secrets and haunted pasts—perfect for fans of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes and The Book of Bright Ideas. Nine-year-old Carrie Parker and her mother, Libby, are making a fresh start in the small town of Hartsville, North Carolina, ready to put their turbulent past behind them. Violence has shattered their family and left Libby nearly unable to cope. And while Carrie once took comfort in her beloved sister, Emma, her mother has now forbidden even the mention of her name. When Carrie meets Ruth, Honor, and Cricket Chaplin, these three generations of warmhearted women seem to have the loving home Carrie has always dreamed of. But as Carrie and Cricket become fast friends, neither can escape the pull of their families’ secrets—and uncovering the truth will transform the Chaplins and the Parkers forever. Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.

This Happened in America

Author: Ronald W. Evans
Publisher: IAP
ISBN: 9781607526247
Release Date: 2007-07-01
Genre: Education

This long awaited biography of Harold Rugg is a dramatic and compelling story with profound implications for today’s educators. Harold Rugg, one of the leading progressive educators of the 20th century, developed an innovative social studies program and textbook series that was censured by conservative critics during the 1940s. Read the full story behind Rugg, the man and the educator, and the critics who attacked him. Harold O. Rugg was professor at Teachers College, Columbia University, and a key leader among the social frontier group that emerged in the 1930s to argue that schools should play a stronger role in helping to reconstruct society. He was author of a best selling social studies textbook series that came under attack from patriotic and business groups in the early years of World War II. The story of his rise and fall encapsulates a pivotal episode in the history of American education and reveals a great deal about the direction of schooling in American life, the many roads not taken, and possibilities for the future. This indepth examination of Rugg's life and career provides historical perspective on the recurring struggles over education. It will be of interest to every citizen concerned about the future of our democracy. Includes more than 60 photos and graphics.

Pilgrims Passage

Author: Joe Buda
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781499024135
Release Date: 2014-09-24
Genre: Fiction

Why does Pilgrims’ Passage matter? Why can greed and deceit still manipulate us? Why do people choose power over family? Working to address these questions and more, Pilgrims Passage: Into a New Millennium and Rebuilding the Past are journeys brimming with adventures through turbulent times during the transition into the twenty-first century. For Paul Bardeck and Claudia Weiss, discovering a thousand-year-old monk’s journal fuels their quest to rebuild a mysterious ancient monastery perched upon the foothills in the Slovakian High Tatras, with the promise of releasing boundless energy stored within ancient ruins, as well as the Book of ONE. Concurrently, Karl Vloda’s seemingly unquenchable thirst for wealth and power, fueled by the Black Star Pact’s dark energy, seems to make the quest for ancient truths a sideshow. As the pilgrims’ paths entangle, will the promise of timely truths finally come to light? Does standing against the powers of darkness really matter today?

Music What Happened

Author: Scott Miller
Publisher: 125 Records
ISBN: 9780615381961
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Music

Miller writes about each of the past 53 years in popular music--1957 to 2009--via countdown song lists, blending the perspectives of a serious musician, a thoughtful critic, and an all-devouring music fan.

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Senate

Author: Wyman Spano
Publisher: Voyageur Press
ISBN: 9780760339022
Release Date: 2010-07-15
Genre: History

The Franken-Coleman campaign saga really begins with the tragic plane crash resulting in the death of Senator Paul Wellstone. That moment provided Norm Coleman his second opportunity for major political reinvention (the first being when he switched parties). Following the tragedy, Coleman shifted gears to run a kinder, gentler series of television ads that hardly mentioned his new opponent, Walter Mondale. Meanwhile, when Republicans accused Democrats of turning the Wellstone memorial service into a carefully choreographed political rally, Franken was outraged. He immediately set upon a mission to unseat Coleman, which ended up with their eventual head-to-head run in 2008. The unprecedented recount and legal drama that ultimately decided the election was an appropriate coda to what had already been an extraordinary Minnesota Senate race. A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Senate tells the whole story.

Miracles Can Happen

Author: Caryn Lesley
Publisher: Trafford Publishing
ISBN: 9781466914216
Release Date: 2012-02
Genre: Fiction

Thirteen-year-old Katie Richards lives with her widowed mother in the heart of New York City. She enjoys her life but has no clue how a chance encounter with an enchanting little lady will change her path forever. Ashley Cummings leads a charmed and privileged life with one seemingly impossible challenge to face. Her world holds burdens no teenager should have to bear. The miracle of friendship, with a touch of magic to make it come alive, can change lives in an instant and make a beautiful difference forever.

Something Blue

Author: Emily Giffin
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781429904629
Release Date: 2010-04-01
Genre: Fiction

From the New York Times bestselling author of Something Borrowed comes a novel that shows how someone with a ‘perfect life' can lose it all—and then find everything. Darcy Rhone thought she had it all figured out: the more beautiful the girl, the more charmed her life. Never mind substance. Never mind playing by the rules. Never mind karma. But Darcy's neat, perfect world turns upside down when her best friend, Rachel, the plain-Jane "good girl," steals her fiancé, while Darcy finds herself completely alone for the first time in her life...with a baby on the way. Darcy tries to recover, fleeing to her childhood friend living in London and resorting to her tried-and-true methods for getting what she wants. But as she attempts to recreate her glamorous life on a new continent, Darcy finds that her rules no longer apply. It is only then that Darcy can begin her journey toward self-awareness, forgiveness, and motherhood. Something Blue is a novel about one woman's surprising discoveries about the true meaning of friendship, love, and happily-ever-after. It's a novel for anyone who has ever, even secretly, wondered if the last thing you want is really the one thing you need.

It Happened in Paris

Author: Robin Gianna
Publisher: Harlequin
ISBN: 9781460376256
Release Date: 2015-02-01
Genre: Fiction

What started with a kiss… Avery Girard might have sworn off men, but she can't help but get swept away by the beauty, magic and romance of Valentine's Day in Paris…especially when she ends up spending it with totally irresistible Dr. Jack Dunbar. One little fling can't hurt, right? …could end with forever! Wrong! After an afternoon of passion, Avery discovers that Jack is actually the cardiologist she is meant to be assessing! Even more worrying, when it comes to Jack, she's not only dangerously close to losing her professional cool…she's close to losing her heart.

How It Happened

Author: Kate Langley Bosher
Publisher: 1st World Publishing
ISBN: 9781421811574
Release Date: 2005-09-20
Genre: Fiction

Purchase one of 1st World Library's Classic Books and help support our free internet library of downloadable eBooks. Visit us online at www.1stWorldLibrary.ORG - - Head on the side and chin uptilted, she held it at arm's-length, turning it now in one direction, now in another, then with deliberation she laid it on the floor. "I have wanted to do it ever since you were sent me; now I am going to." Hands on hips, she looked down on the high-crown, narrow-brim hat of stiff gray felt which was at her feet, and nodded at it with firmness and decision. "It's going to be my Christmas present to myself - getting rid of you. Couldn't anything give me as much pleasure as smashing you is going to give. Good-by -" Raising her right foot, Carmencita held it poised for a half-moment over the hated hat, then with long-restrained energy she brought it down on the steeple-crown and crushed it into shapelessness. "I wish she could see you now." Another vigorous punch was given, then with a swift movement the battered bunch of dull grayness, with its yellow bird and broken buckle of tarnished steel, was sent in the air, and as it landed across the room the child laughed gaily, ran toward it, and with the tip of her toes tossed it here and there. Sending it now up to the ceiling, now toward the mantel, now kicking it over the table, and now to the top of the window, she danced round and round the room, laughing breathlessly.

Slocum 282 Slocum and the Lady in Black

Author: Jake Logan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101179627
Release Date: 2002-07-30
Genre: Fiction

If Slocum doesn’t skidaddle, he’ll be horsemeat! If his Appaloosa hadn’t twisted its ankle on the way to Springfield, Missouri, Slocum might never have looked into buying a new horse there. He might also have missed meeting two of the prettiest cowhands ever to walk on God’s green earth. And now, he might not be running for his life… In Springfield, a man looking to buy a horse has two choices: he can go see the Tolliver brothers’ costly horses, or he can look at Linda Collins’s cheaper ones—and risk getting pumped full of lead by the Tollivers’ hired hands. So when Slocum, a stranger to the town and its rules, shows up on the wrong side of the fence, he’ll have to use his horse sense to protect the very grateful Collins sisters, not to mention stay alive himself…