Eruptions that Shook the World

Author: Clive Oppenheimer
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781139496391
Release Date: 2011-05-26
Genre: Science

What does it take for a volcanic eruption to really shake the world? Did volcanic eruptions extinguish the dinosaurs, or help humans to evolve, only to decimate their populations with a super-eruption 73,000 years ago? Did they contribute to the ebb and flow of ancient empires, the French Revolution and the rise of fascism in Europe in the 19th century? These are some of the claims made for volcanic cataclysm. Volcanologist Clive Oppenheimer explores rich geological, historical, archaeological and palaeoenvironmental records (such as ice cores and tree rings) to tell the stories behind some of the greatest volcanic events of the past quarter of a billion years. He shows how a forensic approach to volcanology reveals the richness and complexity behind cause and effect, and argues that important lessons for future catastrophe risk management can be drawn from understanding events that took place even at the dawn of human origins.

Disasters that shook the world

Author: Cathie Cush
Publisher: Heinemann/Raintree
ISBN: 0811449297
Release Date: 1994
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes twenty famous disasters, from the eruption of Mount Vesuvius, to the sinking of the Titanic, to Hurricanes Andrew and Iniki.

The Year Without Summer

Author: William K. Klingaman
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781250012067
Release Date: 2013-02-26
Genre: History

Like Winchester's Krakatoa, The Year Without Summer reveals a year of dramatic global change long forgotten by history In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death. 1816 was a remarkable year—mostly for the fact that there was no summer. As a result of a volcanic eruption in Indonesia, weather patterns were disrupted worldwide for months, allowing for excessive rain, frost, and snowfall through much of the Northeastern U.S. and Europe in the summer of 1816. In the U.S., the extraordinary weather produced food shortages, religious revivals, and extensive migration from New England to the Midwest. In Europe, the cold and wet summer led to famine, food riots, the transformation of stable communities into wandering beggars, and one of the worst typhus epidemics in history. 1816 was the year Frankenstein was written. It was also the year Turner painted his fiery sunsets. All of these things are linked to global climate change—something we are quite aware of now, but that was utterly mysterious to people in the nineteenth century, who concocted all sorts of reasons for such an ungenial season. Making use of a wealth of source material and employing a compelling narrative approach featuring peasants and royalty, politicians, writers, and scientists, The Year Without Summer by William K. Klingaman and Nicholas P. Klingaman examines not only the climate change engendered by this event, but also its effects on politics, the economy, the arts, and social structures.

The Solar Revolution

Author: Steve McKevitt
Publisher: Icon Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781848317871
Release Date: 2014-07-03
Genre: Technology & Engineering

It’s an astonishing fact that capturing all the energy in just one hour’s worth of sunlight would enable us to meet the planet’s food and energy needs for an entire year. The Solar Revolution tells the story of how scientists are working to reconnect us to the ‘solar economy’, harnessing the power of the sun to provide sustainable food and energy for a global population of 10 billion people: an achievement that would end our dependence on ‘fossilised sunshine’ in the form of coal, oil and gas and remake our connection with the soil that grows our food. Steve McKevitt and Tony Ryan describe the human race’s complex relationship with the sun and take us back through history to see how our world became the place it is today – chemically, geologically, ecologically, climatically and economically – before moving on to the cutting-edge science and technology that will enable us to live happily in a sustainable future.

The Americana Annual

Author: Alexander Hopkins McDannald
Publisher:
ISBN: 0717202232
Release Date: 1992
Genre: Encyclopedias and dictionaries


Project Sunshine

Author: Steve McKevitt
Publisher: Icon Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781848315624
Release Date: 2013-03-13
Genre: Technology & Engineering

It’s an astonishing fact that capturing all the energy in just one hour’s worth of sunlight would enable us to meet the planet’s food and energy needs for an entire year. Project Sunshine tells the story of how scientists are working to reconnect us to the ‘solar economy’, harnessing the power of the sun to provide sustainable food and energy for a global population of 10 billion people: an achievement that would end our dependence on ‘fossilised sunshine’ in the form of coal, oil and gas and remake our connection with the soil that grows our food. Steve McKevitt and Tony Ryan describe the human race’s complex relationship with the sun and take us back through history to see how our world became the place it is today – chemically, geologically, ecologically, climatically and economically – before moving on to the cutting-edge science and technology that will enable us to live happily in a sustainable future.

Thera and the Exodus

Author: Riaan Booysen
Publisher: John Hunt Publishing
ISBN: 9781780994505
Release Date: 2013-02-08
Genre: Religion

Of all the volcanic eruptions that shook the earth, two of the volcano on the Aegean island Thera, modern Santorini, are more important to the modern world than any other. Not only did they lead to the formation of the people known as the Israelites, but indirectly also gave birth to the god of Judaism, Islam and Christianity. The biblical Exodus of the Israelites from Egypt is closely linked to these two eruptions, the second which occurred ca. 1450-1410 BCE during the reign of Amenhotep III, Egypt's golden pharaoh. The fallout of the eruption caused a deadly plague to break out in Egypt and to appease the perceived anger of the gods, Amenhotep ordered all firstborn in Egypt to be sacrificed in fires. His firstborn son, Crown Prince Tuthmosis, was first in line to be sacrificed, but was saved from the fire in the nick of time, an event recorded as the 'burning bush' episode in the Bible. Prince Tuthmosis became the biblical Moses and the events of that followed are now finally revealed.

Eternal Life Inc

Author: James Burkard
Publisher: John Hunt Publishing
ISBN: 9781782795698
Release Date: 2015-01-30
Genre: Fiction

An alien army is crossing the astral planes of the quantum field, snapping up the souls of the recently dead and taking possession of the living. The only one who can stop them is Harry Neuman, a womanizing, alcoholic movie star with his career on the skids and a contract to die again and again. This is Eternal Life Inc., a different kind of science-fiction novel combining physics and metaphysics in a fast-paced adventure about an alien invasion that starts not in outer space but in the inner space of the human mind.

The Little Giant Book of Weird Wacky Facts

Author: Sterling Publishing Company
Publisher: Sterling Publishing Company, Inc.
ISBN: 140271548X
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Presents a compilation of wacky and sometimes icky facts that includes such topics as food, customs, animals, history, nature, and sports.

Volcano

Author: James Hamilton
Publisher: Reaktion Books
ISBN: 9781861899552
Release Date: 2013-02-15
Genre: Science

For years, tourists have trekked across cracked rock at Hawaii’s Kilauea volcano to witness the awe-inspiring sight of creeping lava and its devastating effects on the landscape. In 2010, Eyjafjallajökull erupted in Iceland, stranding travelers as a cloud of ash covered western and northern Europe, causing the largest disruption of air travel since World War II. And just a few months later, Mount Merapi blew in Indonesia, killing over 350 people and displacing over 350,000 others, awakening people once more to the dangerous potential of these sleeping giants. Though today largely dormant, volcanoes continue to erupt across the world, reminding us of their sheer physical power. In Volcano, James Hamilton explores the cultural history generated by the violence and terrifying beauty of volcanoes. He describes the reverberations of early eruptions of Vesuvius and Etna in Greek and Roman myth. He also examines the depiction of volcanoes in art—from the earliest known wall painting of an erupting volcano in 6200 BCE to the distinctive colors of Andy Warhol and Michael Sandle’s exploding mountains. Surveying a number of twenty-first-century works, Hamilton shows that volcanoes continue to influence the artistic imagination. Combining established figures such as Joseph Wright and J. M. W. Turner with previously unseen perspectives, this richly illustrated book will appeal to anyone interested in science as well as the cultural impact of these spectacular natural features.

Atlantis

Author: David Gibbins
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755375196
Release Date: 2010-03-04
Genre: Fiction

Archaeologist Jack Howard is a brave but cautious man. When he embarked on a new search for buried treasure in the Mediterranean, he knew it was a long shot. But when Jack Howard and his intrepid crew finally got close to uncovering the secrets the sea had held for thousands of years, nothing could have prepared them for what they would find ...

Popular Science

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN:
Release Date: 1923-03
Genre:

Popular Science gives our readers the information and tools to improve their technology and their world. The core belief that Popular Science and our readers share: The future is going to be better, and science and technology are the driving forces that will help make it better.

The Mark of the Beast

Author: Trevor Ravenscroft
Publisher: Weiser Books
ISBN: 1609258517
Release Date: 1997-01-15
Genre: Body, Mind & Spirit

This book is the result of years of research into the history of the Spear of Destiny and the struggle between good and evil in the Western world. For 2,000 years, the Spear of Destiny, purported to have pierced the side of Christ while he was on the cross, has been sought by rulers of the Western world, who have tried to harness the Spear's absolute power. This book explores the odyssey of the Spear and its potential role in the Apocalypse. Illustrated.

DK Experience Volcano

Author:
Publisher: Dorling Kindersley Ltd
ISBN: 9781405336024
Release Date: 2006-05-04
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Your adventure starts here! Experience the Earth's awesome power in Volcano. Come on an incredible visual journey from the molten core through a magma chamber to fiery rivers of lava. Witness a violent eruption as fantastic digital images show you a volcano as you've never seen it before. Follow an astonishing story with first-hand accounts, incredible facts and action-packed scenes. Read the story from start to finish or just dip in and out when you feel like it. Brilliant for homework and school projects or just for fun. Plus, each book comes with a gigantic, 1.8m free pull-out poster!

The Rough Guide to Surviving the End of the World

Author: Paul Parsons
Publisher: Rough Guides UK
ISBN: 9781405385961
Release Date: 2012-07-25
Genre: Body, Mind & Spirit

Discusses a variety of ways in which the world could end--including megatsunamis, robot attacks, global warming, and alien invasions--and presents potential strategies for surviving each.