White Lilacs

Author: Carolyn Meyer
Publisher: Turtleback Books
ISBN: 1417761148
Release Date: 2006-11-20
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

For use in schools and libraries only. In 1921 in Dillon, Texas, twelve-year-old Rose Lee sees trouble threatening her community when the whites decide to take the land there for a park and forcibly relocate black families to an ugly stretch of territory outside town.

White Lilacs

Author: Carolyn Meyer
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0152058516
Release Date: 2007-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Young Rose Lee Jefferson is shocked to learn that the white residents of Dillon, Texas, want to raze the city’s black enclave, Freedomtown, and build a park in its place. Rose Lee and the other residents of Freedomtown cannot bear the thought of losing their homes. But fighting the city’s plans could be costly—or even life threatening. Will the families of Freedomtown be able to save their thriving community? Includes a reader's guide.

White Lilacs

Author: Carolyn Meyer
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt P
ISBN: 0152006265
Release Date: 1993
Genre: African Americans

In 1921 in Dillon, Texas, twelve-year-old Rose Lee sees trouble threatening her black community when the whites decide to take the land there for a park and forcibly relocate the black families to an ugly stretch of territory outside the town.

Lilacs

Author: John L. Fiala
Publisher: Timber Press
ISBN: 9780881927955
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Gardening

Covers all aspects of the selection, growth, and propagation of lilacs along with information on their landscape use, companion plants, and the history and origin of each lilac species.

Where Lilacs Still Bloom

Author: Jane Kirkpatrick
Publisher: WaterBrook
ISBN: 9780307729422
Release Date: 2012-04-17
Genre: Fiction

One woman, an impossible dream, and the faith it took to see it through. German immigrant and farm wife Hulda Klager possesses only an eighth-grade education—and a burning desire to create something beautiful. What begins as a hobby to create an easy-peeling apple for her pies becomes Hulda’s driving purpose: a time-consuming interest in plant hybridization that puts her at odds with family and community, as she challenges the early twentieth-century expectations for a simple housewife. Through the years, seasonal floods continually threaten to erase her Woodland, Washington garden and a series of family tragedies cause even Hulda to question her focus. In a time of practicality, can one person’s simple gifts of beauty make a difference? Based on the life of Hulda Klager, Where Lilacs Still Bloom is a story of triumph over an impossible dream and the power of a generous heart. “Beauty matters… it does. God gave us flowers for a reason. Flowers remind us to put away fear, to stop our rushing and running and worrying about this and that, and for a moment, have a piece of paradise right here on earth.” From the Trade Paperback edition.

Lilac Girls

Author: Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781101883068
Release Date: 2016-04-05
Genre: Fiction

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences. For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power. The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten. USA Today “New and Noteworthy” Book • LibraryReads Top Ten Pick “Harrowing . . . Lilac illuminates.”—People “A compelling, page-turning narrative . . . Lilac Girls falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. It’s smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read.”—Fort Worth Star-Telegram “A powerful story for readers everywhere . . . Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of history’s most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered. . . . I was moved to tears.”—San Francisco Book Review “Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See.”—Library Journal (starred review) “[A] compelling first novel . . . This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly’s vivid depiction of history and excellent characters.”—Publishers Weekly “Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbrück.”—Kirkus Reviews “Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history—women’s history—that should never be forgotten.”—Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of China Dolls “Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly . . . the best book I’ve read all year.”—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Under the Lilacs

Author: Louisa May Alcott
Publisher: The Floating Press
ISBN: 9781775450436
Release Date: 2010-12-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Readers who can't get enough of the quaint and quirky sisters in Alcott's Little Women will love Under the Lilacs, too. In it, two young girls set out to have a pretend tea party, but wind up finding a runaway circus performer, whose discovery sets off a chain of mysterious events. A whimsical read for fans that will delight young and old alike.

Alandra s Lilacs

Author: Tressa Bowers
Publisher: Gallaudet University Press
ISBN: 1563680823
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The hearing mother of a deaf child recounts her experiences and provides advice for other parents in a similar situation.

Portraits of Flowers

Author: G. Brender à Brandis
Publisher: The Porcupine's Quill
ISBN: 0889841578
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Art

Patrick Lima's books and his articles in Harrowsmith magazine are considered required reading by garden enthusiasts across Canada. G. Brender à Brandis is a renowned wood engraver who has taught botanical art at the Royal Botanical Gardens in Hamilton. This book is their collaboration, a celebration of the beauty of flowers through Patrick Lima's fascinating commentaries and G. Brender à Brandis's elegant engravings. Perfect for both gardeners and those who delight in the delicate craft of the engraver, Portraits of Flowers is a unique collection of inspired portraits.

Lilacs on Lace

Author: Linda Ladd
Publisher: N A L
ISBN: 0451405560
Release Date: 1996
Genre: Fiction

Raised as an orphan and an outcast in Kilchurn Abbey, innocent Ainsley MacDonald finds herself falling for the deadly enemy of her clan, Rodric Campbell, the daring warrior who removes her from her harsh abbey sanctuary. Original.

The Mystery at Lilac Inn

Author: Carolyn Keene
Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap
ISBN: 0448479729
Release Date: 2014-05-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Teenage detective Nancy Drew finds herself in danger when she tries to solve the mystery of the old inn, which is believed to be jinxed.

Mary Bloody Mary

Author: Carolyn Meyer
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007381722
Release Date: 2011-05-26
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Blood is thicker than water – unless the King decrees othewise.