National Geographic Readers Sharks

Author: Anne Schreiber
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426312960
Release Date: 2012-07-24
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

He’s quick. He’s silent. He has five rows of deadly teeth. Chomp! Meet the shark—the fish who ruled the deep before dinosaurs roamed the Earth! This fish has soft cartilage so he can glide, twist, and turn before his prey can say "gulp!" He can smell a single drop of blood in 25 million drops of ocean. He can feel electricity given off by his prey. He will lose and replace more than 10,000 teeth in his lifetime. Cool photos bring kids into the shark’s world. Fun facts go deep into the shark’s scary science.

National Geographic Readers Deadly Predators

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Society
ISBN: 9781426313905
Release Date: 2013-07-09
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Come face-to-face with sharks, wolves, tigers, and many more predators in this gripping new addition to the National Geographic Kids Reader series. Amazing animal photos will wow kids as they discover how predators hunt, raise their young, and contribute to the food chain. This Level 2 reader is written in easy-to-grasp text and will help kids understand who rules in the wild!

National Geographic Readers Gymnastics L2

Author: Sarah Wassner Flynn
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426338151
Release Date: 2020-06-30
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Learn all about the exciting acrobatic sport of gymnastics in this new Level 2 Reader from National Geographic Kids. From somersaults and backflips on the floor to aerial moves, mounts, and dismounts on bars and beams, kids will learn all about gymnastics history, events, and competitions. Kids will also love reading about how athletes train, how events are judged and scored, and different levels of competitions and awards. Level 2 text provides accessible yet wide-ranging information for independent readers. The expert-vetted text, along with brilliant photos and a fun approach to reading, have proved to be a winning formula with kids, parents, and educators.

Best Books for Kids Who Think They Hate to Read

Author: Laura Backes
Publisher: Three Rivers Press
ISBN: 9780307809179
Release Date: 2012-01-04
Genre: Family & Relationships

Get Your Child Hooked on Books! Reading can become a favorite part of any child's life—even children who think they hate to read. And, with the help of this unique book, it's easy to put your reluctant reader on the path to becoming an enthusiastic reader. Inside are 125 books that are certain to ignite your child's interest in reading. You'll find a variety of titles with real kid appeal—the best of the best for children of all reading levels. These books will captivate your child's interest and create a passion you never thought possible. So, for the love of reading and your child, come inside, explore all 125 books, and discover: ·Complete descriptions and synopses ·The appeal of each book to reluctant readers ·Suggested audience and reading levels ·Recommended readings if your child enjoys a particular book ·And much, much more! By developing a love of reading and an emotional connection to books and ideas, your child can develop and maintain a high level of interest in reading—and get a head start on life. "An excellent resource for parents and educators interested in promoting literacy among children, with practical tips on how to make reading a fun, educational, and rewarding experience for children of all ages." —Stephen Green, Ph.D., child development specialist, Texas A&M University

Sonia Sotomayor L3 Spanish National Geographic Readers

Author: National Geographic Kids
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9781426335198
Release Date: 2019-09-05
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Conoce a una de las personas más reconocidas en Norteamérica hoy en día con esta biografía de la jueza de la Corte Suprema, Sonia Sotomayor.

Teaching STEM and Common Core with Mentor Texts Collaborative Lesson Plans K 5

Author: Anastasia Suen
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 9781610695978
Release Date: 2013-12-02
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Librarians can use this book to become leaders in their schools, collaborating with teachers to keep them abreast of resources that will facilitate the inclusion of STEM in the curriculum. • Offers five library lessons for each STEM subject based on a mentor text and a lesson for the collaborating teacher • Provides a booktalk to interest the students and a "Book Time" section that allows for reading all or parts of the book accompanied by a general discussion • Shows the range of grades for which each lesson is most suited and how it can be adapted • Includes a graphic organizer (GO Chart) with each lesson, as well as two options for assessing the lesson

Deadliest Animals

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266808
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre: Dangerous animals

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 4: Independent readerPerfect for kids who are reading on their own with ease and are ready for more challenging vocabulary with varied sentence structures. They are ideal for readers of White and Lime books. Did you know that a tiny golf ball-sized creature called the blue-ringed octopus contains enough venom to kill 26 adult humans? Or why the Sydney funnel web spider is one of the most dangerous creatures in the world? In this level 4 book, kids will be fascinated by 12 species that you hope you'll never come across! Sharks, snakes, jellyfish and more - these creatures are among the most threatening - and interesting - in the world!

Science Books

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105014738236
Release Date: 1980
Genre: Science


CD ROMs in Print

Author: Erin E. Holmberg
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105012107582
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Optical disks