Wilful Blindness

Author: Margaret Heffernan
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781847377715
Release Date: 2011-02-03
Genre: Self-Help

In the 2006 case of the US Government vs Enron, the presiding judge instructed the jurors to take account of the concept of wilful blindness as they reached their verdict about whether the chief executives of the disgraced energy corporation were guilty. It was not enough for the defendants to say that they did not know what was going on; that they had not seen anything. If they failed to observe the corruption which was unfolding before their very eyes, not knowing was no defence. The guilty verdict sent shivers down the spine of the corporate world. In this book, distinguished business woman and writer, Margaret Heffernan, examines the phenomenon of wilful blindness. Drawing on a wide array of sources from psychological studies and social statistics to interviews with the relevant protagonists she examines what it is about human nature which makes us so prone to wilful blindness. Taught from infancy to obey authority, and absorbing the importance of selective vision as a key social skill, humans exacerbate their tendency to become institutionalised by joining organisations which are run by like-minded people. Wilful Blindness looks at how hard-work and the information overload of the modern workplace add to the problem. And examines why whistleblowers and Cassandras are so very rare. Ranging freely through history and from business to science, government to the family, this engaging and anecdotal book will explain why wilful blindness is so dangerous in the globalised, interconnected world in which we live, before suggesting ways in which institutions and individuals can start to combat it. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Margaret Heffernan's thought provoking book will force open our eyes.

Wie wir unsere Arbeitskultur ver ndern k nnen

Author: Margaret Heffernan
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 9783104036212
Release Date: 2016-05-25
Genre: Literary Collections

Die bekannte Autorin und Unternehmerin Margaret Heffernan erzählt in ihrem TED-Book ›Wie wir unsere Arbeitskultur verändern können‹, was wir alles an unserer Art zu arbeiten verbessern können. Margaret Heffernan (die selbst CEO von fünf großen Medienunternehmen ist) zeigt, dass es die kleinen Schritte sind, die wirklich Veränderung bringen. Eine verblüffende und geistreiche Anleitung, wie jeder – vom CEO bis zum Hausmeister – zur Verbesserung unserer Arbeits- und Gesellschaftskultur beitragen kann.

Schulden

Author: David Graeber
Publisher: Klett-Cotta
ISBN: 9783608103106
Release Date: 2012-05-14
Genre: Political Science

Ein radikales Buch im doppelten Wortsinn, denn Graeber packt das Problem der Schulden an der Wurzel, indem er bis zu ihren Anfängen in der Geschichte zurückgeht. Das führt ihn mitten hinein in die Krisenherde unserer Zeit: Von der Antike bis in die Gegenwart sind revolutionäre Bewegungen immer in Schuldenkrisen entstanden. Graeber sprengt die moralischen Fesseln, die uns auf das Prinzip der Schulden verpflichten. Denn diese Moral ist eine Waffe in der Hand der Mächtigen. Die weltweite Schuldenwirtschaft ist eine Bankrotterklärung der Ökonomie. Der Autor enttarnt Geld- und Kredittheorien als Mythen, die die Ökonomisierung aller sozialen Beziehungen vorantreiben. Im Kern ist dieses Buch ein hohes Lied auf die Freiheit: Das sumerische Wort »amargi«, das Synonym für Schuldenfreiheit, ist Graeber zufolge das erste Wort für Freiheit in menschlicher Sprache überhaupt. David Graeber ist einer der Begründer der Occupy-Bewegung.

Ein Tag im Jahr

Author: Christa Wolf
Publisher: Suhrkamp Verlag
ISBN: 9783518733073
Release Date: 2014-04-14
Genre: Fiction

1960 nahm Christa Wolf ein ganz besonderes Tagebuch-Projekt in Angriff: Vierzig Jahre lang porträtierte sie jeden 27. September, notierte die Erlebnisse, Gedanken und Gefühle eines jeden dieser Tage. Entstanden ist eine erstaunliche persönliche Chronik, ein beeindruckendes Zeugnis ihrer Existenz als Autorin, als Frau, Mutter, als Bürgerin der DDR und schließlich der BRD.

Unerkl rlich ehrlich

Author: Dan Ariely
Publisher: Droemer eBook
ISBN: 9783426416679
Release Date: 2012-10-01
Genre: Self-Help

Täglich täuschen wir Kollegen und Bekannte. Aber es ist doch erstaunlich, dass wir weit weniger schwindeln, als wir eigentlich könnten. Dan Ariely eröffnet eine völlig neue Sichtweise auf unser Verhalten und erklärt, warum wir trotz aller lockenden Vorteile keine notorischen Falschspieler sind.

ber die Dummheit

Author: Robert Musil
Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand
ISBN: 9783861997481
Release Date: 2016-11-22
Genre: Fiction

Robert Musil: Über die Dummheit Erstdruck im Rahmen der Schriftenreihe »Ausblicke«, Bermann-Fischer Verlag, Wien, 1937. Neuausgabe. Herausgegeben von Karl-Maria Guth. Berlin 2016. Umschlaggestaltung von Thomas Schultz-Overhage unter Verwendung des Bildes: Pieter Bruegel d.Ä., Niederländische Redensarten (Ausschnitt), 1559. Gesetzt aus der Minion Pro, 12 pt.

The Brothers John Foster Dulles Allen Dulles and Their Secret World War

Author: Stephen Kinzer
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9781429953528
Release Date: 2013-10-01
Genre: History

A joint biography of John Foster Dulles and Allen Dulles, who led the United States into an unseen war that decisively shaped today's world During the 1950s, when the Cold War was at its peak, two immensely powerful brothers led the United States into a series of foreign adventures whose effects are still shaking the world. John Foster Dulles was secretary of state while his brother, Allen Dulles, was director of the Central Intelligence Agency. In this book, Stephen Kinzer places their extraordinary lives against the background of American culture and history. He uses the framework of biography to ask: Why does the United States behave as it does in the world? The Brothers explores hidden forces that shape the national psyche, from religious piety to Western movies—many of which are about a noble gunman who cleans up a lawless town by killing bad guys. This is how the Dulles brothers saw themselves, and how many Americans still see their country's role in the world. Propelled by a quintessentially American set of fears and delusions, the Dulles brothers launched violent campaigns against foreign leaders they saw as threats to the United States. These campaigns helped push countries from Guatemala to the Congo into long spirals of violence, led the United States into the Vietnam War, and laid the foundation for decades of hostility between the United States and countries from Cuba to Iran. The story of the Dulles brothers is the story of America. It illuminates and helps explain the modern history of the United States and the world. A Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Book of 2013

Im freien Fall

Author: Joseph Stiglitz
Publisher: Siedler Verlag
ISBN: 9783641040703
Release Date: 2010-07-18
Genre: Business & Economics

Das Plädoyer des Nobelpreisträgers für eine neue globale Wirtschaftspolitik Der freie Fall der Weltwirtschaft begann im Herbst 2008 mit dem Zusammenbruch der Investment-Bank Lehman Brothers. Die Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise, die wir seither erleben, ist die schlimmste seit den 1930er Jahren. In seinem neuen Buch fragt Wirtschaftsnobelpreisträger Joseph Stiglitz, wie es dazu kommen konnte – und erklärt, wie wir solche Katastrophen in Zukunft verhindern können. Mit der Wirtschaftskrise hat sich die jahrzehntelang herrschende Wirtschaftsdoktrin selbst entzaubert: Falsche Anreize, entfesselte Märkte und eine ungerechte Verteilung des Reichtums haben die Welt an den Rand des Abgrunds geführt. Für Joseph Stiglitz ist klar: Ein »Weiter so« kann es nicht geben. Statt mit hektischen Rettungsmaßnahmen die eigene, nationale Wirtschaft zu retten und danach wieder zur Tagesordnung überzugehen, müssen wir diesen kritischen Moment nutzen, um eine neue globale Wirtschafts- und Finanzpolitik zu schaffen. Joseph Stiglitz beschreibt in seinem neuen Buch, wie solch eine krisenfeste und gerechtere Wirtschaftsordnung aussehen könnte. Neben einer besseren Regulierung der Finanzmärkte und einer aktiveren Rolle des Staates in der Wirtschaft, müssen wir vor allem dafür Sorge tragen, weltweit Arbeitsplätze zu sichern und den Wohlstand gerechter zu verteilen.

Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway Third Edition

Author: Orlando Hung
Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional
ISBN: 9781259640551
Release Date: 2017-12-08
Genre: Medical

A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway emergencies – updated to reflect the latest devices and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: AnesthesiaTM ,this beautifully illustrated and extensively referenced text delivers a comprehensive review of the latest options available for airway management and offers expert coverage of the full spectrum of airway management techniques. Within its pages you will find the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. You will also find numerous algorithms, many of which have been revised for this edition. Presented in full color, the book is enhanced by dozens of airway management vignettes, divided into: •Pre-Hospital Airway Management •Airway Management in the Intensive Care Unit •Airway Management in the Operating Room •Airway Management in the Pediatric Population •Airway Management in Unique Environment These cases teach trainees the fundamental approaches to airway management, and include self-evaluation questions to reinforce the lesson. For experienced anesthesiologists, the cases present an opportunity to learn about recently introduced devices and techniques they may wish to incorporate into their clinical practice. If you are in need of an expertly written text that describes all of the leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management, your search ends here.