Woman as Fire Woman as Sage

Author: Arti Dhand
Publisher: SUNY Press
ISBN: 9780791479889
Release Date: 2009-01-01
Genre: Literary Criticism

Explores ideas on women and sexuality presented in the great Hindu epic, the Mahabharata.

The Woman of Fire

Author: Adolphe Belot
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105040549300
Release Date: 1886
Genre: French fiction


Woman on Fire

Author: Amy Jo Goddard
Publisher: Avery
ISBN: 0399573577
Release Date: 2016-09-13
Genre:

Based on her sought-after sexuality workshops, the coauthor of Lesbian Sex Secrets for Men shows women how to master the nine elements of sexual empowerment to reclaim their desire and live the sexually fulfilling lives they want. In a culture that defines achievement in terms of the workplace and the family, and that judges women's worth by superficial standards of beauty, sexuality is often overlooked as an essential piece of women's power. Many women realize they want more sexually but don't know how to get it. Based on her sought-after workshops for women, Amy Jo Goddard lays out her holistic, inside-out approach to sexual empowerment--one that examines sexuality not only in terms of what happens in the bedroom but through a lens of personal power and the erotic energy that is at our core. In Woman on Fire, she reveals how to elevate our sexual intelligence by mastering the nine Elements of a Sexually Empowered Life. Including stories from the thousands of women she has worked with, Goddard shares how to get (back) in touch with desire, explore vulnerability, and push the boundaries of what we think is acceptable. We will have not just better sex, but also more pleasure throughout life, more power in our work, and more deeply connected relationships. And we will discover what Goddard always reminds the women she works with: The more whole we are as sexual beings, the more fulfilled we are as human beings. From the Hardcover edition.

Woman on Fire Entrepreneur

Author: Heather Picken
Publisher: CreateSpace
ISBN: 1517316952
Release Date: 2015-09-07
Genre:

Are you looking to take your business to the next level? Learn how you can take charge of your business and life with the secrets and strategies for the Woman On Fire Entrepreneur. In order to go to the next level, you must be willing to break through your self limiting beliefs and take action in the direction of your dreams no matter what. Heather shares with you the fastest path to creating a quantum leap in your business.

Woman on Fire

Author: Lillyrose Veneziano Broccia
Publisher: Proquest, UMI Dissertation Publishing
ISBN: 1243555440
Release Date: 2011-09
Genre:

"Woman on Fire: Mapping the Four Elements of Gaspara Stampa's Rime" follows Anassilla's elemental journey with water, earth, air and fire as she transforms her lyrical persona through her relation to each. Chapter 1, aquatic poet, starts with Anassilla's tears and maps a voyage of self identification. This leads to an understanding of her place in the waters around her. Anassilla, the female river body, searches for her poetic joy. On the waves of this element, she lands at terrestrial shores. Chapter 2, terrestrial poet, maps Anassilla's use of earthly terms as they moved in the direction of their climax, her Count Collaltino. Beginning with the universal term, "terra," and ending with the specific term "colle," this protagonist sees her beloved's richness, but is also weighed down by it. At times she identifies herself with earth, and then leaves it to reach aerial heights. Chapter 3, aerial poet, traces the movement of Anassilla's sighs, which resonate the universe's materializations of exhalation and inhalation. These carry her to the igneous center of her poetic universe. Chapter 4, igneous poet, focuses on fire itself, the true source of Anassilla's passion. Her igneous joy is her own existence as the lyrical expression of love and desire. Stampa infuses her protagonist Anassilla with the fire of a faithful, burning passion. She tells us, in fact, that her noble flame merits the admiration it has earned. She must be celebrated in life, eternally, and thereafter: Si chiara fiamma merta i pregi suoi; in questa parte io deggio esser cantata fin ch'io sia viva, eternamente, e poi (Stampa, 115, 12-14). I offer this work as a contribution to the field of Italian Literature that will encourage further scholarly discussion of Gaspara Stampa's Rime and that will give her flame, her poetry, the particular attention it deserves. It is an invitation to study the rich thematic content of Stampa's Canzoniere in contrast to her predecessors, within the context of her own poetic framework, and in relation to her contemporary female poets.

Women on Fire

Author: Jhoanna Lynn Cruz
Publisher: Master Publishing
ISBN: 9789966052155
Release Date: 2015-10-20
Genre: Fiction

Women on Fire is a collection of short stories, all but one of which focus on the lives, struggles, and loves of Filipino lesbians. Thoughtful and beautifully written, they are stories of women in transit, searching for something they want to have or think they have lost and, in the process, finding a surprise that sets them on fire: the love of other women. Will she choose the unknown over the safe confines of a heterosexual marriage? Will she keep fighting to be chosen? Will she finally understand? Women on Fire is the debut fiction collection of Jhoanna Lynn Cruz.

Fire Woman

Author: Josephine Reynolds
Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books
ISBN: 9781782437000
Release Date: 2017-04-06
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The inspiring true story of Josephine Reynolds, Britain's first full-time female firefighter. When Josephine Reynolds signed up with the Norfolk Fire Service in July 1982 at just seventeen years old, there was no such thing as a firefighter - only fire men. Set against the slate-grey backdrop of early 1980s Britain, Fire Woman is the story of how a young woman brought up in rural Wales coped in the testosterone-fuelled world of the fire brigade, where even today 96 per cent of all staff are male. In a life packed with incident - where lethal forest fires, escaped zoo animals and unexploded bombs formed a background to the everyday toll of death and disaster - Josephine experienced both triumph and heartbreaking personal tragedy. Fire Woman also provides a unique insight into the camaraderie that comes with risking your life on a daily basis and stands as the inspiring true story of an extraordinary young woman who took on a man's world and won, becoming Britain's first full-time firefighter.

Singing in the Fire

Author: Linda Alcoff
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 0742513831
Release Date: 2003-01-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

This is a unique, groundbreaking collection of autobiographical essays by leading women in philosophy. It provides a glimpse at the experiences of the generation that witnessed, and helped create, the remarkable advances now evident for women in the field. Visit our website for sample chapters!

Girl on fire

Author: Emma Stace Darling
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9781470961114
Release Date: 2011
Genre:


White Fire

Author: Malka Drucker
Publisher: SkyLight Paths Publishing
ISBN: 9781893361645
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Gives voice and image to the women who are changing America's spiritual landscape, including pioneering minister Bishop Leontine Kelly, Yoruba priestess Luisa Teish, media star Iyanla Vanzant, best-selling author Marianne Williamson, ashram leader Ma Jaya, and many other women who lead traditional and nontraditional communities.

The Fire Horse Girl

Author: Kay Honeyman
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
ISBN: 9780545532242
Release Date: 2013-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See! Jade Moon is a Fire Horse -- the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her off, she has a passionate heart and powerful dreams, and wants only to find a way to make them come true. Then a young man named Sterling Promise offers Jade Moon and her father a chance to go to America. While Sterling Promise's smooth manners couldn't be more different from her impulsive nature, Jade Moon falls in love with him on the long voyage. But America in 1923 doesn't want many Chinese immigrants, and when they are detained at Angel Island, the "Ellis Island of the West," she discovers a betrayal that destroys all her dreams. To get into America, much less survive there, Jade Moon will have to use all her stubbornness and will to break a new path... one so brave and dangerous, only a Fire Horse girl could imagine it.

Words On Fire

Author: Vanessa L Ochs
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9780429982590
Release Date: 2018-03-05
Genre: Social Science

When Vanessa Ochs begins to suspect her various physical ailments are due to her leading an ?unsanctified life,? she decides to travel to Jerusalem with her family to explore the sacred books of Judaism. Armed with a list of institutions and the names of women who specialize in teaching these sacred texts, Ochs sets out on a journey of discovery. She forges a personal relationship with her mentors, women who are determined to disprove the claim of Rabbi Eliezer ben Hyrcanus: ?The words of the Torah should be burnt rather than taught to women.? As her year in Jerusalem draws to a close, Ochs begins to find a way to reconcile her feminist views with her quest to live a life according to laws shaped by the ?sexist? views of traditional Judaism.Part scholarly investigation, part anecdotal memoir, Words on Fire is an accessible portrait of a remote world and a fascinating, firsthand account of the clash between feminism and Judaism.