Who Has These Feet

Author: Laura Hulbert
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
ISBN: 9781466811515
Release Date: 2011-08-16
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

In a lively guessing game format, find out why the feet of tree frogs, and those of eight other animals, are perfectly adapted to their habitats. Illustrated with brightly detailed paintings, this simple, informative text will have children looking at feet in a whole new way.

Who Has These Feet

Author: Laura Hulbert
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9780805089073
Release Date: 2011-08-16
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Looks at the feet of nine different types of animals and how they are adapted to help their owners survive in their environments.

What If You Had Animal Feet

Author: Sandra Markle
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
ISBN: 9780545745987
Release Date: 2015-02-24
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

If you could have any animal's feet, whose would you choose? WHAT IF YOU HAD ANIMAL FEET? is the next book in the successful WHAT IF series by Sandra Markle, illustrated by Howard McWilliam, following the very popular WHAT IF YOU HAD ANIMAL TEETH? and WHAT YOU IF HAD ANIMAL HAIR? This latest edition will teach kids about the amazing variety of feet in the animal kingdom and their specialty functions! From cheetahs' fast feet to mountain goats' nimble climbing hooves, to flies' sticky feet! Each animal profile will include a photo as well as illustrations of kids with animal feet that are sure to make kids laugh!

Those Feet A Sensual History of English Football

Author: David Winner
Publisher: The Overlook Press
ISBN: 9781468309294
Release Date: 2013-07-30
Genre: Sports & Recreation

In this playful, witty and highly original look at English soccer, David Winner, author of the acclaimed Brilliant Orange, journeys to the heart of an essential English pastime and sheds new light on the true nature of a rapidly changing game that was never really meant to be beautiful. With the same insightful eye he brought to his bestselling study of Dutch soccer, Winner shows how Victorian sexual anxiety underlies England's many World Cup failures. He reveals the connection between Roy Keane and a soldier who never lived but died in the Charge of the Light Brigade. And he demonstrates how thick mud and wet leather shaped the contours of the English soul.

Whose Feet Are These

Author: Kris Hirschmann
Publisher:
ISBN: 1607457148
Release Date: 2014-10-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

"Use the pictures and written clues to identify each animal under the flap. Find paws to claws--get ready for some fun!"--Back cover.

Dancing Feet

Author: Lindsey Craig
Publisher: Alfred a Knopf Incorporated
ISBN: 9780307930811
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Easy-to-read, rhyming text depicts different animals dancing. On board pages.

Follow Those Feet

Author: Christine Ricci
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9780689852398
Release Date: 2003-06-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Dora and Boots have found some strange footprints in the sandbox, and need the reader's help to discover who--or what--made them. Features rebuses.

One Foot Two Feet

Author: Peter Maloney
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101643594
Release Date: 2011-05-12
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

One foot, two feet One mouse, three mice One goose, four geese In this clever counting book, die-cut windows frame a single object and a turn of the page reveals a group. Featuring familiar objects and funny artwork, this inventive concept book is a great introduction to both counting and common irregular plural nouns. A cumulative row of illustrations along the bottom of the pages shows all of the previous objects in order, so kids can keep track of where they are, and the book also contains a fun hide-and-seek game, inviting kids to spy a little airplane zooming through each spread.

Be the Hands and Feet

Author: Nick Vujicic
Publisher: WaterBrook
ISBN: 9781601426222
Release Date: 2018-02-13
Genre: Religion

Nothing in life is as exciting and satisfying as introducing Jesus to people who have never met him. New York Times bestselling author and world-renowned motivational speaker Nick Vujicic is known worldwide as the man without arms and legs who personifies a "can do" spirit. Now in greater detail, he explains how the example of Jesus Christ motivates him to travel and speak broadly because the"good news" of the Gospel is just too good to keep quiet! Although the world has so many problems, no challenge is too great for the God who promises to move mountains. Using compelling stories from his own experience, Nick shares the heart of his message, the motivation behind all he does, and something that he believes the world needs now more than ever before: A faith in Jesus Christ that moves people to act and make the world a better place.

Feet to the Fire

Author: Kristina Börjesson
Publisher: Prometheus Books
ISBN: 9781615923953
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

In her latest book, Kristina Borjesson once again leaves pundits, media critics, and Monday-morning quarterbacks behind. Zeroing in on a stunning lineup of first-hand sources, she presents a unique and utterly fascinating record of self-examination by some of America's top working journalists.Focusing on the post 9/11 crisis period, Borjesson has interviewed ABC's Ted Koppel, Hearst Newspaper's Helen Thomas, Paul Krugman of the New York Times, Barton Gellman and Walter Pincus of the Washington Post, Associated Press President/CEO Tom Curley, Harpers publisher John MacArthur, Carl Bernstein, and many others. This collection of masterful interviews unveils a journalistic environment that rivals any long-running soap opera on television. Filled with astonishing personal stories, conflict, and drama, Feet to the Fire gives readers the rare opportunity to walk a mile in the shoes of this nation's most powerful journalists and news executives. Most of them have spent long stretches of their professional lives in what can only be described as pressure-cooker environments ranging from deadly war zones to high-rise corporate offices.As a serious, first-hand account of contemporary mainstream journalism, the book has no equal. Mindful of the broader historical context and the value of comparing the coverage of recent conflicts to Vietnam War coverage, Borjesson has included long interviews with Vietnam-era reporters who are still working today, like Peter Arnett. Arnett won a Pulitzer Prize as an Associated Press reporter in Vietnam, was CNN's star war correspondent during the first Gulf War, and became a lightning rod while reporting on the second Gulf War.As an oral account of the current era of crisis, as a deeper and far more insightful view of this nation's most accomplished messengers and the landscape in which they operate, Feet to the Fire is nothing short of a tour-de-force.Interview subjects include: Ted Koppel, Helen Thomas, Tom Curley (President/CEO Associated Press), Carl Bernstein, Peter Arnett, Kevin Buckley (former Saigon Bureau Chief for Newsweek now Contributing Editor for Playboy), Paul Krugman (New York Times), Barton Gellman and Walter Pincus (Washington Post), Deborah Amos (NPR war correspondent), Jon Alpert (independent producer/cameraman), John MacArthur, Tom Yellin (executive producer for Peter Jennings), Chris Hedges, and James Bamford (National Security reporter).Kristina Borjesson is the author of the highly acclaimed Into the Buzzsaw (winner of the National Press Club's Arthur Rowse Award for Press Criticism), and an Emmy and Murrow Award-winning investigative reporter, who has worked for CBS and CNN.

The Stars Beneath Our Feet

Author: David Barclay Moore
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9781524701246
Release Date: 2017-09
Genre: JUVENILE FICTION

Multicultural Harlem lives again in this daringly diverse tale of growing up against the odds and the imaginative, healing possibilities that we can create through the choices we make.

Feet Are Not for Kicking

Author: Elizabeth Verdick
Publisher: Free Spirit Publishing
ISBN: 9781575427263
Release Date: 2013-09-03
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

"Look at those feet! Aren’t they sweet?” Yes—when they’re walking, standing, leaping and landing. And when they’re kicking balls or leaves. But not when they’re kicking people! In simple words and charming full-color illustrations, this book helps little ones learn to use their feet for fun, not in anger or frustration. It also includes tips for parents and caregivers on how to help toddlers be sweet with their feet.

The Sky at Our Feet

Author: Nadia Hashimi
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062421951
Release Date: 2018-03-06
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated. When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do. After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Jin Ling s Two Left Feet

Author: Helen Chen
Publisher:
ISBN: 1936107090
Release Date: 2009-10-01
Genre: Family & Relationships

Like the yin and the yang, Jin-Ling is comprised of two equal parts that fit together. One part is the dutiful Chinese daughter who does everything her immigrant parents expect of her, and the other part is the American teenage girl who yearns for the independence that she sees her peers taking for granted every day. Jin-Ling would do anything to have Tony Blake - the smartest boy in school - for her prom date. Tony not only has the look that her friends would approve, but also meets her parents' definition of a good boy. Jin-Ling's hopes are shattered when she finds out Tony is going to prom with Kim - one of her very best friends. What should she do? No matter what she decides, it seems that Jin-Ling is destined to always feel as if she is walking on two left feet - feet that are often heading in opposite directions. In Jin-Ling's Two Left Feet, Helen Chen explores the challenges and struggles of fitting in with a touching and sensitive narrative of an Asian American teenager's voice. Heartwarming and humorous, this compelling story of clashing cultural expectations and self identity will be enjoyed and related to by all who come across it.

Who Has This Tail

Author: Laura Hulbert
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9780805094299
Release Date: 2012-10-16
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes nine different tails, and how each animal uses it.