Dakota Home

Author: Debbie Macomber
Publisher: MIRA
ISBN: 9781426809408
Release Date: 2007-12-01
Genre: Fiction

Buffalo Valley has found new life. People have started moving to this town—people like Lindsay Snyder, who came as a teacher and stayed, marrying local farmer Gage Sinclair. And now Lindsay's best friend, Maddy Washburn, has decided to pull up stakes and join her in Buffalo Valley, hoping for the same kind of satisfaction. And the same kind of love… Jeb McKenna is a rancher, a solitary man who's learned to endure. Maddy—unafraid and openhearted—is drawn to Jeb, but he rejects her overtures. Until one of North Dakota's deadly storms throws them together… Those few days and nights bring unexpected consequences for Maddy and Jeb. Consequences that, one way or another, affect everyone in Buffalo Valley.

Dakota Home The Dakota Series Book 2

Author: Debbie Macomber
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9781472010339
Release Date: 2013-05-03
Genre: Fiction

Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy' - Candis Debbie Macomber welcomes you to the little town with love in the air!

Home Is Where the Heart Is

Author: Linda Byler
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781680993653
Release Date: 2018-05-01
Genre: Fiction

Hannah, feisty and independent as ever, has put everything into building up her family’s homestead in North Dakota. Despite tragedy and almost unimaginable hardship due to the Great Depression, unpredictable weather, and unforgiving landscape, she and her new husband Jerry are leading their Amish friends and family in their homesteading venture. When the winter storms and the untimely death of a child become too much for the rest of the community to bear, they move back east. But Hannah and Jerry stay on, doggedly pursuing Hannah’s dreams of a successful ranch. But even Jerry’s spirits begin to fail and when a flag of grasshoppers destroys every last morsel of vegetation after yet another drought, Hannah finally relents and they too return to the fertile soil of Pennsylvania, where life will be safe and predictable. Or so they think, but when tragedy strikes again, Hannah is suddenly a widow, in a place that no longer feels like home and with family who cannot grasp the depth of the losses she has experienced. Hannah grapples with her faith, struggling to understand who she is and where she belongs. Always before, a flash of anger or defiance had fueled her strong will in the face of adversity and allowed her to push on toward her goals. But what did she have left to fight for now? Slowly, painfully, her heart begins to change. As she begins to reclaim her faith and her strong sense of self, she also starts to notice a handsome, burly man who is unlike anyone she’s known before. Is it possible she could find love again in Lancaster? What will it take for her to feel like she’s home, like she finally belongs somewhere?

A Home for Dakota

Author: Jan Zita Grover
Publisher:
ISBN: 0940719363
Release Date: 2016-09-13
Genre: Juvenile Fiction


Dakota

Author: Brenda K. Marshall
Publisher: Untreed Reads
ISBN: 9781611870442
Release Date: 2010-12-16
Genre: Fiction

The lives and schemes of frontier politicians, Northern Pacific Railroad executives, bonanza farmers, and homesteaders converge in the story of Frances Houghton Bingham, who marries the son of a Red River Valley bonanza farmer in order to remain near her new husband's sister. Emotionally complex, willful and resourceful, Frances is seduced by the myths of opportunity driving the settlement of Dakota Territory, and dares to dream of a new world in which to realize her unconventional desires. Providing a counterpoint to the dramatic risks taken by Frances is the generous voice of Kirsten Knudson, the daughter of Norwegian homesteaders. As Kirsten grows from a voluble girl to a formidable woman, her observations (equal parts absurdity and insight) reveal the heart of the novel.

My First Pocket Guide About North Dakota

Author: Carole Marsh
Publisher: Gallopade International
ISBN: 9780635088024
Release Date: 2011-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

The perfect reference guide for students in grades 3 and up - or anyone! This handy, easy-to-use reference guide is divided into seven color-coded sections which includes North Dakota basic facts, geography, history, people, places, nature and miscellaneous information. Each section is color coded for easy recognition. This Pocket Guide comes with complete and comprehensive facts ALL about North Dakota. Riddles, recipes, and surprising facts make this guide a delight! North Dakota Basics section explores your state's symbols and their special meaning. North Dakota Geography section digs up the what's where in North Dakota. North Dakota History section is like traveling through time to some of North Dakota's greatest moments. North Dakota People section introduces you to famous personalities and your next-door neighbors. North Dakota Places section shows you where you might enjoy your next family vacation. North Dakota Nature section tells what Mother Nature gave to North Dakota. North Dakota Miscellaneous section describes the real fun stuff ALL about North Dakota.

Nursing Home Rates in the Upper Midwest

Author: Susan Von Mosch
Publisher: DIANE Publishing
ISBN: 0788149385
Release Date: 1998-05-01
Genre:

Compares Minnesota's Medicaid reimbursement rates for nursing home services with rates charged in neighboring states. Describes the nursing home industry & Medicaid reimbursement system in each state, & compares the Medicaid reimbursement rates in each state. Discusses rate equalization, examines the allowable costs reported by nursing home providers in each state, focuses on quality of care & the characteristics of nursing home residents, discusses the effect of reimbursement limits & incentive payments on nursing home rates, & examines Minnesota's nursing homes by geographic groups. Charts & tables.

The Last Letter Home

Author: Vilhelm Moberg
Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society Press
ISBN: 0873517164
Release Date: 2008-10-14
Genre: Fiction


Dakota Grammar

Author: Stephen Return Riggs
Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society Press
ISBN: 0873514726
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

"This classic work on the language, grammar, tales, history, and culture of the Dakota Indians is the result of many years of linguistic study and personal experience spent in Minnesota by Stephen R. Riggs, who arrived as a Presbyterian missionary in 1837 ... In Dakota grammar, Riggs presents three interrelating aspects of language and culture, beginning with a detailed description of the Santee dialect of the Dakota language and its grammar. The texts of the traditional stories ... are each accompanied by full English translations. Riggs also provides an ethnographic overview of various aspects of Dakota culture and history that enhances the value of the book to all students of Dakota"--Back cover.

Journey to Third Heart

Author: Cliff Gunnare
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781469140070
Release Date: 2012-01-27
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Journey To Third Heart is the story of not just one heart transplant but two heart transplants. A story that may be uplifting for others who are waiting for a transplant or surgery of one kind or another. A story that promotes a positive attitude in all that you do and in all that you have to face in life's journey.

North Dakota

Author: Weigl Publishing, Inc.
Publisher: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.
ISBN: 9781593397807
Release Date: 2008-05-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

North Dakota: The Peace Garden State, is a part of the Discover America Series. North Dakota celebrates the people and culture with beautiful images and engaging facts as well as describing the history, industry, environment, and sports that make this state unique.

Dakota Martyrs

Author: Wayne Vleck
Publisher: Bunyan Family Books
ISBN: 0970668503
Release Date: 2004-10-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Eight people came. Three of them would never make it back home again. Here is an excerpt from Dakota Martyrs: The Story You Never Heard. "Often Cornelia would ask for water and was very grateful every time she was given some. At times she would say, "I feel so strangely. What is the matter. Have I been shot?" After a while she began to understand that she probably did not have long to live. She then began to think more of her Savior and would often be heard praying. One time she asked David to "Tell Anna to love the Savior." When David talked to her about the Savior she said, "He is my only hope." Towards the end she said a number of times, "I cannot die." When David first heard her say that he did not know quite what to think about it. Soon afterwards, though, his mind was relieved when he heard her say, "Oh, Jesus, if it be Thy will, let me die; and oh, give me patience!" Over 150 years ago the first Protestant missionaries came to a place that would one day be called North Dakota. This is their story that has been nearly forgotten for over 75 years.