Dakota Home

Author: Debbie Macomber
Publisher: MIRA
ISBN: 9781426809408
Release Date: 2007-12-01
Genre: Fiction

Buffalo Valley has found new life. People have started moving to this town—people like Lindsay Snyder, who came as a teacher and stayed, marrying local farmer Gage Sinclair. And now Lindsay's best friend, Maddy Washburn, has decided to pull up stakes and join her in Buffalo Valley, hoping for the same kind of satisfaction. And the same kind of love… Jeb McKenna is a rancher, a solitary man who's learned to endure. Maddy—unafraid and openhearted—is drawn to Jeb, but he rejects her overtures. Until one of North Dakota's deadly storms throws them together… Those few days and nights bring unexpected consequences for Maddy and Jeb. Consequences that, one way or another, affect everyone in Buffalo Valley.

Dakota Home The Dakota Series Book 2

Author: Debbie Macomber
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9781472010339
Release Date: 2013-05-03
Genre: Fiction

Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy' - Candis Debbie Macomber welcomes you to the little town with love in the air!

Dakota

Author: Brenda K. Marshall
Publisher: Untreed Reads
ISBN: 9781611870442
Release Date: 2010-12-16
Genre: Fiction

The lives and schemes of frontier politicians, Northern Pacific Railroad executives, bonanza farmers, and homesteaders converge in the story of Frances Houghton Bingham, who marries the son of a Red River Valley bonanza farmer in order to remain near her new husband's sister. Emotionally complex, willful and resourceful, Frances is seduced by the myths of opportunity driving the settlement of Dakota Territory, and dares to dream of a new world in which to realize her unconventional desires. Providing a counterpoint to the dramatic risks taken by Frances is the generous voice of Kirsten Knudson, the daughter of Norwegian homesteaders. As Kirsten grows from a voluble girl to a formidable woman, her observations (equal parts absurdity and insight) reveal the heart of the novel.

Home Is Where the Heart Is

Author: Linda Byler
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781680993653
Release Date: 2018-05-01
Genre: Fiction

Hannah, feisty and independent as ever, has put everything into building up her family’s homestead in North Dakota. Despite tragedy and almost unimaginable hardship due to the Great Depression, unpredictable weather, and unforgiving landscape, she and her new husband Jerry are leading their Amish friends and family in their homesteading venture. When the winter storms and the untimely death of a child become too much for the rest of the community to bear, they move back east. But Hannah and Jerry stay on, doggedly pursuing Hannah’s dreams of a successful ranch. But even Jerry’s spirits begin to fail and when a flag of grasshoppers destroys every last morsel of vegetation after yet another drought, Hannah finally relents and they too return to the fertile soil of Pennsylvania, where life will be safe and predictable. Or so they think, but when tragedy strikes again, Hannah is suddenly a widow, in a place that no longer feels like home and with family who cannot grasp the depth of the losses she has experienced. Hannah grapples with her faith, struggling to understand who she is and where she belongs. Always before, a flash of anger or defiance had fueled her strong will in the face of adversity and allowed her to push on toward her goals. But what did she have left to fight for now? Slowly, painfully, her heart begins to change. As she begins to reclaim her faith and her strong sense of self, she also starts to notice a handsome, burly man who is unlike anyone she’s known before. Is it possible she could find love again in Lancaster? What will it take for her to feel like she’s home, like she finally belongs somewhere?

My First Pocket Guide About North Dakota

Author: Carole Marsh
Publisher: Gallopade International
ISBN: 9780635088024
Release Date: 2011-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

The perfect reference guide for students in grades 3 and up - or anyone! This handy, easy-to-use reference guide is divided into seven color-coded sections which includes North Dakota basic facts, geography, history, people, places, nature and miscellaneous information. Each section is color coded for easy recognition. This Pocket Guide comes with complete and comprehensive facts ALL about North Dakota. Riddles, recipes, and surprising facts make this guide a delight! North Dakota Basics section explores your state's symbols and their special meaning. North Dakota Geography section digs up the what's where in North Dakota. North Dakota History section is like traveling through time to some of North Dakota's greatest moments. North Dakota People section introduces you to famous personalities and your next-door neighbors. North Dakota Places section shows you where you might enjoy your next family vacation. North Dakota Nature section tells what Mother Nature gave to North Dakota. North Dakota Miscellaneous section describes the real fun stuff ALL about North Dakota.

Nursing Home Rates in the Upper Midwest

Author: Susan Von Mosch
Publisher: DIANE Publishing
ISBN: 0788149385
Release Date: 1998-05-01
Genre:

Compares Minnesota's Medicaid reimbursement rates for nursing home services with rates charged in neighboring states. Describes the nursing home industry & Medicaid reimbursement system in each state, & compares the Medicaid reimbursement rates in each state. Discusses rate equalization, examines the allowable costs reported by nursing home providers in each state, focuses on quality of care & the characteristics of nursing home residents, discusses the effect of reimbursement limits & incentive payments on nursing home rates, & examines Minnesota's nursing homes by geographic groups. Charts & tables.

The Last Letter Home

Author: Vilhelm Moberg
Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society Press
ISBN: 0873517164
Release Date: 2008-10-14
Genre: Fiction


Sweet Home Montana

Author: Lisa Mondello
Publisher: Lisa Mondello
ISBN: 9781940512341
Release Date: 2018-06-02
Genre: Fiction

Dumped by a cheating husband, Katie Dobbs' life had gone off the rails and she is now back to square one, living in her parents' home in Sweet, Montana and working a job she hates. She refuses to stay in a dark and empty house as a constant reminder of her mistakes. So she did the only thing that made sense. She breaks into an old dilapidated chapel to figure out her next move, and is nearly arrested by Caleb Samuel, her brother's high school friend who is now a handsome police officer in town. Caleb had heard Katie was having a hard time. Sweet was a small town and everyone knew everyone else's business. Except for one thing. No one knew where his sister Julie disappeared to 10 years ago and no one had heard from her since. Katie had been good friends with Julie before they'd both left Sweet. Now Katie is back. Buying a broken down chapel to renovate as a house is nuts when you don't know the difference between each end of a hammer. And Katie didn't. But she did know Julie, and maybe she'd be able to give him some insight into where Julie had gone. Caleb offers to help Katie renovate. But one problem after another threatens the project, and leaves Katie thinking she'll never realize her dreams. Until she realizes she's falling in love with her brother's friend. Even as everything seems to be falling apart around them, can love help heal their hearts?

Journey to Third Heart

Author: Cliff Gunnare
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781469140070
Release Date: 2012-01-27
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Journey To Third Heart is the story of not just one heart transplant but two heart transplants. A story that may be uplifting for others who are waiting for a transplant or surgery of one kind or another. A story that promotes a positive attitude in all that you do and in all that you have to face in life's journey.

Dakota Grammar

Author: Stephen Return Riggs
Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society Press
ISBN: 0873514726
Release Date: 2004
Genre: History

"This classic work on the language, grammar, tales, history, and culture of the Dakota Indians is the result of many years of linguistic study and personal experience spent in Minnesota by Stephen R. Riggs, who arrived as a Presbyterian missionary in 1837 ... In Dakota grammar, Riggs presents three interrelating aspects of language and culture, beginning with a detailed description of the Santee dialect of the Dakota language and its grammar. The texts of the traditional stories ... are each accompanied by full English translations. Riggs also provides an ethnographic overview of various aspects of Dakota culture and history that enhances the value of the book to all students of Dakota"--Back cover.

North Dakota

Author: Weigl Publishing, Inc.
Publisher: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.
ISBN: 9781593397807
Release Date: 2008-05-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

North Dakota: The Peace Garden State, is a part of the Discover America Series. North Dakota celebrates the people and culture with beautiful images and engaging facts as well as describing the history, industry, environment, and sports that make this state unique.

North Dakota

Author:
Publisher: Watchmaker Publishing, Ltd
ISBN: 1603861157
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Cities and towns


Northern Slave Black Dakota

Author: Walt Bachman
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com
ISBN: 9781459660991
Release Date: 2013-03
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Born a slave in free territory, Joseph Godfrey died widely reviled for his controversial role in the U.S. Dakota War of 1862. Separated from his mother at age five when his master sold her, Joseph Godfrey was kept in bondage in Minnesota to serve the fur - trade elite. To escape his masters' beatings and abuse, he sought refuge in his teens among the Dakota people he'd befriended as a child slave. Godfrey married a Dakota woman and was living with his family on the Lower Sioux Reservation in 1862. Conscripted to don war paint and join Dakota warriors who killed defenseless settlers in the opening days of the U.S. - Dakota War of 1862, he became the first of hundreds of men tried by a military court when the six - week war ended in late September. Commander Henry Sibley, who created the court, was one of his former masters. Sibley approved death sentences for Godfrey and 302 other Dakota soldiers. In this riveting, first - ever biography of Joseph Godfrey, historian and retired lawyer Walt Bachman untangles the thorny questions that haunt Godfrey's story: How was he enslaved in a free state? Did he murder the frontier settlers for which the Dakota dubbed him Otakle - ''Many Kills''? Did he turn traitor to save his own skin? Did Godfrey's testimony send 38 Dakota men - including his father - in - law - to the gallows on the day after Christmas, 1862? In this carefully researched, stunning historical debut, Bachman argues that the 1862 war trials that ended with the largest mass execution in U.S. history, were both more just, and more unfair than we've ever guessed.