You Don t Have to Like Me

Author: Alida Nugent
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698176034
Release Date: 2015-10-20
Genre: Humor

"Hilarious...[Nugent] documents her journey to feminism while skewering misogynist tropes and delivering some painful truths." –Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Feminist” is not a four-letter word, but Alida Nugent resisted it for a long time. She feared the “scarlet F” being thrust upon her for refusing to laugh at misogynistic jokes at parties; she withered under the judgmental gaze of store clerks when buying Plan B, and she swore that she was “not like other girls.” But eventually, like so many of us, she discovered that feminism is an empowering identity to take on. It’s okay to criticize beauty standards but still love dark lipstick, investing in female friendships is the most rewarding thing ever, and no one should feel pressured to eat an “unseasoned chicken breast the size of a deck of playing cards” as every sad dinner for the rest of eternity. With sincerity, intelligence, and wit, Nugent invites readers in to her most private moments of personal growth. From struggling with an eating disorder for most of her teen years to embracing all aspects of her biracial identity, she tackles tough topics with honest vulnerability. Smartly-written, unapologetic, and laugh-out-loud funny, You Don’t Have to Like Me is perfect for readers of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Skolnit, and Sloane Crosley. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Author: Έλενα Φερράντε
Publisher: Patakis
ISBN: 9789601666693
Release Date: 2016-06-02
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Ένα σύγχρονο αριστούργηµα από την πιο δηµοφιλή Ιταλίδα συγγραφέα της εποχής µας. Η Υπέροχη Φίλη µου, το πρώτο βιβλίο της Τετραλογίας της Νάπολης, είναι η ιστορία της Έλενας και της Λίλα, µια ιστορία που ξεκινά τη δεκαετία του ’50 µε φόντο µια φτωχογειτονιά της Νάπολης. Η συγγραφέας καταδύεται στην περίπλοκη φύση της φιλίας των δύο κοριτσιών που από έφηβες γίνονται γυναίκες, ακολουθώντας βήµα βήµα την εξέλιξη καθεµιάς ξεχωριστά, τον τρόπο που η µία επηρεάζει την άλλη, τα συναισθήµατα που ανά τις δεκαετίες τις βοηθούν να χτίσουν µια ουσιαστική, ακλόνητη σχέση. Με απαράµιλλο στιλ και αψεγάδιαστη, σχολαστική µατιά η Φερράντε σε µια καθηλωτική αφήγηση ξεδιπλώνει µέσα από την ιστορία µιας φιλίας την ιστορία µιας γειτονιάς, µιας πόλης κι εντέλει ενός έθνους που βιώνει κοσµοϊστορικές αλλαγές µε το πέρασµα των δεκαετιών. «Και τελικά το πραγµατικό θέµα της Φερράντε είναι το περιθώριο που έχει ο καθένας από µας, τόσο µεγάλο και τόσο ελάχιστο, να διαµορφώσει ο ίδιος την ύπαρξή του. Κι αυτό το περιθώριο εξετάζει από κάθε του άποψη, πολιτική, προσωπική, υπαρξιακή... Κατά βάθος αυτή η Τετραλογία της Νάπολης θα µπορούσε να ονοµαστεί η τετραλογία της ελευθερίας». Le Monde des Livres «Να διαποτίσεις τη µυθοπλασία µε την αδιάλυτη δύναµη της ζωής, να την κάνεις να είναι όχι απλά λέξεις στο χαρτί αλλά εσωτερική δύναµη, αυτό είναι το µεγαλύτερο επίτευγµα της τέχνης...» Financial Times «Η άγνωστη συγγραφέας ενός διάσηµου αριστουργήµατος... Η Έλενα Φερράντε αναγνωρίζεται σε παγκόσµιο επίπεδο ως µια σπουδαία συγγραφέας της εποχής µας. Κανείς µας όµως δε γνωρίζει την ταυτότητά της και εκείνη είναι αποφασισµένη να µην την αποκαλύψει». The Sunday Times «Ό,τι καλύτερο διάβασα φέτος». Richard Flanagan «Η Φερράντε µιλάει για τις γυναίκες και τη φιλία µε ασύλληπτη δύναµη». Gwyneth Paltrow «Διαβάζοντας τη Φερράντε θυµήθηκα αυτή τη σχεδόν παιδιάστικη έξαψη να διαβάσεις την επόµενη σελίδα, αυτή την αίσθηση ότι τα µάτια σου έχουν ξεκολλήσει από το κεφάλι σου, αυτή τη σκέψη πως ποτέ δεν περίµενες ότι τα βιβλία µπορούν να σου το κάνουν αυτό!» Elizabeth Strout (βραβείο Πούλιτζερ) «Η γραφή της Φερράντε δε γνωρίζει όρια, µπορεί να οδηγήσει την κάθε σκέψη στο ρηξικέλευθο αποτέλεσµα και αντίστοιχα να γυρίσει πίσω στην πιο ακραία της αρχή...» The New Yorker «Ένα αριστούργηµα, πέρα από όρια και είδη». Il Salvagente «Οι γυναίκες της Φερράντε είναι πραγµατικά έργα τέχνης!» El Pais «Φανταστείτε την Τζέιν Όστεν θυµωµένη και θα έχετε µια ιδέα του πόσο εκρηκτικά σπουδαία είναι αυτή η Τετραλογία της Νάπολης!» The Australian

Girls Resist

Author: KaeLyn Rich
Publisher: Quirk Books
ISBN: 9781683690603
Release Date: 2018-08-07
Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction

An activism handbook for teen girls ready to fight for change, social justice, and equality. Take on the world and make some serious change with this handbook to everything activism, social justice, and resistance. With in-depth guides to everything from picking a cause, planning a protest, and raising money to running dispute-free meetings, promoting awareness on social media, and being an effective ally, Girls Resist! will show you how to go from “mad as heck about the way the world is going” to “effective leader who gets stuff done.” Veteran feminist organizer KaeLyn Rich shares tons of expertise that’ll inspire you as much as it teaches you the ropes. Plus, quotes and tips from fellow teen girl activists show how they stood up for change in their communities. Grab this handbook to crush inequality, start a revolution, and resist!

Author: Χάνια Γιαναγκιχάρα
Publisher: Metaichmio Publications
ISBN: 9786180309669
Release Date: 2016-11-24
Genre: Fiction

Τέσσερις φίλοι και συμφοιτητές μετακομίζουν, μετά την αποφοίτησή τους, στη Νέα Υόρκη για να φτιάξουν τη ζωή τους – άφραγκοι, χαμένοι, με μόνο τους στήριγμα τη φιλία τους και τις φιλοδοξίες τους: Ο ευγενής, ωραίος Γουίλεμ, επίδοξος ηθοποιός· ο Τζέι Μπι, ζωγράφος από το Μπρούκλιν, που προσπαθεί να κατακτήσει τον καλλιτεχνικό κόσμο∙ ο Μάλκολμ, αρχιτέκτονας σε μια σημαντική εταιρεία∙ και ο Τζουντ – ο ιδιοφυής, αινιγματικός Τζουντ. Όπως περνούν οι δεκαετίες, οι σχέσεις τους βαθαίνουν, αλλά και σκοτεινιάζουν, καθώς τις χρωματίζουν ο εθισμός, η επιτυχία, η περηφάνια. Ωστόσο η σπουδαιότερη πρόκληση, συνειδητοποιούν όλοι, είναι ο ίδιος ο Τζουντ, πλέον ένας απίστευτα χαρισματικός δικηγόρος μα και ένας άνθρωπος ολοένα και πιο διαλυμένος, με το σώμα του και τον νου του σημαδεμένα από τους ανείπωτους τρόμους της παιδικής του ηλικίας – κυνηγημένος από τραύματα που φοβάται ότι όχι μόνο δεν θα ξεπεράσει ποτέ, αλλά και θα τον ορίζουν για πάντα. Με πρόζα πλούσια και λαμπρή, η Γιαναγκιχάρα γράφει έναν τραγικό, υπερβατικό ύμνο στην αγάπη, μια αριστοτεχνική απεικόνιση του σπαραγμού, της τυραννίας της μνήμης και των ορίων της ανθρώπινης αντοχής.

Author: David Herbert Lawrence
Publisher:
ISBN: 9604882708
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Lov stories


Ain t I a Feminist

Author: Aaronette M. White
Publisher: SUNY Press
ISBN: 9780791477755
Release Date:
Genre: Social Science

Interview-based study of contemporary African American feminist men.

Black Faith and Public Talk

Author: Dwight N. Hopkins
Publisher: Baylor University Press
ISBN: 9781602580138
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Religion

Liberation is at the heart of the Christian Gospel

Third Woman

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UCSC:32106011859318
Release Date: 1986
Genre: Mexican American women authors


Frontline feminism 1975 1995

Author: Karen Kahn
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015035745861
Release Date: 1995-07-01
Genre: Social Science

Two decades of essays on the key issues of feminism.

Ms Magazine

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105133485032
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Feminism


Feminist Writers

Author: Pamela L. Shelton
Publisher: Saint James Press
ISBN: STANFORD:36105019248256
Release Date: 1996
Genre: Literary Criticism

Concise discussions of the lives and principal works of feminist writers from all time periods, written by subject experts.

A Princess of Mars

Author: Edgar Rice Burroughs
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1518867693
Release Date: 2015-11-09
Genre:


The Oxford Book of Australian Essays

Author: Imre Salusinszky
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN: UOM:39015043790552
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Literary Criticism

The essay form encompasses both the private and the public aspects of human life, and to some extent breaks down the barriers between the two. It has been an important site upon which questions of Australia's identity, history and culture have been debated and defined. The essay in Australian has also been a source of entertainment and edification, and, for its authors, a mechanism of self-discovery. To date there has been no historical anthology of Australian essays. Imre Salusinszky, having examined hundreds of monographs, magazines and newspapers, has collected sixty-one essays published since the first white settlement in Australia. In his forthright and stimulating introduction he contends that the 1950s and 1960s - often regarded as a stultifying period in Australia's cultural life - were the heyday of the essay, instancing the work of Manning Clark, Vincent Buckley, Arthur Phillips, ALister Kershaw and Frank Knopfelmacher. He remarks on changing trends in the more expressive and uninhibited 1970s, and goes on to dispute recent talk of a renaissance in the essay, regretting the lack of incentives for the intelligentsia to write for a popular readership. The essays are arranged chronologically and include such seminal works as Helen Garner's `The Fate of the first stone' and Robert Dessaix's `Nice Work If You Can Get It'. Other contributors include Charmian Clift, Germaine Greer, Clive James, David Malouf, Les Murray, Pierre Ryckmans, and Patrick White.

Violence and Gender

Author: Paula Ruth Gilbert
Publisher: Prentice Hall
ISBN: 0131116312
Release Date: 2003-04
Genre: Social Science

Using different disciplinary approaches, this collection of thoughtful and timely selections focuses on integrating issues related to violence and gender.Violence and Gender enables readers to learn about these complex issues so they can work to lessen the occurrence of violence in their personal and professional lives.The introductory section presents a number of theories of violence that ground readers in different theories and reasons for violent behavior. The subsequent sections deal with the topics of gender, youth violence, domestic violence, sexual assault, child abuse, violence and sports, and media representation of violence. Because of its comprehensive coverage of many issues, this book can serve as an excellent resource for sociologists, criminologists, justice administrators, psychologists, therapists, and those involved in social work.

Broomstick

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UIUC:30112037672315
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Feminism