A Cornish Affair

Author: Liz Fenwick
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409142782
Release Date: 2013-05-23
Genre: Fiction

In the bestselling tradition of Rosamund Pilcher, a gloriously romantic novel of secrets and history, from the author of the highly popular THE CORNISH HOUSE. Running out on your wedding day never goes down well. When the pressure of her forthcoming marriage becomes too much, Jude bolts from the church, leaving a good man at the altar, her mother in a fury, and the guests with enough gossip to last a year. Guilty and ashamed, Jude flees to Pengarrock, a crumbling cliff-top mansion in Cornwall, where she takes a job cataloguing the Trevillion family's extensive library. The house is a welcome escape for Jude, full of history and secrets, but when its new owner arrives, it's clear that Pengarrock is not beloved by everyone. As Jude falls under the spell of the house, she learns of a family riddle stemming from a terrible tragedy centuries before, hinting at a lost treasure. And when Pengarrock is put up for sale, it seems that time is running out for the house and for Jude.

A Cornish Affair

Author: Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Publisher: Dales Large Print
ISBN: 1853894478
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Fiction


Ein Sommer in Cornwall

Author: Liz Fenwick
Publisher: Goldmann Verlag
ISBN: 9783641131494
Release Date: 2014-09-15
Genre: Fiction

In wenigen Minuten soll Judith zum Altar schreiten. Doch als sie in den Spiegel blickt, fällt ihr auf, dass nicht nur das Kleid von ihrer Mutter ausgewählt wurde, sondern auch der Mann, der auf sie wartet. Kurzentschlossen macht Judith auf dem Absatz kehrt und flieht zu ihrer Patentante nach Cornwall. In Pengarrock, einem alten Herrenhaus, nimmt sie einen Job als Archivarin an. Bald schon ziehen sie das Anwesen und auch der faszinierende Tristan Trevillion in ihren Bann. Doch Pengarrock steht zum Verkauf. Nur wenn Judith hinter das jahrzehntelang gehütete Familiengeheimnis der Trevillions kommt, kann Pengarrock noch gerettet werden.

A Cornish Stranger

Author: Liz Fenwick
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409148258
Release Date: 2014-05-22
Genre: Fiction

For fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, a heart-warming romantic novel set in Cornwall from the bestselling author of THE CORNISH HOUSE and A CORNISH AFFAIR. There's an old Cornish saying: 'Save a stranger from the sea, he'll turn your enemy . . .' When her reclusive grandmother becomes too frail to live alone, Gabriella Blythe moves into the remote waterside cabin on Frenchman's Creek which has been her grandmother's home for decades. Once a celebrated artist, Jaunty's days are coming to a close but she is still haunted by events in her past, particularly the sinking of Lancasteria during the war. Everything is fine until a handsome stranger arrives in a storm, seeking help. Fin has been left a family legacy: a delicate watercolour of a cabin above the creek which leads him to this beautiful stretch of Cornish water. As Fin begins to pick at the clues of the painting, he is drawn into the lives of Gabe and Jaunty, unraveling a remarkable story of identity and betrayal . . . In this delightful novel, Liz Fenwick weaves a spell-binding tale of romance and intrigue, set against the gorgeous Cornish coast.

Under a Cornish Sky

Author: Liz Fenwick
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409148296
Release Date: 2015-05-07
Genre: Fiction

*Shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Romantic Novel of the Year 2016* Demi desperately needs her luck to change. On the sleeper train down to Cornwall, she can't help wondering why everything always goes wrong for her. Having missed out on her dream job, and left with nowhere to stay following her boyfriend's betrayal, pitching up at her grandfather's cottage is her only option. Victoria thinks she's finally got what she wanted: Boscawen, the gorgeous Cornish estate her family owned for generations should now rightfully be hers, following her husband's sudden death. After years of a loveless marriage and many secret affairs of her own, Victoria thinks new widowhood will suit her very well indeed . . . But both women are in for a surprise. Surrounded by orchards, gardens and the sea, Boscawen is about to play an unexpected role in both their lives. Can two such different women find a way forward when luck changes both their lives so drastically? In UNDER A CORNISH SKY Liz Fenwick weaves another deliciously irresistible tale set in the heart of her beloved Cornwall.

The Cornish overseas

Author: Philip Payton
Publisher: A. Associates
ISBN: STANFORD:36105025189999
Release Date: 1999-01
Genre: History


The Cornish House

Author: Liz Fenwick
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409142751
Release Date: 2012-05-24
Genre: Fiction

Escape to the beautiful Cornish coast with this heart-tugging, romantic story - perfect for fans of Fern Britton and Rosamunde Pilcher When artist Maddie inherits a house in Cornwall shortly after the death of her husband, she hopes it will be the fresh start she and her step-daughter desperately need. Trevenen is beautiful but neglected, and as Maddie discovers the stories of generations of women who've lived there before, she begins to feel her life is somehow intertwined within its walls. But Maddie's dream of a calm life in the countryside is far from the reality she faces - and as she pulls at the seams of Trevenen's past, the house reveals secrets that have lain hidden for generations. 'A heart tugging story of loss and recovery' Fanny Blake, WOMAN & HOME 'This is a book about loss, misguided decisions, heartbreak and change, but it's also about hope, long held secrets and friendships formed between the unlikeliest of people ... [it] made me laugh out loud and cry a few times. I loved it' NOVELICIOUS 'The story is beautifully told with characters who reach out to you' SIDMOUTH HERALD 'THE CORNISH HOUSE is an escapist and often emotional book, in which relationships are put to the test' STAR MAGAZINE 'Totally absorbing, a delightful debut novel' TELEGRAPH & ARGUS

Country Plot

Author: Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781780102306
Release Date: 2012-10-01
Genre: Fiction

Jenna’s life is perfect . . . perfect chaos! - One lousy Monday, Jenna loses her gorgeous job, her even more gorgeous boyfriend, and her home. In an attempt to put aside her personal woes, Jenna goes to catalogue books for an elderly cousin, Kitty Everest, at her country mansion. Horrified to discover that Kitty may be forced to sell Holtby House, Jenna throws herself into a scheme to save it. But when an attempt is made on her life, Jenna finds herself in a race to save Holtby, Kitty – and herself.

Blood Never Dies

Author: Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781780103228
Release Date: 2012-12-01
Genre: Fiction

Bill Slider and his team face a mystery when an unidentifiable man appears to have committed suicide but all signs point to murder A boiling-hot August day and a handsome young man is found dead in his bath, exsanguinated. Bill Slider’s colleague takes one look at the body and is convinced something isn’t quite right. As Bill investigates, he reluctantly has to agree. But as Slider and his team try to identify the man – whose personal papers are missing, along with his wallet and keys – it seems that the more they find out about him, the less they really know . . .

Star Fall

Author: Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781780106090
Release Date: 2015-03-01
Genre: Fiction

Who would kill a charming antiques expert Rowland Egerton, the darling of daytime TV? Bill Slider and his team are on the case . . . ‘It’s quiet out there,’ says DS Atherton, at Bill Slider’s office window. ‘Too quiet.’ Right on cue, the phone rings. ‘Now look what you’ve done,’ says Slider. It’s a homicide. The post-Christmas lull is officially over. The deceased is antiques expert Rowland Egerton, the darling of daytime TV, stabbed to death in his luxurious West London home. The press are going to be all over this one like a nasty rash: the pressure’s on Slider for a result, and soon. Egerton’s partner, the bulky, granite-faced John Lavender, found the body; did he also do the deed? Or was it a burglary gone wrong? A missing Fabergé box and Impressionist painting point that way. But as Slider and his team investigate, none of the facts seem to fit. And it soon becomes clear that the much-loved, charming Mr Egerton wasn’t as universally loved, or perhaps as charming, as Slider was first led to believe . . .

Das Leuchten des Meeres

Author: Liz Fenwick
Publisher: Goldmann Verlag
ISBN: 9783641223304
Release Date: 2018-06-18
Genre: Fiction

Cornwall 1943: Als sich die Schwestern Adele und Amelia im Schatten des Krieges Lebewohl sagen, ahnen sie nicht, dass eine folgenschwere Tat ihr Schicksal für immer bestimmen wird. – Cape Cod 2015: Vor seinem Tod spricht Laras geliebter Urgroßvater nur ein Wort: »Adele«. Die junge Starköchin steht vor einem Rätsel, denn dies ist nicht der Name seiner früh verstorbenen Frau. Mitten in einer persönlichen Krise macht sie sich auf nach Cornwall, in die Heimat ihrer Urgroßmutter Amelia. Lara hofft, dort ihre Wurzeln zu finden, und stößt auf ein tragisches Geheimnis, das die Geschicke der Familie über Generationen geprägt hat ...

One Cornish Summer

Author: Liz Fenwick
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781409162162
Release Date: 2018-03-08
Genre: Fiction

'One Cornish Summer captured my heart and didn't let it go until long after I'd finished it. A heart rending story about secrets, lies and the power of love' Cathy Bramley Against the beauty of Cornwall, a story of two women struggling with their past: one cannot remember hers, the other cannot forget... When Hebe receives a life-changing diagnosis at only 53, she struggles to make sense of what it will mean for her, her job and the man she loves. With memories slipping away by the day, she flees to the one place she has always felt safe and peaceful - Cornwall, and the house her family spent so many summers in. Lucy is having her own crisis, and seizes the chance to follow her aunt to Cornwall. Curious about what has driven Hebe there after so many years, she also has to battle with the secret she has kept since her family's last summer there more than ten years ago. Both women will learn that memories live in our hearts and that sharing secrets can set you free... But can they find their way back to the things that are truly important to them? The perfect escapist read for fans of Rachel Hore, Lucinda Riley and Karen Swan. 'Full of warmth, wisdom and compassion...Liz Fenwick's writing is vivid, satisfying and descriptive' Daily Express 'A moving and heart-felt story' The Lady 'Fenwick brings us her best novel yet in One Cornish Summer as she casts her humane and discerning eye over family bonds, relationships, the nature of love, and the power of the landscape to inspire, console and renew... Immaculately researched and emotionally astute, this is a fabulous holiday read with heart, drama, history and humour' Lancashire Post ***** Readers are enchanted by One Cornish Summer: 'A joy to read' 'Once more Liz has transported me to my favourite place in Cornwall to walk side by side with her characters...A perfect read in any season!' 'Wonderful characters, secrets and romance...hard to put down' 'Simply outstanding...a story that will carry you away' 'Liz Fenwick has done it again...A must read' 'Characters who become part of your life in a beautiful, evocative setting' 'Love, relationships, and secrets...a sublime read which is cleverly crafted, intricately researched and beautifully written' 'This book will always be a very special one for me' 'Absolutely perfect Cornish read' 'What a heartwarming but heartbreaking story'