Winter on the Mersey A Heartwarming Christmas Saga

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007550876
Release Date: 2017-10-19
Genre: Fiction

The dramatic story full of heartache and triumph from the bestselling author of Christmas on the Mersey and London Belles

London Belles

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007384563
Release Date: 2011-03-31
Genre: Fiction

London Belles is a tale of four very different young women thrown together by war. Finding freedom and independence – as well as love, passion and heartbreak – for the very first time, a unique bond is formed as the hostilities take their toll on Britain.

Christmas on the Mersey

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007550838
Release Date: 2014-10-23
Genre: Fiction

An emotional and compelling wartime drama from the author of Only a Mother Knows and A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.

Across the Mersey

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007283736
Release Date: 2008-09-04
Genre: Fiction

From the author of ‘The Grafton Girls’ comes the story of one Liverpool family preparing for the onslaught of World War Two, while trying not to fight among themselves.

My Sweet Valentine

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007419401
Release Date: 2012-02-02
Genre: Fiction

An emotional portrayal of the lives of four women as Valentine’s day approaches, in 1941 wartime London

A Christmas Promise

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007464289
Release Date: 2013-10-24
Genre: Fiction

An emotional and heart-warming portrayal of the lives of four women living in wartime London.

The Liverpool Rose

Author: Katie Flynn
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781446427590
Release Date: 2010-12-23
Genre: Fiction

Liverpool, 1923 Lizzie is an orphan living with her Aunt Annie, Uncle Perce and two boy cousins in Cranberry Court, within a stone's throw of the Leeds and Liverpool Canal. Lizzie loves her aunt but is hated by her uncle and escapes whenever she can. She makes friends with Geoff Gardiner, another orphan, and is teaching him to swim in the Scaldy when Clem Gilligan rescues the pair of them from drowning. Clem works on the Canal boat, The Liverpool Rose, with Jake Pridmore and his wife, plying between the great cities of Leeds and Liverpool. But Lizzie's situation at home starts to worsen as her uncle grows surlier and more violent. Eventually the worst happens and Lizzie is forced to flee from the Court or risk serious injury, perhaps even death. Her first instinct is to make for the canal, but finding Clem is not so easy . . .

Child of the Mersey

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007550814
Release Date: 2014-08-14
Genre: Fiction

A brand new series from the bestselling author of A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.

Christmas at Emmerdale

Author: Pamela Bell
Publisher: Trapeze
ISBN: 9781409185017
Release Date: 2018-11-01
Genre: Fiction

A wonderful Christmas gift for fans of ITV's Emmerdale and readers who love heartwarming and heartbreaking stories set in wartime. August 1914, and a terrible war begins, one that will affect the lives of everyone in the village of Beckindale. For Maggie Sugden, left to run Emmerdale Farm on her own while her husband, Joe, is at the front, it will bring grief and loss but also independence and the chance to find a place to belong - and perhaps even to love again. Christmas At Emmerdale is the first in a sweeping new saga series, exploring the lives of Emmerdale's much-loved families during the run up to the Great War.

The Mersey Daughter

Author: Annie Groves
Publisher:
ISBN: 0007550847
Release Date: 2017-04-01
Genre:

The brand new Wartime drama novel from bestselling author Annie Groves, perfect for fans of Christmas on the Mersey and Child of the Mersey. Rita Kennedy has finally seen through her good-for-nothing husband, Charlie. Now he's gone AWOL with his fancy woman and left her at the mercy of the local gossips. Her future is full of uncertainty and the only thing that keeps her going is knowing that her children are safe from the Luftwaffe - and the letters that she receives from Jack Callaghan, her childhood sweetheart - but a life together can is just a distant fantasy. Meanwhile, Kitty Callaghan has joined the WRENS and it's opened up a whole new world. But despite finding romance with a handsome doctor, she still can't forget Frank Feeny, the brave officer from Empire Street who still inhabits her dreams. As the bombs rain down on Liverpool, Rita and Kitty must face heartache and sorrow as they pray for the sun to shine on the Mersey once again.

A Christmas Candle

Author: Katie Flynn
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781473537279
Release Date: 2017-08-24
Genre: Fiction

******* Light up your life this Christmas with the BRAND NEW NOVEL from SUNDAY TIMES Number One Bestselling author KATIE FLYNN. 'One of the country's most popular storytellers' Scottish Daily Record ******** Will she find love in her wartime home? 1939. All over Britain children are being evacuated, and Eve Armstrong is headed for Devon. As the train pulls out of London she takes a last look at the crowded platform, the shabbily dressed evacuees, and a rude little boy sticking his tongue out. She’s looking forward to a change of scene. And at first Eve is happier than ever at Drake’s Farm. Not even her daily chores dampen her spirits. It’s a different world that invites fresh starts, and so when Eve runs into the boy from the station, Johnny Durrell, they call a truce and soon become firm friends. The war might be a distant reality, but the arrival of new evacuee Connie Hale makes every day a battle. Connie is lazy, stuck up and spiteful – and Johnny’s new best friend. As the conflict grows and Eve with it, will she fight for Johnny or concede defeat? Praise for Katie Flynn: 'A poignant war-time romance' Daily Express ‘A heartwarming story of love and loss’ Woman's Weekly ‘One of the best Liverpool writers’ Liverpool Echo 'If you pick up a Katie Flynn book it's going to be a wrench to put it down again' Holyhead and Anglesey Mail

When Christmas Bells Ring

Author: Katie Flynn
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781448185702
Release Date: 2015-08-27
Genre: Fiction

The new Christmas bestseller from Katie Flynn; the UK's bestselling saga author Liverpool 1938 It’s Christmas in the Courts, and single mother Rosheen Clarke and her mischievous twin daughters April and May have no idea of the cataclysmic events which will soon overtake them. When war is declared, April and May are evacuated to the countryside and Rosheen joins the WAAF where she befriends fellow Liverpudlian Cassie Valentine. While Rosheen worries about what trouble the twins will cause next, Cassie is fighting her love for her childhood friend Andy. Because ever since he joined the RAF, he has become arrogant and remote. Will he change back to the old Andy when it’s all over? Or will their love be another casualty of war? Cassie and Rosheen support each other as best they can, but it will be many years before the Christmas bells ring out again.

A Handful of Ashes

Author: Janet Woods
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781471136603
Release Date: 2014-04-10
Genre: Fiction

Following his return from his ill-fated trip to Australia, Francis and Siana Matheson have settled into a loving marital relationship. Siana's main concern is that so far she has been unable to bear her husband another child. Francis however is content to be a father to his grown-up daughters and Siana's young sister Daisy. He also delights in his young son, Bryn, born while he was overseas. However, Francis is unaware that the boy is his illegitimate grandson, the result of the vicious and horrifying rape of his eldest daughter. Although it worries Siana, the need to protect all concerned has left her with no choice. She must keep quiet and live with the guilt of her deceit. But Siana cannot keep the truth hidden forever - and when her tragic secret is finally revealed, there will be devastating and far-reaching consequences.

The Lost Days of Summer

Author: Katie Flynn
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781409038511
Release Date: 2011-03-03
Genre: Fiction

Nell Whitaker is fifteen when war breaks out and, despite her protests, her mother sends her to live with her Auntie Kath on a remote farm in Anglesey. Life on the farm is hard, and Nell is lonely after living in the busy heart of Liverpool all her life. Only her friendship with young farm hand Bryn makes life bearable. But when he leaves to join the merchant navy, Nell is alone again, with only the promise of his return to keep her spirits up. But Bryn's ship is sunk, and Bryn is reported drowned, leaving Nell heartbroken. Determined to bury her grief in hard work, Nell finds herself growing closer to Auntie Kath, whose harsh attitude hides a kind heart. Despite their new closeness, however, she dare not question her aunt about the mysterious photograph of a young soldier she discovers in the attic. As time passes, the women learn to help each other through the rigours of war. And when Nell meets Bryn's friend Hywel, she begins to believe that she, too, may find love...