National Geographic Readers Sharks

Author: Anne Schreiber
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426312960
Release Date: 2012-07-24
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

He’s quick. He’s silent. He has five rows of deadly teeth. Chomp! Meet the shark—the fish who ruled the deep before dinosaurs roamed the Earth! This fish has soft cartilage so he can glide, twist, and turn before his prey can say "gulp!" He can smell a single drop of blood in 25 million drops of ocean. He can feel electricity given off by his prey. He will lose and replace more than 10,000 teeth in his lifetime. Cool photos bring kids into the shark’s world. Fun facts go deep into the shark’s scary science.

National Geographic Readers Deadly Predators

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Society
ISBN: 9781426313905
Release Date: 2013-07-09
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Come face-to-face with sharks, wolves, tigers, and many more predators in this gripping new addition to the National Geographic Kids Reader series. Amazing animal photos will wow kids as they discover how predators hunt, raise their young, and contribute to the food chain. This Level 2 reader is written in easy-to-grasp text and will help kids understand who rules in the wild!

Best Books for Kids Who Think They Hate to Read

Author: Laura Backes
Publisher: Three Rivers Press
ISBN: 9780307809179
Release Date: 2012-01-04
Genre: Family & Relationships

Get Your Child Hooked on Books! Reading can become a favorite part of any child's life—even children who think they hate to read. And, with the help of this unique book, it's easy to put your reluctant reader on the path to becoming an enthusiastic reader. Inside are 125 books that are certain to ignite your child's interest in reading. You'll find a variety of titles with real kid appeal—the best of the best for children of all reading levels. These books will captivate your child's interest and create a passion you never thought possible. So, for the love of reading and your child, come inside, explore all 125 books, and discover: ·Complete descriptions and synopses ·The appeal of each book to reluctant readers ·Suggested audience and reading levels ·Recommended readings if your child enjoys a particular book ·And much, much more! By developing a love of reading and an emotional connection to books and ideas, your child can develop and maintain a high level of interest in reading—and get a head start on life. "An excellent resource for parents and educators interested in promoting literacy among children, with practical tips on how to make reading a fun, educational, and rewarding experience for children of all ages." —Stephen Green, Ph.D., child development specialist, Texas A&M University

The Everything Guide to Informational Texts K 2

Author: Kathy H. Barclay
Publisher: Corwin Press
ISBN: 9781452283050
Release Date: 2014-02-20
Genre: Education

Your resource for best texts and best practices! Kathy Barclay and Laura Stewart have written the book that teachers like you have been pleading for—a resource that delivers the “what I need to know ” to engage kids in a significant amount of informational text reading experiences. No filler, no lofty ideals about college and career readiness, but instead, the information on how to find lesson-worthy texts and create developmentally appropriate instructional plans that truly help young readers comprehend grade-level texts. What you’ll love most: The how-to’s on selecting informational texts High-impact comprehension strategies Model text lessons and lesson plan templates An annotated list of 449 informational texts

Women in ichthyology an anthology in honour of ET Ro and Genie

Author: E.K. Balon
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9789401101998
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Science

This special volume is dedicated to the contributions of women ichthyologists. Three colleagues were selected to represent all women ichthyologists, Ethelwynn Trewavas (ET), Rosemary Lowe-McConnell (Ro) and Eugenie Clark (Genie). All have had distinguished professional careers and have contributed in their own ways to their science. The career of each is highlighted by a personal interview with one of the editors of the volume, a bibliography of their lifetime publications, and a biography of their careers. Questions of historical inequities and current controversies in the treatment of women ichthyologists by their peers are raised and addressed by the women themselves. The personal and professional influences of these three women, and other women ichthyologists, are highlighted. A survey article by Pat Brown brings a number of women ichthyologists to the attention of a broader audience, and points the way for a more comprehensive historical consideration of the accomplishments and contributions of women ichthyologists. The volume continues with 16 solicited and contributed papers. ET's studies of taxonomy and life history are echoed in papers on the taxonomy and systematics of marine angelfishes, and of freshwater bitterlings, a review of reproduction in the North Atlantic ichthyofauna, and a comparison of reproductive styles and systematics of African minnows. Ro's studies on ecology, life history and behaviour are paralleled by papers on growth and metabolism in piranha, the community structure in tide pool fishes, and the social system and reproductive patterns in groupers. Genie's pioneering work on sexual roles and sex change, and her field studies of the behaviour of marine fishes are reflected in papers on gonadal structure and environmental sex determination in brook lamprey, sexual patterns in hawkfish, reproduction and systematics in phallostethids, gonadal structure and systematics in gobiids, reproductive and predator avoidance behaviour in razorfish, early ontogeny of an African mouth brooder, and alternative life histories in killifish.

Teaching STEM and Common Core with Mentor Texts Collaborative Lesson Plans K 5

Author: Anastasia Suen
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 9781610695978
Release Date: 2013-12-02
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Librarians can use this book to become leaders in their schools, collaborating with teachers to keep them abreast of resources that will facilitate the inclusion of STEM in the curriculum. • Offers five library lessons for each STEM subject based on a mentor text and a lesson for the collaborating teacher • Provides a booktalk to interest the students and a "Book Time" section that allows for reading all or parts of the book accompanied by a general discussion • Shows the range of grades for which each lesson is most suited and how it can be adapted • Includes a graphic organizer (GO Chart) with each lesson, as well as two options for assessing the lesson

Deadliest Animals

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266808
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre: Dangerous animals

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 4: Independent readerPerfect for kids who are reading on their own with ease and are ready for more challenging vocabulary with varied sentence structures. They are ideal for readers of White and Lime books. Did you know that a tiny golf ball-sized creature called the blue-ringed octopus contains enough venom to kill 26 adult humans? Or why the Sydney funnel web spider is one of the most dangerous creatures in the world? In this level 4 book, kids will be fascinated by 12 species that you hope you'll never come across! Sharks, snakes, jellyfish and more - these creatures are among the most threatening - and interesting - in the world!

Science Books

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105014738236
Release Date: 1980
Genre: Science


White Shark

Author: Peter Benchley
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 0312955731
Release Date: 1995-08-15
Genre: Fiction

When a Connecticut shore community is threatened by a malevolent and lethal creature called White Shark, it is up to oceanic scientist Simon Chase to stop the reign of terror