What I Think Happened

Author: Evany Rosen
Publisher: Robin's Egg Books
ISBN: 1551526956
Release Date: 2017-10-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A wickedly funny "femmoir" in which the author recasts historical events and personalities from her own feminist perspective. What I Think Happened, the debut book by comedian Evany Rosen, is really two books: a savvy, no-holds-barred romp through the history of the western world, and a personal "femmoir" by a self-described "failed academic" who recasts historiography from a feminist perspective―albeit an underqualified and overconfident one. In these wide-ranging comic essays, Evany explores numerous historical events and personalities that have had a personal impact on her as she attempts to understand why they've been the object of such fascination, from her unnatural obsession with Napoleon, to her misguided understanding of the Royal Family, to her intrigue over America's dumpiest presidents. Evany's approach to history is to make it personal, which any good historian will tell you is exactly what not to do; but in doing so, and with whimsy and irreverence, she rescues history from the dusty confines of "intellectually aggressive" men and makes it fun again. What I Think Happened is the first book to be published under a new imprint called Robin's Egg Books that will feature some of the freshest, smartest, and above all funniest writing around on a variety of culturally relevant subjects. Robin's Egg Books are curated and edited by comedian, playwright, and author Charles Demers.

What Happened to My Sister

Author: Elizabeth Flock
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345524447
Release Date: 2012-08-07
Genre: Fiction

From the author of Me & Emma comes a dazzling novel of two unforgettable families bound together by their deepest secrets and haunted pasts—perfect for fans of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes and The Book of Bright Ideas. Nine-year-old Carrie Parker and her mother, Libby, are making a fresh start in the small town of Hartsville, North Carolina, ready to put their turbulent past behind them. Violence has shattered their family and left Libby nearly unable to cope. And while Carrie once took comfort in her beloved sister, Emma, her mother has now forbidden even the mention of her name. When Carrie meets Ruth, Honor, and Cricket Chaplin, these three generations of warmhearted women seem to have the loving home Carrie has always dreamed of. But as Carrie and Cricket become fast friends, neither can escape the pull of their families’ secrets—and uncovering the truth will transform the Chaplins and the Parkers forever. Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.

In the Lake of the Woods

Author: Tim O'Brien
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780547527048
Release Date: 2006-09-01
Genre: Fiction

First published to critical acclaim by Houghton Mifflin, Tim O’Brien’s celebrated classic In the Lake of the Woods now returns to the house in a gorgeous new Mariner paperback edition. This riveting novel of love and mystery from the author of The Things They Carried examines the lasting impact of the twentieth century’s legacy of violence and warfare, both at home and abroad. When long-hidden secrets about the atrocities he committed in Vietnam come to light, a candidate for the U.S. Senate retreats with his wife to a lakeside cabin in northern Minnesota. Within days of their arrival, his wife mysteriously vanishes into the watery wilderness.

Pilgrims Passage

Author: Joe Buda
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781499024135
Release Date: 2014-09-24
Genre: Fiction

Why does Pilgrims’ Passage matter? Why can greed and deceit still manipulate us? Why do people choose power over family? Working to address these questions and more, Pilgrims Passage: Into a New Millennium and Rebuilding the Past are journeys brimming with adventures through turbulent times during the transition into the twenty-first century. For Paul Bardeck and Claudia Weiss, discovering a thousand-year-old monk’s journal fuels their quest to rebuild a mysterious ancient monastery perched upon the foothills in the Slovakian High Tatras, with the promise of releasing boundless energy stored within ancient ruins, as well as the Book of ONE. Concurrently, Karl Vloda’s seemingly unquenchable thirst for wealth and power, fueled by the Black Star Pact’s dark energy, seems to make the quest for ancient truths a sideshow. As the pilgrims’ paths entangle, will the promise of timely truths finally come to light? Does standing against the powers of darkness really matter today?

Like It Never Happened

Author: Emily Adrian
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698185494
Release Date: 2015-06-02
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Stereotypes, sexuality, and destructive rumors collide in this smart YA novel for fans of Sara Zarr’s Story of a Girl, Siobhan Vivian’s The List, and E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. When Rebecca Rivers lands the lead in her school’s production of The Crucible, she gets to change roles in real life, too. She casts off her old reputation, grows close with her four rowdy cast-mates, and kisses the extremely handsome Charlie Lamb onstage. Even Mr. McFadden, the play’s critical director, can find no fault with Rebecca. Though “The Essential Five” vow never to date each other, Rebecca can’t help her feelings for Charlie, leaving her both conflicted and lovestruck. But the on and off-stage drama of the cast is eclipsed by a life-altering accusation that threatens to destroy everything…even if some of it is just make believe.

Guess What Happened at School Today

Author: Ralph Bonner
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595293568
Release Date: 2003-09-01
Genre: Education

In the collegiate teaching environment, you meet many interesting teachers, students, and administrators. Situations arise that can be happy, sad (even, tragic), confrontational, sexual (explicit, mostly), and surprising, sometimes all at once!

Something Happened

Author: Joseph Heller
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781448114740
Release Date: 2017-06-01
Genre: Fiction

Bob Slocum was a promising executive. He had an attractive wife, three children, a nice house, and as many mistresses as he desired. His life was settled and ordered; he had conformed and society demanded he be happy - or at least pretend to be, But the pretence was becoming more and more difficult, as Slocum's discontent grew into an overwhelming sense of desolation, frustration and fear. And then something happened. . .

Miracles Can Happen

Author: Caryn Lesley
Publisher: Trafford Publishing
ISBN: 9781466914216
Release Date: 2012-02
Genre: Fiction

Thirteen-year-old Katie Richards lives with her widowed mother in the heart of New York City. She enjoys her life but has no clue how a chance encounter with an enchanting little lady will change her path forever. Ashley Cummings leads a charmed and privileged life with one seemingly impossible challenge to face. Her world holds burdens no teenager should have to bear. The miracle of friendship, with a touch of magic to make it come alive, can change lives in an instant and make a beautiful difference forever.

Let s Pretend This Never Happened

Author: Jenny Lawson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101573082
Release Date: 2012-04-17
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furiously Happy... When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father and a morbidly eccentric childhood. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame-spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it. In the irreverent Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter help her uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments—the ones we want to pretend never happened—are the very same moments that make us the people we are today. For every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud, this is a poignant and hysterical look at the dark, disturbing, yet wonderful moments of our lives. Includes a new chapter! Readers Guide Inside From the Trade Paperback edition.

From Aden to Bliss

Author: Winston Forde
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781456832186
Release Date: 2011-07-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

"As a precursor, on 27 February 1963, he wrote to his then girlfriend these words that have proved her lasting, and favourite quote: [Dear Gloria neigh Patience, How time flies! “These days one needs to muster all the vigilance possible to keep abreast of the ever escaping minutes and days”. When I promised to write to you over the phone on Monday, I really meant to get down and do it that evening, but one thing led to another, and here am I now on Wednesday still trying to do it!] Later that year, they were to have a serious row that threw them apart for the next two years until he decided to renew contact by writing the enclosed amazing letter on 3rd December 1965. The rest is History!"

Music What Happened

Author: Scott Miller
Publisher: 125 Records
ISBN: 9780615381961
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Music

Miller writes about each of the past 53 years in popular music--1957 to 2009--via countdown song lists, blending the perspectives of a serious musician, a thoughtful critic, and an all-devouring music fan.

The Hostage

Author: W.E.B. Griffin
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 144063727X
Release Date: 2006-12-26
Genre: Fiction

The second novel in W.E.B. Griffin's new bestselling series finds Presidential Agent Charley Castillo investigating the death of an American diplomat in Argentina, the kidnapping of the diplomat's wife, and a scandal tying the United Nations to Iraq.