Zen in the Art of Writing

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780008120870
Release Date: 2015-05-21
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

In this exuberant book, the incomparable Ray Bradbury shares the wisdom, experience, and excitement of a lifetime of writing.

Zen and the art of screenwriting 2

Author: William Froug
Publisher: Silman-James Pr
ISBN: 1879505568
Release Date: 2000-10-01
Genre: Performing Arts

This collection of new essays and interviews with some of Hollywood's top screenwriters, producers, and directors is a sequel to Froug's highly popular Zen and the Art of Screenwriting. Here, Froug once again weaves fascinating, informative interviews with essays that provide sage advice and fresh, thought-provoking insights for both novice and seasoned screenwriters.

Zen and the Art of Business Communication

Author: Susan L. Luck
Publisher:
ISBN: 1606499564
Release Date: 2016-09-11
Genre: Business & Economics

In today's online world, our professional image depends on our ability to communicate. Whether we're communicating by email, text, social media, written reports or presentations, how we use our words often determines how others view us. This book offers tips and techniques that can improve anyone's professional image. The author covers how to analyze multiple audiences and strategies for communicating your message effectively for each; structuring your message for greatest readability and effect; persuasion and tone; and how to face your own fears of writing. The content is delivered in a simple, clear style that reflects the Zen approach of the title, perfect for both the entry-level employee and the seasoned executive.

Zen and the Art of Local History

Author: Carol Kammen
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781442226913
Release Date: 2014-08-14
Genre: History

Zen and the Art of Local History is an engaging, interactive conversation that conveys the exciting nature of local history. Divided into six major themes the book covers the scope and breadth of local history: • Being a Local Historian • Topics and Sources • Staying Relevant • Getting it Right • Writing History • History Organizations Each chapter features one of Carol Kammen’s memorable editorials from History News. Her editorial is a “call.” Each is followed by a response from one of more than five dozen prominent players in state and local history. These Respondents include local and public historians, archivists, volunteers, and history professionals across the kaleidoscopic spectrum of local history. Among this group are Katherine Kane, Robert “Bob” Richmond, Charlie Bryan, and Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko. The result is a series of dialogues on important topics in the field of local history. This interactivity of these conversations makes Zen and the Art of Local History a unique offering in the public history field.

Zen and the Art of Stand Up Comedy

Author: Jay Sankey
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781136555633
Release Date: 2012-11-12
Genre: Performing Arts

In this engaging and disarmingly frank book, comic Jay Sankey spills the beans, explaining not only how to write and perform stand-up comedy, but how to improve and perfect your work. Much more than a how-to manual Zen and the Art of Stand-Up Comedy is the most detailed and comprehensive book on the subject to date.

Zen Writing

Author: Martin Avery
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780557016174
Release Date: 2008-11-24
Genre:

A book about Zen meditation and writing by a Zen meditation instructor and award winning writer in the tradition of Zen In The Art Of Writing, Wild Mind, and The Artist's Way

Zen Buddhism Japan

Author: Heinrich Dumoulin
Publisher: World Wisdom, Inc
ISBN: 0941532909
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Religion

In this second volume of his classic history Dumoulin turns his attention to the development of Zen in Japan.

Zen in the Art of Rhetoric

Author: Mark Lawrence McPhail
Publisher: SUNY Press
ISBN: 0791428036
Release Date: 1996-01-01
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Explores relationships between classical and contemporary approaches to rhetoric and their connection to the underlying assumptions at work in Zen Buddhism.

Zen and the Art of Postmodern Philosophy

Author: Carl Olson
Publisher: SUNY Press
ISBN: 0791446549
Release Date: 2000-08-24
Genre: Philosophy

Carl Olson is Professor of Religious Studies at Allegheny College in Pennsylvania. His previous books include The Indian Renouncer and Postmodern Poison: A Cross-Cultural Encounter and The Theology and Philosophy of Eliade: A Search for the Centre.

Writing Alone and with Others

Author: Pat Schneider
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780199840243
Release Date: 2003-08-28
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

For more than a quarter of a century, Pat Schneider has helped writers find and liberate their true voices. She has taught all kinds--the award winning, the struggling, and those who have been silenced by poverty and hardship. Her innovative methods have worked in classrooms from elementary to graduate level, in jail cells and public housing projects, in convents and seminaries, in youth at-risk programs, and with groups of the terminally ill. Now, in Writing Alone and with Others, Schneider's acclaimed methods are available in a single, well-organized, and highly readable volume. The first part of the book guides the reader through the perils of the solitary writing life: fear, writer's block, and the bad habits of the internal critic. In the second section, Schneider describes the Amherst Writers and Artists workshop method, widely used across the U.S. and abroad. Chapters on fiction and poetry address matters of technique and point to further resources, while more than a hundred writing exercises offer specific ways to jumpstart the blocked and stretch the rut-stuck. Schneider's innovative teaching method will refresh the experienced writer and encourage the beginner. Her book is the essential owner's manual for the writer's voice.

Writing Down the Bones

Author: Natalie Goldberg
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: 0834821133
Release Date: 2016-02-02
Genre: Self-Help

For more than thirty years Natalie Goldberg has been challenging and cheering on writers with her books and workshops. In her groundbreaking first book, she brings together Zen meditation and writing in a new way. Writing practice, as she calls it, is no different from other forms of Zen practice—"it is backed by two thousand years of studying the mind." This thirtieth-anniversary edition includes new forewords by Julia Cameron and Bill Addison. It also includes a new preface in which Goldberg reflects on the enduring quality of the teachings here. She writes, "What have I learned about writing over these thirty years? I’ve written fourteen books, and it’s the practice here in Bones that is the foundation, sustaining and building my writing voice, that keeps me honest, teaches me how to endure the hard times and how to drop below discursive thinking, to taste the real meat of our minds and the life around us."

Writing for Health Professionals

Author: Philip Burnard
Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 9781489928511
Release Date: 2013-12-20
Genre: Medical

I try to leave out the parts that people skip. Elmore Leonard This book is all about writing: it is both a practical and a personal account. When you write a book like this you put yourself on the line: you run the risk of people reading what you have written and saying 'he's saying one thing and doing another'. You stand to break the rules that you set up - quite badly. That is probably not such a terrible thing; besides, that should be part of the process of using this book. As you read it, notice when rules are broken. Check the phrasing, the sentence and paragraph construction, and see whether or not I have stuck to the rules. Then see whether or not the rules would have improved the passage in question. Begin to read books as much for their style, layout and general format as for their con tent. If you are going to write, you need to see plenty of examples of all of these things - good, bad and indifferent. to write for some time but was always This is a book I have wanted nervous of writing, so here it is: an introduction to some of the ways and means of writing. lt is, as I say, personal; I hope it will be useful. A word about sexism and the writing process. I find the use of 'his or her' and its variants clumsy.

How to Talk American

Author: Jim Crotty
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0395780322
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Humor

Provides a guide to American speech from around the nation, including Detroit, Chicago, and Seattle, and on such topics as Deadheads, Disney, the music business, sports, and street slang

You Write It Graphic Novel

Author: John Hamilton
Publisher: ABDO Publishing Company
ISBN: 9781617865657
Release Date: 2010-09-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

This title gives children the tools they need to turn their creativity into readable, cohesive stories. Written by award-winning author and screenwriter John Hamilton, You Write It! Lays out for kids the format, organization, and development of a graphic novel. Novice writers of all ages will find this book a detailed yet easy-to-follow guide for turning thoughts and ideas into readable written works. ABDO & Daughters is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.

A Writer s Guide to Fiction

Author: Elizabeth Lyon
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101143886
Release Date: 2004-06-01
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

The second book in the Writer's Compass series from professional writing instructor Elizabeth Lyon offers both aspiring and established authors the fundamentals of writing and selling a great novel or short story. In addition to the basics of characterization, plot, pacing, and theme, A Writer's Guide to Fiction also features a plan for revising fiction, a guide to marketing, samples of cover and query letters, and methods of honing the writing craft.